which is the best private uni in malaysia for chemical engineering????
Engineering best Uni for chemical engineering is?, private Uni
Jan 19 2011, 12:14 PM, updated 15y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
60 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
which is the best private uni in malaysia for chemical engineering????
Jan 19 2011, 12:34 PM
344 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
For private universities only, check out Monash and Nottingham.
Also, Taylors and Segi have a twinning with University of Sheffield i think. |
Jan 19 2011, 12:37 PM
12,696 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
And don't forget there are still Australian Swinburne and Curtin in Sarawak.
Jan 19 2011, 04:11 PM
1,035 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: KL Malaysia la |
If you have the money to do in Nottingham, do note that you can also do an ADP program and go to the US. If locally, I think Nottingham is better as you receive their cert when u grad
Jan 19 2011, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Jan 19 2011, 04:11 PM) If you have the money to do in Nottingham, do note that you can also do an ADP program and go to the US. If locally, I think Nottingham is better as you receive their cert when u grad oh thanks alot....but i saw on other topic tat the BEng of chemical engineering in nottingham is not accreditted???? |
Jan 19 2011, 05:36 PM
Validating
1,333 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 19 2011, 12:37 PM) Curtin does, but not Swinburne for Chem Eng.Added on January 19, 2011, 5:41 pm QUOTE(HawkreiN @ Jan 19 2011, 12:34 PM) For private universities only, check out Monash and Nottingham. No, they are not twinning programs with the UK universities but credit transfer, meaning if you don't make the grade you won't get into the better unis like Sheffield.Also, Taylors and Segi have a twinning with University of Sheffield i think. Added on January 19, 2011, 5:42 pm QUOTE(PlShelpME1993 @ Jan 19 2011, 04:57 PM) oh thanks alot....but i saw on other topic tat the BEng of chemical engineering in nottingham is not accreditted???? It's not because it's a 3-year course. Their MEng (4 years) is.This post has been edited by tehtmc: Jan 19 2011, 05:42 PM |
Jan 19 2011, 07:26 PM
28 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(PlShelpME1993 @ Jan 19 2011, 07:57 PM) oh thanks alot....but i saw on other topic tat the BEng of chemical engineering in nottingham is not accreditted???? Malaysia only accredits universities with 4-year engineering courses. For Australian-based universities (Monash, Swinburne etc) this is not a problem as you generally do a 4 year degree anyway, with one year being your honours year. For UK programs, the engineering courses tend to be 3 years in length and as such are not accredited. This isn't much of a problem however, as most people just generally do an extra year of Masters (MEng) to make it 4.Added on January 19, 2011, 7:27 pm QUOTE(PlShelpME1993 @ Jan 19 2011, 03:14 PM) I would go for either Monash or Nottingham if you want the quality and have the money.This post has been edited by Luke1989: Jan 19 2011, 07:27 PM |
Jan 19 2011, 07:34 PM
[quote=Luke1989,Jan 19 2011, 07:26 PM]
Malaysia only accredits universities with 4-year engineering courses. For Australian-based universities (Monash, Swinburne etc) this is not a problem as you generally do a 4 year degree anyway, with one year being your honours year. For UK programs, the engineering courses tend to be 3 years in length and as such are not accredited. This isn't much of a problem however, as most people just generally do an extra year of Masters (MEng) to make it 4. Added on January 19, 2011, 7:27 pm oh...so after i finished my foundation in engineering at nottingham....i shud continue for 3 years?? or 4 years??? wats the difference between tat??? after foundation ...den study 4 years degree.... den i have completed master in chemical engineering??? |
Jan 19 2011, 07:37 PM
[quote=PlShelpME1993,Jan 19 2011, 10:34 PM]
