Maybe I can try and help 2nite
Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V9, NOW UPDATING MODEL n PRICE
Jan 13 2011, 01:24 PM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
Fuyoh~ Grats on new version
Maybe I can try and help 2nite |
Jan 13 2011, 09:03 PM
Jan 19 2011, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(jessika @ Jan 19 2011, 12:26 PM) im considering to buy a laptop for travelling. can u recommend me some that r compatible. light weighted, 11.6" scrn sz,big ram and the budget around 3k. Perhaps can take a look at:tanx Sony VPCYA15FG/B, i3-380M@~RM2199 Toshiba Portege T210, U5400@~RM1.9k Dell M101z, K145/K345@~RM1499-RM1699 (varies according to specifications) Asus Lamborghini VX6 (12.1inch), Atom D525@~RM2299 Acer 1830TZ, iinm it runs on U5400 as well, price is around RM2k (do correct me if I'm wrong, I'm rather outdated already hehe) There's some from Fujitsu and Thinkpad as well... can't remember them models haha Also, if you're into gaming, then the Alienware M11x hehe This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 19 2011, 12:41 PM |
Jan 22 2011, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(razorboy @ Jan 22 2011, 02:45 PM) Hi there mates, I'm looking to buy a laptop. I was looking at m11x, i"m actually pretty happy at it and the price is alright. The M11x is not a bad laptop at all apart from being underpowered abit I have a few questions though, I'm hoping you mates can provide me with some good reviews. 1) at 11.6" , alright at 12", wouldn't it be an eyesore?I mean, I've tinkered with my friend's netbook and at 11", my worth, half an hour with it, i felt like dying. 2) i searched through dell, for m11x, the rams are by default 1333mhz. However, according to dell, as we purchase the laptop, it'll be running on 800mhz. 3) Again, the size, 12", typing on it would be a pain also ain't it? Do enlighten me. Thanks ! Q1: Different people have different views on the screen sizes. Personally I like small screens hehe Q2: No idea haha Q3: Typing on a 11.6-12.1 subnotebook depends on the keyboard quality/ergonomics. The keyboard on the M11x is quite good and will do fine. Not sure about long term typing though.... but that can be solved by simply getting an external keyboard la hehe |
Jan 23 2011, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(kennlpw @ Jan 23 2011, 07:57 PM) Hi all Sifu, im going to get my sis a notebook The 11.6 inch Vaio is quite prevalent... I've seen them before (even in 1Utama) haha 1. Brand. --> Any 2. Budget. --> max to 2.5k 3. Specs. --> decent processors like i3 4. Size. --> 12" and below (mayb 11.6" ?), hav to be lightweight the vaio Y series VPCYA15FG/B seems like the ideal 1 but seems like can't b found in local market...is there any others choices except this? any recommendation is appreciated~ Other alternatives include Acer 1830TZ, Toshiba Portege T210, Lenovo ThinkPad Edge 11, HP DM1, Fujitsu PH520/530 etc. Added on January 23, 2011, 8:45 pm QUOTE(raymondlemon @ Jan 23 2011, 08:38 PM) 1. Brand. - Asus or anyothers? The upcoming 14, 15 inch Asus N series will be perfect for you hehe 2. Budget. - 3K-5K 3. Specs: Good cooling system Usage Work, Graphics, Gaming, Multi tasking Thank you This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 23 2011, 08:51 PM |
Jan 24 2011, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(|sorcerer| @ Jan 24 2011, 10:17 AM) guys, need opinion and comment on these laptops.. The Satellite L645 models you listed are old models.... the new ones comes with i5-460/560 + ATI 5650 as well @~RM2.6k/RM2.8k im considering to get 1 laptop and had already shortlisted 3 models.. all are within my budget, and are easy to get (i think).. which and which got advantage than the other? Acer 4820TG, i5 460M + ATi HD5650@RM2599 Toshiba Satellite L645-1090X, i5 460M + ATi HD5470@RM2649 Toshiba Satellite L645- 1052X, i5 450M+ ATi HD5145@RM2649 thanks in advance |
Jan 24 2011, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jan 24 2011, 10:49 AM) can anyone suggest me Perhaps the new Asus N43? Its not going to be light in terms of weight though haha 1. brand (any but prefer laptop with cool design like alienware) 2. budget (max 4k) 3. spec (i7 proc, nvidia gc, good linux support) 4. size (max 14", need to be lightweight) gonna be suitable for multitasking, heavy downloading, graphic, and some light gaming Not much options at the moment for SB equipped laptops.. need to wait Added on January 24, 2011, 11:11 am QUOTE(arr9ow @ Jan 24 2011, 10:50 AM) Hi guys.. I need some recommendation on netbook. I prefer something that the most value for the buck. Best bang for buck? I would say the Dell M101z is the best option for you brand : any. price : Not more than 1600 spec : Any. size : 10-11 inch warranty : international or malaysia only. purpose : normal surfing / typing. If possible try to get the one with the K345 processor for better performance This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 24 2011, 11:11 AM |
