Humanities The power of realization, Suicidal

TSiceanise
post Jan 12 2011, 03:14 PM, updated 15y ago

94 posts

Hi there,

i believe that when we face certain hard situation, the thought of committing suicide might surface as a choice to end our problem altogether. This is very disturbing when i read about the news of a 22years old chap jumping from the building when he suffered a failed relationship.

I heard that those who jump from building will not feel the pain when they landed because they are "death" from the very moment they jump...argument been, over-scared and over-shocked. How true is this?
xHj09
post Jan 12 2011, 05:55 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

If I'm not wrong, the brains are still functioning after you jump lol
Kaffatsum
post Jan 12 2011, 06:02 PM

599 posts

While it is true that the brain IS still functioning, the thought of death would probably have encompassed every feeling you already have. So you'll probably feel happy since you believe that all the suffering has finally come to an end. Even if you come to a realization that there was another choice, it would be far too late.
It is also possible to die before landing (read it somewhere in a 9/11 article).
SihamZhai
post Jan 12 2011, 11:46 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

I believe that your brain is powerful enough to shut you off at the time you jump. Never underestimate your mental capability. Its like the book ' The secret' Think bout it, work towards it, it will happen. But I wanna question as well: What about those that jump, but died later in hospital? Man that hurts
faceless
post Jan 13 2011, 08:43 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

I am incline to think that the pain will be felt if the brain is still functioning. Sometimes the brain can choose not to register the pain. Whichever the case may be we will not know until we try. laugh.gif
TSiceanise
post Jan 13 2011, 10:22 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 13 2011, 08:43 AM)
I am incline to think that the pain will be felt if the brain is still functioning. Sometimes the brain can choose not to register the pain. Whichever the case may be we will not know until we try. laugh.gif
can explain more on "sometimes the brain can choose not to register the pain"? how can that be done without drugs intervention?
alanyuppie
post Jan 13 2011, 10:26 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(iceanise @ Jan 12 2011, 04:14 PM)
Hi there,

i believe that when we face certain hard situation, the thought of committing suicide might surface as a choice to end our problem altogether. This is very disturbing when i read about the news of a 22years old chap jumping from the building when he suffered a failed relationship.

I heard that those who jump from building will not feel the pain when they landed because they are "death" from the very moment they jump...argument been, over-scared and over-shocked. How true is this?
If like this, most first time parachutist/paragliders would be dead before landing, with pee stain on their pants.

Added on January 13, 2011, 10:32 am
QUOTE(iceanise @ Jan 13 2011, 11:22 AM)
can explain more on "sometimes the brain can choose not to register the pain"? how can that be done without drugs intervention?
Means during extreme situation, an individual do what needs to be done and is totally focused on that (our of fear/courage/etc). Any pain inflicted upon him will not be be felt until he calmed down. for eg a soldier that charges towards the enemies and swinging his rifles/firing away . The pain from the injuries he acquired wont be felt until he finally come to a rest. And then.... *ouch* .... faints.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Jan 13 2011, 10:32 AM
TSiceanise
post Jan 13 2011, 10:33 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Jan 13 2011, 10:26 AM)
If like this, most first time parachutist/paragliders would be dead before landing, with pee stain on their pants.
maybe the perception is different between a paraglider and a man that intent to end his life. Paraglider jumps because they expectation to jump is towards fulfilling their dreams, curiosity or etc (on positive side), whereas, a man who intent to end his life maybe will have a more negative expectation - that's to end his own life. Basically, i just want to say that one jump to obtain pleasure and one jump to end suffering. Not sure bout this
faceless
post Jan 13 2011, 11:13 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(iceanise @ Jan 13 2011, 10:22 AM)
Have you heard of people who were severely injured and they felt no pain at that moment. After getting treatment in hospital the began to feel the pain.
TSiceanise
post Jan 13 2011, 01:38 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 13 2011, 11:13 AM)
Have you heard of people who were severely injured and they felt no pain at that moment. After getting  treatment in hospital the began to feel the pain.
argument being they are diverting their attention on survival and death instead of pain? Or it's very much on consciousness? Once i climbed over the fence and i fall down, realising that there's a slight pain on my hand, it's not that painful until i look at it and find out that a portion of my flesh is torn....it is a choice to condemn the feeling of pain? i do not think that we can actually do it if we are conscious and not distracted by any other things.

