STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V72, CNY RALLY !!

cherroy
post Feb 2 2011, 12:02 AM

25,802 posts

Using GDP figure to compare sometimes do not reflect the country strength.

I give an example. Both country has 10 people.

A country has 1 people earns 100k per annum, 9 earn 1k, total GDP 109k
B country has 10 people earn 10.9k, total GDP 109k

Which country is stronger in term of economy, the answer is B.

Another scenario
A country has 1000 people, GDP 1 million
B country has 100 people, GDP 500K

Which country is stronger in economy and consumption power
B

A per capita income 1k
B per capital income 5k

Your size of GDP can be bigger, if you have more population, but it is the per capital income that matter the most, not GDP number.

China economy size in term of GDP may surpass Japan, but Japan economy indeed stronger due to higher per capital income and higher consumption power.
China has >12 billion people, Japan 200 million plus, so there is nothing to cheer off when China GDP size bigger than Japan.
The one to cheer of is when per capital income surpass.

Until per capital income rise substantially, it is still long way China can turn the economy from export based on internal consumption based.
Until them, still rely heavily on export, when you rely heavily on export, then you depended on other particularly US to do well in order your economy growth.
Per capital income is the one, enable your citizen ability to spend more.

Until now, US economy size is still way large than China, be it GDP or per capital income.
It is long long way to go.

Also the disparity of rich and poor, can be widen in the process of economy growth, which even your economy growth a lot, per capital income improve, if bulk of your population doesn't enjoy the economy growth, instead most wealth fall into rich and lead to rich and poor gap widen, it is not something to cheer about.
cherroy
post Feb 2 2011, 12:26 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Feb 2 2011, 12:12 AM)
my opinion, not in the next 10-15 years.

from an economics POV (Solow neoclassical exogenous model), China does not have the innovation yet. it has the labour, it has the capital, but there's only a finite level of expansion that the economy can grow at with just these 2 factors.

the US still the bulk of innovation that usually explains for the residual (unexplained - apart from labour n capital) growth factors. right now you can focus on the real economic numbers, GDP, per capita income and all but these only will affect a fraction of your growth equation/factors. the unexplained bit are things you cannot see of intangible value. China is still reverse-engineering their way up, which means its still quite low on the rungs.

you can see a drift in academics as in there are slightly more chinese academics, but still 95% of the worlds innovation is probably concentrated in the US.

just my view.
Per capital income of US is USD 47K
China per capital income is around USD 8k

GDP US roughly 14 trillion
GDP China roughly 5 trillion.

The per capital income gap is still very big.

Do remember, a significant portion of China economy or GDP is contributed by US based company which use China as manufacturing base.

Btw, Malaysia per capital income is around USD 14~15k.

Yes, China has a lot of potential,
20-30 years down the road, may be, immediate next 10 years, not possible.
But one thing is that the widen income gap is not something healthy in term of economy to see.

A strong and healthy economy should close this gap as well.

cherroy
post Feb 2 2011, 12:53 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Feb 2 2011, 12:50 AM)
very much agreed on all your points made in the 2 posts. nod.gif

one more is domestic income inequality (can be measured thru Gini coefficient - but that itself has technical limitations) but just from churning through the statistics in China, it appears they still have a very big gap from poor to rich, which would take a while (around 6-10 years china speed) to resolve, and this also presents a lot of problems in inducing domestic consumption.

maybe in 2040 can see China as upcoming superpower, but .. i just feel even at 10% or an overheated/on steroids 15% GDP growth a year it still has a very long way to go to be able to catch up with the US.

(might be very wrong)
15% GDP growth can derail the economy, as inflation haunt you back, and potentially bubble bursting make the economy struggle afterwards.
cherroy
post Feb 2 2011, 12:48 PM

25,802 posts

LOL, KLCI ended 11.88
Good number.

cherroy
post Feb 2 2011, 12:57 PM

25,802 posts

Next Monday, first trading day for Rabbit year, market jump like rabbit?
cherroy
post Feb 2 2011, 12:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Feb 2 2011, 12:58 PM)
Today already giving some minor jumps already smile.gif
Today is the tiger give the final roar. tongue.gif
cherroy
post Feb 3 2011, 07:24 AM

25,802 posts

Just shared, this has some truth. mad.gif

http://www.cnbc.com/id/41387362
As for the portfolio managers, investment advisors and money managers who have lined their pockets even as the financial system has self-destructed? Gross points out that nearly a quarter of the top 400 on the annual Forbes list of people, nearly a quarter “make their money from money.”

As a profession we have failed miserably at our primary function—the efficient and productive allocation of capital: The S&L debacle of the early 1980s, the Asian crisis, LTCM, dotcoms, subprimes, Lehman and the resurrection, instead of the reformation, of Wall Street, are major sins of the modern era of money. Hang your heads, moneychangers. And no, it is not yet time to move on, as many banking CEOs suggest. How can bond traders make ten, one hundred, one thousand times more money than an engineer or social worker given their dismal historical performance? Why is it that some of today’s doctors are using food stamps while investment banking executives complain about millions of dollars in compensation that might be deferred in case of a future bailout?

Added on February 3, 2011, 7:26 amBillion of people suffer due to inflation just because commodities futures being speculated, due to cheap money, easy money available.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 3 2011, 07:26 AM
cherroy
post Feb 7 2011, 11:00 AM

25,802 posts

Actually with inflation is threatening and a lot of countries unrest because of inflation issue, emerging market that troubled with inflation is not preferred by foreign fund now.

Serious inflation problem lead to
1. Higher interest rate may need to adopt - bad for equities
2. Political instability - bad of equities.

That's why we see US market despite going up, other bourses may not follow.

