❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v8 )))~❤, gathering people of a 1st gathering

lum_yu_wat
post Jun 12 2011, 07:00 PM

QUOTE(emino @ Jun 12 2011, 06:39 PM)
Daiso also have 20x10 grids, so that you wont have extra bulging out like her cage. But still, NICE CAGE!
yeah... i only saw the long one AFTER i finished my cage.. sad.gif could've cut my cost a little there.. but thanks!.. still gonna keep improving the cage design.. smile.gif
lum_yu_wat
post Jun 12 2011, 10:38 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 12 2011, 08:36 PM)
since u using fleece bedding better get urself a triangle toilet tray from alex liao.. If not ur fleece bedding will be soaking wet within a day.. Maybe u can raise up ur bottle a bit.. It seem to be on a lower level.. Anyway.. Nice cage.. I bet ur piggy is happy...
i have the triangle toilet tray already.. i used to have to change towels/fleece daily.. now just clean the tray daily.. much easier.. i think Yu Wat don't know how to drink from the bottle.. so when im having bonding time with her, i pushed it towards her mouth.. a little water dripped out, and she was smacking her lips.. gonna do it a few more times and hope she will learn to drink from there.. haha can give her treats if she drinks on her own, right?

QUOTE(ryozoemiko @ Jun 12 2011, 10:22 PM)
Hey all sifu, I have a question mark @@

I juz bought a female gp from iX3rukia and let my dan dan (the other female gp) smell her and make fren. Weird thing is, dan dan tends to making rumble sound then stand on the new gp in mating position ?! Both females...how come dan dan will have the tendency to...errr...??
im not sifu, but im just wondering.. i read that it is better to quarantine the GP first, in case of infections or what.. but buying from trusted breeders should be okay, right? because i'm planning to get a mate for Yu Wat as well.. so i'm interested in your scenario as well..
lum_yu_wat
post Jun 13 2011, 05:25 AM

something suddenly came to mind.. how heavy are your GPs? i just weighed Yu Wat.. 370gm @ 2 months 3 weeks..

is this normal? it says my GP should be around 500-600gm, according to HERE
lum_yu_wat
post Jun 17 2011, 11:09 PM

just when i thought im having trouble litter training my Yu Wat, im now hearing the dreadful teeth chattering, since i brought home a mate for her.. unnamed, male, and separate cages for now.. sigh...
lum_yu_wat
post Jun 18 2011, 03:56 AM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 18 2011, 02:31 AM)
u are having two males together in a confine area? must be each one of it wanna  flex.gif
one male, and one female (Yu Wat)... plan to neuter the newcomer (male), since breeding isnt really an option at this point..

some google results tell me that i should let them fight around.. at least until blood is drawn.. sad.gif
lum_yu_wat
post Jun 18 2011, 05:09 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 18 2011, 11:25 AM)
Neutering is as expensive as a long hair guinea pig.. Hehehe.. Fight till blood is drawn.. Tried that doesnt work.. I have experience it b4.. if u started of with two male.. One of them will mounth another 1.. Once the boss is determined ..score is settle.. But once u introduce a female into the game.. The score never will get settle.. U jus got to separate the another male.. As only 1 gp will get the right to mate.. If the another 1 try to mate.. The fight will embroil.. Shed how many blood also no use..
seems today is better.. Yu Wat is more dominant than male.. but do you think nibbling on the ears is alright? he doesnt seem to mind getting nibbled on the ear.. haha they are sharing food as well.. i guess if it can go on for awhile more, they should be okay..

when i watch them fight, i get the feel that my Yu Wat is more of a dominatrix.. haha
lum_yu_wat
post Jun 25 2011, 08:17 AM

QUOTE(hermozo09 @ Jun 24 2011, 11:51 AM)
hi bro, remember me?? de guy tat sold u de male pig.

i guess ur new comer is juz like his father, the passive one as the mother is the dominant one. do be patient when putting them tgt, i wud suggest let them in de same cage for 1-2 hours a day & gradually increase it to half day. it will be easier that way. gud luck biggrin.gif

Added on June 24, 2011, 11:57 amfrom my previous experience of breeding, it is advisable to breed at the age of 4 months & no later than 6 months as the pelvic bone will start to form & make it difficult to give birth should the sow aged 6 months & above.

therefore, if ur piggies r 6 months & above, its better leave them as they r & dun try to breed them. it will be so serious that may cause death to both mother & the unborn.
sure remember lo.. ur GPs all popcorn together-gether.. haha am trying to put them together during mealtime nowadays.. and during cage cleaning..

about the breeding part, will leave it up to them lo.. doesnt look good for the kids, if father+mother keep fighting.. laugh.gif gotta get past this introduction phase first..

my GF renamed Oreo to Pandazai because of the black/white motive.. he is as docile as well.. can easily pick him up... think he prefer hay, rather than vege.. cucumber doesnt make him go crazy as much as Yu Wat..
lum_yu_wat
post Jul 1 2011, 08:10 AM

QUOTE(shukri77 @ Jul 1 2011, 01:44 AM)
i just bought a bale of timothy hay (20kg). The hay looks good. I buy it long time ago if i knew this, save money and good quality.
hi,

where u buy hay by the bale? any chance to share or bulk? haha
lum_yu_wat
post Jul 30 2011, 09:23 PM

hi guys and gals..

