SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB Official Thread V1, ..best and most portable Android tablet

enaleni
post Mar 4 2011, 09:06 PM

397 posts

to all tab sifus and users....... i got question dis is the way uncle benny show step to convert rfs to ext4 in tab....

These are the steps I took :
-Download the EXT4 TAR file from HERE
-Launch Odin 1.7 , in PDA select the TAR file ( do not select the ‘repartition’ option)
-Odin completed, the TAB reset and freeze on TAB logo – is a normal condition . I switch it off ( hold down power button for 5 secs )
-Go to Recovery Mode ( Press down VolumeUp button and switch on TAB )
-TAB reset and perform the EXT4 conversion ; you can see all the conversion progress on screen
-Once completed, the TAB Reboot.

before connect tab to odin did i need to boot my tab reboot boatlooder by pressing power dan volume down?

for ur information im using stock rom dxjm4 and i've done boatloader patch...

all of ur answer i will very2 appreciate it...
tq....
enaleni
post Mar 4 2011, 10:42 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(dvng @ Mar 4 2011, 09:27 PM)
Yes..you need to be in download mode for downloading of tar file into the tab..after that the light in ODIN will turn green.

Follow this guide...http://www.wowtechy.com/stepbystepguide-install-custom-modaco-rom-kernel-samsung-galaxy-tab/

Most importantly, unplug the tab from computer before you switch to recovery mode..
ALAMAK......

im in trouble now...... i follow the instruction except after i running start from odin i juz realize the repartition box been check not uncheck......

n now my tab stuck at recovery menu.....

somebody plz help me..... cry.gif

im doing all this thing while watching RAJA LAWAK....

OMG..... cry.gif
enaleni
post Mar 4 2011, 11:03 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Mar 4 2011, 10:49 PM)
Thx Benny again. Found it in the Market: ADW Notifier.

Added on March 4, 2011, 10:52 pm
Just re-flash again with odin.
Power off your TAB and wait for while.
Start again to download mode, yellow indication will appear on the odin then flash.
now my tab juz show the cwm recovery and show

E: failed to mount/system
enaleni
post Mar 4 2011, 11:55 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Mar 4 2011, 11:11 PM)
Best way to recover it the restore back from Nandroid (if you back-up b4 flash)
or just start from flashing back again the new ROM and then this MoDaCo Kernel.
im try flash back to stock rom using rom from samfirmware.com and now my tab stuck at samsung booting animation.... cry.gif

at the boot it sometimes vibrates few times....

This post has been edited by enaleni: Mar 4 2011, 11:58 PM
enaleni
post Mar 5 2011, 12:45 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(dave18 @ Mar 5 2011, 12:06 AM)
Switch off phone. Press volume down and hold, then press power on. When samsung logo appears release all buttons. It's now in download mode although you will still see the samsung logo. Flash rom using odin with pit file and re-partition.

Actually you should flash rotohammer jme v4 or jmi v2 instead of samfirmware rom.
i think i got my lesson today... now downloading Roto-JME-Full-v4.zip with my slow down throttle unifi ( i think my unifi reach the quota ) sweat.gif

i think dis will finish dlding around 8pm and then i will stat to flash again......

tq a lot uncle benny and dave 4 ur concern will infom u guys after i flash my tab to rotohammer smile.gif

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

thankz a lot to uncle benny, dave n klwong for ur tip notworthy.gif

now mine tab fully revive n i juz finish to convert d system to ext4 wub.gif

thank you again to all of u notworthy.gif

Added on March 5, 2011, 6:34 amUsername/Country/Baseband/Build Number and any rom upgrades you have done

tq again uncle benny baru terfikir to update with u in ur TAB users list juz cek now i found u dah update my nick name wink.gif by the way this is my detail

enaleni/Msia maxis/DXJM4 (stock rom) upgrade to XXJMA on EXT4 kernel

This post has been edited by enaleni: Mar 5 2011, 06:34 AM
enaleni
post Mar 5 2011, 01:47 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 5 2011, 08:59 AM)
Glad you got it done. It is not that hair raising experience - just a small spurt of adrenalin only

