QUOTE(eric84cool @ Feb 15 2011, 06:26 PM)
hey guys, which is the most efficient way to cancel your CC to bank?? Need those guys who had experience it....
Fax a credit card cancellation letter to their credit card centre. Then do a follow-up ... Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting
Feb 15 2011, 08:07 PM
9,301 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(eric84cool @ Feb 15 2011, 06:26 PM) hey guys, which is the most efficient way to cancel your CC to bank?? Need those guys who had experience it.... Fax a credit card cancellation letter to their credit card centre. Then do a follow-up ... |
Feb 16 2011, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(UltraConductor_41 @ Feb 16 2011, 12:05 AM) TNB accept Amex?? because from their web site..i only saw they stated master and visa only~ Yes. They do but only through auto-debit. |
Feb 16 2011, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(UltraConductor_41 @ Feb 16 2011, 01:22 AM) ic..thanks for the info~~ gonna apply that soon.. No. Not for auto-debit through credit card/charge card. |
Feb 16 2011, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(zenquix @ Feb 16 2011, 11:29 AM) QUOTE(ben83 @ Feb 16 2011, 10:54 AM) Do anyone know that booking air ticket via travel agent entitle for the cc insurance coverage? Or must we book directly from the airlines only entitle the coverage? QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 16 2011, 02:59 PM) Mine is more weird. Total spend RM106 at Esso (5x TP) using MBB Amex2 CC Clearly someone at Maybank IT department has not been doing his/her job well.TP shows 606. 5.7x TP |
Feb 16 2011, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 16 2011, 08:49 PM) 8. Today - call MBB Tol Free afternoon line engage so call Amex Tol Free pressed 2 for Gold services. Ask CS check and was informed approved for MBB 2 Gold yesterday 9. Then thinking about it, when I call AMEX Tol free line always Gold application. So I just called MBB Plat Tol Free line at wah lah CS confirmed MBB 2 Plat approved yesterday also QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 16 2011, 08:49 PM) Now I have to just wait and see what cards I get. A few more travel agencies also accept AMEX in Sabah. Not sure about Kuala Lumpur though.As for air ticket, travel agent accept AMEX besides Mayflower? |
Feb 16 2011, 10:58 PM
Feb 17 2011, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 17 2011, 12:32 AM) Hi all, comparing Maybank 2 and Citibank Platinum, which card is better to use for spending at Singapore? I see many shops in Singapore are giving discounts for Citibank card holder. For shops that do not have any special promotion for Citibank credit cardholders, use your Maybankard 2 VISA as it gives the best exchange rate.QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 17 2011, 12:32 AM) Not sure if this is applicable for Malaysia issued CC? It is applicable for all Citibank credit cards worldwide. Gen-X has been taking advantage of this every time he goes to Singapore |
Feb 17 2011, 02:31 AM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 17 2011, 01:06 AM) Thanks MilesAndMore. Base on your feedback Maybank 2 Amex is not that suitable for use in Singapore? Well, unless there is any specific discount that is applicable only to AMEX, it is not advisable to use your AMEX overseas due to the high admin fee. Even the 5x TP won't help much in this case. QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 17 2011, 01:06 AM) Currently I'm using OCBC Titanium as main card so I'm looking for either Maybank 2 or Citibank Cashback Plat to use in SG. Need advice on which card would be a better combo. I'd say Maybankard 2 cards are better but it depends on what is more important to you and where do you usually spend in Singapore. Whilst there are indeed more promotions for Citibank credit card in Singapore, the promotions usually can only be found at those high-end shopping malls and it always come with a trick to trick you into spending more. |
