Unifi Recruiting: Unifi betatesters for OpenWrt, Recruit closed

TSblindbox
post Jan 27 2011, 10:13 PM, updated 15y ago

Meh
1,705 posts

I've been working with klseet to make OpenWrt routers compatible with Unifi. However, I realised that klseet isn't online most of the time so I need someone else to help me test OpenWrt with unifi.

I have rizvanrp helping me at the moment. So I no longer need anyone else.

Prerequisites:-
- Unifi (obviously)
- A router which supports vlan of huge numbers (hence NO BROADCOM DEVICES) and OpenWrt. Usually they are Atheros routers. Check this site -> http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/start
- Good English not required, but recommended.
- Online every night. The longer the better (I'm online most of the time except for ~12 AM to 9 AM). If you can online in the mornings EVEN BETTER.
- Yahoo messenger or MSN messenger account
- Dedicated for the two weeks (depends on how fast I do it) period of the beta test

I would've started this earlier if not for my studies. Now I have two weeks of holiday. I would've also done this myself if I have unifi.

Anyone interested?

Please post here/PM me your router model and version number.

If you have a router which can only operate using trunk builds, I can compile them for you. However, FLASH AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Also, with official releases, FLASH AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Currently, the latest official release is 10.03.1-rc4. It's release candidate, but it's better than 10.03.

Once you're a beta tester, I'll PM you my MSN ID

Most recommended router
TP-Link TL-WR1043ND

FAQ

Q:Why would I need a tester?
A: It's currently in 'proof of concept' stage

Q:What's after the beta test?
A: I'll be having people (you guys who uses unifi) sending me the default configuration of their router after flashing to OpenWrt so that I can support more routers.

Q: What about routers other than WR1043ND?
A: Check here. http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/start They must support vlan tagging, and is not a broadcom. Each router has different versions, so bear that in mind.

Q: Should I simply buy anything from the table of hardware?
A: I prefer that you already have the router. I don't want to waste your money. Furthermore, it seems that some routers support vlan up to 4k, some don't. I'm pretty sure wr1043ND supports VLAN4K.. because I'm using VLAN ID 500 right now.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jan 29 2011, 07:04 PM
rizvanrp
post Jan 27 2011, 10:28 PM

195 posts

I can help biggrin.gif
klseet
post Jan 28 2011, 12:29 AM

130 posts

Sorry bro, was really busy last few days, site was wrongly routed to US before coming back to KL ... sweat.gif
Anywhere, I'm back online now!
Btw, that 741ND still refuse to work, even I restore default and re-setup still won't work on eth0.500 internet sad.gif

Bro Riz, glad you join in the R&D ! rclxms.gif

So gentlemen, please be gentle & patient with me ok, I'm totally newbie to this Linux things ... sweat.gif

Ok, how & where shall we start then ?!

This post has been edited by klseet: Jan 28 2011, 12:30 AM
makrospec2010
post Jan 28 2011, 06:37 AM

I volunteer to buy a new TP1043 if selected and flash to the current Openwrt for this project with the understanding that I can brick it if I make a mistake. I have a few spare routers so that's not a worry.

Cheers
TSblindbox
post Jan 28 2011, 10:24 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

Can you fulfill the other requirements above? What you will be doing is following my guide pretty much. If things get too hard, there's always TeamViewer though.

I'll PM you my MSN.
makrospec2010
post Jan 28 2011, 10:40 AM

QUOTE(blindbox @ Jan 28 2011, 10:24 AM)
Can you fulfill the other requirements above? What you will be doing is following my guide pretty much. If things get too hard, there's always TeamViewer though.

I'll PM you my MSN.
No problems fulfulling the stated requirements and ok @ following instructions but I'm a noob @ Linux but no problems with Windows os with some knowledge on hardware mods, reading schematics and soldering. I try to get a TP1034 V1.8 from lowyat this morning and await your instructions on whether to flash to the latest openwrt firmware.

Cheers
TSblindbox
post Jan 28 2011, 11:52 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

Not a problem, linux proficiency is unneeded. Nice to work with you.
babybee
post Jan 28 2011, 12:40 PM

49 posts

I can help out too.

I have a Linksys WRT-54GS v4. Currently running DDWRT.
TSblindbox
post Jan 28 2011, 01:04 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

WRT54GS is a broadcom, no can do, as it doesn't support vlan IDs up to 500 and 600.

EDIT: Updated the FAQ
babybee
post Jan 28 2011, 01:21 PM

49 posts

But dude, m using the DDWRT and i have vlan tagging for 500 & 600. I'm not using the dlink. just the WRT54GS.
TSblindbox
post Jan 28 2011, 03:59 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

I'm not too understanding of DD-WRT, but technically, the company that creates DD-WRT has access to proprietary drivers. That's probably how they managed to enable vlan tagging 500 & 600.

OpenWrt however does not support vlan tagging up to 4096 on broadcom.

