❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v8 )))~❤, gathering people of a 1st gathering

TSxavi5567
post Apr 6 2011, 05:52 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(Rynna @ Apr 6 2011, 05:15 PM)
Thanks a lot for the suggestion. Yes, for this week, I am in the midst of feeding the liquid vitamin C, and the powdery meds given by Dr. Vellayan by the time I go to the hospital. These meds hopefully can increase his appetite to eat or drink again. Right now he only responded to soft type of food, he ate Lettuce also, but very little. At least something rather than nothing at all right? It's not an easy job to take care when he is really sick, he will refuse to anything you offer, even his regular fav food. I have to feed him regularly with syringe, because he can't eat by himself. He's too weak, and too skinny, he can't even lift up his head properly. Poor thing. I wish to know what's the cause of it and how it happen.

So sorry to hear about Gucci, she's surely in peace now.
Yes, I kind of agree with you, there are not many experienced vets here who can treat GP or has expertise with GP in Malaysia.
Most vets that I called just said, "no we don't treat guinea pigs, but you can just bring him here and we'll have a look".. How can I trust such statement?  doh.gif  My point is, if you're not sure then don't just say you can do something about it, and just charged for the sake of consultation fees. End up you still go back with nothing and waiting for your poor guinea to recover. Sorry if I'm a bit emotional about this, I just had few bad experience before. 

No signs of mites, the fur, ear, eyes, teeth as I checked are perfectly healthy. He's only 7 months now.

Sure, I won't mind sharing and update about him here.. at least it's good for future or current owners to face this kind of difficulties and emergency situation like this. Not to scare future owners but, just be prepared with some proper research beforehand because GPs are quite prone to sickness. Hopefully he can survive longer.  sad.gif
is the poo normal? i mean is it watery, shrunken, or dry? do u weight ur piggy often? if u does wat was its weight at 7 month? wat have u been feeding ur piggy b4 this? is there any changes in his diet? i mean did u change brand to a new pellet or hay? wat vege or fruit u normally feed it?

Added on April 6, 2011, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(humaiera @ Apr 6 2011, 04:36 PM)
Xavi, need to tell u some news, good  tongue.gif  n bad  sad.gif

d good news is Timmy got a child, white color (right side) n got bit black n choc on left side  icon_rolleyes.gif

d bad news : only 1 survive, d other 1.....  sad.gif

n Yuki's sick... her right eye got crust smthing like dt... already bring her to vet, hop she get well soon  sad.gif
really congrat!! timmy so productive.. lol.. how old was yuki when she gave birth? death of the babies is likely if the mom is inexperience or too young.. crust on the eye.. ai ya ya.. u got eyemo or something? try use a cotton pad, tap a few drop of eyemo on it and swap the crust away.. i wanna advice to bath ur yuki but she jus gave birth better dont 1st..

This post has been edited by xavi5567: Apr 6 2011, 05:55 PM
emino
post Apr 6 2011, 06:48 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(manejist @ Apr 6 2011, 03:04 PM)
at last google where is that place "Taman Tasik Titiwangsa" Too Far already+ i not familiar with the road there ! i'm from klang! can we make it more nearer ? or all of u live nearby only ? so u all are looking for park for this 1st outing ?
If we organize somewhere nearer to you, someone else will ask us to organize more near to them.

Park would be preferable, since we decided to bring along our GP for this outing.
TSxavi5567
post Apr 6 2011, 06:53 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Apr 6 2011, 06:48 PM)
If we organize somewhere nearer to you, someone else will ask us to organize more near to them.

Park would be preferable, since we decided to bring along our GP for this outing.
emino i think we postpone it 1st.. i cant seem to get a head count more than 10 people..
jason86
post Apr 6 2011, 07:13 PM

LẽTORO GROOMING
1,447 posts

went to sunway pyramid yesterday for dinner...passed by plc...saw these cute lita fella....

haha...they are now my family...so tempting...
at first plan to get 1 only, but end up took both cos the other one looks lonely alone there ...

