Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

felix2212
post Jan 27 2011, 05:26 PM

48 posts

Currently plan to buy electrical products also some computer related items.

Got few questions here:

If I using easy payment for items above, still got points or cash rebate for MBB 2 Amex? and I also heard Amex not offer easy payment...

Or I need to pay full first then BT to others cards? can show out what is the benefit I can get from the translation?

Btw, I asked most of the computer shops in low yatt, only 4th floor offering 0% for full card payment.

and Most of the electrical shop like SenQ also charge some fees for the easy payment.

Just wish to get "most benefit" solution from all the translation above...

Thank you!
felix2212
post Jan 27 2011, 10:00 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 27 2011, 05:26 PM)
Currently plan to buy electrical products also some computer related items.

Got few questions here:

If I using easy payment for items above, still got points or cash rebate for MBB 2 Amex? and I also heard Amex not offer easy payment...

Or I need to pay full first then BT to others cards? can show out what is the benefit I can get from the translation?

Btw, I asked most of the computer shops in low yatt, only 4th floor offering 0% for full card payment.

and Most of the electrical shop like SenQ also charge some fees for the easy payment.

Just wish to get "most benefit" solution from all the translation above...

Thank you!
Sorry I need to re post again here, due to not yet get any reply on my post....

also my post in BT forum....

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 27 2011, 04:38 PM)
I wish to apply BT for my citi statement RM 1,335.69 but the due date will be 7th Feb 11. If say that's only 5 days process then should be ok.

But I haven get any card from CIMB, OCBC, PBB, HSBC and also Alliance...

For the card approval need around 2 weeks, sure cannot apply now right?
Hope some one can provide some idea or solution for me...

Thank you!
felix2212
post Jan 27 2011, 11:55 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 27 2011, 10:33 PM)

as u said, amex dont offer installment. so u must pay full amount, and of coz u get the rebates.

i have no idea regarding swipe full amount then BT to other card (sorry).

0% installment offer by shop depends on which bank merchant terminal they are using.
if using PBB merchant terminal, then they can offer installment only for PBB card.
some hop have more than 1, thats why they can offer installment to multiple bank.
and usually the shop will charged additional fee on top of the full amount, example 2%.
Thank for your info...

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 27 2011, 10:49 PM)
ok, no harm getting most out of your card but for only  RM1K+ you want to do BT and then buy some more stuff with installment I think you really leaving beyond your means, not flaming you or anything but just don't fall into the banks' "trap" if you are financially tight. This easy credit given by banks are means to make you spend more.

But to answer your question on how to get installment for electrical goods, tell me what card you have and maybe then I can assist you. And do go to Harvey Norman and check out their price as they offer 0% without any surcharge for almost all cards. Also they do give discount if you pay in full, just ask, buta buta get discount like I did last time bought stuff from them.

**Edited**
in regards to MBB 2 Cards AMEX no installment, well it comes with Visa or MAsterCard which allows you to do installment plans at many merchants.
in BT thread, someone did mentioned he managed to BT for BT but I can't remember from which bank.

Actually I plan to cancel the citi air aisa card, I have enough cash to make full payment but I just want to try BT service and apply another bank card.
So, I'm ask for your assist here to avoid the banks "trap".... notworthy.gif

I'm not sure is that have Harvey Norman in Melaka, but I'll try select some items from JJ to get extra points as you said in your blog.

If I use MBB2 Amex for full payment, earned the 5X TPoint and 1X JPoint on weekend got 5% cash rebate,
then wait for the e-statement printed, submit BT to others bank.

Due to my MBB CL still only 6K, so can I use this solution for purchase more products?

