Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

timetravelller
post Jan 18 2011, 11:33 AM

307 posts

hi there, alliance bank new application got rebate for GST? i was thinking to apply alliance bank for BT purposes. Had swipe huge amount of tuition fee on other cc, therefore i need BT desperately.
timetravelller
post Jan 18 2011, 11:46 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 18 2011, 12:42 PM)
What is other CC you have swipe with?

If not CIMB or MBB then apply for either. Alliance BT got 0% for new card holders?
i swipe on HLB.

Added on January 18, 2011, 11:47 am
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 18 2011, 12:45 PM)
Yes, Alliance has got 0% BT. Not published, but indeed available.
so alliance bank new cc application got GST rebate?

This post has been edited by timetravelller: Jan 18 2011, 11:47 AM
timetravelller
post Jan 18 2011, 01:44 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 18 2011, 12:51 PM)
Not sure about gst rebate. But BT is confirmed.
no le, i just b from alliance bank. no 0% BT liao. sad... but i still apply. sad...
timetravelller
post Jan 18 2011, 05:23 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jan 18 2011, 06:04 PM)
mbb got money ... look at their 15% cash rebate and the allocation for each month. no other bank can compete with them for that promotion.
well, mbb only allocate 1million each month for 15% cashback. so if u wanna grab the cashback, better spend on the beginning of month.
timetravelller
post Jan 19 2011, 03:07 PM

307 posts

i want to inquire something about DA, for new DA credit card application, got cashback for GST?

Added on January 19, 2011, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(Robin Liew @ Jan 19 2011, 02:32 PM)
but funny they did not charge last yr
iam surprised even the main card not charged
after implementation of GST, they will only charge on new application. For existing card member, they will only charge at the end of the month indicated at ur cc (Expired MM/YY).

This post has been edited by timetravelller: Jan 19 2011, 03:36 PM
timetravelller
post Jan 21 2011, 08:00 AM

307 posts

visa or master better? i once told by hlb officer that visa were more accepted at oversea. true?
timetravelller
post Jan 21 2011, 09:53 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 21 2011, 10:14 AM)
Not quite true.
explain plz?
timetravelller
post Jan 21 2011, 12:31 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(thtan @ Jan 21 2011, 01:18 PM)
Buy car cash, do you get trouble from IRD?
provided u got duly pay the income tax, everything is going to be fine.
timetravelller
post Jan 22 2011, 09:29 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 21 2011, 10:07 PM)
If you don't have enough money to buy the thing in the first place, just don't buy it. CC is a tool for convenience, not for debt accumulation.
but i have no enough money i still can buy it use cc what, let's say i ahve 25% of $ to buy an item, i just use cc swipe it la. then i use other other bank like DA BT6 months or MBB BT 12 month for interest free. why not?? provided ur credit limit divide by 12 is sufficient for ur monthly payment then everything is ok. u defeat the fully enjoyment of credit card.

This post has been edited by timetravelller: Jan 22 2011, 09:30 AM
timetravelller
post Jan 26 2011, 08:41 AM

307 posts

i wanna ask regarding on due date of repayment. let's say the repayment due date is 28th of each month, then if we made the payment on 28th, consider late or on time?

This post has been edited by timetravelller: Jan 26 2011, 08:42 AM
timetravelller
post Jan 28 2011, 04:19 PM

307 posts

i got a question. let's say i wanna cash advance using hlb credit card, can i perform cash advance of hlb at maybank atm machine?
timetravelller
post Jan 28 2011, 05:27 PM

307 posts

recently i get the direct access credit card. any GST waiver for that?
timetravelller
post Feb 8 2011, 01:43 PM

307 posts

anyone here using hong leong bank credit card? how to print a complete statement from on9 banking account?
timetravelller
post Feb 9 2011, 10:59 AM

307 posts

hi, wanna ask about balance transfer of credit card. if i got 3 credit card. Credit Card A have 5k debt, then i BT use credit card B and C. If both credit card B & C i BT 5k each to Credit Card A, then meaning that my Credit Card A will receive 10k, possible this happen?
timetravelller
post Feb 9 2011, 01:30 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(wshoh @ Feb 9 2011, 12:43 PM)
Just my 2 cents. I am no bank officer but I think there is such a possibility (of RM10,000 credited to Card A) where simultaneous applications for BT are made to both Card B Bank and Card C Bank (even though the only good enough reason I perceive for doing that is that one intends to do another BT in the very near future). Hmmph, let us forummers not be judgmental and think this as a purely hypothetical question  hmm.gif

If and only if both Card B Bank and Card C Bank approve the BT amount (say RM5,000 each as per timetravelller's example) at the same time, why not? Please feel free to correct  the above if need be.

Not sure if this would be considered unfavourable credit card account conduct - which puts you at risk of application rejection.
i just want to know the possibility of doing this way. if u can manage ur finance wisely, it could be wise to do that. i'm asking this because of some credit card only provide for 0% BT for fresh application. So if i got 2 credit card approve and definitely i have to utilize this advantage to enjoy the benefit of 0% interest for a period. If it were possible, then how does the statement look like? negative balance?
timetravelller
post Feb 9 2011, 01:47 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Feb 9 2011, 02:33 PM)
what do u mean with 'some credit card only provide BT for fresh application'?

some1 here mentioned he/she did CIMB BT for more than once.

btw for ur question, yes, when amount paid is higher than statement balance, the new balance will be negative.
certain bank only offer 0% BT for new credit card applicant.
timetravelller
post Feb 9 2011, 05:16 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 9 2011, 05:32 PM)

Actually, this is possible with HSBC 0% BT. I however do not recommend their 0% BT. Why ? Please search for my old post. It is here somewhere ...

