Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V12, Please read FAQ at 1st page!

glitzz
post Jan 19 2011, 10:34 PM

48 posts

Hi all shifu...

I just got my SGS 2 weeks back...

I am thinking to flash my phone but not sure which is the easiest way to flash??

found doc rom from XDA...and seems easy to flash...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=817703

but may i know if i flash with this ROM, I first need to flash to XXJPY?or can use the generator with base rom of XWJS3??

Thanks...
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 11:48 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Jan 19 2011, 10:41 PM)
the most important things before your flash to other rom

1) make sure your 3 button combo is working..if not..FIX it first..

2) make sure that your have 3e recovery mode enabled..if not..flash speedmod kernel that come with CWM recovery mode

and with that you can flash whatever rom you like, whenever...but don't flash yourself...hehe blush.gif  blush.gif
Thanks for your swift reply....

I have my 3 button combo working...just afraid i will brick my phone when i flash it...zzz...

if im not mistaken, speedmod from:here does not come with CWM recovery right?

glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 02:55 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Jan 20 2011, 12:32 PM)
it comes with cwm recovery
Hi bro...means i just need to flash this kernal then my phone will have CWM and Super-user??

Thanks thanks...i really noob~~~
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 03:03 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jan 20 2011, 02:26 AM)
as long as its from the google market it should be at least safe, google have to ensure its safe so that Android would grow ... most reports of worms/malicious apps are from custom china apps, or ahem*2 apps so beware of those ...
finally left back last paper at next monday! ... cant wait to come back to flash! i just realize my phone didnt charge for almost 3days, only off for 6hrs(exam) and reboot 3times for cwm update, uncountable texting, roughly 3hrs of call, Doodle Dash every time i do 'big business' .. LOL laugh.gif
bro...may i know wat's your config??im struggle to have my phone to survive for 1.5 days...argg...running ori rom now...wonder which is the best rom to flash for longer batt life and smooth operation~~~

Thanks...newbie here~~~

Added on January 20, 2011, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Jan 20 2011, 02:59 PM)
after flashing speedmod kernel, you'll have a cwm recovery only

if you want to root your phone, go into recovery mode and go to 'Advanced Speedmod ULK'. there's a superuser option there. just pick root+install busybox will do (first choice)
OIC...so means the package is with Superuser but we have to kinda "activate" from recovery mode rite??

This post has been edited by glitzz: Jan 20 2011, 03:05 PM
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 03:06 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Jan 20 2011, 02:59 PM)
after flashing speedmod kernel, you'll have a cwm recovery only

if you want to root your phone, go into recovery mode and go to 'Advanced Speedmod ULK'. there's a superuser option there. just pick root+install busybox will do (first choice)
oic...so means the Seedmod kernal comes with Superuser just that we have to "activate" it from recovery rite??

Added on January 20, 2011, 3:06 pmok...will try now~~~

This post has been edited by glitzz: Jan 20 2011, 03:06 PM
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 03:14 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Jan 20 2011, 03:07 PM)
ori rom? i assume its Eclair 2.1 is it?
try get the latest version.. 2.2.1.. then apply speedmod..

or you may try custom rom.. Darky's ROM V8.0..
ha...bro...im using XXJPP baseband...

wanted to flash to XXJPY version with CSC of XSP (singapore version) according to Kitchen Rom Generator. Is this rom good compare with darky's??

With my current rom, can I flash straight with darky's rom?or is better i flash to 2.2.1 first then only flash to darky's V8.0??

Added on January 20, 2011, 3:16 pmoh ya....with current setting, I am having prob connecting WIFI from my house router...WIFI can be scanned and WEP key is accepted...but just somehow i tried to surf net from web browser it keep showing error...how can I fix that??

This post has been edited by glitzz: Jan 20 2011, 03:16 PM
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 03:29 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Jan 20 2011, 03:24 PM)
you can just straight flash to Darky's Rom..
for me.. Darky's Rom 8.0 more better.. actually there's Darky's 8.1, but i recommend u to flash to v8.0 one..

good battery's life.. smooth.. and nice look.. smile.gif
before i flash to darky's V8.0...shall I flash seedmode kernal first and "activate" root??
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 03:39 PM

48 posts

I have another question...what is the different on e3 recovery mode and e2 recovery mode?

