TSalbnok
post Feb 1 2011, 04:09 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

I think Iqbal took this shot. Zeiss 24mm F2.0 at close range!

croomaniac looking through the Zeiss 135mm F1.8 while I take a shot with the Zeiss 24mm F2.0.

Ted reviewing a video.

A grab shot, with the Zeiss 24mm F2.0.

100% crop from the A900 at ISO1600. Though I could've gotten more pixel density out of the A55.

Regretfully, the lens in this carrying case could not make it to the gathering.

Yes, the Sony 300mm F2.8 G SSM can fit in such a tiny box! Once the hood is positioned backwards it is pretty short.

It focuses to a record close 2 meters and is 2.3 KG light.

In comparison, the Nikkor 300mm F2.8 AF-S VR II is 2.9 KG, and the Canon 300mm F2.8 L IS USM II is 2.4 KG (with the first version being 2.5 KG.)

The ND filter shot.

2.3 KG is definitely handholdable though you may not prefer to do so for extended periods of time.
TSalbnok
post Feb 1 2011, 09:33 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

chiahau: It's not mine LOL.

cassplayer: Nope - you match your flash color with the ambient light which is usually orangey.

There is one place where you can put a blue gel or rather, blue filter - on the lens, so that you don't need to change to tungsten WB. However this will cause some light loss.

porkchop: iPhone users, do not be alarmed! biggrin.gif

linkinstreet: Multiply! I like the gentleness of #2.

kopitiam: Telawi? Kecoh lah the palm trees.
TSalbnok
post Feb 1 2011, 10:21 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

d_lai_309: On the contrary - you can see sensor stabilization on the A33/A55, and in-lens stabilization on E-mount Optical SteadyShot (OSS) lenses e.g. Sony E 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 OSS and Sony E 18-200mm F3.5-6.3 Active OSS.

Main reason why I started on the Alpha 100 was because I wanted a stabilized F1.4 for street shots in every condition.

Sonnar T* is full of win. biggrin.gif If you do a lot of street photography you might like the 24mm F2.0 ZA SSM and 85mm F1.4 ZA's perspective. I shoot concerts and gigs so I got a Zeiss Sonnar T* 135mm F1.8 ZA.

135mm F1.8.

135mm F1.8.

135mm F1.8.

Goes on into the night!
TSalbnok
post Feb 1 2011, 10:57 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

d_lai_309: Sonnar usually means bright.

There are 6 Sony Carl Zeiss ZA lenses:

1) Sony Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* 16-80mm F3.5-4.5 DT ZA - for APS-C bodies, not recommended for full-frame. The other lenses are all full-frame lenses.
2) Sony Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* 16-35mm F2.8 ZA SSM
3) Sony Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* 24-70mm F2.8 ZA SSM
4) Sony Carl Zeiss Distagon T* 24mm F2.0 ZA SSM
5) Sony Carl Zeiss Planar T* 85mm F1.4 ZA
6) Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* 135mm F1.8 ZA

This post has been edited by albnok: Feb 1 2011, 10:58 PM
TSalbnok
post Feb 2 2011, 02:20 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

e-jump: #2 okay what. Could be aligned better, but still, good effort though her pose is a bit weird. Just needs a tad more contrast.

zstan: A bit warm. The picture looks soaked if you know what I mean.

ahpingko: Good effort! I see your phone LOL.

puppydogpoo: You forgot Olympus! LOL.
TSalbnok
post Feb 4 2011, 06:42 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

signither: Nice, an unconventional view!

mastering89: Nice light!

Newbieeeeee: Straight to A580.

chiahau: No it cannot - only the A700/A850/A900 can use a F58 on body to trigger more off-camera F58s.

TSalbnok
post Feb 5 2011, 12:46 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

chiahau: You could, alternatively, have the F58 on a flash bracket. What is your intent when having a flash on body?

ahpingko: Love #1! Others not so interesting. Also like Nice Architecture Of The Roof and Tanglung Sea.
TSalbnok
post Feb 5 2011, 11:02 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

signither: LOL! Man I wonder what you were thinking when watching kids shows...

shukrie: I like the leading line made by the tree though the right side a bit too kecoh.

