4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Can we do it?, Is it possible for malaysian guilds?

Imbecile
post Jan 25 2011, 06:46 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jan 25 2011, 04:19 PM)
Since, we are in Bolehland, which is the master of theroycraft. Boleh.

Sure can, but what is the motivation?
motivation?
you want william wallace wow version? general maximus version? or Eric Cartman version?
William Wallace:" they may call us nolife, but they can't deny we get! World! 1st! Title!"
General Maximus:" what we do in the this patch, echo for the rest of the expension"
Eric Cartman:" you want to stand around here and throw some ball, or you want to do something meaningful?"

motivation? idk. people do thing for diffrent purpose, reason,

for athenewin's friend's
1. his my bro,
2. i'm his beach(misspell intended)
3. coz like he ask me to do it for him and i was like "... okay."

world first motivation for
1. aside the athenewins above.
2. 15mins of fame?(world wide/or within wow comunity)
3. 1 week of fame?(local community)
3. maybe able to find game sponsers for the extra cash(foriegn country only?).
4. for the lol?
5. epeen?
6. our Prime Minister will give you dato-ship, cash, a big house, and 1 day holiday for the whole nation to celebrate your guild achievement(unlikely)

This post has been edited by Imbecile: Jan 25 2011, 07:16 PM
geno
post Jan 25 2011, 07:23 PM

52 posts

Can be done la but we have far too little wow players to begin with. To filter the bads and casuals will leave you with very few hardcores that are already in a elitist guild. Latency should be ok la as long you have an average of 250ms with quality graphics + high fps pc. Australian guilds like adept are already making it big, back in those days in dreadmaul they couldn't even get immortal for the glory of naxx and struggled with bad players. They bounced back in ulduar and soon they were no.1 in oceanic. Now they are like World 12th.

The difference between regular hardcore guilds and the elitist ones, they are never copycats and they have planned for every single progress decision. They spend a whole load of shit time in ptrs to learn fights and wiping on stupid bugs. They also have tight raid spots which u need to fight for. Guilds like Paragon is on another elitist level, because they have a huge team to care for their interest and they plan weeks/months ahead for their progression. If u read their old blogs bout their preparation for icc hm's u will get what i mean. They form a few alt raids to farm for their mains because all their alts are super geared from togc25 when they were working for insanity25. All their mains never raided together in normal. All 25 mains only raided on 1st day of icc hm.

To say they dont sacrifice much is bullshit la, these are world class sponsored players they even make their own god damn addons for perfection. Each decision they make is properly analyzed n calculated. ALL YOUR BASE R BELONG TO US
hidden830726
post Jan 26 2011, 12:06 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(geno @ Jan 25 2011, 07:23 PM)
Can be done la but we have far too little wow players to begin with. To filter the bads and casuals will leave you with very few hardcores that are already in a elitist guild. Latency should be ok la as long you have an average of 250ms with quality graphics + high fps pc. Australian guilds like adept are already making it big, back in those days in dreadmaul they couldn't even get immortal for the glory of naxx and struggled with bad players. They bounced back in ulduar and soon they were no.1 in oceanic. Now they are like World 12th.

The difference between regular hardcore guilds and the elitist ones, they are never copycats and they have planned for every single progress decision. They spend a whole load of shit time in ptrs to learn fights and wiping on stupid bugs. They also have tight raid spots which u need to fight for. Guilds like Paragon is on another elitist level, because they have a huge team to care for their interest and they plan weeks/months ahead for their progression. If u read their old blogs bout their preparation for icc hm's u will get what i mean. They form a few alt raids to farm for their mains because all their alts are super geared from togc25 when they were working for insanity25. All their mains never raided together in normal. All 25 mains only raided on 1st day of icc hm.

To say they dont sacrifice much is bullshit la, these are world class sponsored players they even make their own god damn addons for perfection. Each decision they make is properly analyzed n calculated. ALL YOUR BASE R BELONG TO US
Well written.

tritonite
post Jan 26 2011, 12:48 AM

337 posts

Guilds like Paragon are fortunate in that they have the 'depth' - i.e. the ability to field a group of 25 skilled and dedicated people, 20+ of which are probably more than capable of guild and raid leading any progression guild.

Sadly, this is not true of Malaysian, and even Singaporean and Australian guilds. The mentality of most regional Oceanic guilds I've come across appear to have an 'abang-adik' attitude. Cliques of 5-10 people who prefer to play with each other rather than any other people. This is especially bad when it involves guild leaders, who just promote his friends to officers, and subsequently don't bother to be fair to the rest of the guild. For instance, you just ask yourself if you would personally be willing to kick out a priest who is played by your best friend or colleague from work if you find another priest who heals much better and more skilled overall.