Feb 17 2011, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 17 2011, 11:07 AM) Miles apply for Plat MBB Dua Plat only and got it approved, no problems with his application. Yes. And i've been calling Maybank CS many times since i got the credit cards before the Chinese New Year and all my calls were answered by a human within 1-2 minutes By the way, i tried to buy a Hong Kong Airport Express ticket from Hong Kong MTR Corporation website but the system kept declining my credit card. I called Maybank like 4 times already on this issue alone and i have also tried to buy the ticket from Hong Kong MTR Corporation website like 20 times already and it was declined all the time. The last Maybank officer i talked to told me that it seems that there were communications error all the time which resulted my Maybankard 2 VISA being rejected all the time. However, he assured me that there is definitely no problem with my card. Well, i was already very frustrated then. So i decided to file a complaint to Hong Kong MTR Corporation's credit card processing company which is Paydollar. The response from Paydollar was very fast. I got a reply like just 30 minutes after sending out the email and mind you it was already 6pm then. This is what i call a good and efficient customer service ! Anyway, i gave them all the details and they forwarded the case to Hong Kong MTR Corporation for further investigation. And i received a call from Hong Kong MTR Corporation just this morning. The friendly lady told me that credit cards issued by banks in Malaysia (even HSBC - the largest bank in Hong Kong) are flagged as high risk and thus all payments made through Malaysian credit cards will be automatically declined. Anyway, she told me that she will make an exception for me. There is one catch though. I must pay for the train ticket online at the time we agreed at our phone conversation earlier. They will open the system for Malaysian credit card for half and hour only and after that, the system will be closed to Malaysian credit card again. Haih ... malulah Malaysia ... QUOTE(prempenang @ Feb 17 2011, 11:36 AM) wats the best card i can apply now using existing cc as reference? Any existing Platinum credit card...platinum of coz This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Feb 17 2011, 11:48 PM |
Feb 18 2011, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(mustang @ Feb 18 2011, 08:36 AM) This restriction is applicable to swiping the card at the terminal itself? [not online transaction] Nope. Just online transactions. However, not all merchants in Hong Kong practice such a thing.QUOTE(hye @ Feb 18 2011, 09:34 AM) The merchant uses a blanket block for all cards originating from Malaysia. The same goes for a lot of merchant from the US. If you are the merchant, you will do the same thing ... the cost of fraud recovery is higher and lengthy. Easier to just block the transaction plus it also means that Malaysia is not considered to be a main revenue contributor but one of the main fraud contributor. When your transaction through a US website cannot go through, it is not because they do not accept Malaysian credit card. As a matter of fact, any none US credit cards will be rejected upon checking out if the US company you intend to buy something from do not ship the items ordered out of the States. QUOTE(shauyan @ Feb 18 2011, 09:47 AM) Weird, i am using my CIMB Gold Card two weeks ago at HK and spending more than RM3000, no problem at all. Just implemented recently? Just Hong Kong MTR Corporation and probably a few other websites too. Cathay Pacific Airways and Dragonair for instance, have no problem accepting a Malaysian credit card online.QUOTE(hye @ Feb 18 2011, 09:54 AM) Look at bro @MilesAndMore previous post closely and understand the context of the story. He was attempting to use the card only to buy tickets @ the MTR, HK. Spot on !QUOTE(patricktoh @ Feb 18 2011, 11:37 AM) The purpose of 3D secure/Verified by Visa is to take advantages of card fruad liability shift. This is news to me ! Anyway, the payments to MTR Corporation online were rejected only after i entered the Verified by VISA PIN For e.g. - 3D/VBV card being fraud at non-sercured internet merchant. Merchant to absorb all the losses. - Non-secured card fraud at 3D/VBV merchant. Card issuer/holder to bear all the losses. So as a merchant it is good to be 3D/VBV enabled. QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 18 2011, 01:42 PM) Finally got my Maybankard 2 American Express and Visa Platinum Cards today via post laju. Welcome to the club ! |
Feb 18 2011, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(prempenang @ Feb 18 2011, 09:01 PM) if bsuiness close down, can still apply new cc using existing cc? since no more job reference? Yes. You may still try. There is no guarantee though.QUOTE(chemistry @ Feb 18 2011, 10:14 PM) HLB Launches New Fortune Credit Card This card is good to those high spenders. The competition in the credit card market is getting very intense. Hopefully more banks will come up with more new innovative products that will give more to its users |
