English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 30/01 Southampton v Man Utd | 01:15 ESPN

nando
post Jan 10 2011, 09:20 AM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Jan 10 2011, 08:59 AM)
What I hate about most Liverpool fans is their holier than thou attitude.

We are arrogant fine, they were also arrogant with their come back when you have 18 thingy. But we never said Utd fans were saint. All fans given the circumstances will be arrogant if their team sustain many years of excellence. I bet 40 - 30 years ago Liverpool fans are arrogant given tier dominance in the football scene.
interesting you brought up an example of 30-40 years ago.. i was there...(not 40 but perhaps 30..) yes, Liverpool fans were a proud bunch then...(proud is not = arrogance by the way)
(who wont, especially when the club you supported basically swept every major trophy).

Back then, following football was different..no internet, no forums, no mass circulation of rumours...the only time 2 different set of fans will meet is during match days, in front of an old Quntrix colour tv....after match, we took about 30 minutes bullying the losers and then we disappear..until the next live match...(which may take another 1-2 months time...). I have relatives who are die hard Frank Stapleton, Jesper Olsen fans...but we only provoke each other during match days...

nowadays, very different....before match.....you have all the tweets, facebook, forum....during match itself also got fans go into forum and continue to comment/blast each other....after match, the comments are even spicier.... my MU nephews, before match already provoke me with facebook, during match, already SMS me telling me my team will kena belasah...after the match more provoking....(cilaka...nanti tak bagi duit Raya baru tahu....hehehe)

Not starting a war here but just sharing to the younger ones...dulu lain, sekarang lain..

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 10 2011, 09:20 AM
nando
post Jan 10 2011, 09:24 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Jan 10 2011, 09:21 AM)
sudah kena  rclxms.gif
see what i mean? 30 years ago...this (a professional footballer posting funnies on the net) will never happen....

Times have really change..i also getting into this habit already...

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 10 2011, 09:26 AM
nando
post Jan 10 2011, 09:34 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Jan 10 2011, 09:30 AM)
no offense nando, time might have change trends and people but some still remains the same and classy. it is a choice. it is always a choice. my 2cents really.
of course...there are classy and decent fans with characters out there....Just that in forums, the whole jungle will meet....

Added on January 10, 2011, 9:37 am
QUOTE(state of abyssmal @ Jan 10 2011, 09:31 AM)
ok, now we are blaming the technology  laugh.gif
yes, last 30 years ago there were no fb, forums or what so ever place to be a keyboard warrior.
we went to friends / relatives house and watching the match together.
good old days... game between pahang and selangor (out of EPL pulak tongue.gif) , when all the friends and family sit together and start shouting and mocking each other. haha  biggrin.gif
not BLAMING la....just saying the way it is...

i got few senior friends..from the golden days... who wanted to join forums and participate in footie discussions...mahu ikut trend youngsters...

i told them to stay away.. and go for a jog..better for the heart...LOL

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 10 2011, 09:37 AM
nando
post Jan 10 2011, 09:52 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Jan 10 2011, 09:38 AM)
oh well. on the bright side, you lots got your wishes in getting daglish to manage again. pity tho, i know that most of us, united fans would love to see woy manage for a longer time. LOL.
You probably understand what Dalglish means to us...he is to Liverpool what Cantona is to you guys. And even more because he also succeeded as a manager. Being the last gaffer to win the title for us and did it with beautiful football as well.....and dont forget....Fergie started his empire after Dalglish left Liverpool....so its almost like an unbelievable script...you can understand why many of us are excited..

of course, we will now take banters from rival fans (we're going the Newcastle way, we are still living in the past, etc, etc). We dont have a choice really....Whether Kenny's appointment is more of a romantic thing or realistic thing, its remains to be seen. Trust me, there is even a debate among Pool fans if he should come back....But now, majority feels that he has to step in.

Worse that can happen? the slide continues, and Kenny's status will be blemished, especially to the younger fans. But then, it looks like Kenny is willing to risk it. He believes he has unfinished tasks for Liverpool.