Currently I have:
1) MBB Petronas Visa CL 6k
2) EON Classic Master CL 4K
3) New AEON Visa CL 3K
4) Citi Air Asia Master CL 4K

Now plan to get:
1) MBB2 Card
2) OCBC Titanium

and cancel:
2) EON Classic Master CL 4K
3) New AEON Visa CL 3K
4) Citi Air Asia Master CL 4K

*kept MBB Petronas Visa CL 6k for apply some new card.
Reason 1) Is more than 2 yrs, easy to apply new card.
Reason 2) Mar'11 going to pay GST 50, still have few mths easy payment to go...

This post has been edited by felix2212: Jan 27 2011, 11:58 PM
felix2212
post Jan 28 2011, 09:53 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 28 2011, 07:15 AM)
apply mbb2 amex, swipe, then do BT? not recommended la sweat.gif

applying new card then want to do BT will take times.
as long as the BT is not successful, u will be charged with interest!
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 28 2011, 08:13 AM)
From above, here's what I think

1)if you want do try 0% BT fast and now, you already have MBB Petronas which you can try out by doing your BT to MBB. But this may result in you keeping the card longer if you opt for the 12 months 0% BT. if you got no intention to cancel your Petronas card then no probs.

2) MBB, EON and Citibank are accepted at many places for 0% installment plans.

3) as for your question on MBB 2, yes you still get the 5X TP  and 5% cash when you BT to another bank using printed E statement. And once you BT to another bank, yes you got available credit again in your MBB 2 Cards (you don't do  BT and pay it off also same thing i.e got available credit).

4) go apply for new cards and then only cancel the Citi after you get the new cards just in case your application got problems (kiasu a bit lah). As for the AEON and EON, go cancel it if you don't need it (minimum 2 months before GST due, kiasu again to allow enough time to follow up). But just to let you know, your MBB 2 Card credit limit will be shared with your MBB Petronas.

As for you refering to my blog on JJ, please note I am not saying you must go buy at JJ, what I am saying is that you get points with your J card AND credit card at JJ. I only buy at JJ if the thing is cheaper than elsewhere. However, I wil say this, JJ card members day is the best day to shop at JJ but for big item, go compare price elsewhere a day or two before the JJ card members day so you can conclude where you get a better price.

Last but not least, do know that if you want to "try" BT, you are asking for "work". You have to plan in such a way that the BT payment is paid before your Due Date and need to follow (I kiasu wan, always follow up on application, approval and paytment) and it be shown in your CCRIS report (as mentioned by some here). If the BT payment is made after your due date, you may end up paying more in the end. Seriously IMHO, for RM1K not worth the effort.
Thanks for all the comments...

Erry & Gen-x:

apply mbb2 amex, swipe, then do BT the main reason is:
1) Get more benefit on MBB2 Amex with limited CL.
2) Already budget for easy payment on those big items with no additional charges. Due to need to keep some cash on renovation...

Gex-X:

1) I also guess MBB will share CL 6K with MBB2 and petronas, but i still need at least a card is more than 1yr and higher CL to apply others card.
So, i wont consider on BT to MBB will lower down my available CL.

4) This is what I worry about...
EON Master statement date on 3th Mar, will pay off on 2 Feb and cancel.
AENO Visa statement date on 10th Mar, will to pay off on 1st of Feb and cut it on the counter.
Citi Master statement date on 17th Apr, if too rush for BT, will pay off on 5th Feb and call to cancel.
MBB petronas statement date on 26th Mar. have to kept for apply others card.

I understand and will be survey the price before purchase in JJ. Will be consider if difference not much after courting all the fees.

As you guide on your BT blog, at least pay for 5% min payment and BT 95% outstanding to avoid late charge. Also follow up with the bank for the BT application status and when they make payment.

Is that ok or have any advise for me??

felix2212
post Jan 28 2011, 10:12 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 28 2011, 10:05 AM)
1. Cut the number of credit cards you have. Paying too much GST & what are you thinking ?
2. Move away from getting yourself into EZ installment plans. EZ to get into but hard to pay monthly.
1. ya, I planed to cut 3 cards.
2. but i still need EZ installment to purchase electrical equipment for my house oh....

felix2212
post Jan 28 2011, 10:43 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 28 2011, 10:33 AM)
What you waiting, fast fast go apply another card if you want to cancel the EON and AEON cards.