So sadly, the more close-knit culture of Asian societies that value family and friends is also the reason why we will inevitably lag behind Europeans, who are more likely to value dedication and commitment over more personal issues. In short, I think most of you will agree that progression raiding in WoW needs to be an impersonal thing.

With only a handful of exceptions like Tsunami and Elementium, most other Oceanic raiding guilds who think of themselves as serious progression guilds are nothing more than casual guilds in European terms.

I can't comment on the CN- and TW- servers, though, but at this point, forget about Paragon and even American guilds like Premonition. I would consider it an achievement if a Malaysian-majority guild were to be able to come somewhere near Elementium's rate of progression. For those who don't know, Elementium is an all-Singaporean guild. Let's face it. They will be a fair comparison since they will have almost the same level of work/life commitment as Malaysians, and with tunnelling, I don't see them having superior latency and broadband than us, honestly.

This post has been edited by tritonite: Jan 26 2011, 01:03 AM
alexision
post Jan 26 2011, 12:59 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(geno @ Jan 25 2011, 07:23 PM)

Yes agreed 100%

10 random people who can show up in raid is easy to find, but 10 long term committed players is not easy to find actually. Because to aim for first kills is not a short term project where 10 players can just come n steal first kills under paragon's nose (or all top guilds) just like that. You may have your best 10 players made up right now, but can this group of people really last til deathwing or next expansion? Other top guilds dont just have exactly 10 or 25 skilled players in their disposal. They have WAYYYYY MORE than that. They are well known, everyone wants to join that guild. They can easily find and gather good players (as long as they pass the language requirement lol) and I'm sure they can find at least 20-30 spare/backup players just like that. How many of you guys actually spend time in ptr anyway? Are you willing to spend hours on those ptr servers rather than live servers? Got so much time?

Honestly, for me if i play in ptr server or attempting a new content/boss where I wipe alot, it will be dam sien and dam demoralizing. I have ppl to layan later and they dont give a shit of my game and my stress from it. From here means you have to find someone who really really dont mind about this, got really alot patience and willing to stay up doing it again and again. (and no parents to bugg you, no friends to bug you, no gf/bf complain non stop)

And yes, they are being sponsored too. And who knows they are getting paid by cash every month too so they don't need to work anymore. Because playing wow is 'work' for them already.

Earlier I read people saying they wont sacrifice sleep or outings for the game. Normal players maybe. But for those first kills players, thats BS. If you want the first kills, YOU WOULD! Even if you wouldn't... YOU MUST!! You may not see their mains, maybe they are playing/farming on their alts. They don't get free golds, someone has got to do some farming/dailies. And I believe they would be really realllllyyy hardcore for the first couple of weeks til they down everything down-able. lol.. I just checked their facebook, they cleared 25man BOT 3 days (10dec) after cata out... I'm not sure I'm even geared enough for heroic on that very day.

Just wondering... Because I'm not sure of oceanic progression. Any of you guys actually even raid and down even 1 boss on 10dec? or nego abit.. make it 15 or 20dec.. I'm sure there should be at least 1 from our 26mil population right? right?

This post has been edited by alexision: Jan 26 2011, 01:03 AM
radzy82
post Jan 26 2011, 01:25 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(elasticote @ Jan 25 2011, 10:17 AM)
its not impossible, u just need to find 10 person like me.
works only 4 hours a day.
enuf salary to cover evrything.
GF that really understand ur passion.
know how to balance life and social. so u dont get bored to easy.
i have the same lifestyle like u.happy with it at the moment.sometimes i pay someone to cover my paperwork just to spend more time playing wow.the only problem now we have a very small wow community in malaysia.maybe 80% casuals 20% hardcores.they're more msian wow players out there who dont know we exist from this forum
Sup
post Jan 26 2011, 08:14 AM

RaF is your friend, guys.
Xyth
post Jan 26 2011, 12:08 PM

QUOTE(tritonite @ Jan 26 2011, 12:48 AM)
Guilds like Paragon are fortunate in that they have the 'depth' - i.e. the ability to field a group of 25 skilled and dedicated people, 20+ of which are probably more than capable of guild and raid leading any progression guild.

