Headphones Jaben Malaysia v3, The Most Complete M'sia Headphone Store

butthead
post Jul 30 2012, 04:02 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Jul 25 2012, 05:38 PM)
Well currently nop as westone price are stiff. But I can do you some bundles. Anything else you are eyeing at?
ehh... how come i no get special bundle when i got my westone??? why got special treatment to other ppl? not fair bro... gonna komplain kuat kuat mad.gif

jus jokin tongue.gif

This post has been edited by butthead: Jul 30 2012, 04:05 PM
butthead
post Jul 31 2012, 11:17 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(aztoiozalan @ Jul 30 2012, 06:04 PM)
@butthead : dun like that bro, people forget and make mistake all the times, pardon it, besides the most brightest side to look at it, we have a shop which allows us and intro us to all these gems n poisons , if nt, hmm t
haha... was jokin la... was too excited to get it at that time that nothing else matters... not even the MPSJ officer issuing a summon to my car parked downstairs...

QUOTE(walabies @ Jul 30 2012, 10:51 PM)
Cos u din ask for it ma...
ok, my bad cry.gif

next time i jus die die ask for a bundle even when i am buying jus a pair of shure olives...
butthead
post Aug 1 2012, 05:02 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Jul 30 2012, 11:17 PM)
Hmm, yeah, I know besides Portatube, you can try the Martini+
how about the martini against the vest+? just as standalone amp against amp?

vest+ against the D12? both has dual wolfson wm8740 DACs? but the D12 has more input options than the vest+... interested to know since i am about to invest in one...
butthead
post Aug 9 2012, 12:41 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(nicholostan @ Aug 8 2012, 07:31 PM)
I need a  ba iem which is better than shure se 535...

Thinking for a upgrade
already 535 still want to upgrade?

next level would be custom IEMs...no point lingering around the universal fit level already... give their 8BA Heir Audio 8.A a try la...

16BAs on both earpieces...
butthead
post Aug 9 2012, 12:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Aug 9 2012, 12:53 PM)
instead of a ba IEM, you can also consider reshelling, a leap forward upgrade with current unit
there is a bit of some risk with re-shelling a unit from another brand...
butthead
post Aug 9 2012, 01:07 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Aug 9 2012, 01:00 PM)
everything has a risk, regardless a headphone or IEM or custom or even electrical cables
it's the owners decision on risk measurement... the only problem is that... he won't know what to expect out of the reshelling...

while if he gets a custom IEM...albeit more expensive.. he can at least have a try if there is one and see if the sound suits his personal tastes before laying out the dough...
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 09:34 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(nicholostan @ Aug 14 2012, 11:35 PM)
For now, I'm  quite busy and doesn't have suitable time to try on the headphones but based on reviews....

My preference is clear vocal...huge soundstage...tight bass...clarity mids....and good isolation...Closed back or open back will not be a problem...

Budget around 200 - 300
If the headphone is over the budget....ill take it as a recommandation for further trying ...xdd...
Thanks for your help...
dude... everyone is busy... it's no point reading reviews because what sounds right to one person might not sound the same to you...

if you have time to sit down sift through reviews of that much headphones... i guess, you have an hour or two to spend auditioning them...

reviews can be a base for narrowing down your preferred list of options.. but never for final selection...same like you won't buy a car without actually seeing, sitting and driving one and base it on reviews and pictures on websites rite?

don't do something you'll regret.. being it a 300 or 3000 set of cans...
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 06:10 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(nicholostan @ Aug 16 2012, 05:59 PM)
Thanks for the advice...

For now I'm in Ipoh and I hardly find any headphones store to try those awesome cans around....