Latte~Attached Image

Presso~Attached Image

Added on April 6, 2011, 7:16 pm
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Apr 6 2011, 06:53 PM)
emino i think we postpone it 1st.. i cant seem to get a head count more than 10 people..
sorry...cant make it for this gathering.... not around .. . . sad.gif

This post has been edited by jason86: Apr 6 2011, 07:16 PM
humaiera
post Apr 6 2011, 07:25 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Apr 6 2011, 04:52 PM)
is the poo normal? i mean is it watery, shrunken, or dry? do u weight ur piggy often? if u does wat was its weight at 7 month? wat have u been feeding ur piggy b4 this? is there any changes in his diet? i mean did u change brand to a new pellet or hay? wat vege or fruit u normally feed it?

Added on April 6, 2011, 5:55 pm

really congrat!! timmy so productive.. lol.. how old was yuki when she gave birth? death of the babies is likely if the mom is inexperience or too young.. crust on the eye.. ai ya ya.. u got eyemo or something? try use a cotton pad, tap a few drop of eyemo on it and swap the crust away.. i wanna advice to bath ur yuki but she jus gave birth better dont 1st..
oh i c... roger dt! emmm abt d eye, already bring her to vet, hop she'l get well soon... smile.gif Yes, 1st tym getting baby, only 1 survive, bt still im very hpy rclxms.gif

she's around 8-9 months i think.. dun rly know cz i bought her at pet shop Oct 2010....

btw, thanx xavi smile.gif
TobbyChan
post Apr 6 2011, 07:49 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Apr 6 2011, 07:13 PM)
went to sunway pyramid yesterday for dinner...passed by plc...saw these cute lita fella....

at first plan to get 1 only, but end up took both cos the other one looks lonely alone there ...

sorry...cant make it for this gathering.... not around .. . .  sad.gif
wahhh jason!!! all sheltie ar drool.gif
I understand the tempting feeling sweat.gif

Added on April 6, 2011, 7:51 pm
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Apr 6 2011, 06:53 PM)
yeah..I second that. then we can organize properly =)

This post has been edited by TobbyChan: Apr 6 2011, 07:52 PM
jason86
post Apr 6 2011, 08:19 PM

LẽTORO GROOMING
1,447 posts

tobychan~ ya...sheltie/peru and crested are my favo breeds... keke ... smile.gif
emino
post Apr 6 2011, 08:24 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Apr 6 2011, 07:13 PM)

Latte~Attached Image

Presso~Attached Image

sorry...cant make it for this gathering.... not around .. . .  sad.gif
LOL. I bought Prue because of Piper, and Phoebe because of Paige. I guess its sad to take away their friend so we took both!
jason86
post Apr 6 2011, 08:39 PM

LẽTORO GROOMING
1,447 posts

emino~ ya... hopefully we cant stop this behaviour...if not, my house full with pets 5 dogs & 3 gps ... sleep.gif'
TSxavi5567
post Apr 6 2011, 09:27 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Apr 6 2011, 08:39 PM)
emino~ ya... hopefully we cant stop this behaviour...if not, my house full with pets 5 dogs & 3 gps ... sleep.gif'
out of the 3 later .. will bear out little piglet pulak lol rolleyes.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by xavi5567: Apr 6 2011, 09:28 PM
jason86
post Apr 6 2011, 09:33 PM

LẽTORO GROOMING
1,447 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Apr 6 2011, 09:27 PM)
out of the 3 later .. will bear out little piglet pulak lol rolleyes.gif wub.gif
haha ... . . . . sien leh...xavi....
zipa
post Apr 7 2011, 01:54 AM

QUOTE(Rynna @ Apr 6 2011, 02:14 PM)
Hi all GP experts,

I'm a newbie at this post..
I love to be part of y'all, but now I'm in the worst mode bcoz my GP is terribly sick.

I wish to know if anyone could tell me any doctor who can really treat GPs very well here? The sickness is quite severe, I think it's internal problem. He is very2 weak now, he could not eat or drink by himself, have to feed him using syringe.. He has lost appetite too.

I plan to bring him this weekend to this hospital: http://www.animalhospital.com.my/
But would like to hear your recommendation also.