I guess in Melaka you don't have much choices compared to Klang Valley for electrical goods with 0% installments and that's why you thinking of using BT. Just go survey what card is best in Melaka. By the way, if you buying TV, LYN garage sale sometime got very good offer, so go checkit out.
Haha, I already apply MBB2 Card & OCBC Titanium last week, now waiting for the card.

My digi bill RM 200+ will auto billing in OCBC Titanium,
Petrol Esso Est RM 500+ will charge to OCBC Titanium.
Insurance RM 150 consider as bill and can get 5% cash rebate as well?
to get 5% cash rebate.

Others will charge to MBB2 Amex to get 5xTP and weekend 5% Cash rebate.

LYN garage sale mean in Low yatt forum? need to use cash?
felix2212
post Jan 28 2011, 05:17 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 28 2011, 10:50 AM)
insurance no 5% cash back with OCBC Titanium, only 1%.

not necessary, I bought the tv using CC but went to his shop at PJ.
Can you provide me the link? then I can refer to his price.

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 28 2011, 12:04 PM)
again, MBB will follow federal weekends, means Saturday & Sunday only notworthy.gif

and yes, max rebate is rm50/month only per card (amex mbb2 only, visa wont get rebate).

if, u want more, go apply PBB Esso/Mobil for your petrol.

Now have promo extra 3% till 31/3 and max cashback is rm80/month.

Since u using >rm500 per month, u will get 6% (extra 1% than OCBC Ti).

So u can use ur OCBC Ti for another 5% category notworthy.gif

u sms 10:30 am? i sms at 10:19 already overhelm. coz only rm17,000/day sad.gif
Gen-X & erry:

Mean that I better arrange like this?

Digi RM 200+ go to OCBC Ti
Petrol RM 500+ go to OCBC Ti
Utility Bill (TNB+TM+Water) RM 200+ go to OCBC Ti

Seem like full load of RM 1k, then others go to MB2 Amex 5X TP + Weekend 5% Cash Rebate.
15% Cash Rebate offer seem like not valid in Melaka.

erry:

I been consider for the PBB Esso card, but not much benefit after 31/3. seem like pay extra for the GST 50 and only benefit 2 mths. hmm.gif

felix2212
post Jan 29 2011, 09:42 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 28 2011, 11:31 PM)
rayfoo/winner:
The 3% Rebate for OCBC Titanium for Internet Banking's actual value is 5%, based on my calculation on all OCBC Internet Banking transactions. Basically that's the 3%+2% special offer period. I get 5% even I didn't get the special email invite.
rclxms.gif  drool.gif

The description a bit confusing  blush.gif  blink.gif

OCBC really rocks !!!! Managed to save 10% on my utility bills !!!  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
how to save 10% on utility bills? mind to share?

QUOTE(babedevil @ Jan 29 2011, 12:33 AM)
If there is no transaction after your RM50 GST is charged to your card (means visible in your transaction history already), you can op to not pay the GST when you ask for a cancellation of that card.

I've done that twice with MBB.
After getting MBB2 Amex and OCBC Ti, I don't think will use current MBB Petronas Visa any more....so, possible can waive the GST 50 right?

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 29 2011, 02:15 AM)
yes thats the way ur OCBC should be.

the PBB esso, i spend about rm520/month, 1 year can get back rm187.20 already (exluded extra 3% promo).
minus gst rm50, still got profit rm137.20 ~ not bad notworthy.gif

If excluded extra 3% promo, better use OCBC Ti for 5% every time....don't need worry for the tier....
am I right?
felix2212
post Jan 29 2011, 11:01 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 29 2011, 10:52 AM)
mbb still ok since they told me to swipe RM3k for 6 months then they will waive it

Added on January 29, 2011, 10:53 ami mean within 6 months
Are u sure? MBB can waive GST 50 by swipe 3k within 6 mths?

