5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Review of Acer 5750G, Okay, 1st time please don't flame :)

TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 12 2011, 01:39 AM, updated 15y ago

1,450 posts

Hi guys, just received my Acer 5750G (AS5750G-2634G64Mnkk)
Bought at the price of RM2769
Specifications from the box are as below

Below are my unboxing pictures.biggrin.gif

It's sealed properly with an additional box outside.

This is the inside of the cover box.

This is the cover of the laptop itself.

The information and specifications of the laptop which is located beside of the box.

This is the manual of the laptop, it teaches on how to make a quick setup.

Finally a glance on the laptop.brows.gif

Dang dang dangggg~~!! biggrin.gif

It's covered with some kind of material which protect it from being scratched.smile.gif
No worries on postage regarding this matter.

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Jan 13 2011, 11:35 PM
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 12 2011, 01:40 AM

1,450 posts

The laptop overview.

Brief specifications of the laptop on the laptop.

Left side of the laptop.
From left to right,
Power supply input, LAN input, VGA input, HDMI input, USB input, <not sure what it is called, same size like the microphone input>, microphone input.

Right side of the laptop.
From left to right,
USB input, USB 3.0 input, DVD rom.

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Jan 12 2011, 01:57 AM
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 12 2011, 01:40 AM

1,450 posts

Lid closed and there is only the card reader at the left hand side.

Back of the laptop, nothing.

This is the international warranty. The back of it is a quick guide book.

Power supply unit.

Battery (10.8V 4400mAh)

Free antivirus.

Acer free bag.

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Jan 12 2011, 01:57 AM
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 12 2011, 01:41 AM

1,450 posts

Temperature after 2+hours on balance mode.
shocking.gif

Maybe something is wrong with the HWMonitor?
= =
I shut down after the 1st attempt and let it cool for 3-4 minutes under fan and boot back. The temperature are going almost the max even after cooling down. Confused now.

The left side of the laptop is the hottest part. When the temperature risen, it will automatically increase the fan speed. Although it will sound louder and u can hear the sound of the fan, it is almost inaudible if u don't listen to it. The part that shocked me will be the bottom part of the laptop. Compare my old Toshiba, the bottom part of this Acer is cool(serious cool2.gif ) Besides, to add on that the speaker is very nice also(okay to me), it's loud enough to watch video and playing music if u don't like to carry portable speakers. Haven't tried the battery life yet as I'm using at home and no time due to working later on. I will try my best to answer potential buyer(brows.gif) the best I could, but only after 10pm(work, cry.gif ).
smile.gif Good night and I hope I didn't do it badly.

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Jan 12 2011, 02:53 AM
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 12 2011, 01:42 AM

1,450 posts

I wonder why I can't open the Performance Monitor, anyone know how to solve it, the printscreen is at the btm.

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Jan 13 2011, 01:02 AM
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 12 2011, 01:57 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_ng @ Jan 12 2011, 01:52 AM)
Woohoo...waiting for all the test ^^
Congratz on your buy ^^
Thanks, biggrin.gif
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 12 2011, 09:12 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_ng @ Jan 12 2011, 03:12 AM)
great job!  laugh.gif
do more test tomoro after work  tongue.gif
I try ba, smile.gif

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 12 2011, 03:38 AM)
Wow it's quite cool for a Quad!
smile.gif Go get one!

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Jan 12 2011, 03:50 AM)
Can you try OC the system? smile.gif I want to see the temp.
= =
I will if I know how to OC, seems complicated.
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 13 2011, 12:49 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 12 2011, 10:40 AM)
I guess most of the 1st SB batch laptops will come with GT540 (for Nvidia ones) as well, so TS's scores will give us a rough picture of how the GPU fares  thumbup.gif
Anyway, TS, does the monitor wobble when shaken?  hmm.gif
hmm.gif Not really, it's quite solid.
brows.gif

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 12 2011, 02:28 PM)
waiting for 10pm for your review  tongue.gif

i think i read somewhere the boot up time is less than 20 sec???  sweat.gif
From the time I press the on button, it will be more than that. Around 40+ seconds, maybe haven't clear out most of the unwanted applications.
hmm.gif

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jan 12 2011, 02:43 PM)
how about the keyboard, it is comfortable? the last time i check the chocolate like keyboard are not comfortable even compared to acer curved keyboard(check travelmate 4000)
Last time when I use my friend's one, I also don't like it. But now after using it for a while, it's okay for me.

