▐▐ ★HTC Desire Official Thread V8 ★▐▐, -3rd&4th Posts Updated With Tips&Themes-

tanjinjack
post Feb 10 2011, 07:15 PM

4,122 posts

Hi everybody,

Have some quick questions about rooting, and hope to get a good answer here.

I have been reading about procedures of rooting and somehow got overdosed by the information.

I want Sense UI even after my root, so I am going for LeeDroid ROM. But how to root it from the stock ROM?

1. Is it correct that I first root the unrevoked ROM then only flash the LeeDroid ROM? (or there's another more straight forward method?) (I read that we need to do a Nandroid backup, but that's only for rooted phone only.)

2. the Unrevoked thingy doesn't mention about partitioning SD card, or check HBOOT version or whatsoever. Should I check those stuff out?

3. My Desire comes with 2.1 and I upgrade into 2.2 via OTA. Should I do a factory reset so that it is back into 2.1 (or it would remain in 2.2?) to make life easier on rooting?

Do advise and comment. Pardon if I use any terminology wrongly, I am fresh to rooting.
Thanks in advance!

tanjinjack
post Feb 10 2011, 08:12 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 10 2011, 07:36 PM)
did you already try 1st page guides? which part you're not understand? please feedback, so our bro hazril can revised and improve it.
just press menu and tap batch, backup all apps. if possible, copy entire sd card as backup. just in case anything went wrong.
wipe data, wipe cache, full wipe are recommended. follow by flash rom. after reboot and stable. install back titanium.
remember, suggest restore app only (without data).
I did, just somehow got too many information from all places, and got confused about it already.
Some of the guides (from googles, from the 1st page, lost track..) I see always start with Nandroid backup, or what Clockwork, ROM manager etc. All of those require ROOTED phone right? How do I start from my UNROOTED phone?
Then I read about what GoldCard, partition SD card to have EXT, then HBOOT version must be lower than 0.8 or what (I checked and mine is 0.9 something). Then I came across S-OFF thingy (which I think is something much later), and alright, it's information overdosed. Don't know which to follow, which to omit.

In short, how do I get to root my phone (which is unrooted) into a ROM that uses Sense UI (LeeDroid is my current choice as I see it quite popular)?
tanjinjack
post Feb 10 2011, 09:47 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Feb 10 2011, 09:43 PM)
There is no way u can brick the phone. dont worry. just follow instruction on the first page. Go for leedroid 2.3d A2SD

Added on February 10, 2011, 9:43 pm
What the hell on earth is that ?
rattan,

I read some of the guides there. Seems like it's for HBOOT 0.8 something only. Mine is 0.9 something, thus unsure on how to proceed. Should I go for the unrevoked first, then only Leedroid?
I also read from Google about making a Gold Card, or partitioning the SD card, but they are not mentioned for the unrevoked guide. Should I care about that?
tanjinjack
post Feb 10 2011, 10:06 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 10 2011, 09:51 PM)
Unrevoked will work fine, I used it on my Desire running stock Froyo (Eclair uses 0.8x hboot, froyo uses 0.9x). No need for a gold card. Just follow the instructions on the unrevoked page.
And from unrevoked, can I get to LeeDroid? I want to keep my Sense UI, while getting the other benefits of rooting.
So, the partition thing also no need?

So, this is the correct one? (got it from XDA developer)
http://theunlockr.com/2010/09/20/how-to-ro...revoked-method/
tanjinjack
post Feb 10 2011, 10:24 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 10 2011, 10:21 PM)
if you want LeeDroid, please visit: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=768703
you will know what will you get and the requirements.
Yeah, I read that already, but they say need ROM Manager and Nandroid, which is available in rooted phone only. So, should I be looking at root my phone into unrevoked, then use that to get to LeeDroid. Am I correct on this?
tanjinjack
post Feb 10 2011, 10:32 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Feb 10 2011, 10:25 PM)
yes you need to root your phone before anything else
Any idea for me to backup my apps list (other than writing it down by hands) that can let me install them back easily after rooting? Also, how to backup my current Sense scene as well? It took me a long time of playing around to finally reach my current scene.
My contact is backup in my gmail and I don't really care about messages.
Photos and videos can be backup-ed manually in Windows.
tanjinjack
post Feb 10 2011, 11:00 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Feb 10 2011, 10:36 PM)
Mybackup , titanium backup* FAIL..? tongue.gif
Those can only be run in ROOTED phones only, no?

