Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

wshoh
post Jan 26 2011, 01:14 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 25 2011, 04:04 PM)
Guys ... I know we have been debating as to whether supp card for Maybankcard Dua will be charged RM50 or RM25.
IMHO ... don't argue lah .... either way the max you will need to pay is RM50 and the best case is RM25 ... so what's the big deal?

The potential rebates will pay off by itself so I'll say anyone applying this card ... please don't be too kiasu. Just accept the max GST is RM50 and life will be easier.
Yes, I agree that the max government tax for Maybankard 2 is RM50 for supplementary cardholder (which I also think is the correct amount based on the T&Cs). With respect, if the intended supplementary cardholder is in a position to be a principal cardholder, then he/she may as well apply for the Maybankard 2 credit card as a principal cardholder.

For the (very) kiasu amongst us (perhaps with the exception of hye), further to the potential additional RM25 in govt tax, the big deal is because of the 5% weekend cashback - capped at RM50.00 per month and shared with the principal cardholder. Very persuasive factor if both the principal and intended supplementary cardholder's spending pattern is in the region of RM1,000.00 per month each.

After reading the T&Cs for Maybankard 2 in greater detail and reading through this forum, I cancelled my application for a supplementary card for my fiancée and will encourage her to apply for a principal Maybankard 2 (still maintaining her AMEX Gold CC Supplementary Card until just before service tax anniversary date).

BTW, I telephoned AMEX customer service (1-800-88-9559) on Wednesday, 19.1.2011 to enquire as well as apply for the Maybankard 2 and was informed by CS that Maybank CS will contact me. Received a call 15 minutes later from a Maybank staff who accepted my application over the telephone (I'm an existing AMEX Gold CC holder). Submitted necessary documents to support my application for a Maybankard 2 Platinum on Friday 21.1.2011 and on Monday, 24.1.2011, CS confirmed that my application has already been submitted. Not approved as yet, or at least not shown on Maybank2u. Was informed that it will take approx 2 weeks from the date of application for Maybank to send the card, if approved.

Also, I am delighted with the speed of DA's approval for my 6 months 0% BT application. Faxed in the form at around 8:15 PM yesterday (25.1.2011) and followed up with a telephone call - CS informed that as it was after office hours, she was unable to check receipt of application. Telephoned this morning (26.1.2011) at 8:47 AM and had a pleasant surprise - BT application already approved and payment will be made via IBG!
wshoh
post Jan 28 2011, 05:05 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Jan 28 2011, 04:16 PM)
Got my MBB 2 cards by poslaju today... ^.^

Applied on Monday through platinum line.. I am existing MBB card holder, so the credit check process is fast!!
Quickly attempt to register for 15% AMEX cashback campaign via SMS and tell us the results...please! Thanks

Type "Cashback<space>15-digit American Express Card number" and send to 62628.

N/B: As at today (28.1.2011), the T&Cs and FAQ for the 15% AMEX cashback promo does not mention the Maybankard 2 credit card.
wshoh
post Jan 31 2011, 09:50 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 30 2011, 06:05 AM)
You may try but let's be realistic about the expectations due to the income requirements.
Outright, the answer is definitely NO.
Some forumers have mentioned that income can comprise more than just basic salary - if you can show rental income etc like MilesAndMore which collectively add up to the minimum income required, your application may be approved at the discretion of the bank. Even if you qualify like in the case of Gen-X's spouse, your application may still be declined. As hye has correctly pointed out before, ultimately the discretion lies with the bank.

Pleased to inform that I telephoned AMEX CS this morning (31.1.2011) and was informed that my application (by telephone on 19.1.2011 initially and submission of further documents by email on 21.1.2011) for Maybankard 2 Platinum has been approved. Credit limit as well as same billing cycle with my current AMEX Gold CC maintained.

