4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Importing from Singapore, Electric appliances, kitchen, ...

TSkadajawi
post Jan 17 2011, 11:38 AM, updated 15y ago

544 posts

I've been in Singapore yesterday, and the cheapest price I found (didn't even search) for a Samsung front loader washing machine was RM 943... the same thing with a lot of searching costs RM 1619 in JB. What the...? Does anyone know how much import taxes etc. I'd have to pay to bring it from Singapore to Malaysia? Same with IKEA kitchen, unfortunately the only one is in KL IIRC, Singapore is just a few km away. They are very attractive, seem to be of decent quality and might even be cheaper than hiring a contractor here (waiting for quotation). But how to bring in? I can borrow a Rusa, but again tax? (they didn't bother about a small table, but that was S$69, not 2000...).

(Btw.: LG 42PJ350 plasma TV. Cheapest price I found in Malaysia 1699 RM, in S'pore at Courts it's a bit cheaper (like 1620 or so), but it's also better TV. Malaysian version is from Russia... no optical audio output (only analog and stereo), no DVB-T/C tuner, no HD video playback from USB, no expert settings when adjusting the picture quality, no calibration tool. What a bunch of ..., really wanted the Singaporean version, but too troublesome.)

Oh, and what is the cheapest front loader washing machine you can get? Even 5 kg is enough, don't need anything fancy. I saw a Electrolux for 1399 at Courts... still expensive.

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Jan 17 2011, 11:50 AM
SUSkimsim
post Jan 17 2011, 12:59 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Hi, brother

You can quote from shipping company they have provide the goods from Singapore.

I has quote like house moving goods with LCD tv they quote me around Rm500.

You can try to call the mover company 07-5116898.
They do very well for professional packing ha ha.

TSkadajawi
post Jan 17 2011, 01:14 PM

544 posts

If I ask a shipping company not much saving anymore... annoying, why cheaper in Singapore?

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Jan 17 2011, 01:34 PM
Shazzac
post Jan 17 2011, 02:49 PM

427 posts

That is because the taxes are lower in SG. Cannot compare as different country.

Even the luxury goods are cheaper there.
SUSkimsim
post Jan 17 2011, 03:50 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jan 17 2011, 02:49 PM)

Actually for the currency now and convention to RM in malaysia will be more cheaper in Sg.
Only there is sell for example $1500 in My in sell Rm3000 still Malaysia are cheaper cause in Sg have to 7% GST are higher.
I hope you can understand for currency now.
So for me is no point to buy goods in Sg only maybe for 2nd hand electronic are more cheaper than malaysia.
TSkadajawi
post Jan 17 2011, 04:00 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jan 17 2011, 02:49 PM)

Mh... 10% sales tax against 7% in Singapore? That shouldn't make such a big difference. I have the feeling it's a lack of competition. Most electrical goods are cheaper in Germany, despite 19% sales tax + the goods are imported from SE Asia, ie Malaysia. This drop in prices only happened in the past couple of years with the rise of online shopping (go to something like Courts and they'll try to rip you off, but then you check online and find that things are much cheaper, even including shipping).

So if I import a new home appliance device e.g. I'd have to pay 10% sales tax? Or lets say furniture? That would be reasonable (possible to get back the 7% from S'pore?) No one tried before? Second hand is the same? (Can't find reasonably new second hand devices in Malaysia... all very old) (I've read that expats can bring in their old stuff, but sending the stuff from Germany to Malaysia doesn't make a lot of sense, except perhaps the car. Need to buy a new one then, lol, but left hand drive). I'm trying to understand http://tariff.customs.gov.my/ but it seems like that's more for commercial use... and there's the ASEAN Free Trade Area... but I guess that's only concerning goods manufactured in Singapore.

Mh... I can only imagine that Malaysian dealers make nice profits... cheapest machine was an Electrolux for 1399, a Samsung 8650 I found for 1619 (and I was in dozens of shops...). The same Samsung I've seen at the Expo yesterday for RM 940. That's nearly 700 difference, I find that to be quite significant. Last time I also checked the IKEA Malaysia and Singapore website... a kitchen that costed about 5000 on the Malaysian site costed about 4000 on the Singaporean site (after converting to RM). Of course not everything is cheaper, but some things... also the IKEA in Singapore is nearby...

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Jan 17 2011, 04:21 PM
Shazzac
post Jan 17 2011, 04:54 PM

427 posts

From my experience in dealing with logistics in my office, dun forget the import duties as well.

But then again comparing prices in MY, SG or any other country for that matter is totally unfair.

If you think buying things are cheaper overseas, you can try purcashing the item and then getting shipment company to send it over.

Don't forget you need Sirim's approval for any electrical items. Once you have the TA (Type Approval), you still need to pay for AP (Approval Permit). Each shipment has to have 1 AP. Otherwise, customs won't release also. With all this things that need to be done just to buy a cheaper item from overseas, I don't think it's worth all the trouble. Type Approval for each of the electrical items (each model) already cost around RM2k plus.