QUOTE(phantomash @ Feb 10 2011, 10:46 PM)
use titanium backup to backup your apps

for the scenes you'll have to redo it, there's no way of backing it up,
maybe take a screenshot of it using shootme app,
the app requires root access so you'll have to root first then only take screenshot,
then later redo your scene accordingly,
I think that's probably the best way already
I'll lose my scene already after rooting into unrevoked, no?
tanjinjack
post Feb 10 2011, 11:07 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Feb 10 2011, 11:02 PM)
no, rooting wont alter any settings in your phone at all,
only 1 extra app called superuser will be added into your app drawer
Oh, so I root unrevoked, and get SU permission. From then, I can do nandroid or any other backup method, and then install a new ROM (like LeeDroid) right?
Okay. LOL, previously thinking when I root unrevoked, I'll lose everything already.

Any difference for titanium backup and nandroid or any other backup method?
tanjinjack
post Feb 10 2011, 11:50 PM

4,122 posts

Hey guys, one more question.

I have decided to root it via unrevoked first, then later I will flash LeeDroid ROM (following LeeDroid guide on XDA).

Is my 4GB SD Card (come together with the phone) sufficient?

Then, quote from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=768703
The card should be formatted with your standard FAT32 partition 1st followed by an EXT2/3 partition (I would recommend 512mb, EXT4 is also supported but may shorten the life of you SD card)

So I need to make partition for FAT first, then EXT2/3. So, How should I divide the partition, 512MB for EXT2/3 or FAT? Then, EXT 2 or EXT 3?

Pardon me for so many questions.
tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 12:23 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Feb 10 2011, 11:51 PM)
Try it out yourself..make a nandroid for Oxygen..if u don't like CM7, revert back lo....

Added on February 11, 2011, 12:03 am

EXT isn't really important since ur not using Data2SD.

I suggest get 8GB, but that's up to u.
Most likely ur SD is using FAT. Connect to PC and see what format it's running on if u want to double check. If you're using ClockWorkMod Recovery, Advanced\Partition SDcard\512mb\0mb Swap size... That's it. MAKE SURE U MAKE BACKUP for ur SD card if you have important information because it will be emptied before partitioning.

There's nothing wrong asking questions when doing rooting/flashing/partition. Screwing up sucks, right? =]
I think I am going for the A2SD option for LeeDroid, so I think EXT is necessary right?
If I am free tomorrow, I guess I will try and root it first (now battery very low, wait I sleep then I charge). See how thing goes and when I feel confident enough, I will only flash ROM.
tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 12:47 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Feb 11 2011, 12:27 AM)
If you repeat what I said using clockwordmod recovery, ext shouldn't be problematic for you since it allows ext2/3/4. Only some ROMs specifically ask for Ext 3 or 4 which you may need to use cd or amon ra. Anyway try root first. If you're using Unrevoked, make sure you download Clockworkmod 2.5.1.8 and use it as a custom recovery. It appears the default recovery using Unrevoked 2.5.0.7 is causing E:/MISC problems.... (Maybe got other method to fix)
http://www.multiupload.com/JB1B50GTU0

You can also use AmonRA recovery if you like. Choice is up to you. Unrevoked's easssy.
Please pardon my ignorance again.
When you say recovery, it really means the recover from a backup (an image we create) or what?
Or you mean the process of flashing the custom ROM?

The unrevoked I am about to use will be v3.32, which I think is stable enough?
tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 12:58 PM

4,122 posts

Hey guys, I think I mispress something inside the volume down+power menu. Then now is a phone with a triangle and ! sign. What is that? How to go back to the previous one?

Added on February 11, 2011, 1:09 pmOkay, I removed battery and it seems everything works okay.
But, I don't have HBOOT USB in the menu of the HBOOT menu. Why hah?

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Feb 11 2011, 01:09 PM
tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 01:54 PM

4,122 posts

Hey guys, had another problem.
The Android Bootloader Interface doesn't show up in my Device Manager. Should I proceed or repeat?
tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 02:49 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Feb 11 2011, 02:08 PM)
I think that's as cheap as it can get for a ori unit, right?
that triangle ! sign should be because you booted into recovery when you don't have a recovery yet,
you'll get it after you rooted your phone via unrevoked.
Got my phone rooted, now reading into flash custom ROM! Wahaha!!

