SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB Official Thread V1, ..best and most portable Android tablet

cloudstrife07
post Mar 28 2011, 07:13 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

oh shi- i think i just bricked my Tab.

tried to flash to Overcome v1.4 without noticing the sticky about protected bootloaders in XDA.

and now the Tab has gone into 'phone-!-computer' mode. tried volume up + power, nothing happens. tried volume down + power, nothing happens too.

HELP!

----------
update:
MANAGED TO GET INTO OS! PHEW!

1. I pressed the 'volume down + power' to go into Download mode (i think so) even though the screen shows 'phone-!-computer' mode.
2. I downloaded Roto JME Pre-rooted firmware: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...ight=rotohammer
3. Open Odin 1.7 and put the PIT file and the full JME firmware into PDA
4. Flash it, and then pray hard.
5. SUCCESS!

phew.

------------------------
another update:

After done the above methods, I installed the bootloader checker from Chainfire. Patched the bootloader, and installed Overcome v1.4, and then I replaced the Overcome Kernel with richardtrip's kernel. It is said that the battery life with richardtrip's is far greater than the latest Overcome's kernel.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Mar 28 2011, 08:20 PM
cloudstrife07
post Mar 29 2011, 12:39 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Kamikaze2 @ Mar 28 2011, 09:21 PM)
Guys,

Where do you guys download super one click ?
I tried xda but not allowed to due to fewer than 10 posts.

Tried megaupload and other websites download successful but was prompted virus found in a few files and unable to unzip successfully.

Really lost here .........please help
i just downloaded superoneclick without the need of 10 posts or more sweat.gif

here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682

Added on March 29, 2011, 12:42 amoh btw, i haven't intro myself yet, sorry. sad.gif

Galaxy tab user, got it for free biggrin.gif . (actually it was my mom who got it for free, but she doesn't know how to use it hence she gave it to me). AP set i think, not sure hmm.gif

well after several hours of usage, I find the new ROM is better than Samsung's own ROM.........like always. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Mar 29 2011, 12:42 AM
cloudstrife07
post Mar 29 2011, 02:09 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Mar 29 2011, 12:30 AM)
Sorry if this has been asked before, but same scenario as the above, only difference its DiGi Broadband.

Anyone knows what's the APN?

Browsed thru the posts but can't find any answer.
sonyclie77, since the tab is an Android phone basically, so i guess this is the same:

1) Home -> Menu -> Settings -> Wireless & networks -> Mobile networks -> Access Points Name
2) Menu -> New APN
Name : DiGi Internet
APN: diginet
MCC: 502
MNC: 16
APN Type: default
(Others, blank)

cloudstrife07
post Mar 30 2011, 07:48 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Kamikaze2 @ Mar 29 2011, 03:31 AM)
It is ok I manage to get it from other site.
Now ROOTED at last and plan to install some new ROM tomorrow.
Just wonder if there is any steps to be taken before proceeding......must read more
yup, check the XDA sticky about protected bootloader. u dont want to mess up like i did sweat.gif

QUOTE(enaleni @ Mar 30 2011, 02:30 AM)
juz now realiza there is an update for Overcome ROM v1.4.1 ♫ Overcome Kernel v2.1.1 ♫ 3/29/2011  rclxms.gif
o.O
battery bug solved?
cloudstrife07
post Mar 30 2011, 06:04 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(mainstream @ Mar 30 2011, 10:15 AM)
New SGT user report in...

#P1000DXKM1

looking for experience on Android Platform. Hope to learn a lot from all sifus here.
welcome and have a blast here rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(shiwamoto @ Mar 30 2011, 04:46 PM)
What a bad bad news for those just bought it like ME..  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
luckily i got it for free sweat.gif

well anyway, I noticed some jerkings when i played games. any voltage setting that i should try to eliminate the jerkings? i'm at 1000mhz max clock and bfq cpu setting. dont want to go 1.4ghz as it decreases the battery life further sweat.gif
cloudstrife07
post Mar 31 2011, 12:28 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Mar 31 2011, 12:08 PM)
i don't see any Advanced in that menu ler..
there is, if you're using Clockworkmod Recovery. Normal Samsung recovery doesn't has it.

btw mike, remember me? i accompanied my friend to buy SGAce from u at Sunway Pyramid. Starbucks. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Mar 31 2011, 12:29 PM
cloudstrife07
post Mar 31 2011, 07:28 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Mar 31 2011, 03:07 PM)
yea. remember u.. u using tab mer? tongue.gif
Aiya.. i haven't install anything to my tab. just rooted ni.. no time to work around..
lai lai join the darkside, use Overcome custom ROM tongue.gif
cloudstrife07
post Mar 31 2011, 09:15 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

guys, any code to reset the gyroscope? seems like my gyroscope is a bit off to the right sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Mar 31 2011, 09:16 PM
cloudstrife07
post Apr 1 2011, 02:08 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Apr 1 2011, 01:16 AM)
Easiest way is look for SME logo around the tab or on your accessories . Ori or SME units will normally have this sticker . Pls correct me if I'm wrong especially traders

Added on April 1, 2011, 1:20 am
Bro , any prob on your Overcome ? Currently using 1.4.2 but my bt is going beserk with this version . Ringtones can b heard from the bt but the minute i answer the call , its on speaker n i cant switch it back to bt . No prob if I'm the one making the calls , only if I'm answering .
I didn't test for calls though, because I'm using Celcom broadband simcard inside my Tab.

