Others [WTS] (NO STOCK) Top 3G Antenna Metteor-Link, DC-HSPA+ Huawei ZTE Sierra Alcatel

johnlth93
post Jun 28 2012, 08:00 PM

Debian
1,200 posts

my area 2100mhz great signal below -70db
but due to student area and 2100mhz is primary frequency so basically majority is using this, causing very bad speed and latency

i tried 900mhz speed not bad but signal worst
recommendation, should i get a 900mhz antenna? i can get 2mbps+ with 900mhz very bad signal
is getting antenna, improving signal improve the speed?

my case is 2100mhz can get 6mbps top using maxis postpaid rm68 + e367
but only on weekends when ppl go home, not @ this area
weekdays, very unstable using 2100mhz 2mbps or lower sometimes cant use too slow
johnlth93
post Jun 29 2012, 12:29 PM

Debian
1,200 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Jun 29 2012, 11:10 AM)
boleh.

Added on June 29, 2012, 11:18 am
first, talk about theory>

1) higher frequency band = carry more data = higher speed 
lower frequency band = carry less data = lower speed

(pratically true, as what u saw)
2) higher frequency band = weaker indoor penetration signal /no far enough
lower frequency band = better indoor penetration signal / further than higher frequency band

(practically what being seen is sth on the contrary, just what u said, 900MHz even worsen signal)
the ideal band still 2100MHz for 3G, especially we now already on high speed HSPA+ or DC=HSPA+ network, i don't think ppl wanna pay expensive 3G $$ fees but using lower speed band. improve 2100MHz reception power with external antenna 'to compete' with others rather than 'surrender' to lower speed band.
yes i understand sir
i studied networking
my signal is consider great d, but it was too crowded
all i wan is stable 2-4mbps
and 900mhz certainly can do that

i need to know if i use omni antenna (im getting around -90 or worst using 900mhz) can the signal be improved?
i dun wan yagi, it was hard to apply this especially i m in rented condo (offcampus rental)
i had a 2.4ghz yagi before, i know how hard for me to use for my case

so just wondering if omni antenna can do the job
tq
johnlth93
post Jul 1 2012, 08:41 PM

Debian
1,200 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Jun 29 2012, 09:36 PM)
external omni antenna for 3g? it may return u with reversed expected result.

since u already have basics, consider this scenario:

where is signal source? 3g signal source is come from 3g base station. where is 3g base station? 3g base station sit at high rise building, probably not at same floor with you (same horizontal line).

how higher dbi omni antenna works? omni antenna coverage area is a donut shape (vertically not 360 degree), not a ball shape (vertically 360 degree). The higher dbi of omni antenna = the flatten of the donut size, ie the horizontal space is extended, but the vertical space is dropping.

now matching the above 2 into a single picture, what can be seen?

if signal from base station at high rise building already getting weak near your spot, using a higher gain external omni antenna (work in a flat donut coverage shape) e.g 10dbi may lead you to even lower signal level compared with internal built-in 2dbi omni antenna since 2dbi omni has widen vertical area. so using external 3g omni antenna is no guaranteed to get improved result, it got high chances of showing lower signal level, depends on circumtances. so till today i still don't take any external 3g omni antenna stock bcoz no guaranteed result.

still, the directional antenna the ideal choice for these wireless technology (3G, wimax, LTE) where the signal source is come from high rise building. It cannot be apple to apple comparison to home wifi scenario.

for smaller size, and multi band purpose, u can consider the directional panel with up to 10dbi effect. the stock can be ordered.
in understand how omni transmit
i read some of your thread

i am consider on 10th floor and like i say i got very good signal on 2100mhz

anyway, thanks much for your reply i will consider
if wan then i'll contact
tq
johnlth93
post Aug 27 2012, 02:43 AM

Debian
1,200 posts

Hi, i need to know about the omni antenna
is that dual badn 900/2100 or single band 2100?
ty
johnlth93
post Aug 27 2012, 10:19 PM

Debian
1,200 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Aug 27 2012, 01:41 PM)
the basics:

1) a prescribed "antenna core" responsible to provide high gain for a certain frequency band.
(for dipole rubber duck antenna unwrap the antenna ruber skin will see the antenna core inside; bare skeleton antenna then can seeing the core straight away)

2) a dual-band high gain antenna will thus consisted of more than one prescribed antenna core (different size / different shape), each responsible to provide high gain for different frequency band(s).

3) so if a omni antenna core is seen in same design from top to bottom (no different core shape/size), then it is actually providing high gain for single band only, not multiband.
A lot of product listed in international commerce site is actually providing false statement, particularly products from cn/hk sellers', they are well known of doing this all the time to fool average users.
So you got sell any dual band omni antenna? or what do u got? omni antenna
i dun wan directional

0.0158sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:30 AM