University Part-Time Study In Malaysia

TSknicherschauff
post Jan 12 2011, 01:26 AM, updated 15y ago

35 posts

Hello guys, I need some recommendations. I(Dip. Mechanical Engineering grad 2008) plan to further my study in part-time mode, until now I don't know which university should I go. For now, I work in customer service and decides to do degree on telecommunication engineering or computer networking since I lost my passion in mechanical. I read about OUM but from my research on the net, OUM is a place where you want certificate, not knowledge. So, I guess that is not appropriate action to learn something technical from OUM. Or am I wrong? Any fees around 20K++ to complete and location around KL/Selangor will do.

So, any ideas? Thank you.

nibiahk
post Jan 20 2011, 09:13 PM

105 posts

Wawason open university, since u looking for telecommunication, it has Bachelor in ICT
fastreader
post Jan 20 2011, 09:24 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(nibiahk @ Jan 20 2011, 09:13 PM)
Wawason open university, since u looking for telecommunication, it has Bachelor in ICT
this is even worse lah..i tink what TS wants to to gain proper recognition and knowledge..maybe u can try monash..
eazs
post Jan 18 2012, 02:42 PM

hi,
wanna ask some advice..i already have dip in meche eng from polyteknik..plan to further study,degree in meche eng..already reg with utmspace,skudai branch for this january2012 intake..but doubtful abt the learning method and heard lots of student failed to finish their part time study (quite long around 6-7years to finish all the courses) sad.gif ..or i can apply for other course which easier??suggestion??

is it really tough to past all the paper?anyone can share their experiences?

is there any financial aid for part time study like MARA loan etc?

tqvm..
Protoculture
post Jan 30 2012, 01:20 PM

903 posts

QUOTE(knicherschauff @ Jan 12 2011, 01:26 AM)
Hello guys, I need some recommendations. I(Dip. Mechanical Engineering grad 2008) plan to further my study in part-time mode, until now I don't know which university should I go.
There's Open University Malaysia, Wawasan Open University, Asia e University that offers distance learning courses. Oh, there's also IPTAs like UPM/UKM/UiTM/UTM that offers part time program too.

For now, I work in customer service and decides to do degree on telecommunication engineering or computer networking since I lost my passion in mechanical.

If you're talking about part-time courses offered by IPTA, please double checked their entry requirement (which might be quite strict & the diploma must be related with the degree course that you applied for).

Of course, for OUM/WOU/AeU, they can accept any recognised Diploma (MQA/JPA) to enroll to any of their degree courses.
I read about OUM but from my research on the net, OUM is a place where you want certificate, not knowledge.

This is where you're quite wrong. Working adults choose OUM/WOU/AeU due to their flexibility in learning modes & affordable fees. Most programmes are accredit by MQA & recognised by JPA. OUM alone has produced more than 30,000 grads working both in private & public sectors.

If you think OUM/WOU/AeU is place for certs only, try asking their learners, how they've to struggle with assignments & exams. Despite entry requirement quite lax, the syllabus of the programmes are on par with other public Universities in Malaysia.
So, I guess that is not appropriate action to learn something technical from OUM. Or am I wrong? Any fees around 20K++ to complete and location around KL/Selangor will do.

OUM no longers offers technical/engineering courses. Instead, they offers programmes that is most suited to working adults needs based on job market & industries they're in.
So, any ideas? Thank you.
If you're looking for prestigious Uni, then apply for public universities' part time programmes like UPM/UKM/UiTM/UTM ....

Added on January 30, 2012, 1:27 pm
QUOTE(eazs @ Jan 18 2012, 02:42 PM)
hi,
wanna ask some advice..i already have dip in meche eng from polyteknik..plan to further study,degree in meche eng..already reg with utmspace,skudai branch for this january2012 intake..but doubtful abt the learning method and heard lots of student failed to finish their part time study (quite long around 6-7years to finish all the courses) sad.gif ..or i can apply for other course which easier??suggestion??

is it really tough to past all the paper?anyone can share their experiences?

is there any financial aid for part time study like MARA loan etc?

tqvm..
If you're looking for technical courses, then UTM Space is the BEST choice, since their part-time engineering degrees is recognised by JPA & Board of Engineers Malaysia.