I got my phone at RM1400 only, 280GBP (British Pounds) to be exact, brand new and unlocked. I won a bid on the UK ebay site, and get my bro to handle it for me. The package comes with everything except for the phone charger, which is forgotten by my bro!!

Anyone to beat my price?
tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 02:56 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ Feb 11 2011, 02:53 PM)
i also can get like that.....IF i live there. haha
but do you dare to buy from UK to MY without your bro live there?
before this i always buy thing from oversea

CHINA - arrived
UK - arrived
US - arrived
negeri sembilan - not arrive

Not really. I frequent the UK ebay site after that and it has been around 330GBP. Could have been lower now though.
I bought it in December last year, so it's the price 1 month+ before.

tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 03:04 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ Feb 11 2011, 02:58 PM)
anyway you got a good price there..
does it have service provider tattoo?
Nope. It's all clean, and unlocked (don't even need to spend for service in unlocking). Come with a stock 2.1, so I update it to 2.2 here. Got a small scratch near the LED flash light though. It looks the same to what I saw on the internet (official photos etc.), so I assume it's the same with you all.

I feel really glad as I am preparing to get myself a Legend but end up a Desire! (and at that time, Legend in Malaysia is probably more expensive than my Desire)
tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 03:14 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ Feb 11 2011, 03:08 PM)
some more if you buy like hp from oversea, you need to pay tax. lucky you got your abang.
anyway, your brother live there or what?
later, htc pyramid i want to buy, can help?
blush.gif

Added on February 11, 2011, 3:09 pm

the thing is, my ie doesnt have all that..
very lousy version. i'm at my work place..gomen..
haha

Added on February 11, 2011, 3:10 pm

the thing is, my ie doesnt all that..
very lousy version. i'm at my work place..gomen..
haha
LOL, he just finished his studies and is looking for job now. Got myself lucky as my parents were visiting him during December last year so manage to get it transported rather safely.
At that time, Desire HD is at 500GBP, which is about the same price in Malaysia, so don't think new models really get it cheap there. But anyway, I don't think it's possible as I don't have close friends/families visiting UK in near future. Perhaps you may consider a vacation to UK when it comes out? LOL..
tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 05:54 PM

4,122 posts

Hey, I installed ROM Manager, and tried to do a Nandroid backup.
Holding down Volume Down and Power, then choose RECOVERY, and I choose BACKUP AND RESTORE, then it went black for about 5 minutes already. Normal?

EDIT: Okay, seems like I need to download something first. Fixed.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Feb 11 2011, 06:17 PM
tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 06:43 PM

4,122 posts

Hey guys, I am half way through on reaching the LeeDroid ROM, from my stock one.

Here's what I have done.
- Rooted via Unrevoked. Confirmed as I saw the 'Superuser permission' in my apps list.
- Downloaded the LeeDroid with A2SD+ ROM. It's called the LeeDrOiD_2.3d_A2SD.zip and is 167MB in size, right?
- Installed the ROM Manager from Market. (One quick question here, is ROM Manager the Clockworkmod? Do they mean the same thing?)
- Backup data like pictures/videos from my SD to my laptop.
- Followed this guide, which I think is a Nandroid backup. Images are copied to my laptop.
- Did a Titanium Backup using this guide

What I should do next. (Correct me if wrong)
- Partition my SD Card into FAT and also EXT2/3, via ROM Manager.
- Transfer the LeeDroid zip file into the root of newly partitioned SD card.
- 'Install ROM from SD Card' via ROM Manager.
- Wait, and I am done!

Do I miss out any steps?
Do I need to flash radio or whatsoever?

EDIT: Wait, when do I do the full wipe? Before partitioning my SD Card, or after? Or not necessary for Froyo.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Feb 11 2011, 06:52 PM
tanjinjack
post Feb 11 2011, 10:17 PM

4,122 posts

Hey guys, I checked my SD Card and it's a miserable Class 2. Wanted to look for a better replacement, 8GB will be nice, and maybe Class 6 or 4. Any recommendation of brands and dealers in KL?

0.0408sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:06 AM