Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 20 2011, 09:42 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 20 2011, 07:30 AM)
I did share this before after I called CS. They said it's also not possible and you just have to wait till Mastercard is available in April. sweat.gif
Yeah. Guess i'll have to wait then biggrin.gif

pokgaizai
post Jan 20 2011, 10:13 AM

684 posts

Planned to cancel my MBB Sony Visa if able to get MBBcard2. Want to ask, is the treats point from Sonycard transferable, or must redeem first before cancel. Also, can the 0% easypayment balance transfer to new visa?
sweetpea123
post Jan 20 2011, 10:26 AM

800 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jan 20 2011, 12:53 AM)
Correct me if I am wrong, I don't think any insurance co accepts AMEX for premium payment hor?
Otherwise, would have to rush MBB2 application cos I have 2 premiums coming up in Feb .  tongue.gif
Can anyone clarify this? Has anyone paid their insurance premiums with Amex b4? Thanks.
ronnie
post Jan 20 2011, 10:28 AM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

QUOTE(pokgaizai @ Jan 20 2011, 10:13 AM)
Planned to cancel my MBB Sony Visa if able to get MBBcard2. Want to ask, is the treats point from Sonycard transferable, or must redeem first before cancel. Also, can the 0% easypayment balance transfer to new visa?
TreatPoints is transferable
0% Easy Payment also can be transferred
You need to apply for the Maybankard2 first, then proceed to do the transfer.
TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 20 2011, 10:42 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jan 20 2011, 10:26 AM)
Can anyone clarify this? Has anyone paid their insurance premiums with Amex b4? Thanks.
No. No insurance company accepts AMEX.

sweetpea123
post Jan 20 2011, 10:51 AM

800 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 20 2011, 10:42 AM)
No. No insurance company accepts AMEX.
Thanks a lot. Then will use my Essential Visa to settle the premiums. Thought using MBB2 Amex can get back 5x Treat Points - equivalent to almost 2.5% rebate . tongue.gif
Robin Liew
post Jan 20 2011, 10:55 AM

290 posts

wats the adv for having an amex?
i feel visa n mastercard is enuff
TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 20 2011, 10:57 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jan 20 2011, 10:51 AM)
Thanks a lot. Then will use my Essential Visa to settle the premiums. Thought using MBB2 Amex can get back 5x Treat Points - equivalent to almost 2.5% rebate .  tongue.gif
Which insurance company is that ?

QUOTE(Robin Liew @ Jan 20 2011, 10:55 AM)
wats the adv for having an amex?
i feel visa n mastercard is enuff
Do you not know how to read ? Find some time and go over the the dedicated AMEX thread. Read the last few pages and you'll know why.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jan 20 2011, 10:59 AM
sweetpea123
post Jan 20 2011, 10:59 AM

800 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 20 2011, 10:57 AM)
Which insurance company is that ?
Great Eastern and ING
chemistry
post Jan 20 2011, 11:10 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jan 20 2011, 10:26 AM)
I am a policyholder of Great Eastern.
And I can tell you that its Autopay form only got Visa & Mastercard to choose.
Not sure about other insurance companies.
ronnie
post Jan 20 2011, 11:11 AM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jan 20 2011, 10:59 AM)
Great Eastern and ING
OCBC has a tied up with Great Eastern, right ?
TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 20 2011, 11:13 AM

9,301 posts

Great Eastern and ING
For ING, you can apply for this EON Bank INGIAFAM-EON Bank credit card. You will get 2% rebate on the premium paid. The first year credit card tax cannot be waived but for the subsequent years, yes it can be waived. Read more here > Renewal Bonus

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 20 2011, 11:11 AM)
OCBC has a tied up with Great Eastern, right ?
Yes. It is 2% rebate for Titanium card and 3% for Platinum. If you can charge at least RM10k into the card (anything and not just Great Eastern premiums) , they will also give you a renewal bonus of RM50 to offset the credit card service tax.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jan 20 2011, 11:16 AM
chemistry
post Jan 20 2011, 11:19 AM