[quote=Luke1989,Jan 19 2011, 07:26 PM] Malaysia only accredits universities with 4-year engineering courses. For Australian-based universities (Monash, Swinburne etc) this is not a problem as you generally do a 4 year degree anyway, with one year being your honours year. For UK programs, the engineering courses tend to be 3 years in length and as such are not accredited. This isn't much of a problem however, as most people just generally do an extra year of Masters (MEng) to make it 4. Added on January 19, 2011, 7:27 pm oh...so after i finished my foundation in engineering at nottingham....i shud continue for 3 years?? or 4 years??? wats the difference between tat??? after foundation ...den study 4 years degree.... den i have completed master in chemical engineering??? [/quote] If I'm not mistaken, you do your foundation in engineering at nottingham and then 3 years bachelor in engineering followed by 1 year Masters in engineering (so 3+1). So after your foundation, you do a total of 4 years of study and graduate with a Masters in engineering. Correct me if I'm wrong please. I'm more familiar with the Australian engineering programs as thats where I graduated from. |
Jan 20 2011, 12:55 AM
4,122 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Malaysia |
After completing your foundation in Nottingham, you will follow your degree courses. For the first two years of your course, it will be something like "BEng/MEng Chemical Engineering". The first two years of the two degree courses are identical. Only until third year, you will need to declare which one you want to follow. Both courses are very similar in their final year (3rd year for BEng, 4th year for MEng). That also means that the 3rd year between both degrees are different and you can't just switch half way.
Both courses are also undergraduate programme, meaning that it's your FIRST degree (even though it's an Master of Engineering MEng). Alternatively, you can do your 3 years BEng, and follow up with an postgraduate Master (MSc, MRes, MPhil). However, not all BEng+MSc combinations are accredited if that's what concerns you. It is also to be noted that while MSc is a 'real' Master in that sense, it prepares you more to researches as you spend one of your holiday semester just to complete a research project while the MEng prepares you more industrially where you spend that holiday semester for an industrial placement instead. |
Jan 20 2011, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jan 20 2011, 12:55 AM) After completing your foundation in Nottingham, you will follow your degree courses. For the first two years of your course, it will be something like "BEng/MEng Chemical Engineering". The first two years of the two degree courses are identical. Only until third year, you will need to declare which one you want to follow. Both courses are very similar in their final year (3rd year for BEng, 4th year for MEng). That also means that the 3rd year between both degrees are different and you can't just switch half way. oh....so after i done my foundation in nottingham....den i will go for degree 2 years....den start deciding whether 3 years or 4 years to follow.....Both courses are also undergraduate programme, meaning that it's your FIRST degree (even though it's an Master of Engineering MEng). Alternatively, you can do your 3 years BEng, and follow up with an postgraduate Master (MSc, MRes, MPhil). However, not all BEng+MSc combinations are accredited if that's what concerns you. It is also to be noted that while MSc is a 'real' Master in that sense, it prepares you more to researches as you spend one of your holiday semester just to complete a research project while the MEng prepares you more industrially where you spend that holiday semester for an industrial placement instead. if i chose 4 year( MEng).....any advantages??? like salary higher or wat??? after i done (MEng) if i wan to continue study......wat i will be studying??? since its already master..... wat is the difference between 3 years and 4 years???? |
Jan 20 2011, 12:33 PM
I find this 4 years requirement funny.
After SPM In UK, you do 2 years A Level + 3 years university to get a degree. Total is 5 years. In Australia, you do 1 year Year-12 + 4 years university to get a degree. Total also 5 years but you get accredited. May be BEM don't know how to count? |
Jan 20 2011, 12:33 PM
1,035 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: KL Malaysia la |
If u have an MEng cert, just go and work.. you want to continue Phd?? haha. And you need MEng to work, as they have stated above, its Malaysia's term that you need to study 4 years.
