Enquiries/Recommendations Looking for laptop with SSD & sandybridge, do guys know any model

TSzeff
post Jan 20 2011, 08:47 PM, updated 15y ago

285 posts

As stated in the title, im looking to find laptop which uses ssd and using the latest intel sandybridge processor. do any of you guys know if theres any model out there?
putochip123
post Jan 20 2011, 08:49 PM

1,496 posts

Ur budget?
astria
post Jan 20 2011, 08:59 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

rm3k Acer 5750G, then change it urself?
TSzeff
post Jan 20 2011, 09:36 PM

285 posts

my budget is actually quite high, as im planning to sell off my macbook pro 15' i7 which is still under 8 months warranty.

i would say that would be around 6k budget.

change harddisk ourselves with ssd, hmm. good thought. didnt know its possible.
putochip123
post Jan 20 2011, 09:46 PM

1,496 posts

well, it is possible for u to change. currently not much laptop come with sandy bridge in mlaaysia with good performance(gaming series)
TSzeff
post Jan 20 2011, 10:00 PM

285 posts

what would be your view on good performance?

my primary concerns are normally this 3
processor
ram ( i look for at least 6gb ddr3 )
battery life

now im going for an extra feature which is the hard disk

i generally assume sandybridge processors are all good, no?
eugenechiuu
post Jan 20 2011, 10:02 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

MSI GT680R rm5999.. Comes with 120gb SSD + 500gb hdd combo.. Full Hd and bluray also
CzarXVII
post Jan 20 2011, 10:05 PM

394 posts

Lenovo Y560P +Rapid Drive(HDD + SSD)..
eugenechiuu
post Jan 20 2011, 10:07 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(CzarXVII @ Jan 20 2011, 10:05 PM)
Lenovo Y560P +Rapid Drive(HDD + SSD)..
Is that model available in Malaysia though? If I am not mistaken the SsD partition in the Lenovo is very small only?
TSzeff
post Jan 20 2011, 10:12 PM

285 posts

hey buddy. thanks for the recommendation on gt680r. interesting. however i fail to find anybody who sell this at the garage sales thread. where do u think i can find one of this? if not what is the price like if i may ask?
thanks alot eugene
eugenechiuu
post Jan 20 2011, 10:31 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(zeff @ Jan 20 2011, 10:12 PM)
hey buddy. thanks for the recommendation on gt680r. interesting. however i fail to find anybody who sell this at the garage sales thread. where do u think i can find one of this? if not what is the price like if i may ask?
thanks alot eugene
not sure where to buy, just know it should be available on Malaysian soil now.. try checking the MSI MY website see? I can't access it now somehow..

http://www.lowyat.net/v2/the-gt680-msi-gam...ndy-bridge.html

http://www.hardwarezone.com.ph/news/view.php?id=17995&cid=9

'currently' the fastest laptop in the world LOL...

putochip123
post Jan 20 2011, 10:54 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(zeff @ Jan 20 2011, 10:00 PM)
what would be your view on good performance?

my primary concerns are normally this 3
processor
ram ( i look for at least 6gb ddr3 )
battery life

now im going for an extra feature which is the hard disk

i generally assume sandybridge processors are all good, no?
since ur are macbook urser, why dont u wait for apple to come out new with sandy bridge
Jeffrey1987
post Jan 20 2011, 11:02 PM

1,661 posts

Do you think Apple will include SB inside their upcoming MacBook? I thought they will only put in the previous i5 or i7 processor.
eugenechiuu
post Jan 20 2011, 11:06 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Jan 20 2011, 11:02 PM)
Do you think Apple will include SB inside their upcoming MacBook? I thought they will only put in the previous i5 or i7 processor.
Haha current MBP already Core i series mah... The new one should be coming out soon... Unless they gonna put the same thing again? No, I think the refreshed MBP's would have SB's... And last year they never put any i7-Quads onto it as well because MBP ventilation would definitely overheat even more with Quad.... But with the new Sandy Bridge Quads being cooler than the previous generation, I am sure they would put it into MBP 15 and 17... Maybe MBP 13 would be using old one...
TSzeff
post Jan 20 2011, 11:09 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jan 20 2011, 10:54 PM)
since ur are macbook urser, why dont u wait for apple to come out new with sandy bridge
i might be getting a position with Microsoft soon and they have a policy of not using their competitor products, so i think this is a good time to sell of my macbook and get a new laptop with Sandybridge.
ALeUNe
post Jan 20 2011, 11:19 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(zeff @ Jan 20 2011, 11:09 PM)
i might be getting a position with Microsoft soon and they have a policy of not using their competitor products, so i think this is a good time to sell of my macbook and get a new laptop with Sandybridge.
You have very few options for now.
You don't have option if you want better i7 than i7-2630QM.

With your budget, you can actually get Sager.
http://www.mucro.asia/index.php?/vmchk/Muc...s.html?Treeid=1
Mucro can send it to your doorstep via DHL.

Happy shopping.
Jeffrey1987
post Jan 20 2011, 11:26 PM

1,661 posts

Recently, i found that quite a number of people promoting mucro.asia.
TSzeff
post Jan 20 2011, 11:52 PM

285 posts

just went through the mucro.asia site and the sager price is quite tempting. i just checked the price for this set of 2.0ghz SB with 8gb ram and 120gb ssd is only 5.5k. im thinking of grabbing this one.
DoubleU
post Jan 21 2011, 02:23 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

wait sager? seriously? you don't mind the design?
if you dun mind the wait. Its cheaper to import directly from US
ALeUNe
post Jan 21 2011, 08:56 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 21 2011, 02:23 AM)
wait sager? seriously? you don't mind the design?
if you dun mind the wait. Its cheaper to import directly from US
No it's not.
I have checked and compared the all-in price at Xoticpc & GentecPC.
It's not really cheap. The postage is high.

Added on January 21, 2011, 8:57 am
QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Jan 20 2011, 11:26 PM)
Recently, i found that quite a number of people promoting mucro.asia.
You can compare the price (including postage) and the specs.
Mucro is offering a very competitive price for current SB notebooks.

Added on January 21, 2011, 8:59 am
QUOTE(zeff @ Jan 20 2011, 11:52 PM)
just went through the mucro.asia site and the sager price is quite tempting. i just checked the price for this set of 2.0ghz SB with 8gb ram and 120gb ssd is only 5.5k. im thinking of grabbing this one.
Don't spend your money on SSD.
You can get your "aftermarket" SSD.

Spend your money on CPU & GPU first.
You can grab yourself an SSD later.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jan 21 2011, 09:35 AM

0.0202sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:21 PM