Dust management

TSBoomeraangkid
post Jan 10 2011, 12:35 PM, updated 15y ago

Behind You
2,696 posts

guys, i would like to ask any of you with a full tower casing or HAF-X, how do you clean the filters and inside of the casing? considering its really heavy to bring out from your room/hall to the garage/porch to spray with compressed air, any other alternatives? i was wondering if CyberClean could do the job?
jeopardise
post Jan 10 2011, 05:55 PM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

I clean once a month.

The air in KL is very polluted. My fans will easily turned black (if it is not black). I filter intake air channel using sponge and this part attracts more dust and particles.

Usually I will brush to clean the case fans and surrounding. I won't wait until they are so thick and hard to remove.

Cyber Clean won't be enough IMHO.
jpoption
post Jan 10 2011, 08:25 PM

71 posts

agree! manually clean up!!!
TSBoomeraangkid
post Jan 10 2011, 10:34 PM

Behind You
2,696 posts

but i have a casing which weighs about 16kg with nothing in it and around 30kg with all my hardware in it. its gonna be hard to bring it out of my room?
jeopardise
post Jan 11 2011, 10:39 AM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Jan 10 2011, 10:34 PM)
but i have a casing which weighs about 16kg with nothing in it and around 30kg with all my hardware in it. its gonna be hard to bring it out of my room?
Ask help from you parent to help you. Your friends might just a call away to assist you with the heavy lifting.

I don't think you are living alone in an island, don't you? hmm.gif
sleep_snore
post Jan 11 2011, 12:38 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Jan 10 2011, 10:34 PM)
whats with the weight?

i think heaviest full tower was about 5 kg..
Embrangle
post Jan 12 2011, 12:54 PM

353 posts

Humm can use vacuum cleaner to vacuum inside the cpu ? i think just brush dust off the any circuit board and vacuum the fan
dan137
post Jan 12 2011, 02:24 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(Embrangle @ Jan 12 2011, 12:54 PM)
Humm can use vacuum cleaner to vacuum inside the cpu ? i think just brush dust off the any circuit board and vacuum the fan

i use this to clean my CM690 internal and external. whistling.gif

Jinster
post Jan 12 2011, 03:13 PM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

if there's a brush type or/and a small tip to go through the case and etcetera then it'll work tongue.gif
i also use a vacuum cleaner lol
Toast_Me
post Feb 22 2011, 01:08 AM

86 posts

do cleaning every weekend , use hairdryer =D
SiIverStar
post Feb 22 2011, 08:46 AM

Alone~Decent
988 posts

QUOTE(Toast_Me @ Feb 22 2011, 01:08 AM)
do cleaning every weekend , use hairdryer =D
after use this method pls neutral ur pc with touch ur casing with hand.make sure no power is on.
Jet23sky
post Feb 22 2011, 04:44 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Those handheld vacuum cleaner is not powerful enough to pull out the dust. Best is to wipe it using cloth. ( with a dip of water ). But it does take some times doing it. wink.gif
cebi
post Feb 22 2011, 06:00 PM

114 posts

yeap,im also using hairdryer to blow away the dust
riedz90
post Feb 22 2011, 11:55 PM

123 posts

its dangerous if use blower to clean mobo / proc area? sad.gif
i plan want to buy blower next month to clean my rig..
so, nid sifu2 tell me which part that dont use blower when cleaning interior.. icon_question.gif
speedhunter
post Feb 26 2011, 12:45 PM

!!!!!
881 posts

QUOTE(sleep_snore @ Jan 11 2011, 12:38 PM)
whats with the weight?

you are absolutely wrong~
Vervain
post Feb 26 2011, 04:39 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Yeah, mine weights more than 17kg. Luckily it comes with wheels. I just vacuum the outer mesh only. Did once on taking out each sponge filer, very time consuming
speedhunter
post Feb 28 2011, 08:34 AM

!!!!!
881 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Feb 26 2011, 04:39 PM)
Yeah, mine weights more than 17kg. Luckily it comes with wheels. I just vacuum the outer mesh only. Did once on taking out each sponge filer, very time consuming
agree a lot with you. even though its removable dust filter, but its not easy to remove. something like on silverstone raven or FT02 and Corsair 600T should be wonderful. and i wonder how to clean the top dust filter, the steps involve is ridiculous
Nosferatu
post Mar 2 2011, 04:40 AM

308 posts

30kg also need to cry heavy haish..

QUOTE(riedz90 @ Feb 22 2011, 11:55 PM)
its dangerous if use blower to clean mobo / proc area? sad.gif
i plan want to buy blower next month to clean my rig..
so, nid sifu2 tell me which part that dont use blower when cleaning interior.. icon_question.gif
Blowers or compressed air cans isnt dangerours to your mobo/proc and because its pushing and not sucking in air your dont have to place the nozzle so near to electrical like you do with vacuum cleaners

Only the vacuum cleaners are dangerous especially if you use the brush attachment because they create static. Even without the brush attachment, there is still a chance for static to build up around the plastic intake nozzle of the vacuum. Statics fry your pc's electrical components.

When using a blower, even with compressed air can, use something(your finger, toothpick, wahtever) to stop your pc fans from spinning at very high speeds. Speed exceeding the fan's limit will spoil it..thats to say, you fan will still work but its gonna be noisy ;p
huzzLEE_82
post Mar 7 2011, 04:41 PM

MHaF
1,301 posts

my Cosmos 16.9kg unoccupied...very gud for biceps training..hahaha
on cleaning part...i may suggest manual cleaning..
dry cloth/brush with few head types/damp cloth for surfaces without circuits....
lichyetan
post Mar 7 2011, 04:44 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(sleep_snore @ Jan 11 2011, 12:38 PM)
whats with the weight?

are you sure ???? non alu, steel + plastic full tower can be 5kg... ???

0.0213sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:39 AM