EPL MASTERS FOOTBALL MALAYSIA CUP 2011

Duke Red
post Jan 28 2011, 09:45 AM

6,112 posts

If you want to find out more, search for Football Focus Asia on Facebook. Mate of mine is organizing it so if you need help with group tickets I'll see if I can get a discount but you need to find your own group. Check the Facebook page to get a list of players. Malaysia has a team as well.

For Liverpool fans, you'll get to see Steve McManaman, Rob Jones, Patrik Berger and Vladimir Smicer amongst others.
Duke Red
post Jan 29 2011, 01:00 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 28 2011, 09:45 PM)
was there in the 2008 edition. that was end of the year though. Heck even shared the same plane with Ian Rush the night after the tourney, when flying to Doha (he was enroute to Manchester that time) laugh.gif
Phwah pretty fortunate there. Hmm sadly not many seem interested. I missed the 2008 one due to work but I'm going for this one.
Duke Red
post Feb 22 2011, 07:44 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(myfists @ Feb 18 2011, 11:50 AM)
You can expect:
1) Robbie Fowler
2) Steve McManaman
3) Andy Cole
4) Gianfranco Zola
5) Patrik Berger
Eh? The last time I asked the organizers, Fowler wasn't coming. Are you certain he is? It'll make a big big difference
Duke Red
post Mar 9 2011, 08:03 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(giotto @ Mar 8 2011, 10:41 PM)
You missed 2010 also mate. I was with Will and gang. Very good seats and could see where the action was.
That I did. See you there this time round then.
Duke Red
post Mar 10 2011, 08:59 PM

6,112 posts

If you want, you can pick them up from the Football Focus office in Phileo Damansara. I can let them know you'll drop by.
Duke Red
post Mar 10 2011, 10:18 PM

6,112 posts

This is as much as I know

http://www.footballfocusasia.com/master_football.html
Duke Red
post Mar 11 2011, 11:37 AM

6,112 posts

You'll have to queue up for the autograph session early lah. There is a good chance however, that the current first teams will be on tour in Malaysia this June.
Duke Red
post Mar 11 2011, 12:30 PM

6,112 posts

The current first teams will very likely be popping by Malaysia during the break at the end if the season. Looking like Man Utd, Chelsea and for the first time, Liverpool.
Duke Red
post Mar 11 2011, 01:41 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(narutokun83 @ Mar 11 2011, 12:36 PM)
Eh? Did they changed the line-up? I thought i was supposed to be Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool?
You are referring to the Masters. I'm talking about the Asian tour in June which is still in it's planning stages. Confirmed interest from Chelsea and Liverpool. Unsure about Man Utd from what I last heard. Clubs are in negotiations with sponsors at the moment.
Duke Red
post Mar 12 2011, 09:40 AM

6,112 posts

12pm - start of carnival (whatever that means ....)
2pm - 3.30pm - meet the teams session - LFC scheduled for 1st team of the session
4.30pm - kick-off of special women's 6-a-six football match
5pm - kick off of match program proper between LFC and Malaysia All-Stars
Duke Red
post Mar 12 2011, 09:36 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(narutokun83 @ Mar 12 2011, 03:16 PM)
No no no, I'm not referring to the masters, that i know (Man Utd, Liverpool, EPL star and M'sia stars). I'm referring to your post about the off-season tour of asia.
Source for Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool tour
Ah I see. You got it right then. All I know is that it will be a first for Liverpool and I'm stoked!
Duke Red
post Mar 13 2011, 04:28 PM

6,112 posts

Anyone here? From what I can see the breakdown of fans are as follows:-

Liverpool 70%
Man Utd 25%
Malaysia 5%

In terms of banners :-

Liverpool 65%
Sponsors 31%
Malaysia 4%
Duke Red
post Mar 13 2011, 05:35 PM

6,112 posts

My bad. Man Utd fans came to life when the EPL all-stars scored against Liverpool. About 60-40 split. God's just scored!

1st game - man Utd 3 - malaysia 1

Added on March 13, 2011, 5:45 pm2nd Game: EPL All Stars 4 - Liverpool 2.

Added on March 13, 2011, 6:12 pm3rd game: Malaysia 2 - EPL All-Stars 6

Added on March 13, 2011, 6:35 pm4th game: Liverpool 4 - Man Utd 3. OG from Andy Cole after the score was tied at 3-3.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Mar 13 2011, 06:35 PM
Duke Red
post Mar 13 2011, 10:36 PM

6,112 posts

It wasn't exactly a bunch of friendly matches either. Ronnie Johnsen went through the back of Zainal Abidin and floored him for a brief period of time. Also, Rob Jones went in hard on another of our Malaysian lads after the latter had Phil Babb pinned. I believe it was ex-Man Utd duo, Clayton Blackmore and Lee Martin that squared up at one point.

Zainal scored a couple of well taken goals but his legs are clearly gone. Highlight for me must have been when Fowler looked our way and waved when we sang his name. Another was Mazlan Wahed giving us the thumbs up as we pleaded with him to keep Man Utd out smile.gif

Added on March 13, 2011, 10:38 pmSpecial word of acknowledgement from me to the Southen Reds who drove all the way up and must be on the way back down now. Have a safe journey boys.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Mar 13 2011, 10:38 PM
Duke Red
post Mar 14 2011, 03:18 PM

6,112 posts

Former Southamption goalkeeper, Paul Jones who played 2 games for Liverpool on loan seen here with one of the best English rightbacks I've seen, Rob Jones. The latter came out of obscurity from Crewe Alexandra who are one of Liverpool's feeder clubs and made an instant impact, earning his first cap in his first season with the Reds. Unfortunately, he was forced into early retirement at the tender age of 27 because of a reocurring injury. He could have been one of the great if you ask me.

Duke Red
post Mar 14 2011, 03:21 PM

6,112 posts

Patrick Berger and Robbie Fowler. The former was one of Liverpool's better left sided wingers over the past two decades, most famously known for 'that' pass to Michael Owen. Fowler, needs no introduction. Controversial but brillant and surely one of the most natural finishers I've seen. Kop icon until today.

Oh and behind Paddy, one Phil Babb, most notably know for trying to break a goalpost in two with his nuts.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Mar 14 2011, 03:49 PM

Duke Red
post Mar 14 2011, 03:25 PM

6,112 posts

The Southern Reds show their colours off.

0.1266sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:10 PM