18 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

The Official Blu-ray Thread v11

sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 29 2011, 07:39 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 29 2011, 07:35 PM)
malaysia BD player come with region free for DVD..
u must be fail in math then..
RM30 different is alot different?  whistling.gif
You'd probably failed to understand that RM30 does make differences for some.
Again, you have failed to understand that it was just a thought whistling.gif

QUOTE(galantorian7116 @ Mar 29 2011, 07:35 PM)
I am glad i received a reply from Amazon UK within hours after i emailed them my concern about charging the items i never received.
This is their reply :
And it is signed off by a person from AMZ called Naresh kumar S., this time i know i am not talking to a robot.  rclxms.gif
They don't fail all the time to reply on time unless critical.

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Mar 29 2011, 07:40 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 29 2011, 08:02 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 29 2011, 07:53 PM)
if you got money to go into BD world..
RM30 is nothing much
You still fail to understand that , consumers usually falls into the following - "wise buyers" , "average buyers" & "excessive buyers". It does make differences.
Try again...and again its just a thought..
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 29 2011, 11:53 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 29 2011, 10:03 PM)
guys, i vaguely remember someone posting a site to compare qualities of different bluray from different region.

got comparison of audio quality and picture quality and the such for the same title released in different region.
anyone still have the link? i tried googling a few word and still can't find the site.
Blu-raystats.com?
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 30 2011, 11:45 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Mar 30 2011, 09:35 PM)
Suddenly lot of music BDs on sale just normal...  blush.gif
Source or sales link?
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 30 2011, 11:55 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Mar 30 2011, 11:50 PM)
No official sale but lot of music BDs drop price within around 10mins times.
Alright then..hope to see some Metal concerts drop price. Can you name some of it . Thx

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Mar 30 2011, 11:58 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 31 2011, 08:34 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Toy Story Revisit Review

I had wondered how did a 15 years old CG animation could be such an impressive release in Hi-Def. Well, looking back at some of the aspects that i could describe from my observation last night. Here it goes.

Video Quality

Damn, its a full 1080p using AVC MPEG-4 codec on a BD-50 , in the 1:78:1 aspect ratio (Readings from PowerDVD for Blu-ray client) , wow! and there's nothing negative to describe here on the video. Awesome, superb, extraordinary, amazing & pristine clarity that Disney has in this release. Colors are absolutely brigh and vibrant. Simply jaw dropping stuff. Some scenes had lighting effect to bright (or my LCD had to be tuned blush.gif), otherwise the entire Video gets an A++ from me.

Sound Quality

I hate to do this, sound quality was superb to me with less impressive setup to describe more. DTS HD MA ES & DTS HD 2.0. I obviously opted for 5.1 mix which could not be channeled to 2.1 setup , yet it was brilliant. Bass sounded great throughout the film.

Extras

There were too many extras to watch, skipped it but it had a quite a content in it. Gonna look back sometime for it.

Overall i would say it was a memorable revisit and this is yet another reference material that should be owned.

Again, it comes with Highest Recommendation to all animated film fans
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 31 2011, 11:56 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Mar 31 2011, 10:59 AM)
ya, have to agree DISNEY PIXAR is really good in the BD quality. just can't wait for the INCREDIBLES in 3 weeks time. but do not know why it is so expensive - U$40.

by the way, SKY, i think u should really upgrade your sound to at least 5.1, afterall u got so many valuable disc, need a good sound system to boost it out.
On the verge of owning one soon. Most likely ..Yamaha 5.1 or Denon 5.1 or Onkyo 5.1. Damn i need a telly too as I had to postpone gettin' a plasma which i have been observing for sometime and its should be coming my way sooner.

Agree completely, after all, film doesn't come good without a proper sound. For now, happy with 2.1 but definitely requires an upgrade. Well said and thanks for the concern..

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 31 2011, 11:23 AM)
I think 5.1 sound is not a must, depends on user needs, example myself more prefer on PQ than AQ, I need a great PQ but AQ as long good, not over high pitch, certain bass, clear, is enough for me already.

I don't even connect to any speaker, I do have a 2.1 speaker at room but I didn't connect to it as I found it is far enough for me.

Beside this, I watch movie mostly at night or midnight, which means sound system is not important and needed for me. I can't open loud at midnight as this definitely annoying people that stay surrounding my area.
Cha, your point makes sense , by the way it also perfectly makes sense that you can't blast the sound middle of the night. But some point of time you do need to get yourself one..just a thought..(as well as myself lor)

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Mar 31 2011, 11:40 AM)
andrewsan,

this is not an arguement but i think it is really subjective on this topic. I understand some are more into Pic & some are into sound. but if we say a basic average & equal in between, i would argue for 5.1 set-up.

my opinion is as follow:

BD offer 1080p pic quality, so we need HD 1080P  plasma/LCD/LED or projector. The HD ready should not hv quality same with Full HD.

BD offer 5.1 surround. so the movie was designed to utilise the 5.1 set-up. The sound has been designed, say the dialoge from center, music from 2 front channel, & the surround effect from the back, like PEARL HARBOR, BANDS OF BROTHERS, etc.

It might not be a must,but it would be at least a proper set up to received all the sound data from the BD & present it out.

in 1979, when FRANCIS FORD COPPOLA released the APOCALYSE NOW at 5.1 (very few first wave of movie in 5.1 format) he actually wanted to forbidden some cinema to show the movie cause those cinema lacking of the set-up.

again, this is my personnel opinion.
thumbup.gif

QUOTE(sophan @ Mar 31 2011, 11:41 AM)
i used to think this way too. but after getting a denon 5.1 system, my preference changed. Pq is not important anymore. AQ is the way to go. Just try playing master and commander, U571, Terminator salvation on 5.1 system. then u will really appreciate the surround effect... IMHO
Awesome pick sophan. Denon eh.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 31 2011, 11:56 AM)
Not argument la, it just my opinion.

