yinchet
post Mar 22 2011, 09:22 PM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

US F-15 crashes in Libya, crew safe: command

BERLIN - A US F-15 jet crashed in Libya due to a technical fault late Monday while enforcing a no-fly zone and both its crew ejected safely, the US Africa command said Tuesday.

"Two crew members ejected from their US Air Force F-15E Strike Eagle when the aircraft experienced equipment malfunction over northeast Libya, March 21, 2011 at approximately 10:30 pm CET," the command, based in the western German city of Stuttgart, said in a statement.

"Both crew members ejected and are safe...The cause of the incident is under investigation."

A command spokeswoman, Nicole Dalrymple, told AFP that the crew had sustained minor injuries and that one had been recovered while an operation to pick up the second was ongoing.

She said the crash was not a result of hostile action and an investigation to determine the cause of the malfunction was underway.

The aircraft, based out of Lakenheath, England, was flying out of Aviano air base in northeastern Italy.

Western forces pounded strongholds of Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi for a third night under a UN Security Council resolution authorising all necessary means to stop Gaddafi's forces harming civilians as they battle a rebellion.

Coalition officials expressed satisfaction with progress in degrading Gaddafi's air defences.

A senior US general said the strikes begun on Saturday night could diminish but the UN-mandated no-fly zone would be extended to the whole country.

- AFP/ir

source

yinchet
post Mar 22 2011, 09:23 PM

1,157 posts

New allies join Libya offensive to show 'solidarity'

OSLO - A slew of nations have joined global powers France, Britain and the United States in an international campaign to impose a no-fly zone on Libya but with very different motives, analysts say.

Following the United Nations' Security Council Resolution 1973, Norway, Denmark, Canada and Belgium have all sent fighter jets to the Mediterrenean to cripple Moamer Kadhafi's forces which has been attacking Libyan civilians.

Denmark's NATO-enthusiastic, centre-right government wants to take a leading position in supporting the uprisings in the Arab world, they say.

Unlike its past military commitments in Afghanistan and especially in Iraq, its role in Libya has strong domestic public support.

"Denmark has been on the front line ... during all the Arab uprisings and is also there for Libya," Prime Minister Lars Loekke Rasmussen said Friday.

"We are a small country, but we have the historic responsibility to live up to our international responsibility," he told reporters shortly before the parliament voted unanimously in favour of the government's proposal to take part in the Libyan mission.

With general elections set to take place before November, the move is allowing Denmark's government to score points with the electorate - strongly in favour of the mission - and Washington, said Bjoern Moeller, a specialist of African conflicts at the Danish Institute for International Affairs.

Jan Egeland, the former head of humanitarian affairs and emergency relief at the UN who now heads up the Norwegian Institute of International Affairs, agreed.

"For many years now, Denmark has had the immediate reflex to support any mission in which the United States is involved," he said.

Norway - which beat around the bush much more than its southern neighbour before also sending six F-16 fighter jets - is basing its participation in Libya much more in its "long tradition of support to the UN," Egeland added.

On Monday, Norway however said its jets would not take action as long as it was unclear who was commanding the multinational force.

The same day, Belgian fighter jets first took part in the UN-mandated operation "Odyssey Dawn", with Prime Minister Yves Leterme explaining almost simultaneously that his country was acting to "help these people gain freedom."

Canada, headed by a conservative government keen on asserting military power, has meanwhile sent six F-18 planes to a base on the Italian island of Sardinia, thousands of kilometers (miles) from its own territory.

This is fueled by Ottawa's wish to show "solidarity with its US and British allies, and by the desire to enforce the UN resolution," said Houchang Hassan-Yari, a political scientist at Canada's Royal Military College.

More inclined to follow the White House than their Liberal rivals, Stephen Harper's conservatives - who form a minority government in the House of Commons - may also not be insensitive to electoral considerations, he added.

"The events in the Arab world gave rise to euphoria in the ethnic communities in Canada," members of which "mostly vote for the centre-left," Hssan-Yari explained.

By acting in Libya, "Harper can try to rake in the political favour of those communities," he said.

