Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V12, Please read FAQ at 1st page!

night_wolf_in
post Jan 11 2011, 12:52 AM

512 posts

guys, need ur help. i would like to use darky's rom.

1- I'm done flashing to the new firmware I9000XXJPY.

2- will i need to root the phone? and if i do will this suffice?

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 10 2011, 05:46 PM)
How to root:

Second method:
If you have Odin3 and you know how to use it!
Your data and programs will be deleted!!!!

3- i understand that i would need to install ClockworkMod, then use Rom manager which i download from the Market to reboot into it.

4-then install darky's room.

if im missing something, please let me know
night_wolf_in
post Jan 11 2011, 01:17 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Jan 11 2011, 01:06 AM)
Easiest way

1) Install ANY eclair rom
2) Download CWM, rename it as update.zip and put it into internal SD
3) Download darkky's rom, put it in internal SD (No need rename)
3) Reboot into recovery (Press up + home + power)
4) Choose apply update.zip
5) Phone will reboot and auto go to recovery again, just choose apply update.zip once more
6) Now the menu will change to CWM, choose install from zip.
7) Choose the darkky's rom
8) Enjoy
i think all seams easy. only step one is confusing. what do u mean install any eclair rom?

my current rom is JPJPJ, and CSC and MODEM are also something different (middle east firmware)

This post has been edited by night_wolf_in: Jan 11 2011, 01:21 AM
night_wolf_in
post Jan 11 2011, 01:22 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(butthead012 @ Jan 11 2011, 01:20 AM)
Use the latest JPY firmware... once u flashed to JPY then flash it with CF_root... then only can apply the update.zip.

else it will have error with the signature.
CF-Root-XX_XEU_JPY-v1.3-BusyBox-1.17.1.zip

will that one do?
night_wolf_in
post Jan 11 2011, 01:24 AM

512 posts

so which one should i do? reflash into any eclair rom? or do CR_root?
night_wolf_in
post Jan 11 2011, 03:20 AM

512 posts

ok guys, im done for tonight. bought my galaxy S, flashed to XXJPY, installed darkys 8. and few languages. now i need to get some good cover for it. smile.gif
night_wolf_in
post Jan 11 2011, 12:08 PM

512 posts

guys, anyone managed to transfer his contacts from Nokia 5800 to sgs?
night_wolf_in
post Jan 11 2011, 12:26 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Jan 11 2011, 12:15 PM)
Yes. Previously on 5800XM, I synced all my contacts to my Outlook client on the computer. Then I exported from Outlook into a CSV file, and imported the CSV into my Google Contacts database. Finally, sync SGS phone to my Google account (Contacts, Calendar, Gmail sync).
thought it had to do something with outlook. aight. ill try doing it tomorrow or tonight.
night_wolf_in
post Jan 21 2011, 01:04 AM

512 posts

guys. anyone had problems with the alarm (the normal clock that comes with andriod) im using darky's v8
night_wolf_in
post Jan 26 2011, 04:28 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Jan 26 2011, 02:42 PM)
but better to go All Wipe. I opted No Wipe, but then got battery drain and LauncherPro problems.
So did a wipe version and it settled all problems.
ok, if i do the wipe thing. how will i be able to bring back my old apps and sms, emails?
night_wolf_in
post Jan 26 2011, 05:08 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Jan 26 2011, 04:42 PM)
Apps i used App2SD and titanium backup.
SMSes i didnt backup much. only important ones using Catch Notes; unless you have Handcent Donate.

Emails dunnit. cos i used gmail and google contacts, i just have to resync after i baked my new ROM, and my contacts and emails will come back by itself.
ok. ill try doing that. use handent to backup my sms/mms. download darky v 9 tonight.
night_wolf_in
post Jan 26 2011, 05:25 PM

512 posts

another question. apps that installed on SD dont require reinstallation after flashing the phone?

night_wolf_in
post Jan 26 2011, 07:30 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Jan 26 2011, 07:00 PM)
handcent can only backup if you have PAID FOR THE DONATION.
otherwise go for the SMS backup app the others have suggested,
yeah, i realized that. i can do some googling. tongue.gif
night_wolf_in
post Jan 26 2011, 11:49 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Jan 26 2011, 11:40 PM)
Hi sifus, Im planning to get SGS soon, but still haven decided to go for AP or Ori set.
I hav some doubts, hopefully sifus can help me explain it further~

1. Is there any tools tat can backup/restore b the stock ROM ? So, if i plan to flash a custom ROM, i shuld go for AP instead of Ori ?
2. Install a custom ROM means the phone is consider rooted ?

Thanks~  notworthy.gif
2-mostly yes.

i would ask u to read in http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=723596
night_wolf_in
post Jan 27 2011, 11:04 PM

512 posts

guys, since darkyv9. the phone is acting up!!. even tho i did wipe installation!! one of the things flickie wallpaper just hangs, reinstallation didnt help!!

btw, i used titanium to back up
night_wolf_in
post Jan 28 2011, 04:05 PM

512 posts

guys anyone face this, after flashing to darkly v9 some apps hang for one min or more. Example.
1- advance task killer will hang if I go see running services and back to task killer menu.
2- flickir wallpaper hd will hang if I preview any wallpaper.

At task manager, I can see these apps using 80% cpu for the hanged time.

I reinstalled apps, didnt help
I went back to darkly v8, didn't help.

What to do
night_wolf_in
post Jan 28 2011, 05:55 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Jan 28 2011, 04:05 PM)
guys anyone face this, after flashing to darkly v9 some apps hang for one min or more. Example.
1- advance task killer will hang if I go see running services and back to task killer menu.
2- flickir wallpaper hd will hang if I preview any wallpaper.

At task manager, I can see these apps using 80% cpu for the hanged time.

I reinstalled apps, didnt help
I went back to darkly v8, didn't help.

What to do
ok, more info. it happens only when wifi is on!
night_wolf_in
post Jan 28 2011, 06:46 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Jan 28 2011, 05:57 PM)
Got the same problem. Got a bit sick and tired of it thats why i tried Doc's ROM, and i became a happy man.
but before that, have you tried using SGS Tools and run the clear_thumb_db.txt script?
bloody hell, yes it fixed. and i flashed the rom at least thrice!!!

ill just stay with this rom for a while. (darky v8) i wasted my whole yesterday on the phone. cant waste today as well. probably go try doc's later on. i hear plenty of people recommending it. (darkyv9 aint that good yet). they event revert the wifi to v8 (in darky v9.0.3) so ya. 8 for now.

0.0449sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:41 PM