Come back to the suicidal, when he jumps, he's diverting his attention to his problems, as such, when he crashes the floor, that intense pain lasted for few mili second because it kills it immediately. However, in his case, he manage to survive another 6 hours before certified death....do you mean that he will not feel the pain within that 6 hours because he never survive through. If he does survive through, then, he will feel the pain. Should i conclude that?
3dassets
post Jan 16 2011, 04:02 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

Pain or no pain, still have to die. The time is not like normal hour anymore in that smashed up body, how many percent of the brain still intact to feel the pain?
dkk
post Jan 17 2011, 01:30 AM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(iceanise @ Jan 12 2011, 03:14 PM)
I am disinclined to believe those who are telling you this. After all, how are they getting this information?

http://www.nypost.com/p/news/local/manhatt...KjjAChfu5GVkWoL

Man jumps from 9th floor aparment, lands on garbage, and survives. If he was dead when he jumped, he should remain dead, despite landing on the huge pile of garbage that cushioned his fall.

http://www.aolnews.com/2010/09/01/man-surv...m-nyc-building/

Thomas Magill jumped off the 39th floor, lands on a car and destroys it, breaks his legs, but survives and was conscious.

faceless
post Jan 17 2011, 09:08 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(iceanise @ Jan 13 2011, 01:38 PM)
argument being they are diverting their attention on survival and death instead of pain? Or it's very much on consciousness? Once i climbed over the fence and i fall down, realising that there's a slight pain on my hand, it's not that painful until i look at it and find out that a portion of my flesh is torn....it is a choice to condemn the feeling of pain? i do not think that we can actually do it if we are conscious and not distracted by any other things.

Come back to the suicidal, when he jumps, he's diverting his attention to his problems, as such, when he crashes the floor, that intense pain lasted for few mili second because it kills it immediately. However, in his case, he manage to survive another 6 hours before certified death....do you mean that he will not feel the pain within that 6 hours because he never survive through. If he does survive through, then, he will feel the pain. Should i conclude that?
I am not sure how the brain decide when it should ignore certain pain and for how long it can last.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 22 2011, 02:47 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Jan 13 2011, 10:26 AM)

Means during extreme situation, an individual do what needs to be done and is totally focused on that (our of fear/courage/etc). Any pain inflicted upon him will not be be felt until he calmed down. for eg a soldier that charges towards the enemies and swinging his rifles/firing away . The pain from the injuries he acquired wont be felt until he finally come to a rest. And then.... *ouch* .... faints.
I thought that is adrenaline rush. laugh.gif
flight
post Feb 4 2011, 11:10 PM

1,567 posts

I can't believe there are people arguing over whether people are dead before they land. Rofl.

It's obvious that they are not dead isnt it?

I imagine it would be something like this

*leap off the building
dropping...*
falling.....*
*... omg did I just make a mistake?

SPLAT*
OMG IT HURTS.
pain... numbness... then euphoria.. and then death.

Suicide is stupidity.

edit: but then again this is a form of darwinism?

This post has been edited by flight: Feb 4 2011, 11:11 PM
SRLee
post Feb 7 2011, 01:56 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(dkk @ Jan 17 2011, 01:30 AM)

http://www.aolnews.com/2010/09/01/man-surv...m-nyc-building/

Thomas Magill jumped off the 39th floor, lands on a car and destroys it, breaks his legs, but survives and was conscious.
Smashing into the ground at almost terminal velocity, and survives. shocking.gif
ah_suknat
post Feb 7 2011, 11:17 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Jan 13 2011, 02:26 AM)

you are talking about adrenaline
SUSgtasaboss
post Mar 21 2011, 08:45 AM

Requiem
601 posts

nope. head trauma caused by falling from great heights will induce instant death. you feel no pain, no suffering unless if you insist that you're ironman and decides to the landing pose when you hit the ground at 70kph.
debiru-man13
post Mar 26 2011, 03:33 PM

I think it's funny how we, the living, are talking about whether death occurs or not even before the jumper hits the ground.
To me, this question is the same as "How would death feel like?"

Answer: Nobody knows, because do you know anyone who has come back from death to explain it? I don't think so.

And people can only give assumptions at most. Unless someone knows how to use an Ouija board and find a willing interviewee.... whistling.gif
Angela Lee
post Apr 30 2011, 02:31 AM

Professional Human
1,059 posts

QUOTE(iceanise @ Jan 12 2011, 02:14 PM)
Hi there,

Can't remember exactly but there's an experiment in which a person falls down high from the sky, his feeling of time was slower than a regular person.