Jan 24 2011, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jan 24 2011, 11:14 AM) ah im not going to buy it by latest at the end of this year, need more time to do research on suitable laptop End of this year? Then there's still plenty of time left haha have check on asus n43, not liking the design though If want Alienware with i7 then need to top up alot lo Added on January 24, 2011, 11:37 am QUOTE(|sorcerer| @ Jan 24 2011, 11:20 AM) thanks for the correction/update The price forum is abit outdated already im getting the quoted model from this forum also can u recommend me which one to consider between acer and toshiba? thanks in advance Both the Acer and Toshiba will have the same performance... But the Acer has much longer battery life. The keyboard may require some getting use to though. Toshiba is solid but glossy... and doesn't have multimedia buttons (if you're very particular about those haha) Perhaps you should choose the Acer and use the remaining money to extend the warranty to 3 years? This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 24 2011, 11:37 AM |
Jan 24 2011, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jan 24 2011, 11:38 AM) aha yes, but if aw, then im gonna go with m11x only, still surveying suitable laptop Haha.... not much laptops offer as good a cool factor as AW the gpu switching is not well supported in linux thats the only concern now if got some more poweful laptop with better linux support, and cool design then im gonna go for it M11x most probably won't have those mainstream (non ULV) i7.... This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 24 2011, 11:47 AM |
Jan 24 2011, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(|sorcerer| @ Jan 24 2011, 11:51 AM) was thinking about that also (choosing the less pricey model = acer) Err.... that's why you should extend to 3 years warranty hehe but heard my colleague complained about his acer laptop that goes "kong" just after 1 year warranty ended made me think it twice.. if it is an acer, can u quote me the latest model u got in mind? and within my previous budgeted model of course thanks again Anyway, the latest AS4820TG-482G64 (W7HP64) runs on i5-480M+ ATI HD6550@~RM2400 Can consider Added on January 24, 2011, 12:37 pm QUOTE(kelvinclyap88 @ Jan 24 2011, 12:09 PM) hi everyone~~ If you are into gaming then the Z460 will definitely not be enough would like to ask is there any good/value for money laptop... planning to buy it this IT fair at Mid valley coming friday is Lenovo Ideapad z460 ok? does it graphic card enough with only 512mb http://www.mylenovo.com.my/archives/2026 or any other laptop such as HP G42, Toshiba etc, budget around RM2k to RM2.3k help me pls... dumb on this area :'( cheers! Perhaps you should consider Acer 4820TG/3820TG instead This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 24 2011, 12:37 PM |
Jan 24 2011, 01:06 PM
Jan 24 2011, 01:46 PM
Jan 24 2011, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(applecyee @ Jan 24 2011, 01:53 PM) Hi there! I'm looking for Any gaming? 1. Brand: Any kind 2. Budget: Within RM4000 3. Specs: Any. For student use 4. Size: 14" Prefect light weight and battery last long.. Thanks! Try Asus U41Jf, i5-480M+ GT425@RM2.9k Can consider Portege R700 (13 inch) as well if not into gaming Added on January 24, 2011, 3:50 pm QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 24 2011, 02:02 PM) Yup. I am looking forward to use the UM or ULV processors powered laptops. Which model of the Asus uses this model? Based on the previous brochures, it seems that Asus is not really into ULV processors, where the only model that comes with ULV is the 12.1inch Asus UL20FT (only available in Singapore)... Asus managed to offer good battery lives even without the use of CULV processors Added on January 24, 2011, 3:53 pm QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jan 24 2011, 02:29 PM) ah, thats one more thing thats been bugging me, the ulv cpu. ULV processors are very weak, even for SB ones... performance difference is very big read about those,does it affect the perfomance much. im afraid if im using ulv one, cant do heavy job or multitasking? I think if you prioritize in performance, you will need to either top up your budget, or let go of the cool factor This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 24 2011, 03:53 PM |