Sadly, this is not true of Malaysian, and even Singaporean and Australian guilds. The mentality of most regional Oceanic guilds I've come across appear to have an 'abang-adik' attitude. Cliques of 5-10 people who prefer to play with each other rather than any other people. This is especially bad when it involves guild leaders, who just promote his friends to officers, and subsequently don't bother to be fair to the rest of the guild. For instance, you just ask yourself if you would personally be willing to kick out a priest who is played by your best friend or colleague from work if you find another priest who heals much better and more skilled overall.

So sadly, the more close-knit culture of Asian societies that value family and friends is also the reason why we will inevitably lag behind Europeans, who are more likely to value dedication and commitment over more personal issues. In short, I think most of you will agree that progression raiding in WoW needs to be an impersonal thing.

With only a handful of exceptions like Tsunami and Elementium, most other Oceanic raiding guilds who think of themselves as serious progression guilds are nothing more than casual guilds in European terms.

I can't comment on the CN- and TW- servers, though, but at this point, forget about Paragon and even American guilds like Premonition. I would consider it an achievement if a Malaysian-majority guild were to be able to come somewhere near Elementium's rate of progression. For those who don't know, Elementium is an all-Singaporean guild. Let's face it. They will be a fair comparison since they will have almost the same level of work/life commitment as Malaysians, and with tunnelling, I don't see them having superior latency and broadband than us, honestly.
Yeah this is a valid reason to a point. Just like any real world organization too, this mentaility applies. But its not a hindrance if the common goal and determination is on par on everyones mind.

Another reason why elitist guild are where they are today. As you guys know wow requires alot of theorycrafting and in-depth knowledge of class and boss mechanics. The people behind those names did alot of research on how to outsmart the boss mechanics. This would not happen if you're a regular tankspot copycat guild. They pour in hours of mind juices on class mechanics vs boss mechanics to outsmart blizzard.

E.g. Example like why Paragon chose to use 11druids for nefarian hm, they know the raid dps required to defeat the boss before they get outrunned by adds and fire in p3. Due to the mindcontrol mechanic in heroic, if u were to survive the mc, u will get a stacking buff (Stolen Power). The best way to do it is with feral druids rip, at that time i think other dots work but the damage is highest with rip. This method end up trivialize the whole encounter when the dot(rip) ticks for 500k damage and ends up doing 4million damage per druid. And this is called "clever use of mechanic".

geno
post Jan 26 2011, 12:18 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Xyth @ Jan 26 2011, 12:08 PM)
Yeah this is a valid reason to a point. Just like any real world organization too, this mentaility applies. But its not a hindrance if the common goal and determination is on par on everyones mind.

Another reason why elitist guild are where they are today. As you guys know wow requires alot of theorycrafting and in-depth knowledge of class and boss mechanics. The people behind those names did alot of research on how to outsmart the boss mechanics. This would not happen if you're a regular tankspot copycat guild. They pour in  hours of mind juices on class mechanics vs boss mechanics to outsmart blizzard.

E.g. Example like why Paragon chose to use 11druids for nefarian hm, they know the raid dps required to defeat the boss before they get outrunned by adds and fire in p3. Due to the mindcontrol mechanic in heroic, if u were to survive the mc, u will get a stacking buff (Stolen Power). The best way to do it is with feral druids rip, at that time i think other dots work but the damage is highest with rip. This method end up trivialize the whole encounter when the dot(rip) ticks for 500k damage and ends up doing 4million damage per druid. And this is called "clever use of mechanic".
"clever use of EXPLOIT"

Fix'd
tritonite
post Jan 26 2011, 12:27 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(Xyth @ Jan 26 2011, 12:08 PM)
Another reason why elitist guild are where they are today. As you guys know wow requires alot of theorycrafting and in-depth knowledge of class and boss mechanics. The people behind those names did alot of research on how to outsmart the boss mechanics. This would not happen if you're a regular tankspot copycat guild. They pour in  hours of mind juices on class mechanics vs boss mechanics to outsmart blizzard.

Which is why I mentioned the bit about 20+ people who can raid lead. Think of the best, most committed person in your present guild. The guy who researches and formulates your strategy for every raid, even if it's a simple matter of reading Tankspot and watching Youtube videos. Now, imagine a whole raid of people like that. That's what the top US and European progressions guilds are like.

Well, to be really honest, I don't like to count on 'clever use of mechanics' myself. It just seems a bit 'dirty' wink.gif. I'm not saying that it's wrong and people/guilds that do it should be banned or anything. Heck, if it helps you get your realm first or something, go for it. I just rather do encounters like they are 'meant' to be done, so to speak.