BTW, I submitted additional documentary proof of income in the form of bonus payment voucher to qualify for the Platinum card - the purchase protection plan would be useful :]

Asked CS as to whether it would be possible to collect the cards today if I went to Maybank HQ personally instead of couriering it to my office - her reply was that as it was just approved, they would require some time to churn out the card. Today (31.1.2011) and Wednesday (2.1.2011) too short a time and Monday (7.2.2011) is the expected as well as earliest possible date - was hoping to use it on Saturday (5.2.2011) to max out Weekend 5% cash rebate PLUS additional 15% AMEX cashback campaign on top of the basic 5x TreatsPoints. Forgot to obtain CS' confirmation if this would indeed be the case but not important anyway as I expect to max out the 15% cashback tomorrow (1.2.2011). Otherwise, this would be the ultimate kiasu-ness!

wshoh
post Feb 9 2011, 10:28 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 9 2011, 07:04 AM)
2. So far nobody reported that they got their GST waived with HSBC if not mistaken. If you do not want to pay GST then see if can cancel the card. Those of you not wiilling to pay the RM50 GST, don't apply for the card. Click here to read my old post on GST.
My fiancée received a SMS from HSBC sometime last week wherein GST would be waived/absorbed by HSBC. Don't know if it is only for selected customers but one thing I can be sure of is that ever since I gave her a supplementary AMEX Gold CC, it became her primary card and the HSBC was only used (rarely) for dining offers or where AMEX is not accepted. Perhaps GST was waived to encourage card usage?

BTW, I also receive a Sorry Note from Poslaju yesterday (8.2.2011). They attempted to send my MBBKard 2 to my home - had actually requested (in writing) that MBB send the card to my office!

Somehow, AMEX CS isn't updated with the latest information as when I telephoned yesterday evening, I was told that the physical card is yet to be ready although it has been approved since 29.1.2011 and so I requested for self pick up at MBB HQ, Jalan Tun Perak. Anyway, shall wait for the card to be re-directed by Poslaju now. Hopeful to receive it this Friday so that I can use it on the weekend.

This post has been edited by wshoh: Feb 9 2011, 10:32 AM
wshoh
post Feb 9 2011, 10:37 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Feb 9 2011, 10:31 AM)
That's the first case I heard for HSBC. By the way, is your fiancee HSBC Premier customer?
No, not personally. She only hold a HSBC Visa Classic! Was offered Gold but she turned it down - so far, they have not even increased her 4-digit CL! Anyway, she already has a supplementary DA World MC from her dad with more than sufficient CL. She does have some FDs in joint-name with HSBC though - will verify if it is HSBC Premier.

Will post SMS contents from HSBC when possible - she is now overseas.

This post has been edited by wshoh: Feb 9 2011, 10:44 AM
wshoh
post Feb 9 2011, 11:43 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Feb 9 2011, 11:18 AM)
the simple answer is NO.

u cant BT more than outstanding (debt) of the card.
Just my 2 cents. I am no bank officer but I think there is such a possibility (of RM10,000 credited to Card A) where simultaneous applications for BT are made to both Card B Bank and Card C Bank (even though the only good enough reason I perceive for doing that is that one intends to do another BT in the very near future). Hmmph, let us forummers not be judgmental and think this as a purely hypothetical question hmm.gif

If and only if both Card B Bank and Card C Bank approve the BT amount (say RM5,000 each as per timetravelller's example) at the same time, why not? Please feel free to correct the above if need be.

Not sure if this would be considered unfavourable credit card account conduct - which puts you at risk of application rejection.
wshoh
post Feb 9 2011, 12:39 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 9 2011, 11:58 AM)
Yes ... such answers are unfavorable in here.This thread serve to educate on good usage and general info of CC and not to help people create more debt.
The people who give answers normally answer without malice but sometime the one asking the question intends to maneuver around the system and/or create more debts.
Well said charymsylyn and hye. It didn't occur to me after the education I received here on how to take advantage of 0% BT (by depositing the funds meant for CC payment into FD instead) that a good number of people who visit this thread do not read through all the pages and live beyond their means.

Thus the many 0% IPP etc posts as well as the many repeated and tiring questions - I think we can post a standard reply next time "Please refer to Gen-X's blog."! "Please read the 1st post before posting" in the title doesn't seem to work.