Added on January 29, 2011, 11:41 amsad here.....just call to OCBC get to know that my Titanium application is unsuccessful....

Anyone can help me get the card?

This post has been edited by felix2212: Jan 29 2011, 11:41 AM
felix2212
post Jan 29 2011, 10:52 PM

48 posts

Please allow me to ask again, who else can help me on OCBC Titanium card?

and I check on few electrical shop in melaka, they not accept for Amex.
Worry of no way to use Amex in Melaka....

Anyone know what kind of shop/outlet will be accept Amex?
felix2212
post Jan 29 2011, 11:13 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 29 2011, 10:58 PM)
Everybody is pretty aware and also at the same time worried about the less acceptance of AMEX. If the merchant accepts AMEX, they'll display a logo at their entrance or at their cashier desk.

Hypermarkets have no problem of accepting AMEX. Major petrol stations as well except Petronas.
Thank for reply...
luckily I'm using esso now~

IS that possible to get a list of Amex merchants in Melaka?
felix2212
post Jan 30 2011, 06:23 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(UltraConductor_41 @ Jan 30 2011, 03:19 PM)
My May2 card approved!! My first credit card in my life~ rclxms.gif  Signed up last sunday at 1u with a free umbrella~~  thumbup.gif
I want the umbrella too.....
Do u mind help me to ask the agent got any booth in melaka? my wife want to apply too...

---

I found out by asking,
Melaka can use Amex in:
1) Parkson, if use bonuslink every last friday of the month is Member's day, gain 5X Bonuslink points (actually just 2.5X/RM1 spend)
2) SenQ, If use Plus one card, RM20=3points.
3) Watsons, RM1=1point, 200points redeem RM1.

felix2212
post Jan 30 2011, 07:01 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Jan 30 2011, 06:55 PM)
Jusco, guardian pharmacy should be able to use amex too smile.gif
Thanks for adding the information.

Hope Gen-X can write something on Where can use Amex in his blog...
rclxms.gif
felix2212
post Jan 30 2011, 07:52 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 30 2011, 07:31 PM)
Ah ? Really got such thing ? I opened the Air Asia Savers Account at a former Southern Bank branch last year with more than RM5,000 of cash and all i got was a cimbclicks car sticker  doh.gif
ya that's true, I got 4 umbrella last year too...
I ask my wife introduce me open air asia account on the deposit day, then we got double umbrella with it.

thumbup.gif
felix2212
post Jan 30 2011, 09:14 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 30 2011, 08:30 PM)
It is in my blog lah, go read again  tongue.gif  and I have already revised my post on Maybankard 2 Cards to say that AMEX can be used at phamarcy after someone asked about it here few days back. As for JJ, I always mentioned that AMEX can be used there.

My wife MBB 2 cards application got rejected even tho her income is more than RM60K  sad.gif  She only got her first CC an Alliance MC Plat in Oct last year. Asked her to appiled at 1U last week as we were there and I read ronnie's posting here that they taking applications there. I faxed over EPF and Borong BE to proof her income somemore. Must go check her CCRIS report to see what's in there.

Just to add, the reason why I started blogging in 2009 was because people coming here keep asking same question. Now easy for me, just ask them click here to my blog  biggrin.gif
haha, ya i read before...

Before you go saying AMEX is not widely accepted, let me repeat here again that AMEX is accepted at ESSO/MOBIL, Guardian, Watsons, Caring, OTO, GIANT, Carrefour, Harvey Norman, Courts, All IT, DELL, TESCO, JAYA JUSCO, TGIF, FOS, Poh Kong, PappaRich, Pasta Zamai, Canton i, Air Asia, JetStar, Malaysia Airlines, DiGi, Maxis, Celcom, Assessment Tax (Cukai Pintu) and many other places and not necessarily only at high end luxury outlets.

