The Watch Thread v3, Affordable or not depends on individual

Jason
post Feb 2 2011, 09:47 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Jan 29 2011, 08:49 PM)
Owned 1 which I think Ball is one of the best entry level Swiss watch, IMHO.
i did survey before buying my Tag (think i even PM'ed you). I wouldn't call Ball entry level, least the price isn't entry level.. Oris is more entry level in comparison to Ball.

I think the Oris TT1 is an awesome watch, but don't know why when it was on my wrist I just couldn't accept its odd unique shape. Their BC3 DLC would be a great entry level piece..against Ball's entry level piece..and if i'm not mistaken the Oris would be cheaper.

NOT MINE
more pics
http://www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/oris-forum/47057.htm
Jason
post Feb 3 2011, 12:40 AM

6,354 posts

isn't there a notable quartz called SuperQuartz? (wah name very original). don't know what's super about it though.
Jason
post Feb 3 2011, 07:43 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(VoiVod @ Feb 3 2011, 10:10 AM)
I just got myself a luminox  smile.gif

44mm size, stainless steel, sapphire crystal glass, screw-on crown...

nice catch there. looks very rugged/manly

QUOTE(xngjn @ Feb 3 2011, 10:58 AM)
i planing to buy my 1st watch. i looking for chronograph watch. my budget is 600 MYR. do u all have any suggestion? thank you
For that budget..maybe stretch a bit can get a nice looking Seiko.

Jason
post Feb 4 2011, 09:37 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Feb 4 2011, 08:57 PM)
any proud owners of the new tag carrera 1887? i plan to get one this year.  biggrin.gif
*cough* sei *gasp* ko *cough* in house movement my foot
i hate it when people treat me like a fool & lie to me, much less corporations who want my money.

my personal opinion.
im wearing a tag with an eta inside. they didn't tell me its in house movement.
Jason
post Feb 6 2011, 06:49 PM

6,354 posts

tried it in person, i don't dig it. feel its more formal versus the more casual feel of the eta carreras.
Jason
post Feb 20 2011, 10:13 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(boringbrick @ Feb 20 2011, 09:40 PM)
bro, where is the tag heuer service center?
try using ebay and see if you can buy just the bezel..and go to independent watchmakers to get it replaced..surely cheaper that way. considering its not a mechanical part..
Jason
post Feb 21 2011, 06:41 PM

6,354 posts

upcoming brand.. Maurice Lacroix.. says me.. hehehe. independent, young, and they already have their in-house movement.
Jason
post Mar 24 2011, 06:49 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 24 2011, 04:40 PM)
im in fashio to low middle end.

any recommendation?

i personally liked the FCUK leather ones. simple n nice.
any Seiko or Citizen is better than FCUK. that's what she said.
Jason
post Mar 29 2011, 11:41 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Mar 28 2011, 06:54 PM)
Thanks guys. The 50th Anniversary model has a sapphire crystal and a seamonster logo on the front dial. The "OMEGA" script is smaller and in red. Quite cool. I wonder what this watch, complete with box and collectible newspaper, hardcover book, etc. is worth now?
probably less than what you paid at retail i believe. nice piece nevertheless.
Jason
post Apr 25 2011, 02:22 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Apr 21 2011, 11:46 PM)
A new pontos chronograph cost around 6.3k after discount
thats cheap, where? i saw the black pontos chrono PVD/DLC one.. was ~16k RRP
Jason
post Apr 25 2011, 05:30 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(-Aktan- @ Apr 25 2011, 05:07 PM)
Hi guys, I need some advice, I'm short and have a small size wrist, my friend says it is difficult for me to find a suitable watch that look good on me, how do you guys judge if the watch suit or not on our hand? Is there a guide for this?
well.. i see a girl wearing a seiko criteria chrono..she's slim..but the watch looks very good on her. so it depends on the watch in question.
Jason
post May 9 2011, 11:26 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ May 9 2011, 11:18 AM)
Between Bell & Ross BR01 and Panerai, which one will you choose with same budget.
Panerai between the 2... but neither if given a choice.

tom_k3nt: Mido is value for money, but don't expect any brand recognition.. Oris does have nice pieces in the lower price range..the TT1 Divers automatic, Oris F1 Team Day Date (I'll choose this over Tag F1 anyday). the TT1 Divers is a unique design, least its not like all the divers out there which draws similarity to the Rolex Submariner.
Jason
post May 9 2011, 10:41 PM

6,354 posts

seriously, Tag F1 quartz not worthwhile.. the ORIS Team F1 Day Date is a better F1 watch. purely mechanical.