MilesAndMore, you may wish to (a) reserve the 2nd post of Credit Card v15 for FAQs, (b) suggest that 1st time CC applicants with Degree look at DA (Direct Access @ CIMB) and © link erry-'s wiki (in forum style) OCBC Titanium Mastercard, all about this card
wshoh
post Feb 9 2011, 04:11 PM

176 posts

Not exactly CC-specific but just found out when I paid via MasterCard online today that prompt payment of quit rent through online payment for Kuala Lumpur property is rewarded with a 5% discount.

Payment is possible through either Visa or MasterCard, in addition to internet banking. May as well pay through CC to earn some points/cashback.

Googled about the discount and found the following link: Five Per Cent Discount for Online Payment of Quit Rent in the Federal Territory

This post has been edited by wshoh: Feb 9 2011, 04:19 PM
wshoh
post Feb 9 2011, 07:23 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(timetravelller @ Feb 9 2011, 05:16 PM)
enlighten me, i plan to perform 2 BT to 1 of my credit card and additional payment will be the advance payment. with the advance payment, i will cash it out. it is better a lot than personal loan.
I think the key word in the relevant portion of MilesAndMore's reply is "Please search for my old post. It is here somewhere ..."

Anyway, I will indulge you simply because Miles' experience with HSBC which he shared in the BT thread was beneficial to my brother who took up HSBC's offer - only to realise after I explained HSBC's BT mechanics to him, that if he continues using his HSBC card, he will need to make full payment of the statement balance (of the month wherein the BT sum is reflected) as well as the BT sum if he is to avoid the interest trap on purchases made in the aforesaid statement month.

The relevant post is Post #378 as below:

QUOTE(YJC @ Jan 19 2011, 04:13 PM)
No processing or upfront charges.
Different bank different procedures. For HSBC, we base on hierarchy payment. Meaning if you make payment, the payment will go to balance transfer then IPP then only to your retail purchases. So it is advisable not to use your card on retail purchases if you have any IPP or Balance Transfer on your card.
See also:

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 19 2011, 01:41 PM)
well, I got a call from HSBC today offering me BT so took the opportunity to ask about what MilesAndMore mentioned. Well if you got like installment, autodebit , etc with your HSBC account, there is a hierarchy on how your payment is made. The girl keep saying no need worry as my record doesn't have any outstanding balance or plans which makes me wonder why would I have problems?. Better to go with CIMB where they create a new separate account for BT approved.
In fact, YJC having corresponded with you personally by PM here, I would think that you already know how HSBC's BT works. You really take the cake...!

The long and short of it, for BT (as of 9.2.2011), best to take up DA/CIMB 0% offer where a separate a/c is created for the BT sum in which you only need to pay the 5% min payment for the 1st 5 months until the final (6th) month where you will need to pay in full. Before the MBB 12 months BT plan questions flood in, allow me to pre-empt the same by answering that the MBB BT plan divides the BT sum into 12 equal instalments cool2.gif

Gen-X's example is here

To illustrate why Gen-X said it is too much of a hassle to do a 'small' BT to make money through FD placement, well, I just placed a FD with AmBank today for RM5,000.00 on a month to month basis. The interest rate is only 2.75% and that means for RM5,000.00, you will only get RM137.50 (simple calculation only here, no compounding effect etc) provided the interest rate remains. That translates to only RM11.45 per month. IMHO, it is only worth it if you get at least RM50.00 for your time to fax the BT application form and follow up by telephone (to ensure that the BT sum is paid promptly).

Again, thank you Miles (on behalf of my brother).

This post has been edited by wshoh: Feb 9 2011, 07:45 PM
wshoh
post Feb 10 2011, 05:25 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 10 2011, 01:35 PM)
25-Jan-2011 : Faxed in my application form without support docs as I have existing SonyCard Visa
02-Feb-2011 : Application has been approved.
03-Feb-2011 : M2U shows the new CC listing
10-Feb-2011 : Received the actual Maybankard2 AMEX + Visa via PosLaju

Would have gotten the card quicker if not for the long CNY holidays.
Also got the MBBKard 2 cards today (10.2.2011). My experience with MBB 2 has been bittersweet though. @Gen-X and @winner Same situation here, applied through telephone for Platinum and got Gold.

