Steam Steam Promotion, Discussion and FAQ Thread V6, Read latest post for latest promotion
FarCry3r
Jan 12 2011, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jan 12 2011, 12:39 AM) wonder if they got the news about Dota 2 ... they dont even know steam  but i think Dota 2 will spread easily la maybe will bring those rich ah beng to steam community too ... Why do they need to know about Steam to know Dota 2? Don't you know the piraters runs games on Steam without Steam?
FarCry3r
Jan 12 2011, 02:28 AM
QUOTE(sasaug @ Jan 12 2011, 02:17 AM) but for source games like TF2 and CS Source, somehow they are not popular among pirates, at least from what I can see in gayrena. But somehow like left 4 dead 2, every user will have trouble connecting when some patched, some dont and with constant update like tf2, i dont think it's easy for people to follow up. You'd be surprised about how much efforts those piraters put to get these peoples up-to-date with whatever updates coming on to Steam. TF2 yes, not popular among them, but CS:S, there's large base of them playing online.
FarCry3r
Jan 12 2011, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(Shooterz @ Jan 12 2011, 02:29 AM) usually i just copy all the content in the \Steam\steamapps , whenever i want to install the game again , i just copied to the new folder and let steam verify the game cache nvr try this kind of backup before , will try  If you want to restore backup fast, then just use the copy files method as using backup it'll take some times, but I like to keep my backup managed and streamlined, so I'll know which files are for which games.
FarCry3r
Jan 12 2011, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Jan 12 2011, 12:55 PM) If you use the backup function from Steam. When it installs each game it contacts steam to verify your copy/check updates and etc. So more often than not, it would hang if there are several large installs. If you want to backup a lot of games. Directly making another copy, then using a day to archive them using 7zip or Winrar should achieve the same resulting size. And when you just copy and paste and let Steam verify/check updates and etc, won't it hang as it will be doing the same thing?
FarCry3r
Jan 12 2011, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Jan 12 2011, 01:31 PM) If you copy and paste, you have the choice of verifying each game one by one, if you install via a batch install file, you'll have to stare at the installation screen for a loooong while. As advised by a member, it's not wise to make a single backup containing ALL games in it, which is a stupid thing to do in the first place. I always separate my backups.
FarCry3r
Jan 13 2011, 03:15 PM
I can't connect either. Used to be able to connect at office through VPN, but now even VPN doesn't work.
FarCry3r
Jan 13 2011, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jan 13 2011, 03:32 PM) Steam games only go on sale after 1 or 2 years after the game is released? Damn with steam selling games so cheap, i'm still seeing these ignorant people. Sorry guys, just ranting. Had to spend money to go to s'pore to warranty my x360. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...entry39271235Cheapskates always cheapskates, especially when they're used to it.
FarCry3r
Jan 13 2011, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(username @ Jan 13 2011, 04:03 PM) I also can't connect to Steam now  Edit: I'm able to connect again after changing my IP  Yeah, I didn't change any IP (as it's on VPN = same IP always) but suddenly I was able to connect. Steam server down perhaps?
FarCry3r
Jan 14 2011, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 14 2011, 09:26 AM) Kindly note though that it uses TAGES DRM.  TAGES DRM + Windows 7 64-bit = FAIL. I can't play this game at all as the TAGES DRM driver is blocked by Windows
FarCry3r
Jan 14 2011, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(kianweic @ Jan 14 2011, 10:10 AM) Seems to work fine on mine. I am using Windows 7 64bit as well. Really? Which version you're playing? The retail or Steam one? I'm playing the retail one and Windows instantly blocked the driver, had to play it on other PC
FarCry3r
Jan 14 2011, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(kianweic @ Jan 14 2011, 10:47 AM) Steam version. Oic, don't really like Tages DRM because of installation limits. Limit is one thing, and I guess the retail version didn't have the latest TAGES DRM driver, maybe that's why I'm facing such problem
FarCry3r
Jan 14 2011, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(TiF @ Jan 14 2011, 11:04 AM) in short, after you activated 3 times liao, u have to wait 30days to get back all 3 activation limit. ^ This. I was going to reply the same. But still, cannot play for a month after 3 activations if I formatted my PC?
FarCry3r
Jan 20 2011, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 20 2011, 11:15 PM) Anyone know how to filter the Steam game so I can choose the 3+ game for my 3 year old niece? She's already can play minesweeper, spider solitaire, solitaire, and other internet light mini game .. of course I butthurt but still I want to find a good game for her Thanks  3+ years can play solitaire? Check out zorro's son, 4+ years old can play TF2, much more butthurt than you
FarCry3r
Jan 31 2011, 09:45 PM
Anyone have issue with Steam login? I tried deleting blob file, but doesn't work. It stuck on login screen for some long....... time
FarCry3r
Feb 1 2011, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(VonDrake @ Feb 1 2011, 11:02 AM) Me too  It seems that Steam can login once again this morning around 7:00am, last night nothing works including restarting router etc.
FarCry3r
Feb 1 2011, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(talexeh @ Feb 1 2011, 03:32 PM) LOL. Don't expect major discounts for festivals that are not related to the western culture. Unless Gabe suddenly married to a chinese
FarCry3r
Feb 4 2011, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(Vigilant @ Feb 4 2011, 03:22 AM) Steam is acting up again. Can't connect. Why I have to go through this  You're not alone. I've experienced the exact same problem for 2 days.
FarCry3r
Feb 5 2011, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Feb 5 2011, 11:23 AM) Those that want to tried DOW 2 Retribution can get the key now.(No need pre purchase,just register at THQ retribution community site) The download file size is about 4GB. Thanks for the heads up
FarCry3r
Feb 8 2011, 05:49 PM
I just got my account disabled
FarCry3r
Feb 8 2011, 06:08 PM
I do involve in a lot of trading in the past two days since I sold some promo items for keys and keys for hats to complete my hats collection. I didn't let anyone log into my account in any way and I bought all my games from Steam store. Oh there goes my money spent for all those games. Thanks alot Valve!