I forsee something trickier. What if Kenny leads Liverpool to do well in Europa and we finish a decent top 6 this season? He will want the job permanently. And half of Anfield will want to give him another season. But what if NESV managed to persuade the likes of Rijkaard/or any young coach to come to Liverpool by then? Tough choices..

anyway, better stop this. Not normal for Pool fans to discuss Pool matters here.. As i always told my MU relatives after sitting next to them to watch a match...`i gotta go now and soap myself 10 times'..(just a joke okay)

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 10 2011, 09:54 AM
nando
post Jan 10 2011, 12:46 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Jan 10 2011, 12:32 PM)
If I am a Liverpool supporter, Dalglish back to managing Liverpool is big no no to me. It could backfired.

Added on January 10, 2011, 12:43 pmRegarding the sent off, I failed to comprehend how ppl can say it's not a red card! Look at the replay. Carrick got the ball first, and then came Gerrard with a two footed tackle. Look at the direction of the ball.
like any managerial appointment, there are risks. Kenny's appointment is unique due to the times and seasons Liverpool are in. But like i said, maybe not best place to discuss here. Come over to Pool's thread and have a chat if you're interested. Cannot guarantee you 100% friendly lovely replies but i can guarantee you there are some knowledgeable and reasonable fellas there that will participate.
nando
post Jan 10 2011, 01:23 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Jan 10 2011, 12:53 PM)
Haha. I dun think it's a good idea to post in Liverpool thread at the moment. I'll pass. But tell me, when Dalglish took over as a player-manager from Fagan, the club is doing well, no?
the club was doing well but then, that also add into the pressure for Dalglish to do a good job. At that time, most fans were not expecting instant success. First time manager, and as player manager some more.

Imagine if Fergie were to step down right now and Giggs come in as player manager. I am sure the pressure to replicate the success will be there. But i am sure you guys will be very forgiving to him. That was exactly how we felt when Kenny stepped in. We thought he'll need time to learn and as long as he makes us competitive, we should be okay. NEver in our wildest dreams he brought us instant success.

The 2 other important thing about Kenny is he replaced aging Liverpool stars with fantastic players. And he introduced a very European like, passing football. You need to be a Liverpool fan to see all these for yourself.

So in short yes, the club was doing well but some players need to be replaced. Also the appointment was quite drastic as Fagan was doing very well. So, it was not an easy job, even back then.

nando
post Jan 10 2011, 01:29 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ Jan 10 2011, 01:13 PM)
to me daglish is a stop go solution. i told my friend before the owners will use daglish to take care of the club till next season cos its pointless to bring in the new manager now at mid way and mid crisis and it will only cost a lot of money to resolve

by putting in daglish the owners can delay the massive rebuilding till next season where they already know what to expect eg. which position they end up with.
It could be

1. too expensive to get a new gaffer now. Maybe no one is available. Expect for Allardayce or O Neil. I think the owners have a foreigner in mind

2. maybe a gaffer has been identified but due to contract obligations/monetary issues, he can only come in next season

3 The owners believe maintaining Roy will cause a momentous slide to Championship football.

4. Someone like Kenny is available, and he offered himself.

Like i said, the tricky part is if 1 and 2 is true, and suddenly Kenny lead the club to an amazing Europa Cup run, play some pretty football and we finish top 6. (dont laugh, but as Duke pointed out, Kenny is capable of doing this). He is NOT Kevin Keegan when it comes to management.

Then what will the owners do? go ahead and bring in a new man despite Kenny's rising popularity?

nando
post Jan 10 2011, 01:35 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 10 2011, 01:15 PM)
No point prolonging the discussion on both highly publicised incidents. A colleague of mine who is a manc thought it wasn't a penno but there you go, opinions are dime a dozen and we all have our own.