19.1.2011 : Applied via telephone (call returned by MBB CS after I telephoned AMEX CS) - existing AMEX Gold CC holder, therefore no documents required.

21.1.2011 : Nevertheless, submitted further income documents by email to support application for Maybankard 2 Platinum.

29.1.2011 : Application has been approved and Platinum granted according to AMEX CS on 31.1.2011. Also informed that due to CNY, will take some time to issue physical cards - requested that the cards be sent to my office as instructed over the telephone on 19.1.2011 and again via email on 21.1.2011. AMEX CS again confirms on 9.2.2011 that Platinum granted - asked CS regarding card-type approved for peace of mind after reading about Gen-X's experience which he posted here.

8.2.2011 : Received Sorry Note dated 8.2.2011 from PosLaju (only found out on 9.2.2011) left at my house, instead of office as requested! Had telephoned AMEX CS in the evening on 8.2.2011 and was informed that physical card not yet ready, therefore requested for self-collection since she suggested that it would be faster. AMEX CS not aware that MBB has already issued physical card?!! flex.gif

9.2.2011 : PosLaju CS informed that only MBB can request re-direct of cards to office. Called AMEX CS who now says that she has arranged for cards to be sent to my office.

10.2.2011 : AMEX CS called me in the morning to inform that Platinum cards (yeah, I confirmed again) are now at HQ - despite another CS having confirmed yesterday that it will be sent to my office. Was told that collection is normally a breeze, done in 15 minutes. Went to MBB HQ (Menara Maybank) and collected...Maybankard2 Gold AMEX + Visa (although different CS confirmed at least thrice that it was a Platinum according to their system). Wasted at least half an hour waiting as they took a long while to locate the cards.

Till now M2U does not show the new MBB2 CCs - this must be the same frustration shared by Gen-X here. I requested AMEX CS over the telephone this morning (10.2.2011) to link the MBB2 CCs to my existing M2U and she said that it will be processed and ready within 2 hours. Worst, I was personally present at MBB HQ (Menara Maybank) noon today and was told that I will need to create a different user name for each MBB CC product that I have. Speechless and left wondering what kind of online system they have. I also do not have any savings or current a/c with MBB - they asked for my ATM card, which I obviously don't have.

Anyway, not a dealbreaker and do not want to complain about them giving the Gold (except that the card design is really hideous - but not as bad as PBB Day2Day Debit Card) as the more important benefits are the 5x TP on all purchases and additional 5% Weekend rebate. Already registered via SMS for AMEX 15% cashback promo. Looking at the brighter side seeing how Gen-X's wife application was rejected despite qualifying based on income.

@Miles BTW, I have re-applied for OCBC Titanium MC on 8.2.2011 through Cik Rohana whom tzeling recommended. And I will be visiting Taiwan soon too (and shall report on MBB2 AMEX + Visa usage then)!
wshoh
post Feb 13 2011, 06:42 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(wshoh @ Feb 9 2011, 10:28 AM)
My fiancée received a SMS from HSBC sometime last week wherein GST would be waived/absorbed by HSBC. Don't know if it is only for selected customers but one thing I can be sure of is that ever since I gave her a supplementary AMEX Gold CC, it became her primary card and the HSBC was only used (rarely) for dining offers or where AMEX is not accepted. Perhaps GST was waived to encourage card usage?
Have checked my fiancée's SMS...
SMS from 66600 on 28.1.2011 at 14:24 is as follows:

RM0.00 Thank you for using HSBC/HSBC Amanah credit card/-i(s).We are pleased to advise that we have waived your credit card/-i(s) annual fees due in Feb 2011. doh.gif

It is annual fees and not GST. So no good news for HSBC cardholders. Apologies wub.gif
wshoh
post Feb 15 2011, 06:29 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(dotcom @ Feb 15 2011 @ 11:52 AM)
blink.gif y all likes to get the MBB2 plat instead of MBB2 gold?
aren't both same having 5TP and 5% rebate on weekend? hmm.gif got other diff benefit?
QUOTE(bingozero @ Feb 15 2011, 12:01 PM)
Is doesn't matter for me, both are having same benefit except Travel Insurance Coverage, Retail Protection and Golf Privilege. But those are useless for me  biggrin.gif
It will not matter to some. But for those of us who book air tickets online regularly (most carriers accept AMEX eg MAS, AirAsia), payment with the MBB2Kard 2 Gold does not offer complimentary travel insurance coverage. For me, this will make the difference as to whether to swipe my MBB2Kard 2 Gold AMEX or DA Platinum MasterCard (which offers travel insurance coverage up to RM1,000,000 by charging the full airfare to it) by considering the cost of the insurance vs points in RM equivalent.