The coalition can also count on Spanish, Italian and Qatari jets, which are bringing a precious Arab moral guarantee of sorts to the operation.
source

MilitaryMadness
post Mar 23 2011, 09:40 AM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Mar 22 2011, 12:04 PM)
high-altitude reconnaissance balloons called "PUMA"
working height of 3000-3500 meters, detecting objects within a radius of 300 km radius. Used in monitoring borders
Maybe it's inspired by the Ninja Turtles' Battle Blimp?
TURTLE POWER!!!
TSwanvadder
post Mar 23 2011, 07:52 PM

94 posts

British sniper Craig Harrison (The Silent Assassin) breaks record, kills target from 1.5 miles away

A British soldier dubbed the Silent Assassin has broken a distance record after taking down two targets from a mile and a half away.

Corporal of Horse Craig Harrison, a British Army sniper, killed two Taliban machine gunners in Afghanistan from a distance of 8,120 feet,

Read Moar
malayneum
post Mar 23 2011, 10:27 PM

penjaga kontrak sosial
2,041 posts

aku nak tanya soklan noob ni.

camne stealth fighter berfungsi? stealth fighter ni mmg 100% undetectable ke?
fix24311
post Mar 23 2011, 10:37 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Mar 22 2011, 09:23 PM)

all wants oil...malaysia no want ar? laugh.gif
whatever it is, i agree with India, Turkey and Russia. we shud not intervene other ppl's internal affair...
it's not like they were invading other country like Iraq did. even then, no one meddles with what
Saddam did to Kurdish, so why start now?
yinchet
post Mar 23 2011, 10:42 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(malayneum @ Mar 23 2011, 10:27 PM)

stealth fighter reduce their RCS(radar cross section) to avoid detection from radar...
and it is not 100% undetectable...

about RCS --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radar_cross-section
MilitaryMadness
post Mar 23 2011, 11:07 PM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(malayneum @ Mar 23 2011, 10:27 PM)

Sebenarnya istilah stealth tu tak ada,biasa akan guna technical term "Low Observable".stealth ni sebenarnya takde la 100% undetectable,contohnya kalau ko nampak dengan mata kasar tu dah kira boleh detect la tu.pasal tu kebanyakannya berwarna hitam & biasanya beroperasi waktu malam.

Kalau nak cerita pasal undetectability by radar tu,itu yang paling penting.Sebenarnya permukaan stealth aircraft ni direka supaya tak ada permukaan yang sudut tepat (90 degrees),sebab permukaan macam tu akan balikkan radar waves kpd radar receiver. so kalau stealth plane tu kena radar wave,signal radar tu akan di 'deflect' ke tempat lain & bukan balik ke receiver dia.pasal tu la surface stealth aircraft tu akan samada berpetak-petak macam F-117....

F-117 Nighthawk

ataupun nipis & bulat macam B-2....

B-2 Spirit

Lagipun pesawat-pesawat macam ni akan samada guna Air-intake yang kecik ataupun bertutup untuk halang radar dari kesan turbine blade engine dia dan jet exhaust dia akan guna outlet paling kecik sekali yang boleh untuk elak dikesan oleh heat-seeking & infra-red sensors.lagi satu cat dia yang warna hitam tu ada bebola karbon yang boleh serap tenaga radar tu,dipanggil RAM (Radar Absorbing Material).tambah-tambah la keupayaan stealth sesuatu benda.

lulz
post Mar 23 2011, 11:29 PM

25 posts

kuan1234
post Mar 24 2011, 12:19 AM

"Close" Air Support?
KYPMbangi
post Mar 24 2011, 12:38 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Mar 23 2011, 10:42 PM)
stealth fighter reduce their RCS(radar cross section) to avoid detection from radar...
and it is not 100% undetectable...

about RCS --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radar_cross-section
Yes, it is true that "stealth" is not 100% undetectable.

In comparison these stealth aircraft emits their RCS on a radar equipment is equivalents or as same as these objects.

F-117 Nighthawk = A small bird.
B-2 bomber = a metal golf ball (slightly larger than F-35's rcs)
F-35 = a metal golf ball.
F-22 = a metal marble.

BTW, stealth ships meanwhile employs these tech to reduce detection range and its own rcs,
as some appears to be emitting radar feedback equivalents to that of a small fishing boats.