Its quite a big headache to me...haiz... sweat.gif
come down to KL when you have time... the good thing is Jaben is open on the weekends as well and to quite late in the evening....
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 10:05 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Aug 16 2012, 09:13 PM)
Such a huge amount of replies to do. I just came back from HK AV show smile.gif
you went too?

heard the people who went had to lineup for a whole hour just to buy tickets...
butthead
post Aug 19 2012, 02:14 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Aug 18 2012, 12:17 AM)
We are Jaben  blush.gif
Impressions coming soon.
that's so unfair sad.gif

well, i am not the ones lining up... can't complain that much biggrin.gif
butthead
post Aug 21 2012, 10:54 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Aug 20 2012, 05:56 PM)
Wow so many requirements... I afraid cannot fulfill all le...
haha... thought you are going to be posting this thing that you guys put up on your FB page...

butthead
post Aug 23 2012, 09:48 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(blue16 @ Aug 21 2012, 09:40 PM)
come on dude  sweat.gif
u noe the reason once u saw the word " swap "
btw, fortunately i didn't buy it  icon_rolleyes.gif
like that.. you are looking for water fish jer...

it'll be better that you have ommited the "i didn't buy it" in the first place...

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Aug 21 2012, 09:17 PM)
the plastic recycling center accepts all plastics, send it there to recycle, good price for it yoo XD
QUOTE(noobandroid @ Aug 21 2012, 09:52 PM)
haha, just messing with you tongue.gif
mess with him you did...

QUOTE(eikozai @ Aug 22 2012, 10:40 PM)
I'm actually in dilemma of choosing between Shure Se535 and Westone 4. I'm fulfilling my dream to be an audiophile, and would like you people(audiophile) to guide me and suggest me good in-ear earphones beside this two so I could have wider range of choice.

Using iPod touch 4G currently and been using the stock earphone for 1 year plus. Thinking to upgrade.

Jaben available for audition or not for this 2?
agree with the guys... go and audition it first... you might read that the 2 sounds almost similar based on reviews... but with my ears, i felt the 535 is a bit more neutral warmish sort of feeling while the westone 4 is more analytical sounding... but then, it depends on your source as well as you will need to pair them up... the UM series might sound a bit more closer to the 535 in my opinion...

it depends on which you prefer at the end of the day...

spec wise, the 535 is a triple driver while the W4 is a quad driver...both 3-way crossovers i believe...

price wise, i believe the 535 is a couple hundred cheaper than the westone 4 with removable cable...it's quite a big upgrade for apple stock earphone brows.gif get the removable cable version for westone in case you itchy to get some upgrade cables later on... westone 4 also comes with a 1010 sized pelican case too brows.gif

QUOTE(KenDiriwan @ Aug 22 2012, 11:09 PM)
Not sure how did you came to be in dilemma without listening to them first?
the usual, the dilemma most probably came from reading online reviews...haha

QUOTE(KenDiriwan @ Aug 22 2012, 11:30 PM)
Bro you really know how to give suggestion !  laugh.gif
poison you meant?

butthead
post Aug 24 2012, 10:18 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Aug 23 2012, 02:10 PM)
Haha.. u're right. I've been reading online reviews to gain the technical information. Ur poison oso not bad huh~ Haha..

Let me make a visit to jaben this weekend and test them out with 1 or 2 of my favourite songs biggrin.gif
i am not poisoning... just stating the fact for the latter part of my statement...

QUOTE(KenDiriwan @ Aug 23 2012, 10:03 PM)
Look for Choon Beng/Jeff/Yuheng. But the first two name mentioned will make bubbles come out from your mouth.
i thought vomit rainbow?
butthead
post Aug 24 2012, 03:29 PM

593 posts

PCWork is like Steve Jobs... launch iPhone 4... then spread rumor of iPhone 5, while people wait impatiently.. launch iPhone 4s to troll them...

5 weeks down the road.. he is going to launch something crazier again..
butthead
post Aug 25 2012, 12:28 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Aug 24 2012, 09:52 PM)
There is a rumour about something call Hippo Biscuit... anyone know about it? brows.gif
isn't that an mp3 player...you hinting somethin?