Since you have successfully done, should upgrade to latest JMI ; JMA is very old rom.
Recommend Overcome 1.2 JMI or Modaco R1 JMI : both equally good and stable . Overcome latest has built in own kernel, conversion to ext 4 and more features
not just hair raising but miserable about a few hours also.... hahaha.... biggrin.gif thanks a lot to you uncle nod.gif

uncle benny....

if i want to falsh overcome 1.2 JMI it got his own kernel should i flash it kernel 1st and then flash overcome1.2 by CWM mode?
enaleni
post Mar 12 2011, 10:00 PM

397 posts

[quote=thepittbull,Mar 12 2011, 06:27 PM]
thanks for the explanation biggrin.gif
i am currently in overcome 1.2.2 ..so just wanna know d way to get update to 1.2.3..is it must flash it?

[/quote]

Again, like I mentioned earlier... if you're already on Overcome 1.2.2... when you check on your system information, you should be running a kernel that states frank@OVERCOME #8X or #9X --- basically any kernel with a revision number that's higher than #45...

Then there's absolutely no reason to go to 1.2.3, other than wanting a higher version number! There's absolutely no reason for it. Seriously. ;-)

I know for a fact that the developer's working on Overcome ROM 2.0 as we speak. Just hang in there... it should be here soon. It's in the over right now...

However, if you're really insisting on having the latest ROM number... just get the Overcome 1.2.3 UPDATER (and not the full version which will wipe your system...) and just flash it via CWM. That's it.

[/quote]

dear pitbull..

if my tab on overcome v1.2.1 and the kernel is OVERCOME#45 is it possible that i juz can straight away flash the Overcome 1.2.3 UPDATER?

sorry uncle benny juz see ur post when im posting this post.... juz want some confirmation sweat.gif rolleyes.gif

already update use the UPDATER rolleyes.gif

sory benny and pittbull interrupt with noob question....

This post has been edited by enaleni: Mar 13 2011, 02:11 AM
enaleni
post Mar 18 2011, 12:45 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(shinzan @ Mar 18 2011, 12:20 PM)
Uncle benny, need ur help on this...
Emmm want to ask u where did u put ur update .zip? Plz place it on internal sd when u in recovery choose install zip from sd
enaleni
post Mar 18 2011, 12:48 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(dave18 @ Mar 18 2011, 12:44 PM)
@shinzan : put the update zip in internal storage and flash from there.
Now its like u r flashing like sgs juz put the update in the internal rom biggrin.gif
enaleni
post Mar 18 2011, 12:51 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(shinzan @ Mar 18 2011, 12:49 PM)
will do this...thanks bro... notworthy.gif
U r welcome dude rclxms.gif
enaleni
post Mar 18 2011, 04:28 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(myzer0 @ Mar 18 2011, 12:59 PM)
ARRGHHH the ugly original theme!
Bro.... u got other theme for tab? Care to share biggrin.gif
enaleni
post Mar 20 2011, 11:20 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 20 2011, 11:10 AM)
Repost : Posted at post #1

PROPOSED Tabbers meetup:

26 March 2011 at JAYAONE , Jln Universiti at 5 pm to 7 pm
The BEE , 2A-G Block K, Jaya One 72 Jln University, Petaling Jaya

PM me your interest to attend and I will update post #1 attendees
sadly i'll "balik kampung" next week.... sad.gif
enaleni
post Mar 21 2011, 11:53 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(vicng @ Mar 21 2011, 11:37 PM)
My SGT recently also got this problem. Dunno is it due to many apps in the SGT? I got 8 pgs apps. battery usage also drain very fast, normally if it still got 2 level battery shown, but suddenly it will prompt battery flat msg.  rclxub.gif  Need to restart the SGT & it will back to normal.