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 12 2011, 07:44 PM)
yea this was from the 5750G thread... but it's 20seconds to windows logon screen only... another 10-15 seconds to load everything..
Yeah, around that time.

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Jan 12 2011, 08:14 PM)
i saw some 5750G user said that temp is quite high.
too bad...
><"
I don't know how high is high or how low is low.
But from power saving mode to balanced and then high performance temperature are as below.

PS: The laptop is under the ceiling fan directly this time. smile.gif

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Jan 13 2011, 01:08 AM
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 13 2011, 01:05 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(*********** @ Jan 13 2011, 12:51 AM)
hi guys.

just bought this model just now at Digital Mall.

want to ask, why when I re-run Performance Index,
it tells me that my GC is Intel® HD Graphics Family?
Shouldn't it be Nvidia Geforce GT 540M?

In Device Manager, both GC is listed.
How can I use the Nvidia GC?
Because when I watch HD vids on youtube, its quite terrible
compared to my Aspire 4745g (gc ATI 5470).

Anyhow should I config my 5750g?

Actually, I'm also using the Optimus Technology for the first time. Don't know how to precisely switch graphics card between the Intel and the nvidia's one.
sweat.gif
Any sifus please come and recommend us a solution.
notworthy.gif
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 13 2011, 11:09 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Jan 13 2011, 01:30 AM)
it changes automatically.About the W7 Perf Index,iinm the data processed by the GT540M is passed through the GMA HD,that's why it's listed as such

You can't change on your own iinm,it's done automatically.Plus outside of gaming i don't see the need for the GT540,the HD3000 is more than fast enough for everything else. [it should be HD5470 fast]
= = I thought it's switchable graphics
sweat.gif

QUOTE(kelvin_ng @ Jan 13 2011, 03:28 AM)
arh... now i reli drooling liao... ady wait from december till now and see you guys review how good is this lappy  drool.gif

I dunno when oni got time and transport to go computer shop take a look and grab it back home  yawn.gif
brows.gif Go get it!

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jan 13 2011, 08:23 AM)
Idle? That's fine  thumbup.gif
Yeap, idle means opening less programmes right?
This laptop is super fast compare my old 1.
Put it at high performance under the fan will be very good if want to do heavy task.

QUOTE(xin @ Jan 13 2011, 10:54 AM)
the warranty void sticker is for the first 7days ... when u brought your Acer lappy, 1 to 1 exchange is available from the date of purchase for 7days if the lappy got problem. The sticker is for that, if within 7days the sticker is broken, then cant claim 1 to 1 instead can send in repair as usual onli.  laugh.gif
hmm.gif Now my keyboard got problem.
Or maybe I just realised it only, the "~" and "*" button can be pressed but will not show when not pressing another button.
Meaning, ~=SHIFT + `
But have to press another key then only it will show, very small problem to me but wonder if it happens to other users too.
Should I bring it for exchange?
hmm.gif
For me not a problem the keyboard.
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 13 2011, 11:34 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Jan 13 2011, 11:14 PM)
You can force certain apps to run with the GT40 turned on using the Nvidia control panel,but for what it's worth the switch between IGP and dGPU is done automatically.
QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 13 2011, 11:14 PM)
Nvidia Optimus is different from ATI switchable because it's switches automatically for you when doing intensive work while ATI's u can switch manually...

Idle means opening no programs and leaving the computer there..
Okay understand now, switch automatically and can force if wanted too.

Added on January 13, 2011, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 13 2011, 11:27 PM)
Maybe Good Day can put the price he bought it for in the first post..
Since u request, I put already.