Retail protection may also be useful - would be nice if someone can share their experience if they have tried claiming before.

wshoh
post Feb 15 2011, 11:57 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(QUOTE(wshoh @ Feb 10 2011 @ 05:25 PM))
@Miles BTW, I have re-applied for OCBC Titanium MC on 8.2.2011 through Cik Rohana whom tzeling recommended.

Please keep us updated smile.gif
Sadly, I do not share staind and donpapachino's turn of fortune. Just received OCBC's standard rejection letter dated 11.2.2011, again doh.gif Will submit appeal soon. Honestly, since I already have the MBBKard2 AMEX, the only reason for my continuing attempt to get the OCBC Titanium MC is to open up more options to maximise rebates. Primary use for OCBC Titanium MC is for fuel and dining since MBB2Kard Amex only offers 5% rebate on weekends. Obviously, as pointed out by Gen-X, we should not be enslaved and allow card benefits to dictate how and when we spend.

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Feb 14 2011, 11:16 AM)
I applied for OCBC Ti MC and MBB2 Card at the same time....

I got my OCBC approved and declined from Maybank...ish!!! I fullfilled their requirement that's for sure ... 

2 days before I applied for my card, I got my car loan from Maybank approved... anyway I can appeal it?
Opposite situation. MBB approved, OCBC still declined (1st application back in September 2010). It's still a puzzle as to OCBC's evaluation criteria. rclxub.gif Perhaps I'll need to get a copy of my CCRIS report from BNM for self-examination.
wshoh
post Feb 20 2011, 09:15 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 18 2011, 10:46 PM)
I like the design, Black + Gold but that's about it. Complicated lah bonus spending and what not. And the press release really a joke - as if they copy my intro for my Maybankard 2 Card post in my blog AND  "From our proprietary research" it mosr probably meant that they did not spend much on research. HLB would be better off reading this thread than doing whatever research. Better still employ Miles, hye, winner and me as their advisors sure we can come up with the best credit card ever, hahaha
HLB is not known to be generous with remuneration though tongue.gif But I suppose for Gen-X, he will be getting paid (if hired) for doing something he is already doing pro bono. I'll gladly write a letter of support for Gen-X, MilesAndMore, hye and winner, if asked.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 19 2011, 05:30 PM)
4) as far as I am concerned, the Fortune = Essential with promotion.

5) Fortune card do not appeal to those earning RM30K and above. It will attract those who spend minimum RM38K a year and if you are earning like RM40-RM50K pa, I doubt you will benefit much from the annual bonus because if you do then you'll be spending more than you can afford to or you charged all your company expenses to the card.
QUOTE(winner @ Feb 19 2011, 08:26 PM)
I am not exaggerating but if you want to make your life easier, avoid those cards giving complicated T&Cs. HLB Fortune is EXTREMELY COMPLICATED. I don't think HLB is creative but it is confusing actually.
Concur wholeheartedly with both Gen-X and winner.

@Gen-X Could have just called the new HLB Fortune...HLB Essential 2 thumbup.gif Anyway, HLB seems to be challenging the intelligence of those most likely to benefit the most from the Fortune's card features (see Gen-X's illustrations, ante). The promotional statements such as "Earn interest on your Real Cash Earnings" will probably appeal to as well as grab enough attention of the uneducated and ignorant public to sign up.

@winner HLB's marketing department probably knew from their proprietary research (what a nice term for their press release) that most people do not peruse the T&Cs. I disagree...they are actually creatively deceptive icon_rolleyes.gif I, for one, boycott such products.

0.0476sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:51 PM