I do own a HTIB previously on my DVD set, the Sound system is blowing and cool, but sorry la... it still not important to me, and PQ far important for me.

I buy BD or watch HD because of the PQ itself, I need those. smile.gif
Undeniably, i do agree with the above as well

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Mar 31 2011, 11:59 AM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 31 2011, 12:05 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Would like to ask all a question.

Did you ever regretted that you have not bought a released title which is far less important to others but not for the fans of the movie itself.

For an example, now you might have fancied getting , say.. "A Prophet Blu-ray" but others don't fancy the movie for some unknown reason but you liked it and eventually missed it during a reasonable offer price.

Is there any similar experiences thus far?

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Mar 31 2011, 12:06 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 31 2011, 12:34 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 31 2011, 12:20 PM)
I think it won't happen to me, I buy whatever I want to watch or own, I don't care it is famous or not that movie. We life for ourself, not for others people. So I never bother what others people though, you want it, you get it, rather than regret after that.
Makes sense..i had one or 2 occasions missed some good offers tho..

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 31 2011, 12:30 PM)
Maybe I really shall get a better Dune or Oppo player... hmmm! any suggestion?
You're close to SGP bro, you can drive anytime and grab Oppo lerh..go for it.

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Mar 31 2011, 12:35 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 31 2011, 01:43 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Kewl, from 42' to 60' is a massive decision but i think that wouldn't had cost you much time to even consider. Grab & enjoy eh. I've got mates whose into AV stuff and seeking opinions from them on the Sound portion. On the Pic , that's my call.

A Prophet is nice pick and i think i missed it during Black Friday. Not a major regret, although there are major regrets which i would prefer to forget them but in the meantime, i'm attempting to prolong the list of collection.

Good one bro, appreciate your thoughts and suggestions.

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Mar 31 2011, 01:46 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 31 2011, 06:44 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Mar 31 2011, 02:57 PM)
Received my Tangled BD, the 4 disc combo have a nice 3D lenticular cover biggrin.gif
Pics bro..waiting for the shots.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 1 2011, 12:57 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

The Incredibles Blu-ray Review is up at Blu-ray.com. Tempting!
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 1 2011, 04:37 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Apr 1 2011, 03:44 PM)
haha, bro, goods taste and i got it too.  nod.gif

mine is from AMZ UK & the PIC quality is soso only.
somehow i like the movie very much.

is good to know i am not alone & malaysia also got peolple love foreign drama.
icon_rolleyes.gif 
Have u seen "DOWNFALL"? I love it.

Buying every single disc under the sun? no way, i am going to cut my finger to stop buying disc.  vmad.gif

err, sounds a bit too violence, ok, i am going to cut my finger nail to stop buying disc. em, sounds better. laugh.gif
You don't need to do such. Just terminate your internet services. Best way tongue.gif (kidding)
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 1 2011, 07:01 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Anyone has watched 127 Hours on BD yet? Just got 1 last week through eBay for 17.08 shipped. Great price for a brand new item.

I see that eBay has alot to offer on great deals compared to potentially pricey items at Amazon. Look up for those Top rated Sellers and thus far all bidding and purchases arrived safely and amazingly, quicker.

The last item received was The Nightmare Before Christmas within 8 days.

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Apr 1 2011, 07:02 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 1 2011, 07:24 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Apr 1 2011, 07:10 PM)
So, did their give replacement copy for our postman mishandling?  How about lost parcel?
Will they replace the item if the postman mishandle? Well, i have not encountered such problems. You can try and let me know tongue.gif

Well, in eBay..if you don’t receive your item a significant amount of time after the seller said it would arrive (at least 10 days) , you'll be eligible for buyer protection programs. Read the following Buyer Protection Programs

You can contact the seller and state the problem or ask eBay to help you. There's ample of procedure's to follow and it may look tedious but safer.
As long as you know how to rectify a potential seller , your items are always safe.

sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 1 2011, 08:10 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Apr 1 2011, 07:46 PM)
Safe, is relative term. I still think Amazon is safer and I don't mind to pay a bit extra.
Well, everyone has dissimilarity way of looking at buying from other sources.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 2 2011, 12:18 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

I hope what you mean by Zone referring to Region? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Apr 2 2011, 12:19 AM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 2 2011, 12:30 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Apr 2 2011, 12:22 AM)
ya brother, actually i am a bit confuse cause i though DVD is dif by region & BD is by Zone.
I thought DVD used Region as well like Region 0,1,2,3. Not picking up on you but just correcting ya.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 2 2011, 12:41 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Apr 2 2011, 12:37 AM)
no problem brother, i always appreciate your comment & idea.

hey, THE PROPHET is on sales again at AMZ UK, UK$8 only. beside, amz uk "REALLY GONE MAD AGAIN". clint eastwood MAN WITH NO NAME TRILOGY is really cheap, so as the CASINO ROYALE-deluxe edition. check it out bro.

do u have any idea on PREDATOR BD? review really bad but i really like the movi & now is sales at UK$7 only. any comment?
Get the Predator Ultimate Hunter Edition. Its far better than the first release according to public opinion.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 2 2011, 01:09 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Apr 2 2011, 12:58 AM)
thanks bro,
just placed the order.
I thought you gonna plug off your internet? brows.gif

18 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0543sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:42 AM