Evidently, yes, UTM engineering degree is VERY, VERY tough. Either full-time or part-time, those technical courses are designed with quality in mind.

My best advice, stick with it. There's no shortcut for success, especially in engineering field.

However, if you have doubts, then Open University Malaysia also offers part time studies but far more flexible lah ... although OUM offers semi technical courses such as degrees in manufacturing mgmt, occupational safety health or technology mgmt .... no engineering course lah

You may check their site at www.oum.edu.my

This post has been edited by Protoculture: Jan 30 2012, 01:27 PM
eazs
post Jan 31 2012, 08:07 AM

thank you protoculture for your advice..really appriciate.. smile.gif
Protoculture
post Jan 31 2012, 07:12 PM

903 posts

QUOTE(eazs @ Jan 31 2012, 08:07 AM)
thank you protoculture for your advice..really appriciate.. smile.gif
You're most welcome.

syarif
post Feb 1 2012, 09:57 AM

345 posts

Im also searching for a PJJ course around KL in Networking field.
is there any good Uni/collegue around here?

For a degree.
Pain4UrsinZ
post Feb 2 2012, 03:37 PM

1,860 posts

I(Dip.Telecommunication Engineering grad 2011) plan to further my study in part-time mode... dont know the exact course...help pls
Protoculture
post Feb 25 2012, 05:49 PM

903 posts

QUOTE(syarif @ Feb 1 2012, 09:57 AM)
Im also searching for a PJJ course around KL in Networking field.
is there any good Uni/collegue around here?

For a degree.
OUM offers Bachelor (Hons) IT with Network Computing.

WOU offers Bachelor of Technology (Hons) in Computer Systems & Networks

Added on February 25, 2012, 5:53 pm
QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Feb 2 2012, 03:37 PM)
I(Dip.Telecommunication Engineering grad 2011) plan to further my study in part-time mode... dont know the exact course...help pls
Try Open University Malaysia (OUM), Wawasan Open University (WOU) and Asia e-University (AeU).

Browse thru their websites, compare which programmes suited your qualification & current career, & fees. If you've queries, call their course counsellors.

This post has been edited by Protoculture: Feb 25 2012, 05:53 PM
felix1987
post Jul 28 2012, 07:45 AM

i oso looking for part time banking & finance course around KL & selangor... any suggestion...
cookingbear
post Jul 28 2012, 12:31 PM

73 posts

Hi, Felix, i suggest you can consider the banking and finance course from:
-http://www.wou.edu.my/Bachelor_of_Business_%28Hons%29_in_Banking_and_Finance.html
Or University of London, which the lead university is LSE(UK),one of the top five university in uk:
-http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/table/2012/may/21/university-league-table-2013?dm_i=H6J,U85C,5JJO18,2HB98,1
-http://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.co.uk/league-tables/rankings
the syllabus, transcript and exam are prepared by LSE but the certificate is from University of London itself, appx RM20k for 12 subjects, can be completed within 8 years, distance learning, 100% exam-based...
- http://www.londoninternational.ac.uk/cours...banking-finance

deARCH
post Sep 17 2012, 04:21 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Protoculture @ Feb 25 2012, 05:49 PM)
OUM offers Bachelor (Hons) IT with Network Computing.

WOU offers Bachelor of Technology (Hons) in Computer Systems & Networks

Added on February 25, 2012, 5:53 pm

Try Open University Malaysia (OUM), Wawasan Open University (WOU) and Asia e-University (AeU).

Browse thru their websites, compare which programmes suited your qualification & current career, & fees. If you've queries, call their course counsellors.
I checked out public universities already. What I seem cant find is IPTA that offers distance/part time learning in pure Network. Any help?

0.0249sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:39 AM