I am having e3 recovery mode at the moment...what should I do? flashing SpeedMod kernel will bring me back to e2 recovery mode??
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 03:41 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Jan 20 2011, 03:38 PM)
no don't. darky's v8 comes with voodoo kernel. so flash speedmod kernel after installing darky's v8
Hi Fornaxlife,

Means I dun need anything to flash Darky'r room??but it mention I need to go to e2 recovery to install update.zip right?

Added on January 20, 2011, 3:45 pmI am having XXJPP baseband....if I use http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=788108 to install the e2 which file shall I choose??

This post has been edited by glitzz: Jan 20 2011, 03:45 PM
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 04:19 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Jan 20 2011, 03:52 PM)
that link is for rooting your phone.

yea, you need 2e recovery to install darky's. go to darky's thread. on the first post, there's a link to download update.zip. apply the update.zip twice in the recovery menu
Bro...I am trying to search the "update.zip" file that you mention from Darky's Rom but I still couldnt find the file...onli things is to use CF-Root which the e2 comes with it~~~

Added on January 20, 2011, 4:21 pmand im not sure which file to choose as im using XXJPP baseband now...there is no option which close to that...maybe

CF-Root-XX_XEU_JPO-v1.2-Busybox-1.17.1.zip
or
CF-Root-XX_OXA_JPU-v1.3-BusyBox-1.17.1.zip

which one is more suitable?

This post has been edited by glitzz: Jan 20 2011, 04:21 PM
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 04:40 PM

48 posts

thanks thanks thanks...i just complete flashing with speedmod kernel...now trying to activate the root from recovery mode....

ha...thanks kmrdeva...now i got it...i will try to do the update now...

Added on January 20, 2011, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(Crossover @ Jan 20 2011, 04:39 PM)
that is really crazy to download the papago map 110103... take forever!
haha...it took me half a day to finish download...patient ba~~~

This post has been edited by glitzz: Jan 20 2011, 04:44 PM
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 05:00 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Jan 20 2011, 04:47 PM)
Dude, if u managed to flash with speedmod, u are already in CWM, ie the green wording in recovery mode. Therefore u do not need the update.zip
ha....thanks for pointing out...i got into CWM mode now...so means i can install darky's rom from there rite?by applying the update.zip file onto my SDCard...??

glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 05:07 PM

48 posts

just wonder in CWM there is 2 types of backup..one is data and another one is backup all...wat is the diff ar??

if I backup adi how can I replace/copy out from my internal SD card??
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 05:25 PM

48 posts

OIC...so for Darky's Rom we noneed to change the fine name to update??just go to select tht file and install tht's it??

Added on January 20, 2011, 5:26 pmbro...im on XXJPP baseband now...do you think I need to update to XXJPY before i flash Darky's Rom??

This post has been edited by glitzz: Jan 20 2011, 05:26 PM
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 05:45 PM

48 posts

woots....thanks to all the Shifu...gonna try the Darky's Rom soon...downloading....

Thanks Thanks Thanks....
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 05:48 PM

48 posts

downloaded the non-wipe version...sked it will crash...so now downloading the wipe version...hehe...
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 05:48 PM

48 posts

i wanna start with a brand new rom....start fresh fresh...haha....
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 06:02 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Jan 20 2011, 05:51 PM)
I hope u have already backup all ur apps huh... cos wipe mean all ur data will gone after installation.
i was wondering what is the different with "backup data" and "backup all" selection in CWM??or is there any other better backup software i can use??

Thanks thanks....
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 06:09 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Jan 20 2011, 06:06 PM)
not sure about that. there are 2 backup apps you might want to try

1) Titanium Backup
2) My Backup

both requiring root access
Okie...i will try the Titanium Back up then...seems very popular~~~ and i adi root from CWM just now...

SpeedMod is really smoothen my phone...no more laggish feel....

Thanks to all the ShiFu here once again....
glitzz
post Jan 20 2011, 06:15 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Jan 20 2011, 06:10 PM)
Data : mean all ur apk (apps) and it datas

backup all : mean data plus system files, ie those setting...

I used mybackup pro to backup apk and datas, not system. As i experienced before that when i restore the system as well, the old firmwares system clash with the new firmwares. Since then, whenever i change a new ROM, i will manually set up the system again, ie sound, sms setting, web setting, apn.
OIC...so i just need to backup data lo....coz i hardly do any settings in my phone and i just need to backup my apk files and my contacts....

Thanks....

0.0441sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:59 PM