Patch / Map Downloads extremely slow, Star Craft 2
TSmetalfreak
Jan 18 2011, 10:41 AM, updated 15y ago
Hi guys,
Just curious, anyone of you experiencing extremely slow patch or map downloads? I couldn't even complete any map downloads. I've forwarded all the ports required(known from blizzard's website).
Is it me or streamyX throttling? Anyone?
This post has been edited by metalfreak: Jan 18 2011, 10:45 AM
aLertz
Jan 18 2011, 10:56 AM
if map download slow, try connect to NA server and dl the maps from there... it's faster tat way  SEA server is kinda slow for map dl...
kEazYc
Jan 18 2011, 11:05 AM
It could be your IP sometimes, happened to me. I have to disconnect my modem everytime until i get 124.11 range in order to have smooth game play or map downloading from the SEA battle.net
That's at least for my line, i have to get 124 all the time in order to have smooth game play, for you i not sure.
This post has been edited by kEazYc: Jan 18 2011, 11:05 AM
ROTiJOHN
Jan 18 2011, 11:37 AM
after you done the update, log in to NA server to download the maps.
hazairi
Jan 18 2011, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jan 18 2011, 11:05 AM) It could be your IP sometimes, happened to me. I have to disconnect my modem everytime until i get 124.11 range in order to have smooth game play or map downloading from the SEA battle.net That's at least for my line, i have to get 124 all the time in order to have smooth game play, for you i not sure. what's the probability to get 124.xxx everytime u connect?
aLertz
Jan 18 2011, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(hazairi @ Jan 18 2011, 01:54 PM) what's the probability to get 124.xxx everytime u connect? it depends on area actually... in some places, 124.xx ip is bad while 110.xx is better... during bw days...they say 60.xx is da best for international connection (iCCup  )
LostWanderer
Jan 18 2011, 09:05 PM
i dl really slow on SEA, and frequently, like 90% of the times the map will hang when the dl is 60% completed...(1 or 2mb file)
in NA, my dl is fine, yes, i'm using streamyx...>.<"
keretapir
Jan 18 2011, 10:18 PM
just wondering,is it legal to re-distribute sc2 maps among users?the ones made by blizzard....
evofantasy
Jan 18 2011, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(keretapir @ Jan 18 2011, 10:18 PM) just wondering,is it legal to re-distribute sc2 maps among users?the ones made by blizzard.... legal i guess so i am not sure how u wanna distribute... as for the slow download it happens in SEA i notice... usually i'll jz go NA and pre-download everything =p
LostWanderer
Jan 18 2011, 10:30 PM
the maps aren't transferrable what...i mean, i could have map A in NA, but back to SEA, i will need to re-dl map A...no point...XD
slickz
Jan 18 2011, 10:34 PM
Never had any problems. But then again, unifi here. Duh.
evofantasy
Jan 18 2011, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Jan 18 2011, 10:30 PM) the maps aren't transferrable what...i mean, i could have map A in NA, but back to SEA, i will need to re-dl map A...no point...XD they are for me O.o or at least ladder maps =p
keretapir
Jan 18 2011, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jan 18 2011, 10:28 PM) legal i guess so i am not sure how u wanna distribute... as for the slow download it happens in SEA i notice... usually i'll jz go NA and pre-download everything =p maybe can distribute direct links i.e. like those DOTA maps in warcraft 3 i guess... QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Jan 18 2011, 10:30 PM) the maps aren't transferrable what...i mean, i could have map A in NA, but back to SEA, i will need to re-dl map A...no point...XD dat is weird.previously i played the cracked version. yeah i know,it's illegal to do that.and since it's illegal,i cant play skirmish with AI (dun have the maps).so i copy/paste the maps from my fren who have the legit game and paste it to my pc.later when the i can actually play it properly,the maps still valid and playable...
evofantasy
Jan 18 2011, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(keretapir @ Jan 18 2011, 11:48 PM) maybe can distribute direct links i.e. like those DOTA maps in warcraft 3 i guess... dat is weird.previously i played the cracked version. yeah i know,it's illegal to do that.and since it's illegal,i cant play skirmish with AI (dun have the maps).so i copy/paste the maps from my fren who have the legit game and paste it to my pc.later when the i can actually play it properly,the maps still valid and playable... nope, nt possible wit the new bnet system
LostWanderer
Jan 19 2011, 06:45 AM
for ladder maps, i know that i have shakura's in SEA, but back at NA, i was dling it when someone created that map for customs...so...XD
TSmetalfreak
Jan 19 2011, 06:13 PM
hey guys. sorry i was busy with work.
ok thanks I'll try to connect to NA servers to download and try.
Appreciate all the replies. thx
rul88
Jan 22 2011, 01:17 AM
I dun understand..what is na?having promblm download 1 vs 1 and 2 vs 2..havent able to play sc2 since the new patch...anyone got the same prob?
LostWanderer
Jan 22 2011, 06:49 AM
NA = north america server
it's free with the SEA version purchase, however, u need to login to bnet's website to activate it in order to use it
rul88
Jan 22 2011, 08:14 PM
thanks....i can play at na server now but sae cant...whats wrong wit sae server?
LostWanderer
Jan 22 2011, 11:01 PM
no idea, u mean your map dl hangs or?...
for me, my map dl hangs...needs to try XX times to get it completed...but it will...lol
and your issue is?