67zai: Stop smoking. wink.gif

Codyx: I like #1 but cropped - crop off the left 1/3rd and right 1/3rd and top 1/2th so you get an abstract pattern shot.

chiahau: You can find this kind of flash bracket at Digicolor, Mutiara Complex, Jalan Ipoh.

http://www.google.com.my/imglanding?q=flas...=1t:429,r:6,s:0

Note that the hotshoe mount can be unscrewed to reveal a regular tripod mount, so you can mount a flash foot there.
TSalbnok
post Feb 6 2011, 08:57 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Codyx: When you crop as I suggested you will see what the 'abstract pattern shot' is. Try it.
TSalbnok
post Feb 6 2011, 09:30 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Newbieeeeee: Taking a few steps back will give you a different perspective and angle of view.

Far objects will be bigger in scale to near objects.

However if you go close (whether with tele or wide), far objects will appear smaller compared to near objects.

So no, stepping back is not the same thing.
TSalbnok
post Feb 7 2011, 12:12 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

ahpingko: The closest there is to a Sony 35mm F1.8 DT SAM is the Minolta 35mm F2.0 - however this is rare!

cassplayer: Well the F58 does help by not having a lock button - so you just turn it by pushing it. Sometimes I would turn it sideways just to keep it out of harm's way e.g. pillars and chairs.

zstan: A bit warm, but I can see the different colors. An even better test is with trees and scenery.

shukrie: Could use a longer duration? Nothing much happening in the scene.
TSalbnok
post Feb 8 2011, 02:22 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Codyx: If you turn off SteadyShot, it will last as long as any other dSLR shooting video.

puppydogpoo: Yes, you can turn off Long Exposure NR on the NEX bodies. I tried in A mode. However in iAuto, the option is On and cannot be disabled.

fansoption: Nicely done in #3!
TSalbnok
post Feb 8 2011, 12:48 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

puppydogpoo: It could be something else - better to check in the manual. I tried turning on HDR 6.0EV, Smile Shutter, RAW+JPG, JPG only, 0.5" exposure, 2" exposure, all also still can change Long Exposure NR. The manual should tell you why it is disabled.

croomaniac: Codyx is using the A55 with SteadyShot in body hence the quicker overheat.
TSalbnok
post Feb 8 2011, 06:11 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

eddybeh: Not so much, just like we know what color things are, even under warm orange light, due to color constancy:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Color_constancy

yuhi: Fantastic shots! Love the feeling of being in the field in #1.
TSalbnok
post Feb 9 2011, 10:57 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

ahpingko: Refer to the first page - I've posted a how-to to hide the pop-up flash from showing in wireless.

ieR: Nice! I like telephoto landscapes far more than wide-angle ones.

zeipher: Nice color in #2!

lwliam: Wow, magic hour on chicken wings. Nice!

67zai: Nice! I particularly like how clean #4 is (though you could shoot even more telephoto). You may also want to reduce the HDR and dodge effect - very obvious on her legs in #4.

evilhomura89: I like #2 - not very conventional!

Yes, 30mm is a great walkaround angle. So is the 35mm F1.8 DT SAM, if you want to shoot more in the dark than you want to shoot macro.

cjlai: Bummer though that they didn't take a better picture to show the LCD swivel mechanism.

TSalbnok
post Feb 9 2011, 11:15 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

evilhomura89: Yes, very worth it!

ahpingko: I don't care for radio triggers to be honest because I can always trigger wireless flash with no problems. Just that people don't know how to shade their flashes in sunny weather, or that the flash signal can bounce.
TSalbnok
post Feb 10 2011, 10:30 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Codyx: Welllll if there was no caption the picture would look oddly framed. With the caption it looks good.

67zai: In #2 and #3 I'd just say she looks hot in those.

In your second series I dunno if you intentionally took it at an angle such that the sunlight is good on her but not good on him (though, I don't see how else it could be shot so both are lit in a '3D' way.)

#3 not so good angle, and it is misfocused - I see the background more clearly! Though, you could intentionally frame it straight 90 degrees (meaning you step to the right, stand further away and zoom in.)

And yes, you are allowed to clone out the green garbage bins in #4 and #5. Don't fancy the look in #5, again.

TSalbnok
post Feb 11 2011, 01:43 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

lwliam: Wow that really does explain CPLs (in that it cuts light bouncing off the mist lit from a different angle.)

fansoption: Nice, I see a fair bit more variation between pictures now.

zstan: Crop "The silver lining" about 2/5ths left, 1/5th right, 2/5ths top and 1/5th bottom.
TSalbnok
post Feb 11 2011, 02:15 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

fansoption: Meaning each picture is more different from each other.
TSalbnok
post Feb 11 2011, 12:25 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

fansoption: That is a good thing.

zstan: Probably a bit more to the right - the idea is that the shine is coming to the dark tower.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0464sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:56 PM