EDIT: I've found out what has been wrong with my settings such that it doesn't work with klseet's router. I'm closing beta testing until I fix this problem.

EDIT2: Problem fixed!

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jan 28 2011, 04:42 PM
tch9
post Jan 28 2011, 09:14 PM

17 posts

Hi there!
Routers with Realtek rtl8366rb/rtl8366s switch chip will have support for vlan4k.

@blindbox
may i suggest you try the trunk version for WR1043ND coz it contains alot more vlan fixes for rtl8366rb & rtl8366s.

This post has been edited by tch9: Jan 28 2011, 09:23 PM
TSblindbox
post Jan 28 2011, 10:09 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Actually, I always use trunk versions lol. If I were to guide normal users though, I'd rather give them precompiled versions from openwrt.

Added on January 29, 2011, 7:03 pmA little update. We've managed to get WAN operating, but not IPTV. There seems to be a bug in the switch that corrupts the IPTV queries. This cannot be fixed any time soon.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jan 29 2011, 07:03 PM
tch9
post Jan 29 2011, 10:16 PM

17 posts

DIR-825 revision b1 confirm working with unifi & iptv. I'm using OpenWRT bleeding edge 25223.

my /etc/config/network as follows:-

config 'interface' 'loopback'
option 'ifname' 'lo'
option 'proto' 'static'
option 'ipaddr' '127.0.0.1'
option 'netmask' '255.0.0.0'

config 'interface' 'lan'
option 'ifname' 'eth0.500'
option 'type' 'bridge'
option 'proto' 'static'
option 'ipaddr' '192.168.1.1'
option 'netmask' '255.255.255.0'

config 'interface' 'wan'
option 'ifname' 'eth1.500'
option 'proto' 'pppoe'
option 'username' 'xxx'
option 'password' 'xxx'

config 'switch'
option 'name' 'rtl8366s'
option 'reset' '1'
option 'enable_vlan' '1'
option 'enable_vlan4k' '1'

config 'switch_vlan'
option 'device' 'rtl8366s'
option 'vlan' '500'
option 'ports' '1 2 3 5t'

config 'switch_vlan'
option 'ports' '0 5t'
option 'vlan' '600'

config 'interface' 'iptv'
option 'proto' 'none'
option 'type' 'bridge'
option 'defaultroute' '0'
option 'peerdns' '0'
option 'ifname' 'eth0.600 eth1.600'

Screenshot of the switch page from Luci web interface.

This post has been edited by tch9: Jan 30 2011, 04:48 PM
wiraone
post May 9 2011, 02:39 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

Great stuff .. was looking a way to remove a switch in between my wzr-hp-g300nh .. it seems to be working for me, at least for internet .. don't care about IPTV for the moment..

BTW, may I know where to look for this latest openwrt with updated luci? I tried trunk before and luci wasn't installed by default..

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 9 2011, 02:40 PM
warlove3
post Nov 14 2011, 01:21 AM

537 posts

hmm i cant seem to tag well in TP-Link WR741ND v1.8 with the latest Backfire 10.03.1-rc6
The problem i encounter is that whenever i enable the vlan tag, LAN Port became WAN port and WAN Port became LAN Port, =.=" which 4 Lan port are the one is connecting the BTU instead of the WAN Port...

any sifu can post a guide to help me? I'm on UniFi Biz and only needed VLAN 500

TSblindbox
post Nov 14 2011, 08:48 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

wiraone, try 10.03.1-rc6.

To above poster, show me what's in /etc/config/network.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Nov 14 2011, 08:49 AM
warlove3
post Nov 14 2011, 12:22 PM

537 posts

config interface loopback
option ifname lo
option proto static
option ipaddr 127.0.0.1
option netmask 255.0.0.0

config interface lan
option ifname eth0
option type bridge
option proto static
option ipaddr 192.168.1.1
option netmask 255.255.255.0

config interface wan
option ifname eth1
option proto dhcp

config switch eth0
option enable_vlan 1

config switch_vlan
option device eth0
option vlan 1
option ports "0 1 2 3 4"

So any thing i need to change? i tried changing the switch option to eth 1 but they only gave me VLAN option from 1 - 15 which i unable to set VLAN 500...

This post has been edited by warlove3: Nov 14 2011, 12:23 PM
WhitE LighteR
post May 21 2014, 01:08 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Just to share. I just flash OpenWRT on my DIR 825 to work with unifi. I know tch9 posted his setting but when I tried his setting it didnt work for me. So here is the setting I am using currently. Everything works except I can't get IPTV to work via wifi. I believe it requires other config. But the IPTV does work via LAN port. Here i set to lan port 4.

config interface 'loopback'
option ifname 'lo'
option proto 'static'
option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config interface 'lan'
option type 'bridge'
option proto 'static'
option ipaddr '192.168.1.1'
option netmask '255.255.255.0'
option _orig_ifname 'eth0.1 radio0.network1 radio1.network1'
option _orig_bridge 'true'