Please help.  sad.gif
i've already experienced it before.. in the beginning my gp is like a popcorning(but its not actually a popcorning-lompat2)..then after 3days, her leg is bengkak. then i brought her to the vet, and the doc give me antibiotic and painkiller. i tot my gp condition would be much better, but, day by day, she only lay down and prefer to eat soft food (hay rather than pellet). 1 day, she wheeking (maybe to say she is sick), when she eat, her air liur always come out. and she even cannot chew her food. and her condition become worst. at night after i return back from dinner, i saw her lay down, no energy..she try to wake up, but she cant...only her feet can be move.. pity..huhu..then i tried to make her stand, but can't. lastly i brought her to medivet at jln tun razak (private vet), the assistant said, try to give her glucose to regain back her energy and put warm water below her body to make it warm. but after a few minute (after finish discuss with the assistnt), she gone...hhuhuhu sad.gif cry.gif hope she will be in peace. my advice, go and seek the specialist doc immediately, bcoz ur gp is still can be survive..not like mine, gone after lay down..uhuh.. ksian alisa! try to give more vit c to her.. hopefully ur gp become healthy again! smile.gif
jason86
post Apr 7 2011, 08:40 AM

LẽTORO GROOMING
1,447 posts

QUOTE(zipa @ Apr 7 2011, 01:54 AM)
i've already experienced it before.. in the beginning my gp is like a popcorning(but its not actually a popcorning-lompat2)..then after 3days, her leg is bengkak. then i brought her to the vet, and the doc give me antibiotic and painkiller. i tot my gp condition would be much better, but, day by day, she only lay down and prefer to eat soft food (hay rather than pellet). 1 day, she wheeking (maybe to say she is sick), when she eat, her air liur always come out. and she even cannot chew her food. and her condition become worst. at night after i return back from dinner, i saw her lay down, no energy..she try to wake up, but she cant...only her feet can be move.. pity..huhu..then i tried to make her stand, but can't. lastly i brought her to medivet at jln tun razak (private vet), the assistant said, try to give her glucose to regain back her energy and put warm water below her body to make it warm. but after a few minute (after finish discuss with the assistnt), she gone...hhuhuhu sad.gif  cry.gif  hope she will be in peace. my advice, go and seek the specialist doc immediately, bcoz ur gp is still can be survive..not like mine, gone after lay down..uhuh.. ksian alisa! try to give more vit c to her.. hopefully ur gp become healthy again! smile.gif
zipa~ sorry to hear that ...sad.gif so how many gp u got now ?
zipa
post Apr 7 2011, 10:00 AM

QUOTE(jason86 @ Apr 7 2011, 08:40 AM)
zipa~ sorry to hear that ...sad.gif    so how many gp u got now ?
i just have a pair of it....how bout u?
waaaaaaaaa!!!! very cute new gp.. smile.gif
Rynna
post Apr 7 2011, 11:59 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Apr 6 2011, 05:52 PM)
1. Last when I weighed him at Dr Yeoh's clinic, he was only 400g.
2. Poo last week was smaller, smaller than hamster's, like round shape but not watery. This week already start watery probably because he only eats mashed / soft type of food. But he seldom eat also sad.gif
3. Pellets are only from Oxbow and Cobayes (as treat) since day one I brought him home.
4. Vege are mostly lettuce, carrots, celery, baby tomatoes. Fruits are mostly apple.
5. Fed him vit C liquid everyday also
6. Hay: Alfalfa and Timothy from Show Hay and Oxbow.

QUOTE(zipa @ Apr 7 2011, 01:54 AM)
i've already experienced it before.. in the beginning my gp is like a popcorning(but its not actually a popcorning-lompat2)..then after 3days, her leg is bengkak. then i brought her to the vet, and the doc give me antibiotic and painkiller. i tot my gp condition would be much better, but, day by day, she only lay down and prefer to eat soft food (hay rather than pellet). 1 day, she wheeking (maybe to say she is sick), when she eat, her air liur always come out. and she even cannot chew her food. and her condition become worst. at night after i return back from dinner, i saw her lay down, no energy..she try to wake up, but she cant...only her feet can be move.. pity..huhu..then i tried to make her stand, but can't. lastly i brought her to medivet at jln tun razak (private vet), the assistant said, try to give her glucose to regain back her energy and put warm water below her body to make it warm. but after a few minute (after finish discuss with the assistnt), she gone...hhuhuhu sad.gif  cry.gif  hope she will be in peace. my advice, go and seek the specialist doc immediately, bcoz ur gp is still can be survive..not like mine, gone after lay down..uhuh.. ksian alisa! try to give more vit c to her.. hopefully ur gp become healthy again! smile.gif
Gosh.. so sorry to hear that.. looks like you went to the same place I plan to go after this.. Hmm, mind if I ask, did you identified the root cause of it? Did the doc mentioned anything? Is it Dr. Sivan? AFAIK only he's the one who's familiar with exotic animals there.