3,065 posts

Great Eastern and ING
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 20 2011, 11:13 AM)
For ING, you can apply for this EON Bank INGIAFAM-EON Bank credit card. You will get 2% rebate on the premium paid. The first year credit card tax cannot be waived but for the subsequent years, yes it can be waived. Read more here > Renewal Bonus
haha, in case the tax cannot be reimbursed, sweetpea you gotta do some calculation liao.
Your HLB essential gives 1% cashback, but PBB-ING gives 2%. This means, your ING premium must be worth RM5000 then only can justify that GST RM50. Get one more card just want to earn a few bucks? Worth or not worth you think twice.
alexwsk
post Jan 20 2011, 11:19 AM

4,094 posts

just to add, PBB also has a tied up with ING
TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 20 2011, 11:23 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 20 2011, 11:19 AM)
haha, in case the tax cannot be reimbursed, sweetpea you gotta do some calculation liao.
Your HLB essential gives 1% cashback, but PBB-ING gives 2%. This means, your ING premium must be worth RM5000 then only can justify that GST RM50. Get one more card just want to earn a few bucks? Worth or not worth you think twice.
The total cumulative RM5k can be from other expenses too. And one must use the card at least 36 times in order to be eligible for this renewal offer. My agent told me about this card last month and i have done the calculations. Will apply for it before my next insurance premium is due. Will go for the Gold card and request for something like RM6k or RM7k limit biggrin.gif

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jan 20 2011, 11:19 AM)
just to add, PBB also has a tied up with ING
Do note that the rebate will only be given to those ING policies sold through Public Bank if you were to pay using the Public Bank-ING MasterCard/debit MasterCard.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jan 20 2011, 11:25 AM
sweetpea123
post Jan 20 2011, 11:24 AM

800 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 20 2011, 11:13 AM)
Yes. It is 2% rebate for Titanium card and 3% for Platinum. If you can charge at least RM10k into the card (anything and not just Great Eastern premiums) , they will also give you a renewal bonus of RM50 to offset the credit card service tax.
Oh, Titanium can get a 2% rebate, that's great, I didnt know that . I only knew they had an OCBC-Great Eastern card or something like that . Anyway, it's not feasible to me to take the card as my Great Eastern is only about 4k a year.

Added on January 20, 2011, 11:26 am
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 20 2011, 11:19 AM)
Yes chemistry , u r right. Not worth it for a few bucks savings. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sweetpea123: Jan 20 2011, 11:26 AM
chemistry
post Jan 20 2011, 11:27 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 20 2011, 11:23 AM)
The total cumulative RM5k can be from other expenses too. And one must use the card at least 36 times in order to be eligible for this renewal offer. My agent told me about this card last month and i have done the calculations. Will apply for it before my next insurance premium is due. Will go for the Gold card and request for something like RM6k or RM7k limit  biggrin.gif
whoah, 36 times, far more than other banks' 12 times.
This card gives only 0.6% on other non-ING transactions. Who will want to spend on this card oh? sweat.gif
TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 20 2011, 11:29 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jan 20 2011, 11:24 AM)
Oh, Titanium can get a 2% rebate, that's great, I didnt know that . I only knew they had an OCBC-Great Eastern card or something like that . Anyway, it's not feasible to me to take the card as my Great Eastern is only about 4k a year.
But you can still use the card for other expenses. For example, you will get at least 0.75% cash back on all other expenses which is better than many other VISA and MasterCard in the market. On top of that, you will also get 1.5% rebate on tuition and medical fees.

chemistry
post Jan 20 2011, 11:29 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jan 20 2011, 11:24 AM)
Miles was saying OCBC-GE-Titanium got 2% cashback on GE premiums; while OCBC-GE-Platinum got 3%.
These are co-brand cards yo.
TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 20 2011, 11:34 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 20 2011, 11:27 AM)
whoah, 36 times, far more than other banks' 12 times.

Most banks do not even offer to pay you RM50 at all, no matter how many times you use their cards.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 20 2011, 11:27 AM)
This card gives only 0.6% on other non-ING transactions. Who will want to spend on this card oh? sweat.gif
The total cash back given to non-ING transactions is close to 1% and not 0.6%. You will get 0.5% cash back and on top of that, you will also be rewarded with 1 Bonus Plus point for every Ringgit charged which is almost equivalent to Standard Chartered VISA Business Platinum.

128 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:59 PM