Apparently motion can change time... like Einstein's Relativity theory. I think they still feel intense pain and the pain won't go away for a while...
3dassets
post May 1 2011, 05:11 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(Angela Lee @ Apr 30 2011, 02:31 AM)
Can't remember exactly but there's an experiment in which a person falls down high from the sky, his feeling of time was slower than a regular person.

Apparently motion can change time... like Einstein's Relativity theory.  I think they still feel intense pain and the pain won't go away for a while...
Einstein's Relativity theory is much faster speed than falling, no one can know if they still feel intense pain because science cannot carry out experiment, usually it is the live one who feel the pain more and longer.
Angela Lee
post May 2 2011, 12:15 AM

Professional Human
1,059 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ May 1 2011, 04:11 PM)
Einstein's Relativity theory is much faster speed than falling, no one can know if  they still feel intense pain because science cannot carry out experiment, usually it is the live one who feel the pain more and longer.
You're right. Pain is a subjective thing. But when a person is near death or in danger, his/her perception of time seems to change. Time appears slower in his/her perspective for some dimensional reasons. Pain perceptions may also change as a result I speculate.
3dassets
post May 2 2011, 03:10 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(Angela Lee @ May 2 2011, 12:15 AM)
You're right. Pain is a subjective thing. But when a person is near death or in danger, his/her perception of time seems to change. Time appears slower in his/her perspective for some dimensional reasons. Pain perceptions may also change as a result I speculate.
Hmm... some one committed suicide and told you about slower time through other dimension? Are you trying to imagine the moment of death? I can't say you are wrong because strange things happens and unexplained, you must define how you got the impression to make your words count. Religion convinced a lot of people but not me even though I have experienced bizarre encounters, I could not understand the rational yet but made me challenge my own fate not from the divine power.

What is "The power of realization"? What did we realized? Purpose or fate? Or die not knowing. I wrote my last words twice, the first was more than 10 years ago and the recent letter indicate my strange encounters, if it happens, it is the proof of fate and speculation is the sign. Scary leh... laugh.gif
Angela Lee
post May 2 2011, 11:56 AM

Professional Human
1,059 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ May 2 2011, 02:10 AM)
Hmm... some one committed suicide and told you about slower time through other dimension? Are you trying to imagine the moment of death? I can't say you are wrong because strange things happens and unexplained, you must define how you got the impression to make your words count. Religion convinced a lot of people but not me even though I have experienced bizarre encounters, I could not understand the rational yet but made me challenge my own fate not from the divine power.

What is "The power of realization"? What did we realized? Purpose or fate? Or die not knowing. I wrote my last words twice, the first was more than 10 years ago and the recent letter indicate my strange encounters, if it happens, it is the proof of fate and speculation is the sign. Scary leh... laugh.gif
Yeah... what scary things did you encounter? blink.gif
3dassets
post May 2 2011, 01:44 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(Angela Lee @ May 2 2011, 11:56 AM)
Yeah... what scary things did you encounter? blink.gif
You did not define how you come to believe time is slower when a person jump?
I did talked about it in "dream or de ja vu" topic, The one and only dream that got me wake up sweeting cold and the incident occurred about few years later. I got visions of my ex in law dying 4 times and later was told that he died 2 years ago of cancer. My left eyelid twitched for the whole week and a job I was promised never materialize, the right eyelid twitched also and I got the highest pay job ever, then left eyelid again when I was retrenched because the company bankrupted.

I dream I died, 3 times, how many people die in their dreams? Recently, I saw the digital clock showing identical digits like 1:11, 2:22, 3:33, 4:44, 5:55... too many times in the span of a week, maybe I should go buy lottery ticket? Feeling so lucky. tongue.gif but I don't believe in blind luck.

All these happen to a non believer like me, so I cannot turn to god, instead I discovered my "power of realization". Why the creator made us and toy with us? Give us one lifetime and see what we do with it? If it is fated or meant to be, why am I allowed to challenge the mighty creator? I am not interested in living knowing I will grow old or die anytime, of cause I haven't come to the point to kill myself but I did thought about it, many people did but they didn't tell anyone.