Tag as a brand, yes, well known. not favored among watch enthusiast but among masses, i think its one of the more well known brand after Rolex.
Jason
post May 26 2011, 11:36 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ May 10 2011, 04:46 PM)
Damasko, Laco, Guinand, CW etc
In my opinion, Ball is best entry level Swiss watch among the rest.
if Ball is entry level, Tissot is what? Oris is what? hehehe.. Ball prices not exactly entry level IMO.
In terms of prices
Tissot < Oris < Ball

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ May 25 2011, 10:29 AM)
After countless sleepless night deciding on which watch to buy on 4- 5k budget.... Been looking at Oris, Hamilton, MIDO and ML.

I decided to fork out 1k more...

Total budget is 6k now... What can i buy now?
For ML, which range could i get, possible to tell me which model?
For Tag, probably i can get an aquaracer? What else can i get?
For Longines, i believe i still cant get an masterpiece collection right?

Btw, what u guy think about Frederique Constant? Worth buying? Which range?
Out of the 3.. I would say the ML. If you like to scream for attention..definitely the Tag. Longines neither here nor there.. don't enjoy the recognition of Tag, and the charm of ML (independent, has in house movements in its stable although not used on lower lines, positioning itself as ultra luxury against the likes of IWC -- and seems to be succeeding slowly)
Jason
post May 26 2011, 11:54 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ May 26 2011, 11:39 AM)
Entry level Ball ~2k range.
http://www.watchart.com/page02.php
Tissot is below RM2k, Oris IIRC also can be had below RM2k.. saw prices at RM2.5k RRP

that square face at NT$18,000.. here is RRP @ RM3800. Fireman hard to get below RM2k now? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jason: May 26 2011, 11:57 AM
Jason
post May 26 2011, 04:37 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ May 26 2011, 02:15 PM)
I think would be slightly above 2k.
Bought (now sold) my Fireman in 2006 for 1.7k
thus compared to its peers, its barely entry level today. if Ball is entry level, Tissot is no level.
don't take me wrongly, I am NOT bashing Ball. I think Ball has a grown leaps and bounds. Just that I don't feel they are entry level at all. If anything I feel they seem to be placing above Oris, below Tag. Personal opinion smile.gif
Jason
post May 26 2011, 06:30 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(AceOfSpades @ May 26 2011, 06:00 PM)
Does this movement in this particular ML model use the top grade or elaborated grade in terms of accuracy?
only one way to find out.. ask the salesman..if he knows his stuff he can answer you..otherwise you gotta call ML's distributor directly and ask if its adjusted in 3 positions or 5 positions.. if their technicians don't know, don't buy the watch cause you're not going to get good service here. lol
Jason
post May 27 2011, 07:05 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ May 27 2011, 06:26 PM)
http://www.amazon.com/Seiko-Automatic-Watc...r/dp/B000MZQJ6W

Panerai 270
panerai 213
panerai 287
IWC Aquatimer Chronograph diving watch
IWC in-house 51614 calibre
IW500508 (transparent case back)
IWC Big Ingenieur Chronograph
those are below rm8k after discount?
Jason
post May 29 2011, 08:57 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ May 29 2011, 05:58 PM)
It changes me after long survey... I never tot I would actually buy 1... tongue.gif
congrats on the purchase. it looks much classier than my tag carrera smile.gif ML seems to be only going up in price, and very fast at that.
i love their pontos day date.
Jason
post Jul 6 2011, 11:52 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(AceOfSpades @ Jul 5 2011, 10:48 PM)
To all watch sifus, is the tag carrera 1887 worth the money? can any 1887 owners out there tell me more about the accuracy of the watch? i know that they say it's an inhouse movement but it is based on a seiko movement. what i really wanna know is that, as you guys are watch enthusiasts, will you spend the money on this model or even a Tag Heuer? Or will you guys go for another model / watch brand with that kind of budget?
I've got a TH Carrera Chrono pre-Seiko movements, and I will say it with a resounding no. You're buying a finely decorated Seiko movement that is assembled in a Swiss case.. what's the point? It has the body but doesn't have the soul. TH enjoys recognition from the masses, the brand prowess. But if you're really into fine watchmaking there are more choices..such as Maurice Lacroix, and stretching the budget a little you can get Omega. Zenith is a good choice as well, "abang" TH, but they are more watch oriented than brand oriented compared to TH (built in-house movement that powered Rolex once upon a time)

ask yourself this. Would you buy a Porsche with a Porsche-tuned Honda engine inside for a Porsche price? Or would you rather get a Porsche with a Porsche engine inside? then you will know if YOU will buy a 1887. I know I won't smile.gif

0.0581sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:13 AM