Free Trade Zone (FTZ) again, if the item you are importing are to be used in FTZ, it's ok. Once you try to take out your item from FTZ, custom will question you. However, not all items are free of tax.
TSkadajawi
post Jan 17 2011, 08:15 PM

544 posts

What does the Free Trade Zone mean? From Europe I know that you don't have to pay anything when bringing something from one EU country to another, regardless of origin. I suppose that's not what is meant here?

Ok, what you describe with electrical items is pretty bad. Eventhough the same thing is sold in Malaysia too? Oh my. I'm only talking about bringing over from Singapore, not from Europe (what we bring from there should be tax free since my mother is a Malay who is coming home, so to say).

Furniture? As I said, when we bought a coffee table from Singapore we went to the red line, showed them the bill and they just couldn't be bothered. Any info on that? Not really to get the stuff cheaper, but driving from JB to KL for some furniture is a bit too much...
jady
post Jan 17 2011, 08:16 PM

-----camology-----
1,024 posts

I think it's too troublesome for importing electrical stuff. Transportation alone will cost significant amount due to the size and weight.
Just get smaller item, those can fit into car tongue.gif
TSkadajawi
post Jan 19 2011, 11:33 AM

544 posts

Haha, yeah. Are going to buy the front loader from courts I guess. Furniture any idea? A cheap coffee table was no problem, but bigger items may be.
anakku
post Jan 19 2011, 12:58 PM

103 posts

msia customs tax for electrical goods is 30% flat from the amount after conversion to Ringgit Msia

example : SGD 1000 x 2.4 = RM 2400.00...
RM 2400.00 x 30% = RM 720.00 (msia customs tax)

lazzy_dogg
post May 17 2011, 02:30 AM

943 posts

i tot you wont get taxed if its meant for personal? ..... how are we going to declare it as personal?
alantoi
post May 19 2011, 12:07 PM

112 posts

I bought my tv in JB,Malaysia after comparing the price between Singapore & Malaysia price because it is cheaper here. Don't compare with price at sen heng & court, Malaysia,.. just buy from electrical shop... I can recommend the shop if you cannot get cheaper.... hope this can help....
bhtan
post May 19 2011, 12:17 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(alantoi @ May 19 2011, 01:07 PM)
I bought my tv in JB,Malaysia after comparing the price between Singapore & Malaysia price because it is cheaper here. Don't compare with price at sen heng & court, Malaysia,.. just buy from electrical shop... I can recommend the shop if you cannot get cheaper.... hope this can help....
I bought my Blanco sinks in Singapore. They are about half the price compared to Malaysia. I don't think it is purely due to GST, etc but rather demand and supply. The Blanco has more customers in SG than MY. That's the same for most luxury goods.

Now my problem is I bought the things, I haven't figure out a way to take it back yet rclxub.gif
I will probably make a drive myself and do more house items shopping down there.
vincentwee
post May 19 2011, 12:52 PM

126 posts

hi bhtan,

got singapore website about price Blanco sinks?
how much u paid in RM for your Blanco sink?
got pic to show?

bhtan
post May 19 2011, 03:04 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 19 2011, 01:52 PM)
hi bhtan,

got pic to show?
Actually, the Blanco global site lists all the distributors including SG and MY. I got mine from Hoe Kee @ Plaza Singapura. They have a few branches including Genting Road (HQ), New World Center, IMM Building, etc. Their price is OK. Example: the Blanco Metra 9 seems to be on "permanent" sales at SGD399. The cheapest one I saw in MY for the same was at HomeDec at RM1.8k or so. I have seen others selling here at RM3k with the accessories but those assessories are very expensive anyway and not worth getting.

I actually like the Blanco stainless square/rectangular sinks but they are even more expensive than granite sinks. Bad part about granite sink is if you drop anything fragile (e.g your expensive plates or crystals), then Oouch!

This post has been edited by bhtan: May 19 2011, 05:12 PM
lazzy_dogg
post May 20 2011, 01:10 AM

943 posts

i so wanted to get a blanco as well.... unfortunately, i was at a shop, and the blanco was cracked..... OMG!!!
alantoi
post May 20 2011, 10:33 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 19 2011, 12:52 PM)
hi bhtan,

got pic to show?
Just for reference (blanco australia)
http://www.blanco-australia.com/
If he bought for SGD399 x 2.39 = RM954 icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
bhtan
post May 21 2011, 06:07 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(alantoi @ May 20 2011, 11:33 AM)
Just for reference (blanco australia)
http://www.blanco-australia.com/
If he bought for SGD399 x 2.39 = RM954 icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

That's correct. I got a Blanco Metra 9 for SGD399 and a Blanco Dalago for SGD425. All significantly cheaper! As per someone mentioned a cracked Blanco in a shop, I think it is possible if you drop a heavy sink like that but I can't imagine one can crack a 80% granite sink once installed. Blanco is made in Germany and I think the QC is quite good. I did a lot of research before deciding on Blanco. After that when I engaged Signature Kitchen, they also recommend Blanco for granite sink.

C43
post May 21 2011, 11:03 AM

43 posts

What about prices for other toiletory, eg. sorento taps, mixers, shower, etc. Are they much cheaper like Blanco stuffs? taps, etc., are smaller and can be taken via a car trip, eh

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:27 AM