i have 2 GPs, one's weight is steadily increasing (exactly 3 months old male - 630gm), while another is practically stagnant (now 4 months and 1 week old female - stuck at ~420gm for the past month)

i know female GPs are a bit lighter, but is this normal, despite the age difference?

as a note, they are both active, eating healthily (lettuce, bell pepper, tomatoes, cucumber) and weekly treats (fruits).. feed them about 3-4 times a day..

would appreciate a little feedback from you all.. thanks in advance!

edit: a picture from last week

This post has been edited by lum_yu_wat: Jul 30 2011, 09:30 PM
lum_yu_wat
post Aug 11 2011, 07:21 PM

what a mixup.. my male GP turns out to be female, and my female vice versa.. haha just given birth to 2 healthy babies...

is the mother supposed to eat the gross thing that looks like chicken liver?
lum_yu_wat
post Aug 12 2011, 03:13 AM

feeding time looks an orgy.. i felt a little embarassed to watch.. haha

but seeing two healthy baby GP is so exhilarating.. everyone should experience this.. maybe can learn how to appreciate life.. cheers
lum_yu_wat
post Aug 14 2011, 07:28 PM

QUOTE(4896la @ Aug 14 2011, 02:44 PM)
How can i know whether my gp is pregnant or not? She's fat or pregnant? Her stomach was same big for almost 1month edi...
the top one is 4 months old (450gm), and the pregnant one is 3 months old (700gm, 3 days before giving birth to 2 babies)
can actually feel the babies at the sides, but don't press too hard on them..

95gms each.. silky smooth fur.. niceee.. im a proud parent!
my gf names them ManTau (left) and FaGuen (flower roll, dunno how to pinyin)
lum_yu_wat
post Aug 15 2011, 12:55 AM

maybe still early? did u notice her eating more? i didnt know much, but i realize mine did start eating more vege/pellet.. and i thought it was normal due to growth or something..

but estimate about 2-3 times more.. 1 leaf of romaine lettuce becomes at least 2 leaf.. and leave more pellets in her bowl if u gonna be away for long.. i remember a few times i come home, i see the pellet bowl empty, and wheek a lot when i reach for the fridge..
lum_yu_wat
post Aug 15 2011, 07:42 PM

heres something that hit me after a couple of days.. since a forumer sold me a mistakenly-sexed gp(sold to me as male, but now already gave birth) how bad is the possibility of in-breeding?(with the father) i have 2 abbys (the other one is supposed to be female), but gave birth to an abby and a shorthair, as per pic posted earlier..

retardation? early death? this has suddenly become scary.. sad.gif

im still keeping the "father" separated, in case of a possible double mixup.. will have to try to check their genitalia again..
lum_yu_wat
post Aug 15 2011, 10:00 PM

it could be possibly in-bred by the breeder whom i got my GP from.. since he didnt know as well, and placed the female GP i got, along with his other male GPs..

nothing i can do now, except pray they grow up normal.. or pray they are not in-bred.. today is the 2nd month they are in my house.. sad.gif
lum_yu_wat
post Aug 16 2011, 09:47 PM

haha you'll be proud to know they will grow up on the hay you are selling! i got mine twice from you, COD 3+1kg at your warehouse in melawati.
lum_yu_wat
post Aug 18 2011, 10:03 AM

are those just pieces of your bedding sticking on to it?
lum_yu_wat
post Aug 19 2011, 10:38 PM

QUOTE(4896la @ Aug 18 2011, 09:54 PM)
I think i feel the baby moving! When i was touching her stomach, i feel it was shaking but come from inside. Is that baby moving?
don't get too excited yeah? haha apparently, you are not supposed to handle her so much during pregnancy.. i didnt know, but i always handle them properly.. mine was even a bit docile during the pregnancy period, which led me to believe that she is used to me.. sad.gif now all she does is run around when i try to pick her up..

QUOTE(4896la @ Aug 19 2011, 07:39 PM)
My gp rush vry fast and almost knock the wall suddenly. Nothing happen just now. Why it will suddenly rush here rush there. She's now pregnant...i am so worried sad.gif
your place got a lot of noise? maybe it will help calm the pregnant GP by giving her a hidehouse.. i gave mine a long "tunnel" made by bending a grid and cover+line with newspaper+lots of hay.. now the "tunnel" is a good toy that they play "merry-go-round" with..

i also used to roll up a thick newspaper (about 10 pages) and clipped them on the sides and it makes a good tunnel.. until they keep trampling over it..

now im planning to use my office's paper shredder to shred some newspaper.. it seems like it will be good to let them hide/burrow/nibble/play in the section i've partitioned for them..

moral of the story: newspaper = convenient bedding + creative toys + cheap

btw, not that i'm giving them away, but i think i can confirm one of my babies is a male.. the other one keep kicking my finger away when i tried to check the genitals..

PS: my babies are starting to eat vege+pellets already, on top of mother's milk.. they are 8 days of age.. advisable?

This post has been edited by lum_yu_wat: Aug 19 2011, 10:41 PM

0.0541sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:22 PM