Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V9, NOW UPDATING MODEL n PRICE

ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 12:42 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(justie @ Jan 15 2011, 12:34 AM)
I need recommendations for a friend. He needs a 13"~15" laptop using intel. His budget is RM2500 and his main uses are movies,facebooking and audio/video recording editing (musician). He doesnt want an apple product and is leaning towards acer and asus. Please give me some suggestions. Any help is appreciated guys. Thanks biggrin.gif
Did you ask why your friend didn't like Apple?
My sister is a musician. She's into composing and editing music.
She loves Apple.

I'd suggest Apple. Otherwise, for the budget of RM2.5K, Acer 4820TG could be his best bet.
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 12:57 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Jan 15 2011, 12:53 AM)
I worse la, need before Friday. Weekdays not free because of college
only tmr can

I NEED HELP ASAP!!
I'd assume you have no issues with the price of the 3 listed notebooks.

Acer has the cheapest price (you can pretty sure its performance since few users have already tested this notebook).
HP has the best performance (make sure it has DDR5 on the GPU. Otherwise, forget about Radeon 6570).
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 01:05 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Jan 15 2011, 12:59 AM)
but im also looking at the quality of the brand.
Lenovo stands out the most next is Acer and last is HP

so this is bugging me.
Plus i dunno if Acer is GDDR3 or GDDR5. I check google all said nothing bout this
Acer is using nVidia GPU GT540 with DDR3.

Quality of the brand?
Acer is No.1 notebook manufacturer in the world.
Acer would have bashed (by millions of users) to death if it has poor quality.
Quality is subjective anyway.

If you love Lenovo, just grab it.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jan 15 2011, 01:06 AM
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 01:12 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Jan 15 2011, 01:06 AM)
i think Acer is GDDR3

Added on January 15, 2011, 1:08 amwa No.1
All brand claim they all No.1 all this crap la
Honestly based on review and feedback Asus is the best......but expensive la
No.1 in volume. It's not crap (It's seconded by Asus).
Otherwise, Acer will be sued to death too. laugh.gif

Asus is the best? In terms of what? Price? Specs? After-sale-service?
If you're talking about performance, the best notebooks are those customizable notebooks.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jan 15 2011, 01:16 AM
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 01:28 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Jan 15 2011, 01:16 AM)
Asus is mostly best based on quality and performance. Price.....expensive la
My friend drop his Asus G71 then go for RMA. The technician offer a CPU upgrade and add 2 years warranty just for RM50.......

anyways....i dunno la HP or Acer or Lenovo
My head really gonna explode la

Added on January 15, 2011, 1:17 am
i dun really care bout Optimus. Its just power consumtion. ATI also should have i think
The GPU on Acer 5750 is just slightly better than Lenovo Y560P.
I doubt you see much difference.

As you need it urgently, make up your mind - Lenovo then.
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 01:40 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 15 2011, 01:33 AM)
I see. Latest Nvidia GPU still have this problem?
Agree. Cheap price with cheap quality.

I have seen how users are frustrated with the slow Acer After sales services and their laptop spoiled after using for a year plus.
If you pay peanuts, you get monkeys.
For me, i think Asus is the best in terms of the hardware reliability (not softwares).

What do you think about Asus? hmm.gif
Nothing is perfect. Just think based on what you need and what is your priority when choosing something.  icon_rolleyes.gif
If you talk about specs and hardwares, all brands are the same.
All hardwares are OEM. You need to pay more for brand and better hardware. It's common sense.

If you talk about hardware compatibility, make sure you stay away from HP/Compaq.
Acer and Asus are quite good in that.

If you talk about after sales service, I think Asus 2-year warranty seems to play a big part in her reputation of service quality.
There are good comments from users that local service centre of Asus did offer excellent solutions to users.

If you talk about price, Acer seems to be quite consistent in delivering the product at the right time, right place and right price tag.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jan 15 2011, 01:41 AM
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 01:56 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 15 2011, 01:46 AM)
Indeed.

Asus warranty is available in the worldwide as long as there is a service center in that country right?

What about Dell? Their warranty only available in certain countries only right?
I see.

I still have not saw any Asus laptop break down and rarely heard complaint about the Asus laptop quality when compared to HP or Acer.
For me, Dell is just normal.

Normal specs, normal price.
People talk about their on-site service a lot.

I had a Dell Inspiron 8 years ago for my office use.
It broke down. On-site service was granted.
The technician couldn't fix the problem on the spot.
There were no quick solution. I still needed to wait for the parts to arrive.
The technician took the notebook and returned it after 2 weeks.
So, common sense tells you on-site service will not fix the real hardware issues on the spot.

Some people love Dell - they should just get Dell.
It is just some personal preference.

All notebooks break down - it just the matter of "luck" and time.
My previous Asus and Acer notebooks had not failed on me before I disposed them.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jan 15 2011, 01:57 AM
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 02:04 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 15 2011, 01:59 AM)
well, i only have dell desktops, and they change the hardware on the spot... so yes, i love the dell onsite warranty.
They brought the new hardware with them without diagnosing the PC?
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 02:23 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 15 2011, 02:19 AM)
they brought all the hardware. diagnosed and changed on the spot. like all, except a new PSU... and its  not new, refurbish. But hey, can't complain.
For my case, the technician didn't bring any hardware with him.
His first visit was diagnosing the PC problem.
Then he needed to order the hardware parts. Waited 2 weeks for that.

It's amazing to see the technicians to bring all the new replacement parts with him.
I think it depends on the hardware availability.
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 02:38 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(a.muzzammil @ Jan 15 2011, 02:33 AM)
hurm ill b using CAD 3d.leaning towards acer 4820tg or shld i wait for the sandy bridge laptop?wat are the gpu for latest 4820tg laptop?
i7-2630 is here. Are you going to wait for i7-2720 or i5?
Do you need the notebook urgently? What's your budget again?