Jan 20 2011, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 20 2011, 03:33 PM) I find this 4 years requirement funny. well to be fair, for the four year degree in Australia we usually have a final year project, equivalent to a thesis. So our degree is comparable to the MEng issued in the UK.After SPM In UK, you do 2 years A Level + 3 years university to get a degree. Total is 5 years. In Australia, you do 1 year Year-12 + 4 years university to get a degree. Total also 5 years but you get accredited. May be BEM don't know how to count? And you can't count your pre-U course as part of your undergraduate studies This post has been edited by Luke1989: Jan 20 2011, 01:23 PM |
Jan 20 2011, 02:45 PM
4,541 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 20 2011, 12:33 PM) I find this 4 years requirement funny. Your pre-u is not a formal engineering education so it can not be counted.After SPM In UK, you do 2 years A Level + 3 years university to get a degree. Total is 5 years. In Australia, you do 1 year Year-12 + 4 years university to get a degree. Total also 5 years but you get accredited. May be BEM don't know how to count? It's not just BEM, all members of the Washington Accord only accredits Degrees which are 4 years in length. |
Jan 20 2011, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Jan 20 2011, 02:45 PM) Your pre-u is not a formal engineering education so it can not be counted. It's not as simple as that. 2 years of A level sure learn more stuff than 1 year of Year 12. So may be part of Australian Year 1 Engineering stuff are already covered in 2nd year of A Level? Possible?It's not just BEM, all members of the Washington Accord only accredits Degrees which are 4 years in length. I know for UK medicine, they insist all Pre-U must be of 7 years duration. And if you do SPM+1 year Year-12 making a total of 6 years, they may not accept. Likewise if you do Chinese UEC (6 years), they also would not accept. So it seems in UK, the number of years before university is important. |
Jan 20 2011, 07:53 PM
4,554 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Jan 20 2011, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 20 2011, 05:09 PM) It's not as simple as that. 2 years of A level sure learn more stuff than 1 year of Year 12. So may be part of Australian Year 1 Engineering stuff are already covered in 2nd year of A Level? Possible? I don't know about medicine, but that's the case for Engineering. I know for UK medicine, they insist all Pre-U must be of 7 years duration. And if you do SPM+1 year Year-12 making a total of 6 years, they may not accept. Likewise if you do Chinese UEC (6 years), they also would not accept. So it seems in UK, the number of years before university is important. Even in the UK to become a Professional Engineer one would need 4 years of Education. You would need a BEng + Msc or an MEng to be a PEng in the UK. So saying that it's a problem with BEM is not it since that's the case in all Washington Accord signatories They have all agreed to only recognize 4 years as the magic number for registration and as far as they are concerned, they have agreed that they will recognize that there is substantial equivalency between the programmes accredited by the bodies of each signatory country. |
Jan 20 2011, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Jan 20 2011, 08:23 PM) I don't know about medicine, but that's the case for Engineering. There are no such cases but do allow me to make a far stretched hypothetical example just to illustrate a point.Even in the UK to become a Professional Engineer one would need 4 years of Education. You would need a BEng + Msc or an MEng to be a PEng in the UK. So saying that it's a problem with BEM is not it since that's the case in all Washington Accord signatories They have all agreed to only recognize 4 years as the magic number for registration and as far as they are concerned, they have agreed that they will recognize that there is substantial equivalency between the programmes accredited by the bodies of each signatory country. 5 yrs secondary education to SPM level. Then 4 yrs in university for engineering. Total 9 yrs. This will be accredited. 7 yrs secondary education to STPM/A-Level. Then 3 yrs in university for engineering. Total 10 yrs. This is not accredited. |
Jan 20 2011, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 20 2011, 09:52 PM) There are no such cases but do allow me to make a far stretched hypothetical example just to illustrate a point. Well like said before the duration before your Degree doesn't matter ^^"5 yrs secondary education to SPM level. Then 4 yrs in university for engineering. Total 9 yrs. This will be accredited. 7 yrs secondary education to STPM/A-Level. Then 3 yrs in university for engineering. Total 10 yrs. This is not accredited. Even the UK themselves won't be recognizing 3 years BEng for registration as a Professional Engineer so if the home country won't recognize it, why would others recognize it. |
Jan 20 2011, 11:48 PM
2,109 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Ipoh/Semenyih |
Professional Engineer or not,it's really up to u..