This post has been edited by KYPMbangi: Mar 24 2011, 12:46 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 24 2011, 12:42 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

MilitaryMadness
post Mar 24 2011, 12:56 AM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Mar 24 2011, 12:38 AM)
F-117 Nighthawk = A small bird.
B-2 bomber = a metal golf ball (slightly larger than F-35's rcs)
F-35 = a metal golf ball.
F-22 = a metal marble.
I'm sure these figures are the "Official" version ones.
we probably will never know the real RCS of these planes are actually....all hush-hush....

and in all probability,the RCS are larger than that,if not how do you suppose a AEW&C aircraft can control a squad of F-22s if even they couldn't see them?
KYPMbangi
post Mar 24 2011, 01:08 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Mar 24 2011, 12:56 AM)
we probably will never know the real RCS of these planes are actually....all hush-hush....

and in all probability,the RCS are larger than that,if not how do you suppose a AEW&C aircraft can control a squad of F-22s if even they couldn't see them?
Huhu~, yes we will never know their true rcs is, as it's a "military secret".
And stealth aircraft usually go on radio silence when on a mission.
Go in, go out, all senyap-senyap.
yinchet
post Mar 24 2011, 01:24 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Mar 24 2011, 12:56 AM)

I think they special com link to know their stealth fighter position... hmm.gif
kuan1234
post Mar 24 2011, 02:23 AM

Chinese Askar Wataniah On SinChew News Paper on 22 Mar, 2011

If you don't know chinese, come and see article that translate into english

Often read the news on newspapers related to Chinese youth lack of interest to join armed force and choice armed force as their career. I hope that my essay can be published in Sin Chew Daily to encourage Chinese youth to join armed forces or active in reserved army corp. I am willing to provide more detailed information and to attend any form of interview from Sin Chew Daily. Thank you!

I am a Chinese Reserved Army

5 years ago when the Multimedia University having the recruitment of Reserved Army Corp, I walk and pass though the recruitment booth and saw one of the military officer dressed in military uniform, that time I stopped my step, this stop make my life changed. The President of Reserve Military Elite Club, Multimedia University explained to me, if you are willing to serve for the country, your sacrifice will be repay with high return. The Application of Local University and Public Service Department Scholarship will be given priority is the main reason and objective attract me to join the reserved army.

A month later, in the absence of consent by the my parents, I decided to participate in one-month basic military training, during the basic military training, it let me gained a lot of experience which is unable to obtain during our normal lifetime. This training period also was the most difficult stage in my life. When I almost want to give up, a fellow comrade told me that: if you quit now, you will get nothing, but if you can stick in the future you will get more return. Before I enter military camp, I called my parents accountable. My mother strongly objected me to participant in military service. Used a lot of time to explain to them, finally my father was convinced by me and advised me if can not bear the hard conditions of military training, I must automatically give up.

The basic military training began with a total of 130 participants from all level of society. Only four of them are Chinese reserved army, all of them from the Multimedia University. The 1 month basic military training which covers the physical training, marching, firing arms, military law, military strategy, field operations, and Malaysia national defense policies. The objective of this training is to transform us as normal citizen to become a qualified person who able to perform military mission.

During the basic military training, the most memories thing is the combat training. We were divided into several small groups. When we passed through a Malay Village, one of the Malay resident walk to me and shade hands with me. He said: he appreciated the contribution of military force to our country; he very respect Chinese citizen as we are willing to make sacrifices for the country as well. His words inspired me, and I decided to complete my basic military training not matter it is how difficult. Sometime when we perform patrol simulation beside the road, we will be saluted by residents who passing the road or get a car horn, sometimes we really flattered. This kind of honor is difficult to obtain from other uniform force. After a month of rigorous military training, me and another 82 successful graduated from the training became a qualified military personnel. Within the 83 whom successful completed the basic military training, only 2 as the Chinese reserve army.

To become a reserved army will receive many special benefits provided by the Government. Package which has been included free full set uniform and accessories, armed forces group insurance, to attend any military training will also receive RM4 per hour allowance, transport allowance, free medical benefits, 3 meals provided by the military camp during training. If you achieved more than 380 hours per year of the training, will be awards RM520 as the bounty. If you want to serve our country also can apply to become a full-time soldier as per contract. Diploma and degree holder also eligible to apply for reserved officer post.