Besides, for CAD, I'd advise you to stick to nVidia GPU.
4820TG has ATI Radeon GPU.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jan 15 2011, 02:39 AM
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 02:48 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(a.muzzammil @ Jan 15 2011, 02:41 AM)
ill b needing it b4 10th feb,is it good for gaming?imean the ati gpu.my budget is around rm2.5k.
on my watchlist are asus x42r,inspiron 15r i5 with HD550v and acer 4820tg
any suggestions on which one shld i buy?
Current Sandy Bridget cost more than 2.5K.
You won't see SB i5 by 10 Feb.

Acer 4820TG is the best in your list. It is the best in its class.
It fits your budget too. It's good enough for gaming.
Get the one with i5-480 & Radeon 6550.
ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 12:53 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Jan 15 2011, 12:32 PM)
HP really not that good meh???????
shocking.gif  Nvidia or ATI better arr for graphic design
I have had bad experience with hardware compatibilities with HP, particularly memory modules).
The software support like bios was pretty bad too.
HP should not give you much issues if you run it in stock setting.

Are you going to use OpenGL?
nVidia has better driver in general.

ALeUNe
post Jan 15 2011, 01:28 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 15 2011, 03:05 AM)
Yup.

I suppose they would call back in case your paper description is not good enough?

As for the UPS, you should really ask them if they are responsible for anything happens after the laptop is with the UPS.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I do believe sometime luck does plays a role in getting a good lappy, but time?  hmm.gif  It depends much on the owner.  laugh.gif

What defect your laptop facing? Mobo problem?
I thought they would diagnosing the PC remotely before sending in the technicians?
It was the mobo problem. The mobo was replaced in 2 weeks.

Remote diagnosis? No chance for that.
Dead mobo. No boot up at all.
The technician was checking the power adapter/motherboard/ram modules.
The technician needed to report to Dell before placing the order for replacement parts.
ALeUNe
post Jan 18 2011, 12:13 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 18 2011, 12:11 PM)
Is USB 3.0 backwards compatible with the USB 2.0?? hmm.gif
Yes, it is.
ALeUNe
post Jan 18 2011, 05:24 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Jan 18 2011, 05:17 PM)
anyone using acer for video editing?
Acer 5750G?
The processor is powerful enough to do video editing.
ALeUNe
post Jan 19 2011, 01:48 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 19 2011, 12:48 AM)
I am using an Asus netbook with SSD. The performance is not that impressive as it seems to be. hmm.gif
Which version of netbook? And which version of ssd?
The ZIF SSD?

If it's ZIF SSD, the performance is as good as normal HDD.
It can't compare to current SSD with SATA connector.

Added on January 19, 2011, 1:50 am
QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 19 2011, 12:56 AM)
yea but i roughly know which one he likes, (his favourite is the lenovo ones, their similar to his old toshiba satellite)

@quantum, what's your boot time, and when you open like word documents take how long?
which brands of SSD is recommended? i see intel ones are priced like RM320... might go for those cheaps one... or better to spend more? like i said budget is roughly 2-3k..
those dell laptops i've been checking out is around RM2.5k

anyways now its
dell vostro 3300 (2.4k)

vs

dell vostro v130 (2.7K)

vs

Inspiron 13R (2.3k)

vs

Inspiron M301z (2.1k)

Leaning towards the cheapest option, the M301z, next is the 13R. My dad has tried the V130 and V3300 before and both he like the keyboard... not sure about the inspiron line hmm.gif
all i selected 3 years warranty....
so if i swap out the hdd for ssd, will improve the speed of the laptop by how much?
Acer's keyboard is as flat as on your Asus G53JW.

How much would you like to spend on SSD?
Better ones are those with Sandforce controller.
Otherwise, Intel x25M is decent.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jan 19 2011, 01:50 AM
ALeUNe
post Jan 19 2011, 01:53 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 19 2011, 01:51 AM)
wait, then ssd need use which port? if we're talking about the sandforce controller? with roughly 270mb read/write....
Just connect the SSD on the existing sata port.
Yes, Sandforce with 280+/260+ read/write.
ALeUNe
post Jan 19 2011, 01:58 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 19 2011, 01:55 AM)
that will have an obvious improvement in laptop speed right? (as in opening files)
Huge difference, especially you compare it with notebook HDD with 5400rpm.

Upgrading to SSD will give you the most performance gain (as compared to upgrading ram & CPU).
ALeUNe
post Jan 19 2011, 02:05 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 19 2011, 01:59 AM)
so which 13" laptop do you recommend... i dun think the stores in JB stock M301z =\
Acer 3820TG is the best.

I have sold all my Nehalem notebooks but I still keep one unit of 3820TG. I honestly love it.
The look, the design, the performance, the portability - it is just ideal for my biz trip.
The other one would be Asus 13" ultra-slim (I don't recommend it because the price will be different by alot. It seems too glossy to me).

M301z (performance) is as good as Core Duo ULV subnotebook (it's not even close to Nehalem ULV).
The performance just can't compare to notebooks mentioned above.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jan 19 2011, 02:06 AM
ALeUNe
post Jan 19 2011, 02:36 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 19 2011, 02:24 AM)
yea i'm gonna need to go hunt for the M301z and 13R to torture their keyboard..... dell has the supreme advantage of the 3 year onsite warranty...

i think next in line would be the 13" lenovo i see... then i need to hunt for a sandforce ssd
M301z comes with K345. I'd say it's pretty slow for today's standard.

13R is a much powerful machine. The GPU is as good as Radeon 4225.

0.0456sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:36 PM