Is this right?

I just wish that can create another page for Amex and update new merchant....like SenQ or any others....

Can be consider?
thumbup.gif
felix2212
post Jan 30 2011, 10:09 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 30 2011, 09:40 PM)
There is already an existing AMEX thread.
The American Express® Cards v3, Treatpoints & Membership Rewards™ http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1724607/+120?hl=amex
right?

I was finished 7 pages but didn't get any list that which merchants can accept Amex oh...
sad.gif
felix2212
post Jan 31 2011, 10:42 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 31 2011, 12:25 AM)
additional info - if autopay express, all accept amex (even tnb).

but if paid at kiosk, only visa and master accepted.

while pay at counter, here in kajang, only digi accept it. maxis and celcom didnt.

notworthy.gif
"autopay express" is mean the feature with Amex? Thru Amex to select what to pay in Amex website right?

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 31 2011, 12:27 AM)
where do u mean?

if at petrol station, AFAIK they wont accept credit card, only cash.
the terminal is only for paying petrol and their store/mini-market things.

sweat.gif
Only at some Tn'g outlet can reload by credit card but not sure about Amex. Normally i reload by cc at sg. besi toll tn'g outlet.

QUOTE(donpapachino @ Jan 31 2011, 09:43 AM)
finally my ocbc titanium got approved:
- applied online on monday 17th jan
- got rejected on 20th jan
- appeal & submit supporting docs on 26th jan
- 30th jan receive sms from ocbc saying approved

now planning the best time to 'convert' amex gold to maybank2 amex. still got 15% cashback & BT havent clear yet. laugh.gif
are you sure? can u guide me how to appeal?
I'm apply on melaka ocbc 19th jan,
call to ocbc get to know unsuccessful on 21st jan
now wish to appeal....how u did it?

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 31 2011, 10:09 AM)
that you need to find out on your own. If everyone come and ask "does merchant XXX accept AMEX?", I cant imagine that congestion...
I understand all the beginner with Amex sure want to know where can accept Amex.
So, can we suggest to have a page write-up for which merchant can accept Amex, and can be update time by time.
notworthy.gif
felix2212
post Feb 2 2011, 11:20 AM

48 posts

Haha, I got my MBB 2 cards this morning. I though only getting after CNY, I like it too much~!!!

felix2212
post Feb 4 2011, 09:57 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Feb 4 2011, 07:02 AM)
whohoo! just get rebate using ambank for dining RM168 get back 20% is RM20 since counted on RM100 block

Added on February 4, 2011, 7:06 amPromotion starts from  21 January 2011 – 31 May 2011 for ambank

When will I receive the Free Canon Photo Printer?
The Canon Printer PIXMA iP277 will be delivered to cardmember’s mailing address within 6 – 8 weeks
upon achieving the minimum retail spend requirement of RM1,000 within 2 months from the card approval
date. (include supplementary spending) No delivery will be made to a P.O Box address or any address
outside Malaysia
30,000 units of Canon Photo Printers are allocated for this campaign and will be awarded to cardmembers
on a first come first serve basis
Q11  When will I received the RM 50 Cash Reward? 
RM50 cash reward will be credited into the Principal card account within 4 to 6 weeks upon achieving the
minimum retail spend requirement stated below (exclude supplementary spending) 
• Platinum Card – Minimum retail spending of RM 500
• Gold Card – Minimum retail spending of RM 350\

wow. the fight is getting serious now. good for consumers!
http://www.ambg.com.my/ambank_webmedia/fil...it_card_FAQ.pdf
sound interesting...

Any one can recommend which ambank card will be better? brows.gif
felix2212
post Feb 7 2011, 04:45 PM

48 posts

I already spend around RM3,800 on my MBB2 Amex...
but included some petrol,
but still cannot view my card detail on M2u,
is that will get 3,800 x 5 = 19,000TP???

0.0465sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:26 AM