QUOTE(PcWork @ Aug 25 2012, 12:18 AM)
dun say like that...
this legato-C is cheaper version than Legato-S
cause Silver version price is higher, my original intention is to come out one higher price range, cost no object cable (Legato-S; silver), then one share similar design, similar workmanship, similar house sound with cheaper price, and slightly different sound characters, which in this case Legato-C; copper..
its different stuff at all, from what i tested in jaben and pre-test in my house for months, they are excel in different matchings. but overall my personal preference for HD650 matching, Legato-S is still better..
was jokin.. at least you made something more affordable while still have the quality sound and attention to detail on the product...

was considering the S.. at least my wallet will be happier with a more affordable one : )
butthead
post Aug 26 2012, 04:13 PM

593 posts

thanks for the slight heads up on how the respective cable sounds... i've known that the silver core cables will sound slightly brighter due to better conductance compared to copper...

but out of curiosity, even with oxygen free copper cables does the copper cables have any worry with oxidation? i've seen in the HT arena that people still try to cut and re-crimp their cables every 6or so months... to prevent oxidation to exposed parts of the cables...

definitely worth a looker...
butthead
post Aug 27 2012, 09:30 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Aug 26 2012, 10:40 PM)
actually, within that copper cable, it is coated with protective layer. so the cable itself won't really oxidise over time as long as its protective layer were not scratched or damaged. So, the part that possibly expose to air will be the termination location. in such, i had carefully terminate it in such a way that there's no exposed area, then the soldering pin were treated to further reduce it's chances of oxidisation.

Usually people will consider crimp plug to sound better as it doesn't have lead add in which slow down the conductivity of signal. as well add in sound coloration. But no matter how tight u crimp the plug, it can't be done in such a way that it's air tight. so every 6 months or so, if the oxidisation become serious, then they have to re-terminate it.
But this doesn't happen to soldering plug, as the lead were melted in high temperature and it can very very significantly reduce air contact to the conductor as well as the plug itself. However, how well it is executed may depend on workmanship of cable maker itself. Other than that, the quality of lead will become crucial in order to avoid the negative impact to the sound. that's why in my cable series such this legato, the lead were audiophile grade soldering lead which contain silver to reduce its negative impact to the sound. and the price for this soldering lead is about 12 times more expensive than usual soldering lead we can obtain from pasar road.

after all i do consider this factor before, that's why i go for soldering it with highest quality lead i can find, in order to avoid oxidisation, as well as getting best possible sound that i could do. of course there's still compromise. but i already try hard to get best from both world.
so, it's most likely that the copper cable construction is similar to the copper ones where the silver is actually a core coiled around by finer strands of cable on the outer layer... that's good to know...

great technical considerations... bolsters my confidence towards your hand soldered cables smile.gif

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 27 2012, 09:34 AM
butthead
post Aug 27 2012, 11:48 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Aug 27 2012, 10:08 AM)
Martini is a little to big right?
as in size?

i think most of the govibe models, magnum, vest, and martini is more or less similarly sized..

you can go for hippo cricri and some of the fiio models or i think there is a govibe mini box if sizing is a concern for you.. sound might not be on par though...
butthead
post Aug 29 2012, 02:27 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Aug 27 2012, 09:39 PM)
Better amp? Meier audio Stepdance v 2 for instance?
that is one expensive portable isn't it... purely an amp only...

QUOTE(nicholostan @ Aug 28 2012, 08:16 PM)
Oo...what does it improve ....can pm me??
it's actually best to go audition it yourself... once someone tells you how something sounds... it gets sort of embedded in your mind and you consciously go look for those characteristics when auditioning it... this way, they sort of half-sold you the thing even before you get to analyze how it sounds on your own... sort of clouding your judgement...

not saying that walabies is wrong or un-ethically trying to coax you to buy it in any way... but it's how the process should work..
butthead
post Aug 29 2012, 02:41 PM

593 posts

i am not saying it is expensive as in overpriced expensive...

understanding that unit means that the majority of the money goes purely into building a quality amplification circuit... and not cutting a portion of the production cost and split it towards DAC and USB receiver... by adding on more features...

it will be a massive improvement to his tin box cricri... no doubt.. but maybe... there might be a middle ground unit that offers 80 odd percent improvement of the Stepdance to his cricri... but at 50-60% of the price... that might be tempting as well isn't it? unless he is trying to achieve perfection in his setup...

which explains why he should go and listen and decide for himself rather than asking people to describe to him how it sounds... because personal opinions and meanings lost in translation is a major factor when this happens...

0.0543sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:30 PM