In reserve army force not only let me gain exposure, it is more changed my life. I am the graduate of Diploma in telecommunications engineering. When I apply for the first job, after employers see my basic military training certificate during interview session, he immediately hired me. He told me: "Most of my department is Malay staff, you able to completed the military training it prove you did not have any racist problem, we need people like you," so I was lucky to be employed by a Multi National Corporation.

After worked for 1 year, I make an application with the Local University to enroll in electronic engineering degree program. I am the one of the few to use the Private University Diploma (IPTS Diploma) to apply and as the one-off success get the offered by UM and USM faculty electronics engineering, although not confirmed with the respected university, but I think the reserved army played a very important role in my application. Because extra-curriculum also as a part of the consideration for the application.

Today, my parents and friends are feel honors because I am a reserved army. I have established a lot of strong friendship with other friends in Reserved Army Corp. If who have any problem we must help each other. These make us achieve the purpose of racial harmony. Now whenever we have any training, we will inform each other, everyone comes back to military camp for the training, we consider the training as our friendship gathering.

When our country in difficult, all citizen have their responsibilities. As Chinese citizens, we should abandon the "good men and not be a soldier," traditional concept and joining the armed forces contribute to our country!

(Author is the President of Reserved Military Elite Club, Multimedia University-Year 2009)

*Translation done by Google translator, maybe contains some of the grammatical error.

This post has been edited by kuan1234: Mar 24 2011, 02:25 AM
atreyuangel
post Mar 24 2011, 12:32 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Mar 24 2011, 01:24 AM)
I think they special com link to know their stealth fighter position... hmm.gif
usually they have radar signature or heat signature to track the plane!

ps: Kuan... I saw youu...
kuan1234
post Mar 24 2011, 01:42 PM

shhhh....rahsia besar tu...
hehe
lulz
post Mar 24 2011, 06:47 PM

25 posts

Reserve Military Elite Club

i lold a bit but kudos to the people that joined
travis_ckf
post Mar 25 2011, 01:13 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

ahh finally, the rafale has it's first "splash one" notworthy.gif

A French warplane has destroyed a Libyan plane which had been flying in breach of the UN no-fly zone, French officials say.

The plane, a smaller trainer aircraft, had just landed in the besieged city of Misrata when it was attacked, they say.

It is the first incident of its kind since enforcement of the zone began.

Dozens of coalition missiles have already hit military bases, with the aim of ending Col Muammar Gaddafi's ability to launch air attacks.

UK officials said on Wednesday that Libya's air force no longer existed as a fighting force.

Single engine
Coalition forces have pounded Libyan targets for a fifth consecutive night.

Initial reports of the French action said the Libyan plane, a G-2/Galeb with a single engine, was in the air when it was hit.

But French military spokesman Col Thierry Burkhard later said the plane had just landed when the attack took place.

The French jet, a Rafale, fired an air-to-ground missile, other reports said.

Earlier, the French military said their planes had hit an air base about 250km (155 miles) south of the Libyan coastline, but did not give any further information on the location of the target or the damage.

Western military planes were also said to have hit the town of Sebha in southern Libya, according to residents and media reports.

Fresh fighting has meanwhile been reported in Misrata, scene of a bitter battle for control which has lasted for many days.

Misrata resident Muhammad told the BBC many large explosions were heard overnight in the city.

"Even now, we continue to hear the aeroplanes circling the air above Misrata," he said.

"Gaddafi's forces have occupied the main street - there are snipers all along the rooftops of that street. They are firing indiscriminately into the main street and the back streets.

"But the heavy artillery and shelling has stopped since yesterday [Wednesday]. In that sense, we are in a much better position."

Further east in the strategically important city of Ajdabiya, residents described shelling, gunfire and houses on fire. One report said rebels were moving closer to the city but remained outgunned by pro-Gaddafi forces.

Nato debate
Nato members have been holding talks about assuming responsibility for the no-fly zone over Libya, so far without agreement.

The US is keen to relinquish its current control, but there are disagreements about who should take on the role, and what the exact terms of engagement would be.

Turkey wants any Nato-led action to focus directly on enforcing the no-fly zone and arms embargo, rather than allowing any continuing strikes against ground forces.

The Turkish parliament has backed a government decision to join the blockade. Four frigates, a submarine and a support vessel are being provided by Turkey.
soscili: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-12850975

124 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0373sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:43 PM