Just my view.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 7 2011, 11:01 AM
cherroy
post Feb 7 2011, 02:32 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(eddytan86 @ Feb 7 2011, 11:25 AM)
My view, inflation good for businesses but bad for the people. But i would stll prefer an inflation than any deflation .
Severe inflation can cause political and social unrest, bad for business as well.

None of both inflation or deflation is preferred, a little bit inflation or deflation, it is good.
Either both of them at high end, is bad.

The good is always at equilibrium. Not either one.

Added on February 7, 2011, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Feb 7 2011, 11:28 AM)
Yeah wor, the US QE-caused inflation caused major unrest in places like Egypt, even HK and SG shocking.gif

Price control and subsidies is useless due to black/grey market laugh.gif
Whole world pay the price for it. mad.gif vmad.gif

My view only.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 7 2011, 02:34 PM
cherroy
post Feb 7 2011, 02:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Feb 7 2011, 02:36 PM)
For me, inflation is unavoidable.. Today went back to work after CNY, my regular wanton mee seller, charge me Rm5.40 from the usual Rm4.80 that I used to pay.. 60 cents increased  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Only hope that what we (employee) earn now can cope up with the inflation (I know it is in my dreams)... So hope it will TRY to cope up with the inflation.
A little bit inflation is unavoidable, but not at the degree of like now.
See how oil price and all type of commodities price behave rather stable across during 1980's up to 2004-2005, a mild gradual increase only.

The easy money printing need to be stopped.

cherroy
post Feb 7 2011, 03:00 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kuluuluk @ Feb 7 2011, 02:46 PM)
How to stop? US only thinks about for and only for their own ASS. Others can't do a shit about it.

No 1 can yet replace US economy in the near 5 years future.

He die we Die
That's the problem.
Fed no hint to end QE after QE3, and keep on saying economy need stimulus.

The economy won't die, just suffer some recession or stagnation in between, just like what happened during 80's and 90's, economy recession come and go.
The problem is current central bank no even want to see a single blip of recession, a little recession already cause panic mode.
Recession and booming is a natural cycle, which is good to eliminate the weakness and correct the economy into a better healthy shape for the future.

After QE,
we only see corporate profit escalating, financial management executive getting big fat bonus, while ordinary people suffer from umemployment to need to face severe inflation difficutly.
When financial company face problem, then need public or gov bailout.
So much talk about reform of financial system, now all forgotten. doh.gif

Copper price is at historical high now, if situation continue like this, soon or later oil price may follow the copper footstep.

See RON97 is at Rm2.50/lit, not far away from 2.70/litre which was one of the reason why BN suffer 308 election shock.

Above just my view.
cherroy
post Feb 7 2011, 03:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(qcs @ Feb 7 2011, 03:51 PM)
yalor....better don't join.... later miss boat then byebye
Boat has sailed out from the port, and you still jump, could mean sink to the bottom. tongue.gif
cherroy
post Feb 7 2011, 03:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(qcs @ Feb 7 2011, 03:52 PM)
any1 know why Axiata buying Q the volume so much?
For those big cap, very norm to see 10~20K Q.
cherroy
post Feb 7 2011, 04:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Feb 7 2011, 04:37 PM)
IRIS coming 2 billion stock traded... WAH!!
200 million not 2 billion, now is 100 shares per lot.

Still 200 million traded per day is quite huge a number, but if xRm0.20, then it becomes RM40 mil, a big sum, but not a huge sum, compared to big cap blue chip.

Month ago, the real big money traded is on PChem, single transaction already RM20-30 million,
cherroy
post Feb 9 2011, 10:18 AM

25,802 posts

LOL, give people a scare -54 on KLCI. laugh.gif

Added on February 9, 2011, 10:18 am
QUOTE(htt @ Feb 9 2011, 10:18 AM)
ECM showing -2.35, should be correct wah... the graph also look ok.
yup, it is -2.xx

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 9 2011, 10:18 AM
cherroy
post Feb 9 2011, 10:39 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Feb 9 2011, 10:24 AM)
Kind of, market w/o lead at the moment, but very soon think market should shrug off that... tongue.gif
Whole Asian bourses are stagnant throughout from late Jan to now.

Whether US up up up or not, Asian bourses generally hardly move and like to trend downwards, although not big move.
Very cautious market condition, probably due to inflation and Egypt unrest effect, as if inflation situation become more serious, there is every possibility political instability as well.
cherroy
post Feb 9 2011, 10:42 AM

25,802 posts

So much talk about CPI in US is very tame if stripped out foods and energy.

But foods and energy is something we need to consume daily. vmad.gif mad.gif

Unless foods and energy is not needed then the CPI without foods and energy make sense.
Talk good, feel good about the CPI number, while ordinary people out there suffer. mad.gif

Foods inflation is pretty serious across the globe now.

cherroy
post Feb 10 2011, 04:04 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(tessei @ Feb 10 2011, 04:00 PM)
Haiya.... SOGO sale next week...  BURSA already giving RED ANGPOW this week!!!    whistling.gif
Yesterday already give us warning with -56 points. icon_idea.gif biggrin.gif
cherroy
post Feb 10 2011, 04:07 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kuluuluk @ Feb 10 2011, 04:06 PM)
I was just wondering where is cherroy with the famous quote "Not Bloody Enough"  tongue.gif
-56 is enough blood. laugh.gif
cherroy
post Feb 10 2011, 04:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Feb 10 2011, 04:17 PM)
hmm.gif MPHB actually a properties company............maybe they can sell land. If i not wrong, they got a land in KL town area

Added on February 10, 2011, 4:19 pm
brows.gif The rehearsal come true...........haha laugh.gif
MPHB - Multi Purpose Holding Berhad

It is holding company.

0.0413sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:44 PM