127 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V9, NOW UPDATING MODEL n PRICE

ramshackle
post Jan 19 2011, 08:07 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Jan 19 2011, 06:49 PM)
If you budget is RM3339, dun get this kind of laptop la. Get a laptop with 2nd generation i7 with Sandy Bridge. Try looking for Acer 5750g(RM2899), Lenovo Y560p(RM3k). Recommend you get the  Asus A43SV though
Hi.. thanks for the reco.. i assume that A42JP is not that good ?my budget should be around 3k...

Not sure with i7 it will be a waste for me or not...

thanks btw

eugenechiuu
post Jan 19 2011, 08:09 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ramshackle @ Jan 19 2011, 08:07 PM)
Hi.. thanks for the reco.. i assume that A42JP is not that good ?my budget should be around 3k...

thanks btw
Depending on what u do with ur laptop.. It might as well be a waste probably... I am using i5-450m and everything seems fine.. However, greed is good, more is better.. If u got a budget to get SB quad core, u should get one..
TSskycrawler
post Jan 19 2011, 10:36 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 19 2011, 08:09 PM)
Depending on what u do with ur laptop.. It might as well be a waste probably... I am using i5-450m and everything seems fine.. However, greed is good, more is better.. If u got a budget to get SB quad core, u should get one..
Agreed wif u bro. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Trance4eva
post Jan 19 2011, 11:16 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(ramshackle @ Jan 19 2011, 08:07 PM)

thanks btw
i7 waste?? Dude are you kidding me.
You said you want a laptop for gaming right, get the 2nd gen i7 with Sandy Bridge then.
karyaw
post Jan 19 2011, 11:31 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Jan 19 2011, 11:16 PM)
You said you want a laptop for gaming right, get the 2nd gen i7 with Sandy Bridge then.
+1
agree with you!
ramshackle
post Jan 19 2011, 11:56 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Jan 19 2011, 11:16 PM)
okok thanks rolleyes.gif
BomBomKing
post Jan 20 2011, 12:28 AM

14 posts

uhmm... I'm looking for a laptop with a price range around RM2k - 2.5k!!
Screen size would be either 14' or 15'!!
I do game a lot, but mostly World of Warcraft or Heroes of Newerth... Any laptops to introduce?? unsure.gif
Thanks in advance!!

This post has been edited by BomBomKing: Jan 20 2011, 12:43 AM
eugenechiuu
post Jan 20 2011, 12:45 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(BomBomKing @ Jan 20 2011, 12:28 AM)
uhmm... I'm looking for a laptop with a price range around RM2k - 2.5k!!
Screen size would be either 14' or 15'!!
I do game a lot, but mostly World of Warcraft or Heroes of Newerth... Any laptops to introduce??  unsure.gif 
Thanks in advance!!
Acer 4820TG @ RM24xx - i5-480M with HD6550...
hamiru
post Jan 20 2011, 09:03 AM

509 posts

hello, i'm in need of recommendation for netbook/mini that is slightly 'better than average'
the budget is RM1000 initially, but i've decided to add another RM500 for it so i can get a better specification
eugenechiuu
post Jan 20 2011, 09:23 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(hamiru @ Jan 20 2011, 09:03 AM)
hello, i'm in need of recommendation for netbook/mini that is slightly 'better than average'
the budget is RM1000 initially, but i've decided to add another RM500 for it so i can get a better specification
Wait for netbooks equipped with AMD Fusion to come to Malaysia...
johnchew91
post Jan 20 2011, 10:06 AM

214 posts

3820TG comes without eSata port...
Is there any method I can add-on/modify the 3820TG to support eSata?? is there anything like USB to eSata adapter??

I know there are eSata expresscard out there, but 3820TG does not have express card slot..

Any ideas??
ALeUNe
post Jan 20 2011, 11:09 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(johnchew91 @ Jan 20 2011, 10:06 AM)
3820TG comes without eSata port...
Is there any method I can add-on/modify the 3820TG to support eSata?? is there anything like USB to eSata adapter??

I know there are eSata expresscard out there, but 3820TG does not have express card slot..