This post has been edited by Rynna: Apr 7 2011, 11:59 AM
TSxavi5567
post Apr 7 2011, 12:23 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(Rynna @ Apr 7 2011, 11:59 AM)
1. Last when I weighed him at Dr Yeoh's clinic, he was only 400g.<-- that is underweight for a 7month old
2. Poo last week was smaller, smaller than hamster's, like round shape but not watery. This week already start watery probably because he only eats mashed / soft type of food. But he seldom eat also sad.gif <-- watery as in berak cair? If so sound like diahearia and angin in the tummy same case as my choco previously. U must stop the vege and fruit totally jus hay. As their tummy having a bateria inbalance.. Nothing u can do but jus hope it take up more hay and vitamin C.. Mash pellet will also help.
3. Pellets are only from Oxbow and Cobayes (as treat) since day one I brought him home. <-- no treat for now try to reduce the sugar intake for it as it will cause more air in its tummy
4. Vege are mostly lettuce, carrots, celery, baby tomatoes. Fruits are mostly apple.<-- stop this 1st if wan also feed it on a interval basic. stop celery totally 1st. 
5. Fed him vit C liquid everyday also<-- continue the vit c
6. Hay: Alfalfa and Timothy from Show Hay and Oxbow.<-- continue the hay .this time try to get mountain grass which have herbs 1 ..oxbow hay it.. Get those which are only in green colour. Tis is more fragrant increase appetite. Oat hay help too.
Gosh.. so sorry to hear that.. looks like you went to the same place I plan to go after this.. Hmm, mind if I ask, did you identified the root cause of it? Did the doc mentioned anything? Is it Dr. Sivan? AFAIK only he's the one who's familiar with exotic animals there.
Juztiny
post Apr 7 2011, 01:38 PM

1,276 posts

My new batch of babies. Just 0-2 weeks old. They are offspring of Texel cross Peruvian. And the outcome is full of variety. The grey and white pair looks like Sheltie babies instead. And the tri-color babies seem to inherit more Texel fur coat.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Rynna
post Apr 7 2011, 01:56 PM

27 posts

xavi: Thanks for the advice.. right now he refuse to eat hay, he hardly eat anything. Sighh.. Mashed pellets i tried before, but I mix it with water.. there's no way he can eat from food bowl because he can't lift up his head at all.

juztiny: Looks very cute. The black+gold colour is just as similar as mine.. Can I ask, how do we determine whether we can mix different breeds or not in the same cage?
Juztiny
post Apr 7 2011, 02:07 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Rynna @ Apr 7 2011, 01:56 PM)
xavi: Thanks for the advice.. right now he refuse to eat hay, he hardly eat anything. Sighh.. Mashed pellets i tried before, but I mix it with water.. there's no way he can eat from food bowl because he can't lift up his head at all.

juztiny: Looks very cute. The black+gold colour is just as similar as mine.. Can I ask, how do we determine whether we can mix different breeds or not in the same cage?
Based on your description of your GP, the condition seem to be very bad, I think he won't survive for another 2 more days.

Different GPs can be mix in same cage without problem, just like we human, have Indian, Chinese and Malay.
Rynna
post Apr 7 2011, 02:25 PM

27 posts

juztiny: honestly saying, he's quite a survivor.. he still try to stand even though after that he'll fall down to the side. I do hope the doc can treat him, and let's see if he's okay.. I'm still trying any possible thing.. thanks for the info. How about age differences? I thought of having another one, but most probably the new gp will be a baby.

128 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:43 AM