Overall it's quite ok to me. So far no problems encountered.

Oh yeah, anybody played Pocket Legends MMO on their Tab? I would like to know how long the battery last from 100% till it's off when playing that game. Seems like I got around 4 to 5 hours or so on low brightness (not the lowest brightness though) with wifi on.

Added on April 1, 2011, 2:10 am
QUOTE(mikecmy @ Mar 31 2011, 11:44 PM)
the problem is, if flash the whole device will kena wipe kan?
yeah, it's highly recommended to wipe it sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Apr 1 2011, 02:30 AM
cloudstrife07
post Apr 2 2011, 12:45 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

one thing i like about the Tab (and Galaxy S):

using mVideoPlayer, i can view my favourite anime with subtitles! 720 .mkv ones. no need to convert here and there using Handbrake or Footbrake or disc brake. lol.
cloudstrife07
post Apr 2 2011, 05:06 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Apr 2 2011, 02:04 AM)
Aiks, I thought the stock video also can play 720p mkv plus the support of subtitle? Last time on stock rom it can play but a bit laggy. But now in Overcome it plays very smooth.
if the sub is in .srt format u can play thru stock Video app.

but most anime that uses .mkv container format is using .ass subtitle format which is embedded in the file itself, hence need the mVideoPlayer.
cloudstrife07
post Apr 3 2011, 02:24 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Apr 3 2011, 12:15 AM)
Haha, as a seller myself we don't have any estimation for it to reach here in Malaysia yet.
So far i got my tab like 2-3 weeks ago. Very satisfied with it though.
Depends on yourself actually. For me 7" is the exact thing i need.
and if only the Tab has ear speakers to talk like handphone, i wouldn't mind being 'stupid' or 'dumb' or whatever they call me.
cloudstrife07
post Apr 3 2011, 05:55 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 3 2011, 05:43 PM)
http://www.thegalaxytab.com/2011/04/01/sam...android-tablet/

Galaxy Tab Pro :
This is interesting update :
-  a 6.5-inch screen which can be expended up to 7.2-inch
-  Tegra 3 Core 2 Duo Processor running at 2GHz
-  Also a new version of Android OS is expected code-named 3.5.5.3″Lollipops”
-  new Samsung TouchWhyWhy will deliver users an unimaginable experience.
-  SD card slot, 10.1 MP rear camera and 5MP front camera, RealSurround Speakers,  3G – 4G capabilities
GT-P1101 will be also super extra thin (just 5.6 mm) being the thinnest tablet on the market, weighting only 250gr
lol uncle ben. that one is April Fools joke le. laugh.gif
cloudstrife07
post Apr 3 2011, 06:33 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 3 2011, 06:30 PM)
Ai Yoh - why you spoil the fun ??
cos 1st April already gone. if today is 1 April i sure wont spoil it tongue.gif
cloudstrife07
post Apr 5 2011, 12:46 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Apr 5 2011, 12:20 AM)
what roms are you guys on? overcome?
i guess mostly are on Overcome if they moved to darkside.
cloudstrife07
post Apr 8 2011, 12:01 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Getz @ Apr 7 2011, 10:39 PM)
enjoying reading manga using tab lately. best exp ever
I use the Mango app to read manga. How about you?
cloudstrife07
post Apr 8 2011, 08:27 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Getz @ Apr 8 2011, 06:17 AM)
same here, feels like reading actual manga comic. the screen size is about right.
yeap, and I made it to flip to the right, not to the left like default settings. no need to be weaboo. lol.

also, I put the default pre-loading page to 6, so no more waiting next time when im flipping to the next page tongue.gif
cloudstrife07
post Apr 10 2011, 12:42 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Apr 9 2011, 09:32 PM)
anybody got any issues on applanet? can download but cant install..unable to parse what error thing..
any idea?
thanks.
that's because of incomplete downloading. smile.gif

Added on April 10, 2011, 3:40 ambtw, i didn't realized that our XDA subforum has been merged for CDMA and GSM Android Developments. no wonder people inside there are trading jabs with each other. lol.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Apr 10 2011, 03:40 AM
cloudstrife07
post Apr 11 2011, 03:48 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

btw, i'm curious, has anyone here used the Xperia Arc Launcher yet?
cloudstrife07
post Apr 11 2011, 07:19 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 11 2011, 11:21 AM)
I have the arc. The launcher is basic nothing great or exceptional. Widget of interest is timescape which i find though unique n flashy is horribly designed - looks great but poor practical value
well I'm just asking because so many people asked blackhead92 to do the Arc Launcher for their respective phone in XDA, so I'm just wondering how's the experience actually smile.gif anyway, from your opinion, does it fares better than the Tab's Touchwiz?

QUOTE(ultraportable @ Apr 11 2011, 04:39 PM)
Hi you tab users should try the new Sygic Aura 2.13 navi software,looks great full screen ,very smooth and fast.Post some screen shots later.
that looks great! how about the map itself? accuracy?

btw i was wondering is there any fix for Papago X5? I did the Spareparts thingy like in the first page but then the menu for papago is like hangging in the middle of the screen while the map screen itself is full screen @ 1024x600. looks wierd.

0.0574sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:49 AM