Urgent!Which will you choose,LCD TV or LED TV?, In search of Best LED/LCD TV

TStoronzrockkapak
post Jan 25 2011, 10:50 PM, updated 15y ago

Hello friends and forumers...

I'm in dilemma choosing between [B]LED TV and LCD TV...both in HD Quality..

The screen size will be 40 in" or 42 in" or higher..and my budget is arnd RM3500..[/B]

My Questions are:

1)What is the difference between LED TV and LCD TV??..which one is the best??or should i buy with 3D function??

2)Which brand offer Superb Quality Picture,Great Sound,Multi Function Spec,Internet TV,Skype,HDMI etc??

3)Which shop can offer great price???i'm staying in Rawang/Kuala Lumpur/Cheras/Selayang area...

4)What criteria should i aware or follow before i buy it???

I hope all GURUS about LED TV and LCD TV will help me to solve this problem...Please state the

brand/model of the tv with the current price...

I wait for your comments..Thx..

Andrewtst
post Jan 25 2011, 11:59 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,781 posts

QUOTE(toronzrockkapak @ Jan 25 2011, 10:50 PM)

The screen size will be 40 in" or 42 in" or higher..and my budget is arnd RM3500..[/B]

My Questions are:

1)What is the difference between LED TV and LCD TV??..which one is the best??or should i buy with 3D function??
- Currently they is no any LED TV at market, all still LCD TV with LED Backlight. LED is better especially better black level, with your budget, I don't think you can get any 3D function TV.

2)Which brand offer Superb Quality Picture,Great Sound,Multi Function Spec,Internet TV,Skype,HDMI etc??
- Use your own eyes to judge.

3)Which shop can offer great price???i'm staying in Rawang/Kuala Lumpur/Cheras/Selayang area...
--

- Still believe with your own eyes, if you love more on natural color, Sharp & Panasonic is a great choice, if you prefer more on vivid color, Samsung & Sony is a better choice.

I hope all GURUS about LED TV and LCD TV will help me to solve this problem...Please state the

brand/modelĀ  of the tv with the current price...

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jan 26 2011, 12:01 AM
ronaldkwok
post Jan 26 2011, 07:07 AM

656 posts

You can check out my HDTV Blog to have a general idea and some of your questions will be answered there. As Andrew said, use your eyes as the judge since each one has personal preference on how a HDTV looks best. To most people LED TV (i.e. backlit LCD TV) will look better than a LCD but cost more but some find it too bright and artificial. 3D is too expensive at the moment and there is very limited source material. Each brand will have its pors and cons so look for features that are important for you. Don't waste your time comparing USB media playing functions on a HDTV since there is so much varieties; just get a stand alone HD media player for RM199 that can play everything!
Since you are in Klang Valley, there are plenty of choices for good price; look out for offers in the newspapers from chain stores like Harvey Norman, SenQ, Best Denki, etc. and also Desa Home Theatre. Sometimes hypermarkets like Tesco, Carrefour, etc also have good offers. The smaller electrical shops have less variety but usually can bargain and give you better prices, good place to look if you alreday decided on a particular model. Good luck.

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Jan 26 2011, 09:51 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 26 2011, 10:00 AM

12,696 posts

My Questions are:

brand/model  of the tv with the current price...

Generally speaking, Plasma definitely have far better picture quality than LCD and quite often, even LED. Plus at far cheaper price than LED. But Plasma do have their own distinctive drawback like every other type of panel.

TStoronzrockkapak
post Jan 27 2011, 10:32 PM

hye there again..
thx for replying my post...its really hard to decide which one is suitable for me...lol...your help will be my precious item...
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 27 2011, 11:36 PM

12,696 posts

Before people can even begin giving you their opinion, they needed more information. For example:

1. What is it mainly used for? Video game. Cartoon. Movies.
2. Where will you use it? Sitting room? Bedroom? Special TV room?
3. When will you use it? Daytime with plenty of sunlight into room? Normal room? Dark room?
4. Who will be using it. Kids? Old parent? How old?
5. Why u need it? Normal Astro? B.Yond Astro? HD movies? RTM?
6. How are you going to pay for it? Ha, may be no need to answer this one.

gahpadu
post Jan 27 2011, 11:46 PM

1,438 posts

for rm3500 budget. I will hunt for bigger screen .Coz my 40" lcd seem getting smaller already
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 27 2011, 11:52 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Jan 27 2011, 11:46 PM)
for rm3500 budget. I will hunt for bigger screen .Coz my 40" lcd seem getting smaller already
Ya loh. For RM3500, you could get a Full HD 50" already.

sentinal3_16
post Jan 28 2011, 08:11 PM

798 posts

So which full HD plasma is the best? I see Samsung got few variety ranging from 2k to 5k for plasma hd.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 28 2011, 09:55 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(sentinal3_16 @ Jan 28 2011, 08:11 PM)
So which full HD plasma is the best? I see Samsung got few variety ranging from 2k to 5k for plasma hd.
Hard to say. Different people different requirement/different preference. Just like some prefers Apple and others Orange.