Before others "claim" u to be professional,are u "professional" enough? |
Jan 21 2011, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(Luke1989 @ Jan 19 2011, 07:26 PM) Malaysia only accredits universities with 4-year engineering courses. For Australian-based universities (Monash, Swinburne etc) this is not a problem as you generally do a 4 year degree anyway, with one year being your honours year. For UK programs, the engineering courses tend to be 3 years in length and as such are not accredited. This isn't much of a problem however, as most people just generally do an extra year of Masters (MEng) to make it 4. wat is i dun have money ????? go for scholarship?Added on January 19, 2011, 7:27 pm I would go for either Monash or Nottingham if you want the quality and have the money. |
Jan 21 2011, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(PlShelpME1993 @ Jan 21 2011, 06:01 PM) then assess what your options are with your current budget and apply for all scholarships you can. In this situation you might want to consider other unis as well. I can't really give advice on this as I'm not familiar with the scholarships offered by the various unis. |
Jan 21 2011, 04:16 PM
Validating
1,333 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(Luke1989 @ Jan 21 2011, 04:02 PM) then assess what your options are with your current budget and apply for all scholarships you can. In this situation you might want to consider other unis as well. I can't really give advice on this as I'm not familiar with the scholarships offered by the various unis. Curtin (22K) is worth considering, compared with Monash/Nottingham (37K). Cost of living is also cheaper in Miri. |
Jan 23 2011, 05:52 PM
153 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(Luke1989 @ Jan 20 2011, 05:22 AM) well to be fair, for the four year degree in Australia we usually have a final year project, equivalent to a thesis. So our degree is comparable to the MEng issued in the UK. A final year project? you mean you only had to do ONE?And you can't count your pre-U course as part of your undergraduate studies I had to do one final year project for BEng (Design) Another two final year projects for MEng (One design and one research) My MEng year nearly killed me =P |
Jan 23 2011, 06:09 PM
4,122 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(PlShelpME1993 @ Jan 20 2011, 12:21 PM) oh....so after i done my foundation in nottingham....den i will go for degree 2 years....den start deciding whether 3 years or 4 years to follow..... By doing MEng, you have a more direct route of working towards becoming a professional engineer, which you may or may not care at all.if i chose 4 year( MEng).....any advantages??? like salary higher or wat??? after i done (MEng) if i wan to continue study......wat i will be studying??? since its already master..... wat is the difference between 3 years and 4 years???? Further studies of MEng could come in a large varieties, mostly depending on which country you are heading. Generally, you can start your PhD if you are following the UK route, and maybe some of the European universities will accept you, too. Some of them require only as little as 3-years of tertiary studies before starting a PhD course. Some ask for 4, some ask for more. US and Canada are the one who ask for more, and it is usually 6-years before a PhD course. 4 years of undergraduate studies, 2 years of graduate studies, and finally your PhD. That being said, even if you have completed an MEng, essentially you are just going to be able to enroll for another Master's courses in North America as you can't fulfill the PhD requirement. QUOTE(Luke1989 @ Jan 20 2011, 01:22 PM) well to be fair, for the four year degree in Australia we usually have a final year project, equivalent to a thesis. So our degree is comparable to the MEng issued in the UK. Well, generally, at least one semester of a 4-year Aus BEng are spent to study what A-Level was doing, and it might take up to a year for that to happen.And you can't count your pre-U course as part of your undergraduate studies Ever wonder why 'common first year' doesn't exist in UK (they do, but it's really rare.)