I am not in misery and I have a gift from someone I don't believe biggrin.gif , then I realized that its not a gift but a discipline that I happen to practice and found the tricks, silly people say talent is a gift. tongue.gif
Angela Lee
post May 2 2011, 07:54 PM

Professional Human
1,059 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ May 2 2011, 12:44 PM)
You did not define how you come to believe time is slower when a person jump?
I did talked about it in "dream or de ja vu" topic, The one and only dream that got me wake up sweeting cold and the incident occurred about few years later. I got visions of my ex in law dying 4 times and later was told that he died 2 years ago of cancer. My left eyelid twitched for the whole week and a job I was promised never materialize, the right eyelid twitched also and I got the highest pay job ever, then left eyelid again when I was retrenched because the company bankrupted.

I dream I died, 3 times, how many people die in their dreams? Recently, I saw the digital clock showing identical digits like 1:11, 2:22, 3:33, 4:44, 5:55... too many times in the span of a week, maybe I should go buy lottery ticket? Feeling so lucky. tongue.gif but I don't believe in blind luck.

All these happen to a non believer like me, so I cannot turn to god, instead I discovered my "power of realization". Why the creator made us and toy with us? Give us one lifetime and see what we do with it? If it is fated or meant to be, why am I allowed to challenge the mighty creator? I am not interested in living knowing I will grow old or die anytime, of cause I haven't come to the point to kill myself but I did thought about it, many people did but they didn't tell anyone.

I am not in misery and I have a gift from someone I don't believe  biggrin.gif , then I realized that its not a gift but a discipline that I happen to practice and found the tricks, silly people say talent is a gift. tongue.gif
okay okay. When I was a kid (about 14 year old), one day I was falling off from the roof of my house because I was playing with a friend. During which I was falling, I was pretty much experiencing every single second of that free fall. My back was heading toward the ground... I almost felt like I was in a state of mind in which I can think clearly of every moment of my thought. (May be?) because my experience of time was extended, I was able to take the time to kick off the wall with my foot and was able to land on both feet!

It was unbelievable!! and also won't expect anyone to believe it. And then saw an explanation on TV that measures free fall - about the extended time the person experiences. But it was too long ago, so I forgot. If I find that TV show somewhere, will definitely pass it on.

One of my friends also experienced a flashes of memory (like a trance of long stories of his life) at the time when he was hit by a truck. Luckily he survived with severe injuries all over his body. Even though the impact was only about 1 second, he told me he was experiencing every single moment of it. And he can remember every single story that was flashing in his memory.

That's how I came to "believe" that time may be slower when a person is falling from a high spot or moving at a particular speed.

The more the supporting evidence, the more I can believe.

Nice to share this experience with ya :-)

3dassets
post May 2 2011, 08:35 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(Angela Lee @ May 2 2011, 07:54 PM)
okay okay.  When I was a kid (about 14 year old), one day I was falling off from the roof of my house because I was playing with a friend. During which I was falling, I was pretty much experiencing every single second of that free fall. My back was heading toward the ground... I almost felt like I was in a state of mind in which I can think clearly of every moment of my thought. (May be?) because my experience of time was extended, I was able to take the time to kick off the wall with my foot and was able to land on both feet!

It was unbelievable!! and also won't expect anyone to believe it.  And then saw an explanation on TV that measures free fall - about the extended time the person experiences.    But it was too long ago, so I forgot.  If I find that TV show somewhere, will definitely pass it on.

One of my friends also experienced a flashes of memory (like a trance of long stories of his life) at the time when he was hit by a truck. Luckily he survived with severe injuries all over his body.  Even though the impact was only about 1 second, he told me he was experiencing every single moment of it. And he can remember every single story that was flashing in his memory.

That's how I came to "believe" that time may be slower when a person is falling from a high spot or moving at a particular speed.

The more the supporting evidence, the more I can believe.

Nice to share this experience with ya :-)
I think you mistaken speed is the cause but near death experience, if its free fall, parachuter and bungee jump will experience the same. It only slowing time and flashback of memories didn't involve third party like mine, our experience is not the same.
Angela Lee
post May 2 2011, 10:48 PM

Professional Human
1,059 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ May 2 2011, 07:35 PM)
I think you mistaken speed is the cause but near death experience, if its free fall, parachuter and bungee jump will experience the same. It only slowing time and flashback of memories didn't involve third party like mine, our experience is not the same.
Sorry smile.gif I thought we were close enough laugh.gif

0.0196sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:51 PM