TStoronzrockkapak
post Jan 31 2011, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 27 2011, 11:36 PM)
Before people can even begin giving you their opinion, they needed more information. For example:

1. What is it mainly used for? Video game. Cartoon. Movies.
2. Where will you use it? Sitting room? Bedroom? Special TV room?
3. When will you use it? Daytime with plenty of sunlight into room? Normal room? Dark room?
4. Who will be using it. Kids? Old parent? How old?
5. Why u need it? Normal Astro? B.Yond Astro? HD movies? RTM?
6. How are you going to pay for it? Ha, may be no need to answer this one.
thanks Optiplex330 for replying my post..

1.Main purpose is watching the movies/tv channel..
2.It will be use at my living hall....around 20x20 square feet..
3.I think most of the time i'm watching are in the night time....normal room...
4.The age range is between 4 yo to 36 y0...
5.I really need it so bad....my mouth is watering....lol...Currently i'm using normal astro but going to change to b-yond..and if enough money...i will find for hd digital home teater also...
6.i'm going to pay it with my money.....lol...(",)..

Added on January 31, 2011, 10:14 am
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 26 2011, 10:00 AM)
Generally speaking, Plasma definitely have far better picture quality than LCD and quite often, even LED. Plus at far cheaper price than LED. But Plasma do have their own distinctive drawback like every other type of panel.
From my viewing experience...(after see all type of display)...,plasma panel got a glare on the screen...i mean shining when a light strike the surface and it will cause a disturbance to our eyes...(is it correct meh??)...lol..

Do latest plasma tv come with anti glare to prevent this situation???

Added on January 31, 2011, 10:38 amHi frens...where i can find Philips or Panasonic showroom for lcd/led tv in Selangor or KL??...Can anyone suggest for me the location???
Mostly the shop not sell full range of tv..(i mean only certain model only...not the high end)...
How about Court Mammoth/Sen Heng??Is the prices reasonable???

This post has been edited by toronzrockkapak: Jan 31 2011, 10:38 AM
ronaldkwok
post Jan 31 2011, 11:27 AM

656 posts

Can try bigger branches of Best Denki (eg. KLCC) or Harvey Norman (eg. near Ikea) or Desa Home Theatre in Kepong. Or even big Jusco branches.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 31 2011, 11:51 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(toronzrockkapak @ Jan 31 2011, 10:06 AM)
thanks  Optiplex330 for replying my post..

1.Main purpose is watching the movies/tv channel..home teater also...

For movies, Plasma PQ beats LCD anytime. Also beat LED at far far cheaper price but some people don't agree so you best compare Plasma vs LED PQ yourself.

3.I think most of the time i'm watching are in the night time....normal room...
For dim to normal room, Plasma works best. For brightly lighted room, LCD/LED works best and that's the reason why in brightly lighted showroom, LCD/LED attracts more customer.

4.The age range is between 4 yo to 36 y0...

You do not have old people so either can do. For very old people, Plasma is more gentle to aged eyes.

5.I really need it so bad....my mouth is watering....lol...Currently i'm using normal astro but going to change to b-yond..and if enough money...i will find for hd digital home teater also...
People say Plasma better for normal Astro but I don't know for sure because I have not done side by side comparison myself. For sport with fast moving object, Plasma generally better.

The 2 main drawback of Plasma are:
1. Minor drawback. Cost about maximum 50 sen extra electricity per night viewing.
2. Major drawback. Like you said, it has reflective screen but some LED also have same amount of reflectiveness. LCD has the least but lousy PQ compared to Plasma/LED. Better Plasma model like Panasonic 50V has significantly less reflectiveness but cost more.

Since some people like Oranges and others Apple, you best go check them out yourself. And oh...whatever you do, don't believe the No.1 rubbish perpetuated by people about Plasma are old technology and you will not find spare parts in future. I call them the No.1 idiot.
ronaldkwok
post Jan 31 2011, 12:40 PM

656 posts

There is another possible drawback of plasma, that of image burn-in. This is true of older plasma models and newer models could have reduced this effect but one needs to be aware of this possibility especially in the early life of the plasma TV. The plasma TV user manual or websites should have advice on this. LCD and LED TV do not have this issue.

0.0219sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:42 AM