Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V9, NOW UPDATING MODEL n PRICE
okf987
Feb 1 2011, 12:30 AM

1. Brand: Any 2. Budget: 3k++ 3. Specs: Mainly going to use just for gaming(mostly high-end stuff) but for long periods say 2-10 hours and I am particularly worried about overheating issues. And if you guys can I would really appreciate if you can reccomend me a good laptop cooling pad/system/fan etc to keep the laptop cool for long hours of gaming. 4. Size: Do not mind. 5. Currently eyeing on alienware's m11x(because its made for gaming) but people say the graphic isn't as good and the screen reflect light like mirror. So I am open to all alternatives. Also I will mosts probably get a moniter to go with the laptop if I plan to make it a desktop replacement. Thanks in advance
okf987
Feb 1 2011, 12:55 AM

Are these laptops you reccomend good for long hours of gaming?
And if I decide to wait for newer models to be on sale which laptop will you reccomend in the few months to come?
okf987
Feb 1 2011, 01:12 AM

@lee_what2004: Thanks for the recommended laptops.
@eugenechiuu: Oh, gona google N53SN since its coming out on march I think thats enough time for intel to fix their sandy bridge bug. Good thing I saw it on while googling what is "sandy bridge" *lol*. Well time to hold on to my money for now =). Thanks btw.
okf987
Feb 25 2011, 11:23 AM

1. Brand: Prefer Asus but any brand is fine also =)
2. Budget. 2500-3500
3. Specs. Need something that can run 10-16 games/applications at once including a browser to surf and sufficient ram for everything. Probably something that I can leave it on overnight most of the time.
4. Size. Does not matter heavy or not I don't mind because its gona replace my desktop for something more mobile
okf987
Feb 25 2011, 12:49 PM

QUOTE Wah, 10-16 games/applications?
Buying in a hurry? If not then its advisable to wait for the upcoming SB processors which are way more powerful at the same power consumption The wait will definitely be worth it Nope I can wait but do you know when the upcoming SB processors are released?
okf987
Feb 25 2011, 12:57 PM

April-May... Lol long wait =/
okf987
Feb 25 2011, 08:16 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 25 2011, 02:05 PM) +1 QFT We'd probably have a full range of SB laptops from all brands to choose from during that timeĀ But of course you can choose not to wait and go for particular brands i.e. AsusĀ  I have my eye on the Asus N53SN-SX043V. Is it a good buy? Maybe can someone tell me the price? About the current SB flaw is the above mentioned laptop affected by that? If so those can we claim warranty from Asus? This post has been edited by okf987: Feb 25 2011, 08:25 PM
okf987
Feb 25 2011, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 25 2011, 08:24 PM) Asus N53SN (i7-2630QM + GT540@~RM3499). Definitely a good buy  Wow again thx for the super fast reply. Just wondering if I buy that laptop now and in case there is problem with the processor (SB flaw) will Asus accept returns?
okf987
Feb 26 2011, 11:16 AM

QUOTE Added on February 25, 2011, 8:53 pmWell, you'd probably won't be able to find any flawed SB laptops since they've never reached Malaysia already recalled liao haha Anyway, just to be safe, look out for the certified sticker (for SB laptops with fixed chipsets) when buying: http://www.asus.com/News.aspx?N_ID=Bdmf9rXuqU29SRsiAnd yes, those with flawed Asus SB laptops (I doubt there's any in Malaysia LOL) can get their laptops fixed for free  Thanks very much for that info really helps =) Going to get one in about 2 weeks time. Added on February 26, 2011, 11:32 amI just found out that Sager brand is made for gaming are there any models comparable to the one im getting (Asus N53SN) ? This post has been edited by okf987: Feb 26 2011, 11:32 AM
okf987
Feb 26 2011, 11:54 AM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 26 2011, 11:48 AM) Added on February 26, 2011, 11:50 amNot very sure about Sager, need clarifications of price and specs from sifus Sagers are good for the price, but warranty can be a problem in Malaysia... If you have any more questions about Sager, do PM "This is a Lamp" sifu, he knows alot about them and he probably owns the most powerful laptop in Mobile Computing  Thanks and will do =)