It is indeed possible with HSBC BT. You do not have to give them the statement of your credit card from another bank that you intend to do a BT to. Just give them the numbers and they will transfer the money out to the account. And yes, negative balance will be shown in your the other credit card account statement.

enlighten me, i plan to perform 2 BT to 1 of my credit card and additional payment will be the advance payment. with the advance payment, i will cash it out. it is better a lot than personal loan.
timetravelller
post Feb 9 2011, 09:01 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 9 2011, 09:25 PM)
I assume you never get any sms from HSBC about their 0% BT offer ? Then there is no point to consider it as you are not eligible for their 0% BT offer. Only those who have received sms from HSBC are entitled for it.
Yes. I can.

Anyway, anyone knows how does the point system for Citibank regular credit card works ? I just got a regular Citibank VISA in December last year. The first statement came out in early January. The total outstanding was RM2820.89 and got 2770 CitiRewards points. However, i actually received 5096 (points earned) + 10888 (bonus points) this month, much to my surprise. Any idea what is it so ? Only RM5096.78 was charged to my Citibank VISA last month and i did not shop at any of the stores that Citibank is giving 5x CitiRewards Points last month. Where did all these bonus points came from ?

[attachmentid=2034812]
There are/were indeed such deals. Besides the one mentioned by chemistry, HSBC is the other bank that had such deal.
No problem !  smile.gif
i didn't receive sms from hsbc coz i'm not hsbc consumer ma. however for new application, they offer 0% BT. so the hassle thing u refer is hsbc will debit 1/6 of the amount to ur account and this 1/6 are the min. repayment of the month?

Added on February 9, 2011, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(wshoh @ Feb 9 2011, 08:23 PM)
I think the key word in the relevant portion of MilesAndMore's reply is "Please search for my old post. It is here somewhere ..."

Anyway, I will indulge you simply because Miles' experience with HSBC which he shared in the BT thread was beneficial to my brother who took up HSBC's offer - only to realise after I explained HSBC's BT mechanics to him, that if he continues using his HSBC card, he will need to make full payment of the statement balance (of the month wherein the BT sum is reflected) as well as the BT sum if he is to avoid the interest trap on purchases made in the aforesaid statement month.

The relevant post is Post #378 as below:
See also:
In fact, YJC having corresponded with you personally by PM here, I would think that you already know how HSBC's BT works. You really take the cake...!

The long and short of it, for BT (as of 9.2.2011), best to take up DA/CIMB 0% offer where a separate a/c is created for the BT sum in which you only need to pay the 5% min payment for the 1st 5 months until the final (6th) month where you will need to pay in full. Before the MBB 12 months BT plan questions flood in, allow me to pre-empt the same by answering that the MBB BT plan divides the BT sum into 12 equal instalments  cool2.gif

Gen-X's example is here

To illustrate why Gen-X said it is too much of a hassle to do a 'small' BT to make money through FD placement, well, I just placed a FD with AmBank today for RM5,000.00 on a month to month basis. The interest rate is only 2.75% and that means for RM5,000.00, you will only get RM137.50 (simple calculation only here, no compounding effect etc) provided the interest rate remains. That translates to only RM11.45 per month. IMHO, it is only worth it if you get at least RM50.00 for your time to fax the BT application form and follow up by telephone (to ensure that the BT sum is paid promptly).

Again, thank you Miles (on behalf of my brother).
actually i made 2 application at 2 different bank. so in case 2 of them approved, then the 2 BT may run concurrently.

This post has been edited by timetravelller: Feb 9 2011, 09:04 PM
timetravelller
post Feb 10 2011, 09:19 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 9 2011, 10:14 PM)
I think the 0% BT for newly approved cards promotion had expired last year.
What ? Sorry. I don't really understand what you're trying to ask.
meaning that the min. repayment is not 5% of the BT amount, instead is the 1/6 of your BT. this way seems like how citibank operate. anyway, does anyone know how Alliance Bank BT work? Alliance Bank provide 0% BT for 12 months for new applicant only. Upon receive the card only can call in for BT? Or it should be done during registration of credit card?

This post has been edited by timetravelller: Feb 10 2011, 09:20 AM
timetravelller
post Feb 10 2011, 10:43 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(alfee29 @ Feb 10 2011, 11:40 AM)
I think you can apply BT at the registration of the credit card coz if you wait for the card to be approved, and then submit the BT application for approval, will take a long time and incur finance charges.

I got the 12 months 0% BT with my existing Alliance card and got the disbursement within 10 days.

Alliance BT is also using a seperate account where you can directly pay into the BT account (as opposed to a tiered account explained by wshoh here)

EDIT: Btw, the 12 months 0% interest BT promo is over already sad.gif
coz during registration time, there're no 0% BT indicated in the form. so i have to wait till get the card then only apply. i just afraid they will said that it's only can be done during registration time, but not after..

0.1604sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:21 AM