Feb 18 2011, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 18 2011, 11:40 PM) But high spender will still opt for MBB2 Amex for 5x uncapped TP right ? Hard to beat MBB dua. But VISA still has an edge over AMEX anytime in Malaysia and anywhere else in the world. For those who contribute so much to the economy every year, they can get this card and use it wherever AMEX is not accepted (assume they also always max out on their cash back on OCBC Titanium MasterCard and Standard Chartered Titanium MasterCard). The total cash back one can get can be as high as 2.666% ...QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 18 2011, 10:46 PM) Complicated lah bonus spending and what not. And the press release really a joke - as if they copy my intro for my Maybankard 2 Card post in my blog AND "From our proprietary research" it mosr probably meant that they did not spend much on research. HLB would be better off reading this thread than doing whatever research. Better still employ Miles, hye, winner and me as their advisors sure we can come up with the best credit card ever, hahaha This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Feb 18 2011, 11:54 PM |
Feb 19 2011, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(UltraConductor_41 @ Feb 19 2011, 12:22 PM) anyone know how to set pin for my maybank credit card once i received it?? or is there any preset pin in it??~~ Nope. You have to go to any Maybank branch nearby to ask for the PIN number. The temporary PIN number for all Maybank credit cards/debit cards are always 123456 QUOTE(tachlio @ Feb 19 2011, 05:01 PM) Just get mine too on Friday That is one huge increase !Currently using Petronas with CL 6k but MBB2C give me 20K CL QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 19 2011, 05:56 PM) For overseas best to get Maybank cards as the conversion rate lowest. If your company reimburse you, then no diff. Guys, any idea if the Maybankard 2 VISA overseas admin fee is 0.5% like the rest of Maybank's VISA/MasterCard or 1% ? And any of you have received your first Maybankard 2 cards statement ? I have made the first payment to my Maybankard 2 AMEX 2 days ago but have not received the printed statement until now. QUOTE(lgs @ Feb 19 2011, 06:59 PM) Citibank Cashback Platinum now only need 48k PA! It has always been RM48k/pa.http://www.citibank.com.my/english/credit-...ck-platinum.htm |
Feb 23 2011, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(UltraConductor_41 @ Feb 20 2011, 02:05 PM) Should be set i assume. The credit card was newly arrive to my doorstep.. and there are no document stated what is the preset pin for my card. As i said a few days ago, you need to apply for the PIN at any Maybank branch.By the way, i swiped my Maybankard 2 VISA in HKD a few days ago and both transactions have finally appeared in my M2U. Below are the exchange rates for respective transactions for your reference. 18 Feb 2011 1. HKD12,848.00 > RM5,071.74 (HKD100 = RM39.475) 2. HKD171 > RM67.50 (HKD100 = RM39.474) **Wawasan Sentosa's HKD rate on 18/2/2011 was HKD100 = RM39.30. |
Feb 23 2011, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 23 2011, 12:46 AM) Very good rate for Maybankard 2 Visa. Still a bit higher than i anticipated. May be their MasterCard can get better rate ...QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 23 2011, 12:46 AM) Any comparison with Maybankard2 AMEX in HKD ? No. Knowing the high admin fee imposed, i am not going to use it overseas.QUOTE(winner @ Feb 23 2011, 09:26 AM) The rates look OK but it would be better if you could make the payment using 2 different cards and compare the rates. I am tempted to use my HSBC MasterCard ... see if any chance to use it later on. I am using mostly cash in Hong Kong. By the way guys, HSBC credit card does give better rate for payments made in TWD (only a mere 0.03 higher Wawasan Sentosa's rate) |
Feb 25 2011, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(butthead012 @ Feb 24 2011, 10:36 AM) MBB CS is quite easy to get through, maybe for me... Average within 5 min for me... Even faster for me Anyway, time for a new thread guys This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Feb 25 2011, 01:17 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0437sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:33 PM |