Any ideas??
With with USB-eSATA adapter, the bandwidth is limited to USB 2.0.
Why hassle? Use USB 2.0.
marcus20125
post Jan 20 2011, 11:11 AM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(hamiru @ Jan 20 2011, 09:03 AM)
get Asus A42JE@RM1449 with Intel P6200/1GB RAM/320GB HDD/ATI HD5470(512MB)
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 20 2011, 11:42 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 19 2011, 12:56 AM)
yea but i roughly know which one he likes, (his favourite is the lenovo ones, their similar to his old toshiba satellite)

@quantum, what's your boot time, and when you open like word documents take how long?
which brands of SSD is recommended? i see intel ones are priced like RM320... might go for those cheaps one... or better to spend more? like i said budget is roughly 2-3k..
those dell laptops i've been checking out is around RM2.5k

anyways now its
dell vostro 3300 (2.4k)

vs

dell vostro v130 (2.7K)

vs

Inspiron 13R (2.3k)

vs

Inspiron M301z (2.1k)

Leaning towards the cheapest option, the M301z, next is the 13R. My dad has tried the V130 and V3300 before and both he like the keyboard... not sure about the inspiron line hmm.gif
all i selected 3 years warranty....
so if i swap out the hdd for ssd, will improve the speed of the laptop by how much?
It takes about 1.5 minutes for me to hear the welcome sound.

I installed the Download Accelerator Plus Premium and Returnil System Safe 2011 as startup programs.

It finally settle down at about 2.15 minutes.

For me, I think Intel SSD is not bad, but some others say that the OCZ SSD is better. WD SSD is not in my dream list at all.

What the minimum speed for the OCZ SSD for writing and reading?

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jan 19 2011, 01:48 AM)
Which version of netbook? And which version of ssd?
The ZIF SSD?

If it's ZIF SSD, the performance is as good as normal HDD. 
It can't compare to current SSD with SATA connector.

Added on January 19, 2011, 1:50 am
Acer's keyboard is as flat as on your Asus G53JW.

How much would you like to spend on SSD?
Better ones are those with Sandforce controller.
Otherwise, Intel x25M is decent.
ZIF is a brand for the SSD?

According to the hardware properties, it is SanDisk pSSD-P2 32GB ATA Device.

What is sandforce controller?

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 19 2011, 01:51 AM)
wait, then ssd need use which port? if we're talking about the sandforce controller? with roughly 270mb read/write....
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Not really understand what you are talking about. sweat.gif

lee_what2004
post Jan 20 2011, 12:46 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^ZIF is the connector...
Which in this case, pSSD P2 is ZIF SSD..
and its a slow drive, even if compared to 2.5'' HDD...

While current SSD with SandForce Controller should be around here..

DoubleU
post Jan 20 2011, 01:05 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

lol lee_what is back...
60GB should be enough for windows 7 home premium + microsoft office right? =\
lee_what2004
post Jan 20 2011, 01:18 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Enough...
doomx
post Jan 20 2011, 01:21 PM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

Guys any recommend shop to buy laptop at Lowyat? Im currently here thanks for the time
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 20 2011, 02:02 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 20 2011, 12:46 PM)
^ZIF is the connector...
Which in this case, pSSD P2 is ZIF SSD..
and its a slow drive, even if compared to 2.5'' HDD...

While current SSD with SandForce Controller should be around here..

Thanks for enlighten me.

No wonder i always feel like the netbook speed is like my compaq laptop speed (Scorpio Black 320GB with free fall sensor).

It is almost like the same normal hard disk for me. cry.gif cry.gif

QUOTE(doomx @ Jan 20 2011, 01:21 PM)
Guys any recommend shop to buy laptop at Lowyat? Im currently here thanks for the time
The Hub in lowyat plaza.

Try to be careful when dealing with the kiosk sellers.
iLoveChicks
post Jan 20 2011, 02:06 PM

527 posts

ok can anyone recommend me a store in digital mall trsutable 1 ? im interested in that Acer 5750G

127 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:53 PM