The Watch Thread v3, Affordable or not depends on individual

RyanHo
post Oct 24 2011, 01:53 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Yaozz @ Oct 23 2011, 07:23 PM)
Wanna ask how much can I sell this ? It's Fortis B-42 Black & Black Limited to 2012 pieces only .
[attachmentid=2500018]
2nd hand should be around 5-6k

This post has been edited by RyanHo: Oct 24 2011, 01:54 PM
fluffy6640
post Oct 24 2011, 02:06 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Yaozz @ Oct 24 2011, 01:48 PM)
Upgrade upgrade ! tongue.gif
Love it too especially it's blue afterglow in the darkness. biggrin.gif
share with us what's your next upgrade! laugh.gif
hanz079
post Oct 24 2011, 06:48 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(RyanHo @ Oct 24 2011, 01:53 PM)
2nd hand should be around 5-6k
With all due respect, I don't think it can fetch 5-6k...
3-4k would be a more realistic aim.
Brand new and unworn still can be had at around 6k.
Naka7a
post Oct 24 2011, 10:05 PM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

guys, any recommendation for an affordable watch winder? affordable as in cheap. smile.gif
babychai
post Oct 24 2011, 11:04 PM

I go to work because my name is not in Forbes list
779 posts

QUOTE(Yaozz @ Oct 23 2011, 07:23 PM)
Wanna ask how much can I sell this ? It's Fortis B-42 Black & Black Limited to 2012 pieces only .
[attachmentid=2500018]
limited to 2012 pcs is not a limited edition, it's juz a marketing trick~
Yaozz
post Oct 25 2011, 02:42 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ Oct 24 2011, 02:06 PM)
share with us what's your next upgrade!  laugh.gif
not so soon ! tongue.gif

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Oct 24 2011, 06:48 PM)
With all due respect, I don't think it can fetch 5-6k...
3-4k would be a more realistic aim.
Brand new and unworn still can be had at around 6k.
But I checked at amazon, it cost around 2.5k USD which is around RM7.5k for a brand new one.

QUOTE(babychai @ Oct 24 2011, 11:04 PM)
It has numbering on the back indicating the number of the watch . I'm not sure about the marketing trick . laugh.gif
patryn33
post Oct 25 2011, 07:02 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(babychai @ Oct 24 2011, 11:04 PM)
I have to agree on that.
it make ppl think it should fetch higher price but in fact true limited edition is more like 1-30 pcs (the movement is also 1 of a kind) and the demand is like several thousands time more.

when it is 2012 pcs and one can find it on amazon (grey), that just shows yes it is limited to 2012 pcs but the demand for it is less. which means very weak resale value.

in any case a unmod ETA 2836 isn't limited, tens if not hundreds of thousands of it around. it only show case is limited edition, the movement isn't.
http://www.watchtime.com/2009/09/fortis-li...42-black-black/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 25 2011, 07:06 AM
fluffy6640
post Oct 25 2011, 12:51 PM

647 posts

Steinhart has a new Ocean 1 Military in their line up.. any thoughts? smile.gif

some info *taken from gnomon*

Maker: Steinhart Germany - Swiss Made
Movement: Swiss ETA2824-2 Automatic Movement
Dial: Black with hour markers
Luminous: Markers, hour, minute, second hands
Date: N/A
Case: Satin brushed top and polished sides Stainless steel
Crown: Screwdown Steinhart signed crown
Lug: 22mm
Crystal: Domed sapphire crystal with AR
Strap: Satin brushed stainless steel bracelet with screw links and fliplock
Water resistance: 300m
Dimensions: 42mm in diameter, 49mm lug to lug, 13mm thick
Power Reserve: ~40 hours

This post has been edited by fluffy6640: Oct 25 2011, 12:54 PM
ck77
post Oct 25 2011, 02:04 PM

2,591 posts

Not bad homage to 5513
fluffy6640
post Oct 25 2011, 03:08 PM

647 posts

exactly. very nice...love all their ocean 1s and the 44s smile.gif excellent homages. gotta kick off the seiko addiction.

when the time comes, might pick up the ocean 1 vintage red *eyes sparkling*

ck77
post Oct 25 2011, 05:39 PM

2,591 posts

Put on a nato becoming this biggrin.gif
hanz079
post Oct 25 2011, 07:00 PM

315 posts

Nice homage to the Milsub...
Love the swordhands...
Chinoz
post Oct 26 2011, 01:41 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Was in Pavilion's Omega AD earlier today, they have some of the new POs in stock already.

Black 42mm non-chrono going for ~18k.
Black 45mm chrono going for ~24k.

Blue ones not in yet, but expecting 24k/32k ouchhh.
kevler
post Oct 26 2011, 09:53 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Oct 26 2011, 01:41 AM)
Was in Pavilion's Omega AD earlier today, they have some of the new POs in stock already.

Black 42mm non-chrono going for ~18k.
Black 45mm chrono going for ~24k.

Blue ones not in yet, but expecting 24k/32k ouchhh.
damned ..what a price hike ..last time 42mm non-chrono was 12-13k ...
hanz079
post Oct 26 2011, 08:23 PM

315 posts

New movement and ceramic bezel... of course more expensive lor...
What to do...
Old one was 13750 on steel bracelet.
invid
post Oct 27 2011, 12:49 AM

13 posts

Panerai busted! Using unfinished and low grade movement in Limited Edition pieces.
How can they do this to their customers?

http://www.network54.com/Forum/353391/thre...spond+to+emails

From: http://www.reddit.com/r/Watches/comments/l...rated_unsigned/

This post has been edited by invid: Oct 27 2011, 12:55 AM
fluffy6640
post Oct 27 2011, 05:26 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Oct 25 2011, 05:39 PM)
Put on a nato becoming this  biggrin.gif

u totally read my mind! hehehe. but im comtemplating, i might not want to add another diver piece, any comments on the below?

the steinhart Nav B-Uhr Black. brows.gif

how would one classify the Swiss Unitas 6497? good? bad? blush.gif
hanz079
post Oct 27 2011, 05:39 PM

315 posts

I would go for Laco just for the sake that it is the Original 5.
deriku
post Oct 27 2011, 06:08 PM

879 posts

The 6497 is a reliable work horse. Heck, it's still being used by Panerai in some of their base models today. And the one Steinhart uses comes with cotes de geneve and blued screws, which adds a nice touch when viewed from the display back.

I'd say go for it if you're not that into the history thing wink.gif
fluffy6640
post Oct 27 2011, 06:20 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Oct 27 2011, 05:39 PM)
I would go for Laco just for the sake that it is the Original 5.
QUOTE(deriku @ Oct 27 2011, 06:08 PM)
The 6497 is a reliable work horse. Heck, it's still being used by Panerai in some of their base models today. And the one Steinhart uses comes with cotes de geneve and blued screws, which adds a nice touch when viewed from the display back.

I'd say go for it if you're not that into the history thing wink.gif
i considered the Laco and the Stowa, both are great, but price wise the Steinhart invokes the greater happiness, where it looks very good like deriku said, and i spend less? hehehehe. brows.gif

hanz & deriku,

thanks for the info! well, the china one is called the asian seagull am i right? damn. is has to be a good work horse for it to be "replica-ed".right words used? hehehe.

This post has been edited by fluffy6640: Oct 27 2011, 06:21 PM

136 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:28 AM