Coming back to that elusive Malaysian guild, rather than expecting for 10+/13 HM T11, I think it would be great if there would already to be a guild that is at least 12/12 normal T11 by now. Entirely doable, imho. After all, Finland itself only has 5.3 million people in it, and from that, they make up the whole Paragon guild wink.gif

After 5 years in upper-end raiding guilds - i.e. those that finish content 1.5 to 2 months after the realm firsts - I have personally lost interest in full-on hardcore raiding. Just spend my time doing 'guild and raid support' roles these days. I help with the mining and herbing for raid consumables and step in to play main raiders' shadow priest and warlock when they can't make it to raids, and also sort out guild admin stuff like DKP/loot updates on guild site. I'm happy. I'm get to experience content without a full commitment.

This post has been edited by tritonite: Jan 26 2011, 12:36 PM
kopang
post Jan 26 2011, 04:54 PM

Enjoying reading every post on this thread smile.gif
Jas2davir
post Jan 26 2011, 07:15 PM

461 posts

TL;DR on every post here. long story short

AZN PPL cant unite to raid.
Quazacolt
post Jan 26 2011, 07:52 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Jan 26 2011, 07:15 PM)

^
Jas2davir
post Jan 26 2011, 08:17 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 26 2011, 07:52 PM)
^
true story bro based on 5 1/2 years of wowing
radkliler
post Jan 26 2011, 09:31 PM

WUBWUBWUB
985 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Jan 26 2011, 07:15 PM)

W
Sup
post Jan 27 2011, 03:36 AM

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Jan 26 2011, 06:15 AM)

If that's the case then how do Taiwanese guilds snatch top spots? I'm not willing to bet they're full of Laowais (Chinese for "foreigners").

Oh, and in Season 8, 4/10 top 10 5v5 Arena spots were held by Taiwanese arena teams.

E: ^ According to ArenaJunkies.

This post has been edited by Sup: Jan 27 2011, 09:43 AM
hidden830726
post Jan 27 2011, 08:59 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Sup @ Jan 27 2011, 03:36 AM)
If that's the case then how do Taiwanese guilds snatch top spots?  I'm not willing to be they're full of Laowais (Chinese for "foreigners").

Oh, and in Season 8, 4/10 top 10 5v5 Arena spots were held by Taiwanese arena teams.

The pvp part i can answer u. I dont bother checking. Lets assume your stat is true. But imo it does not represent the whole picture.

wowtaiwan is a server of its own, and generally the pvp intensity / quality in wowtaiwan is lower than US. And hence they are higher rated. That may be one of the reasons why Taiwanese arena teams get 4/10 in 55 according to u.

Look at the latest arena tournament when Blizzcon 2010, taiwanese team, lost their 1st game, US ppl even joked that taiwan team dont even deserve their spot in the tournament, because every year its a free win and they always lose on 1st game. Worldofming site should still have the articles on taiwan teams.

I think one of the main reasons why taiwanese fail in these tournament is due to taiwan arena mostly focus on 55 while US focus on 33.

While i can agree that pve wise, Taiwanese guilds shock everyone by pulling a world first, pvp wise, they are still lack behind. Who knows, maybe one day we can see them at the top too.

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Jan 27 2011, 08:59 AM
Sup
post Jan 27 2011, 11:17 AM

I think you misinterpreted my message. I'm saying that 4 out of the 10 top 10 spots are held by Taiwanese teams, with the top 2 being exclusively Taiwanese, 3-6 being EU/US, 7 being Taiwanese, and 8-10 being EU/US.

E: But you still have valid points there.

This post has been edited by Sup: Jan 27 2011, 11:17 AM
hidden830726
post Jan 27 2011, 11:23 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Sup @ Jan 27 2011, 11:17 AM)
I think you misinterpreted my message.  I'm saying that 4 out of the 10 top 10 spots are held by Taiwanese teams, with the top 2 being exclusively Taiwanese, 3-6 being EU/US, 7 being Taiwanese, and 8-10 being EU/US.

E: But you still have valid points there.
Ya, my understanding to your remarks as per above.

When will we get Malaysia team? tongue.gif

Jas2davir
post Jan 27 2011, 12:47 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(Sup @ Jan 27 2011, 03:36 AM)
If that's the case then how do Taiwanese guilds snatch top spots?  I'm not willing to bet they're full of Laowais (Chinese for "foreigners").

i dont reply to people who are less then a month old just like how ming dont talk to people who are below 2400

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0196sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:31 AM