Currently also I often cannot send & retrieve MMS. Every week also need to go back Maxis centre to let them do something on my SGT, then only can send/retrieve MMS.  mad.gif
did u apply anything on ur tab?
enaleni
post Mar 24 2011, 02:40 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(sooieweng @ Mar 23 2011, 04:06 PM)

which player your download can play smooth movie? i try rock player...some RMVB and AVI movie seem lag and the picture n voice out of synch...
u can try moboplayer juz google it n dld the .apk file biggrin.gif
enaleni
post Mar 29 2011, 12:59 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Mar 29 2011, 12:39 AM)
i just downloaded superoneclick without the need of 10 posts or more sweat.gif

here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682

Added on March 29, 2011, 12:42 amoh btw, i haven't intro myself yet, sorry. sad.gif

Galaxy tab user, got it for free biggrin.gif . (actually it was my mom who got it for free, but she doesn't know how to use it hence she gave it to me). AP set i think, not sure hmm.gif

well after several hours of usage, I find the new ROM is better than Samsung's own ROM.........like always. laugh.gif
welcome to the club rclxms.gif

QUOTE(hkboey @ Mar 26 2011, 02:42 PM)
Bro, for the compatible 2A charger that you have, does it shows "USB Connected" when you charge? Or it just shows charging like the original one??

Added on March 26, 2011, 2:51 pm
Ouch, you have just joined me as a victim that is tied to Digi. I also signed up the contract and got the Tab from digi. Their 3G network is not fully compatible with the Tab. You will always face data drop issue. I've tried and done several network test with so many digi simcards all got prob. Hotlink simcard works like a charm though.

I've emailed them several times but their respond is very disappointing. "Always a smarter choice"?? Dont think so!!

Added on March 26, 2011, 2:54 pm
Yup! It works with Dolphin HD browser.
huahaha i juz find out this feature from dolphin hd browser and it really work to buy ticket from gsc using dolphin hd.... biggrin.gif
before this i try really hard to activate my paypal account to use it when purchase ticket from maxis movies app rclxub.gif
however is ok now i can buy from gsc using dolphin hd or use maxis movies if i want to get buy1free1 ticket icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by enaleni: Mar 29 2011, 01:27 AM
enaleni
post Mar 29 2011, 03:08 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Kamikaze2 @ Mar 29 2011, 02:10 AM)
Don't you get this message when you click on the link ? I got this once I login.......... vmad.gif

Kamikaze2, you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:

1. Please Read: New members (those with fewer than 10 posts) are not permitted to post to development-related forums. The developer forums are intended for experienced users and developers to discuss ways to improve technical aspects related to ROMs and Software. While you may be an expert, we ask ALL users to avoid posting questions about using or installing ROMs and software in the Development Forums. To encourage this new Users can read but not post in these forums.

To ask Questions about developing your device, installing ROMs, software and themes you must go to the Q&A or General Forum.

Remember, your question has very likely been asked already, so please search before posting.

2. Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?

3. If you are trying to post, the administrator may have disabled your account, or it may be awaiting activation.
wahhhh... really sorry for you........

fortunately i dont get same situation with you..... have u tried to register new one with new nickname?
enaleni
post Mar 30 2011, 02:30 AM

397 posts

juz now realiza there is an update for Overcome ROM v1.4.1 ♫ Overcome Kernel v2.1.1 ♫ 3/29/2011 rclxms.gif
enaleni
post Mar 30 2011, 11:34 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Mar 30 2011, 07:48 AM)
yup, check the XDA sticky about protected bootloader. u dont want to mess up like i did sweat.gif
o.O
battery bug solved?
from the chnagelog yup but i need to test it few days smile.gif
enaleni
post Mar 31 2011, 10:25 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Mar 31 2011, 10:18 PM)
i am using desire and HD2 on android nand rom
3g works fine
so benny 3g on tab works fine for u?
working fine and very good indeed
and even at my kampung juz got only gprs got good connection indeedddd flex.gif
enaleni
post Apr 2 2011, 04:48 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(darkcroation @ Apr 2 2011, 03:26 AM)
guys..how do u guys install clockwork recovery??i downloaded rom manager and wen try to install clockwork recovery and i have to choose either gtab tmobile,gtab varizon and gtab ATT..which 1 i should choose?
juz flash to overcome rom then u'll ogt cwm recovery mod rclxms.gif

0.0389sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:25 AM