? Because their first year is already specialised, whose Aus BEng starts to specialise only on their 2nd year. Put it in this way, Aus 2nd-4th year is UK BEng 1st-3rd year. In that way, whatever we do in the extra 4th year is absolutely EXTRA to the Aus BEng. That's why it's MEng to us, but still BEng to you. Aus BEng is however, comparable to a UK MEng, in the sense of fulfilling the requirement of working towards in becoming professional engineers, only. Added on January 23, 2011, 6:14 pm QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Jan 20 2011, 11:43 PM) Well like said before the duration before your Degree doesn't matter ^^" It's not that the home country not recognising it. If they do, the BEng courses would cease to exist, isn't it?Even the UK themselves won't be recognizing 3 years BEng for registration as a Professional Engineer so if the home country won't recognize it, why would others recognize it. It's just because of Washington Accords, that they are forced not to accredit their BEng courses. In that way, they came up with an integrated undergraduate Masters which take 4-years to complete and be able to satisfy the Washing Accords. I am sure a lot of UK institutions are still proud of their compact and effective 3-years courses as they are still running it and it seems that the Malaysia market does like it as there are still those 3-years option out there, which are cheap, quick and still reputable. This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Jan 23 2011, 06:14 PM |
Jan 23 2011, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(0mars @ Jan 23 2011, 08:52 PM) A final year project? you mean you only had to do ONE? Well I had one design and one research in my final year. And yeah that nearly killed me off as well, went for a record 70+ hours without sleep at one time when deadlines were up.I had to do one final year project for BEng (Design) Another two final year projects for MEng (One design and one research) My MEng year nearly killed me =P I said one final year project because for other disciplines like mechanical and electrical they usually only do one large final year project whereas for chemical I had to do both research and design. At least thats how the courses are structured in my uni. |
Feb 10 2011, 10:05 PM
14 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Jan 21 2011, 04:16 PM) Curtin (22K) is worth considering, compared with Monash/Nottingham (37K). Cost of living is also cheaper in Miri. But many people say that the progression of the curtin university (engineering )is slow and not good in malaysia campus, some students said that many sarawak people even come to nottingham for furthering their engineering course , and rather not opt to further their studies in curtin university.Added on February 10, 2011, 10:07 pmUk or Australia has good reputation in chemical engineering?Some tell me that Uk is better, but i think australia is more easy to work after graduation ,so it is easy for me to become an engineering in australia than in uk This post has been edited by kent yu: Feb 10 2011, 10:07 PM |
Feb 10 2011, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(kent yu @ Feb 10 2011, 10:05 PM) But many people say that the progression of the curtin university (engineering )is slow and not good in malaysia campus, some students said that many sarawak people even come to nottingham for furthering their engineering course , and rather not opt to further their studies in curtin university. What do you mean by the progression is slow?People coming to Peninsular Malaysia to study happens a lot since teenagers tend to want to explore around. Nottingham is of course seen as better than Curtin in general anyway. |
Feb 10 2011, 10:33 PM
14 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Feb 10 2011, 10:07 PM) What do you mean by the progression is slow? Ya maybe you are right, my friend's brother take civil engineering in curitn university now, but he is not very satisfy with their quality of teachingPeople coming to Peninsular Malaysia to study happens a lot since teenagers tend to want to explore around. Nottingham is of course seen as better than Curtin in general anyway. Added on February 12, 2011, 12:16 amUk or Australia has good reputation in chemical engineering?Some tell me that Uk is better, but i think australia is more easy to work after graduation ,so it is easy for me to become an engineering in australia than in uk This post has been edited by kent yu: Feb 12 2011, 12:16 AM |
Aug 20 2012, 12:14 PM
1 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(kent yu @ Feb 10 2011, 10:05 PM) But many people say that the progression of the curtin university (engineering )is slow and not good in malaysia campus, some students said that many sarawak people even come to nottingham for furthering their engineering course , and rather not opt to further their studies in curtin university. From what I heard is that curtin has got a good reputation in chemical engineering. But I would like to know how true is this? So I would like some feedbacks from the students in the course and also how are the lecturers there. Are they dedicated to teach the younger generations. Added on February 10, 2011, 10:07 pmUk or Australia has good reputation in chemical engineering?Some tell me that Uk is better, but i think australia is more easy to work after graduation ,so it is easy for me to become an engineering in australia than in uk Is it possible for us to do a credit transfer to Monash or Nottingham from curtin in the final year or third year? Thank you! |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:38 PM |