❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v8 )))~❤, gathering people of a 1st gathering

codyseto
post Mar 30 2011, 06:02 PM

xavi5567, I just read your first few posts and it was so long and informative but I did not read until whether it says GPs can be reared in rooms or whether it didn't mention at all but anyway this is my question la.

Can i rear my GP in my room cause im afraid it causes my room to have lots of their fur in the air. Another thing I'd like to mention is, I have a cat at home and I reared a hamster before in a cage. The cat somehow managed to open the cage and killed my pitiful hamsters. Do you know of some ways to overcome this, other than lock my door when I'm out. I wish for the GP to feel safe if i am going to rear it.
codyseto
post Mar 30 2011, 06:41 PM

So it really isn't a big deal to keep them in my room i suppose
codyseto
post Mar 30 2011, 07:01 PM

QUOTE(humaiera @ Mar 30 2011, 06:57 PM)
no laaa... i also keep them in a room, i stay in college only  tongue.gif

got 5 of them, but stil ok

doesnt hv d flying 'bulu', haha  biggrin.gif

about d cat, yes, it wil get excited to get to d gp

its from my observation cz b4 dz i'd bring my gp to my maksu's house

she got a cat, n trying to open my gp's cage, haish...  vmad.gif
Yer.. takot la lidat... the stupid cat will scare it until it lose half its life. Right now i have zero knowledge on GPs and I am fond of getting 1 to hug! I read OPs first few posts and started to get some information, feel like getting it la, but worry about the stupid cat... any known petshops in cheras ah?
codyseto
post Mar 30 2011, 08:13 PM

haha, thanks xavi, i balik reply again, now dinner time
codyseto
post Mar 30 2011, 10:08 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Mar 30 2011, 07:35 PM)
i dont really encourage u to take up guinea pig as pet if u dont have a safe location for it.. icon_rolleyes.gif
they might be cute.. but they are not toy for jus hug hug.. they need constant care.. every day u must at least feed them twice a days with fresh vege and occasional fruit.. the hay and pellet is a vital for every meal as well.. u need to ask urself do u have the time and will to take up these responsibilities .. guinea pig can be vocal when they want ur attention.. so will u or any1 in the house stand it..
about the room thinggy, if ur room is well ventilated.. then it should be fine.. but if urs is a close room , prepare to be stinky.. even 1 day their pee and poo mix together will make ur room smelly if it is not well ventilated..  icon_rolleyes.gif
so dont get a guinea pig on impulse. think and rethink (things to think bout,--> time, financial, will, love and patient)
which is why im considering the location i should place them and how much space i should get for them. I do understand the consequences for rearing a pet. This is not my first so i do know the factors that have to be taken into consideration. Although I like the idea of C&C Cages cause it feels so close the the GPs, you can grab them anytime you want but definitely a nono for my situation. Petstore Cages on the other hand is more safer I can find a way to seal it off from being wrecked by the darn cat mad.gif but it certainly is not an ideal home for the GPs imo. I might be getting ready to get them so some of the things in mind are 1.) should i prepare the home for them before i get the GPs and 2.) who should i get the GPs from, i believe it is best to get them from some GP lovers here.
codyseto
post Mar 31 2011, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Mar 30 2011, 10:50 PM)
wat cats is this? is it the cat u are having as pet now ..? if so pls hinder urself from the intention... i dont mean to be straight.. but i m scare for the guinea pig sake.. if the cats u are taking bout is a stray cats.. how can it enter ur house? zoozone cage is actually not very suitable for guinea pig becos it will be stuffy for them after they poo and pee..
Yea it is my dads pet, aiya, if u say zoozone cage is not suitable den i believe i best not get one atm la, my cat dont enter 2nd floor but i never noe wen no one at home la. Is there a way like i create a C&C cage but a way to cover it while i am out.

I think if i want to stick with the idea of rearing one, i need to close my doors at all times while i am out.
codyseto
post Mar 31 2011, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Mar 31 2011, 08:20 AM)
C&C cage is highly customizable .. u can design it to be so .. jus use a bit of ur ingenuity... mine is a close top.. as my piggy love to climb.. but it still might not solve ur problem as cat are know to be naughty.. they will stay there play around with it.. even drag it out using paws..
thanks, i'll try coming out with an idea to give it more protective measure. any idea where is the easiest place to get chloroplast and the cages?

edit: i think i noe what chloroplast is, the one where we can use to seperate fishes in the fish tanks right, if so i think those can be found easily. but i think i have to find those cages in super/hyper markets.

This post has been edited by codyseto: Mar 31 2011, 01:23 PM
codyseto
post Mar 31 2011, 06:19 PM

Will be starting my adventure by finding the materials to build their home. Should i find my pet now too, or will it be easy to get one if im to get it from a GP lover =)
codyseto
post Mar 31 2011, 07:57 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Mar 31 2011, 07:34 PM)
it is best u study up everything u need b4 u take up a gp.. i bet 90% of s responsible home breeder will tell u tat 1st.. buy all the stuff u need 1st then only get urself a piggy.. it is best for u to equip ur self with every knowledge u need 1st..  thumbup.gif
Yea, that's exactly what i had in mind, have to make sure when the piggy arrives everything is adi like a hotel for it.
codyseto
post Apr 1 2011, 02:02 PM

QUOTE(jason86 @ Apr 1 2011, 09:08 AM)
ya...any particular breed that you wnat to have ?? remember choose a breed that suit you.... if u dotn have much time, choose normal short hair ...if u can spend more time on them, u can choose those long haired breed like peru  or sheltie smile.gif

Added on April 1, 2011, 9:10 amxavi~ i think my mocha is not a sheltie...but still love her so much....
I think im getting long hair wan =) but if im keeping it in my room i think i need it groomed frequently right? any suggestions on how frequent do they need grooming ah.

edit: baca adi.. is 1 day once?

