The Official Blu-ray Thread v11

htkaki
post Feb 14 2011, 10:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Just managed to watch Alice In Wonderland after such a long time.

AQ is quite good with good dynamics and surrounds. The colour takes the center stage here. Vibrant!

Maybe will watch Shutter Island tomorrow. I still have Pandorum BD in its 'virgin' form.
htkaki
post Feb 23 2011, 12:37 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(allycat @ Feb 23 2011, 09:54 AM)
I have the Sapphire BD. There's some artifact in the burning fires in the early part of the show. It's something like a Star Trek beam-up beam.
It is intentional.
htkaki
post Mar 9 2011, 02:55 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Pok Leh @ Mar 9 2011, 02:39 PM)
want to ask to the Blu Ray sifu here..

what else other than The Dark Knight, that have option of 2 aspect ratio (21:9 and 16:9) on it disc?

Option? It ain't. You can
choose. TDK and Transformers II under IMAX ver have certain scene shots for the extra good PQ.
htkaki
post Mar 15 2011, 10:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 15 2011, 01:46 PM)
Not only OPPO , Dune Prime 3.0 also does multi region reading IINM. Plus Dune is 2x cheaper than OPPO.
Not an owner tho..just a thought
Yes, it is very easy to change region for Dune Prime 3.0. I am quite happy with it smile.gif
htkaki
post Mar 15 2011, 10:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Can't get what you mean.

I have no problem until now with the constant switching of region codes.
htkaki
post Mar 21 2011, 05:56 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

IMHO, Ip Man 1 has mediocre AQ. The vocal is muffled & soft while the bass is overly done. It is almost identical to Transformers II. Ip Man 2 is a lot better.

As for Avatar, I hate the 25hz cut off that is being applied. That goes the same for LOTR normal version. Hate it.
htkaki
post Mar 22 2011, 08:45 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(scmah73 @ Mar 21 2011, 11:38 PM)
finally extended Lord of the Rings blu-ray officially date had been announced on Jun 28, 2011

will anticipate to add into my collection one day
Good to know that but I am holding until there is a review esp on its AQ. The original LOTR trilogy's AQ is doh.gif
htkaki
post Mar 31 2011, 12:02 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

The intention of blu-ray is to let viewers enjoy high-def PQ as well as uncompressed AQ.

Of course, everyone deserves their own opinion and ways to enjoy BD:)

When you have a proper system to utilize the BD, it does change your perception and makes you want to watch those BDs all over again.

htkaki
post Apr 5 2011, 09:21 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bought these along with some other CDs yesterday. Now, have to wait for it to be here smile.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Apr 5 2011, 09:22 AM
htkaki
post Apr 6 2011, 10:56 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(superTB @ Apr 5 2011, 05:49 PM)
is tron2010 out yet  ??

anyways ..
how to know whether  the blu ray disc in my ady??

sorry for bad english
It is already out.

Here's the review http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1325421

Very good rating for AQ.

0.0406sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:02 PM