Jan 24 2011, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(kelvinclyap88 @ Jan 24 2011, 03:04 PM) or is asus can last longer?? Acers have improved alot... my housemate's Acer 4820TG so far no problems at all still doubt on acer as many complain on the trouble/problem... my hse got acer desktop and always down with many problems how about toshiba? any good laptop from them? cheers! The only models worth considering from Toshiba are the L645 with i5-460M/560M+ATI5650@RM2.6/2.9k... the other L645 models are not that good though, there are better alternatives from other brands... Added on January 24, 2011, 3:57 pm QUOTE(bear300 @ Jan 24 2011, 03:16 PM) hi everyone! Maybe can wait for the new XPS refresh>? i need a laptop that is able to edit full hd video.. i'm eyeing on ASUS N53SN.. but the led screen itself does not comes with full hd resolution.. is there any laptop that comes with sandy bridge processor, has full hd resolution? budget: 5k brand: any requirement: any that is better than ASUS N53SN, and has a full hd resolution thank you.. Not many brands offer full hd screens 1... Or maybe can consider importing other versions of the N53? This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 24 2011, 03:57 PM |
Jan 24 2011, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jan 24 2011, 04:10 PM) gonna have to prioritize performance then. I think its best to wait until there are more options bro... now the laptops with SB are quite limited to Acer 5750G, Asus A43/N43/53, HP DV6, Lenovo Y560P. Maybe you can wait for the refreshed ones from Dell budget is stil max 4k spec : good performance, multitasking, heavy downloading, good linux support, nvidia graphic. and light gaming of course. fullhd is a bonus any laptop in mind? |
Jan 24 2011, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 24 2011, 04:27 PM) Last time i recall that there is a model from Asus can survive for 6 hours like that on battery. Is it the model you are talking about? Alot of Asus models can last up to 6 hours and more now haha If you are referring to the one with ULV i3-330UM, then yes, its probably the UL20FT... its just to bad it ain't sold here |
Jan 24 2011, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(kelvinclyap88 @ Jan 24 2011, 08:58 PM) TJ, The Inspiron 1420 is a budget laptop with many problems thx for reply... but still worry on it bcos my previous dell inspiron 1420 only last around 2 years and the monitor start to have prob... this time, would like to get better one, $ still can consider if up to 2.6k... and other brand which you think are better alternatives after have bad experience on dell and acer, bit worry on using it already... cheers! Can consider Asus A42JP/A52JV/N43JF as shown here: http://event.asus.com/my/2011/productguide/PG_Jan_Feb.pdf But you may need to wait a few more weeks for these models to arrive though... I think you can either get a 4820TG and upgrade the warranty to 3 years, or you can get an Asus laptop (they come with 2 years international warranty)... If you plan on getting a Toshiba and then extend the warranty I'm afraid it will exceed your budget |
Jan 25 2011, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(Daronlicious @ Jan 25 2011, 11:17 PM) Hi guys i am looking for a laptop Asus N43JF or Dell XPS 14 1. Brand: Any kind ( better asus or dell) 2. Budget: any but better arond or below than rm 3000 3. Specs: core i 7 or i 5 4. Size: 14" Your comments and advices are very important to me and i would like to say a million thanks for those who given me a comment or reply...... For your budget you'll be able to get way better 15 inch laptops with Intel Sandy Bridge Still, it really depends on whether you need a 14/15 incher |
Jan 28 2011, 11:40 PM
Jan 31 2011, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(shantiolim @ Jan 31 2011, 11:00 PM) The V470 is already a very great laptop. The keyboard is really ergonomic I think its okay to buy if you need a laptop in a hurry. If not then it doesn't hurt to wait for some release from different brands. At least you have more options to choose from |
| Change to: | 0.0226sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:46 AM |