This post has been edited by codyseto: Apr 1 2011, 02:24 PM
codyseto
post Apr 1 2011, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Apr 1 2011, 02:30 PM)
i tell u .. every1 or most of the people here would love to own a long hair 1.. but u will need to groom it once a week at least ( groom include--> comb, trim, wipe, touch up) .. do u have the time.. u stay in room, expect hairy experience if ur bedding is not fleece type.. because at least fleece type the hair stick to the fleece not fly around.. u need to comb it daily to keep it at jason condition.. mine i comb once every 2-3 days.. as mine piggy hair is straight and straight... not much tangled..wait till i show u mine house mate 1.. lol..hair very messy
Hmm, i'll thinker that out, i think that should not be a problem for me if i put effort in it. I just went to Jusco and bought coroplas but I was looking for the cubes but there wasn't any. I guess i have to go daiso to look for it. does all daiso have them or do you noe of any daiso that can find it easily. Google results gave me IOI puchong, sunway pyramid, 1u and the curve. What is the price range for them btw?

for the food bowl, can they be found in petshops or should i get them from the kitchenware department instead.
codyseto
post Apr 1 2011, 05:58 PM

lolllll ash tray pun boleh ah! den maybe tats a good suggestion oso! ok la, ill go to daiso and check out tmr. xavi, y don make a thread for "post your GPs pictures" or cages or somethin like that. how about the food, petshops should be easy to find.

i asked a friend today and she told me she rear her pet in a plastic container, letak barang that kind, quite lol. she also keep her pet in the room, sumore sleep with the owner.
codyseto
post Apr 1 2011, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(jason86 @ Apr 1 2011, 06:04 PM)
that too small for a guinea pig...  if you want, you have to get the largest 1 ...haha
haha she told me she get the largest container available! i think i should start looking for ppl tat sell guinea pigs already right, how old punya guinea pig should i get ah, for someone new like me.

xavi, 5rm for how many keping and the thing to connect the cubes, can find at daiso or not?

This post has been edited by codyseto: Apr 1 2011, 06:22 PM
codyseto
post Apr 1 2011, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(TobbyChan @ Apr 1 2011, 07:16 PM)
yeahh..back2natural is expensive  sweat.gif
depends on how big you want your cage to be lor. plus u need to add extra since you will put a closure on top right?

i think you just better use cable tie. Daiso also got sell one.
TobbyChan, yea lor i need closure for it too, darn cat mad.gif

Cable tie can get nearly everywhere la, i go jusco oso can c, go giant supermarket oso got. wat i wanted to ask xavi was, 5rm can get how many keping, so i can estimate how much the cage will be in total. i oso cant afford big cage if the cubes are expensive.
codyseto
post Apr 1 2011, 08:50 PM

QUOTE(TobbyChan @ Apr 1 2011, 08:18 PM)
the cube is rm 5 per piece. so around 14 pieces. 14xrm5 = rm70 .not including coroplast,and also fleece lor.
14 pieces got how large, i am not good at imagination. The cage is quite costly also la lidat, aiyo... how you guys punya cage look like icon_question.gif
codyseto
post Apr 1 2011, 11:36 PM

QUOTE(TobbyChan @ Apr 1 2011, 09:05 PM)
Daiso got many size nia.
This one a long one + the small one

depends on your space also. how you want to design it. try go daiso and see first la. from there you can see what size u want.

cage is one of the expensive thing. u need to think about hay and pallet also.  oxbow pallet rm39.90(alfafa) rm 49.90 (timothy). Hay depends. and you need to provide vege also everyday. there is a lot of things you need to consider before getting one.
Tobby, the cage like that for 1 gp good enough ah?
codyseto
post Apr 1 2011, 11:57 PM

but xavi, im definitely getting 2 woh~ tak mau they lonely, at least now i know the minimum size la~ tmr wen i see i will definitely know how many i need la, probably 20 la estimate
codyseto
post Apr 2 2011, 12:38 AM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Apr 2 2011, 12:01 AM)
actually u can save abit as the bottom u gonna use coroplast right.. so maybe 2 at the bottom can d.. jus to hold it if u need
nvm la, that few dollars don save, i scare the darn cat find a method. smile.gif
codyseto
post Apr 2 2011, 03:54 PM

QUOTE(emino @ Apr 2 2011, 03:30 PM)
Next Sunday will be good for me, Please prepare a birthday cake, since it will be my birthday. laugh.gif
Only if it is on Sunday tongue.gif
codyseto
post Apr 2 2011, 04:45 PM

I'd like to ask, gps like this actually look so because they are ungroomed right?

This post has been edited by codyseto: Apr 2 2011, 04:45 PM

0.0529sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:18 PM