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Jan 13 2011, 11:36 PM
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 14 2011, 12:18 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(ping0613 @ Jan 13 2011, 11:48 PM)
how to set it to fullscreen? for game
Change the resolution?
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 14 2011, 01:41 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(ping0613 @ Jan 14 2011, 12:28 AM)
resolution max adi, still not able to play fullscreen
= = The resolution of the laptop and in game resolution also. If both can't then I don't know bro, haven't have the time to play on my laptop(work sigh~)

QUOTE(24seven @ Jan 14 2011, 12:51 AM)
Hey, Whats the battery life on the 5750G? Could you please test it? really want to know how good it is.
Sorry bro, busy atm will test it after this week.
Anyway, u can still refer to other user's feedback
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 16 2011, 01:48 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jan 14 2011, 11:45 PM)
may i know what is the adapter wattage? thks again
Model of adapter: ADP-90CD DB
INPUT: 100-240 V ~1.5A 50-60 Hz
OUTPUT:19 V 4.74 A

QUOTE(Dell2011 @ Jan 15 2011, 03:21 AM)
Congrats on the purchase mate. smile.gif 
Why dont you post a video of it on youtube. No one has done it yet. I am torn between this and the Dell xps 15.
btw, how are the speakers on this laptop?
Lol, I wanted to at first but my camera can't record stereo
= =

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jan 15 2011, 07:13 AM)
TS, can verify if there is an empty mini PCI-e slot?
huh, what u mean?
Maybe can try seeing this,

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jan 15 2011, 05:41 PM)
Nobody can answer whether this laptop is wwan ready (eg. with empty pci-e slot & simcard slot)??

Got a very good deal today at Lowyat, very tempted to get it. Best of all, it has Bluetooth & it is version 3.0

Don't really understand ur question, maybe reading the specs can answer it.

Thx for reading everyone, hope it does make a picture of how the laptop is.
Btw the keyboard for my laptop for 3 keys need to double press to make it out and then delete the second one if wanted to type only that one, wondering if other users are suffering the same problem.
~^""
The above three buttons are pressed after using the SHIFT key, but they won't appear if I don't press another key.
Should I take it for warranty?
= =
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 16 2011, 02:52 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(justie @ Jan 16 2011, 02:34 AM)
was wondering if anybody knows the weight of this machine. If its light then its an almost perfect machine XD trying to decide between this and asus n53sv but somehow the asus model notebookcheck reviewed has core i7-2720g O_O
Weight is about 2.6kg if not mistaken.

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Jan 16 2011, 03:28 AM
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 16 2011, 03:28 AM

1,450 posts

Added on January 16, 2011, 3:28 amuser posted image

Balanced mode, opened for two hours below ceiling fan and in idle condition.(Only web surfing and music)
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 16 2011, 03:33 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 16 2011, 03:31 AM)
^can give some shots on the notebook bottom side ?
Okay give me a minute.

Here it is biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Jan 16 2011, 03:42 AM
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 16 2011, 03:51 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 16 2011, 03:45 AM)
The ventilation hole quite little hmm.gif
hmm.gif Yeah, quite hot when it gets "hot".
The fan is spinning fast and the left side is super hot if compare to other parts of the laptop.
Btw, confused why it became so hot even on idle.
Maybe I pressed the wrong settings and make it full load.
rclxub.gif
After restarting the laptop, it change back to its normal condition though.
Gotta sleep now, need to work. Good night and thanks for viewing.
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 17 2011, 01:25 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jan 16 2011, 06:04 PM)
Yes, you should.
You can talk to the shop first or lodge an RMA report.
If they have available stock, the keyboard can be replaced in 3 minutes.
Wow, if 3 minutes can solve the problem, tomorrow I'm going to the shop.

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 17 2011, 01:20 AM)
U mean Dual Cores? Probably around March.. Why do you want dual core now when quadcore is like sub-3k price only?
Cheaper price? hmm.gif
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Jan 17 2011, 01:39 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 17 2011, 01:36 AM)
Dun have any pricing information yet but I am predicting it would only be around RM200-300 difference only? Since more and more games/programs are optimising quad cores now, quad seems like a better choice though, just my opinion... Unless the Dual core one can produce amazing battery life with the lower TDP
Haha, yeah agree, that's why I'm getting a quad, in idle it's not hot as what the old quads are used to be.

Added on January 17, 2011, 2:10 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 16 2011, 03:58 AM)
What's the bios version ? Seems like got v1.02 on acer website...
How to check?
Need to update if the version is not the latest?

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Jan 17 2011, 02:10 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0254sec    1.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:25 AM