I chose to focus on this issue since you appear genuinely interested. You are right, the club was doing well when Dalglish was player-manager but it had been doing well since Shankly. Its why even though Paisley has the most trophies, the fans still embrace our past and revere Shankly. Having said that, Dalglish was responsible for the signings of John Barnes, Alan Hansen, Peter Beardsley, John Aldridge, Ronnie Whelan, Steve McMahon, Mark Lawrenson and Steve Nicol. When I became a fan, these were names we were synonymous with. He may have rode on the wave of success but it isn't as though he didn't build on the team. One ignorant mate of mine claimed he was dismissed by the club. Rubbish. He chose to leave after the events at Hillsborough and after having to attend numerous funerals along with other Liverpool greats.

At Blackburn, he got them promoted to the Premier league, was given some cash by Jack Walker and a couple of years later he won the Premiership.

He was less successful with Newcastle, finishing runners-up in his 1st season and only a dismal 13th the next. Few (with the exception of Newcastle fans) will remember however that in that same season, they beat Barcelona in the Champions League and got to the final of the FA Cup, losing to Arsenal. He also signed the likes of Nobbie Solano, Shay Given and Gary Speed.

His credentials as a manager however aren't why we're overjoyed at the moment. For me, its nostalgic. When I first became a fan, Dalglish was on the sidelines barking orders. Also, his appointment means that players like Gerrard and Carra who have become very vocal in the dressing room, will be put in their respective places because neither are bigger than King Kenny. Him returning and seeing the old Boot Room in action again will also boost morale amongst both the players and the fans and the "Holy Trinity" will once again come together. It is always being said that we live in the past but I think one needs to draw a distinction between living in it, and remembering it. We look upon our past with a lot of pride, and if the past can help us through trying times, and help the fans renew their passion, then whats wrong? No new manager will command the respect Kenny does and I think NESV saw all this. It was a strategic move on their behalf I believe, to revive the camaraderie within the city and to position themselves in the heart of Liverpool fans. We needed a quick fix if we are to salvage what we can from the season and like many other Liverpool fans, I think Kenny is the answer.

Since you don't want to take any stick back on our thread, I thought filling you in here was worth whatever stick I'll get.
I am not trying to act like a dinosaur and promote Liverpool's history but you really gotta be a fan to remember those moments. The instant rapport between Barnes and Beardsley, the magnificent football, the introduction of small names like Nicol, Whelan who became such vital cog of a glorious team. The funniest thing for me was `How do you replace the legendary Ian Rush?' Kenny bought a player from lowly Oxford that even look like Ian Rush. And believe it or not, at one point, John Aldridge made us forgot who Ian Rush was!!

To summarise, many Pool fans do not see Kenny as a romantic Ice-aged way to solve the modern sickness of Liverpool football (the divisive dressing room, over paid players, American owners, etc, etc). But rather, we see him as the man of the hour, having all the credentials to actually nail these (or some of them) problems head on.

Several seasons ago, when Fergie was struggling to win anything, a hard-core MU fan told me that he feels some younger MU fans are becoming more impatient, calling for Fergie's head despite what he did to the club. He told me that maybe its good for MU to go through a hardtime like Liverpool, so that the fans will learn and appreciate history. Not sure if you guys will like it but we're going through it now.

Added on January 10, 2011, 1:36 pm
QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 10 2011, 01:32 PM)
Lets take this back to the LFC thread guys. The majority here won't quite appreciate the current discussion. And god knows we do need a lively, intelligent conversation back on our end, the thread's been going downhill for a while now.
point taken too.

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 10 2011, 01:38 PM
nando
post Jan 10 2011, 02:53 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(tatabun @ Jan 10 2011, 02:30 PM)
glory hunters ? i think this term best to fit the two blue clubs. while we are here dreaming and getting an orgy towards the players that we could not afford and would not buy, those clubs on the other hand are having their shopping spree of their liking (especially the team with a lighter blue color) and the darker blue club won the league ffs last leason! oh wait, are you talking about past achievements that made us all a glory hunter? i think some other club in red had won more CL compared to us.  we utd supporter a glory hunter you call? best revise back the term.
some of us here might be a one liner freak most of the time including myself but that does not tell whether you are a glory hunter or not. its just that most of the time what are you about to mention have been already posted and discussed ample of times. whats the point then
bang...mana ada glory hunters at Liverpool anymore? we havent tasted glory for long time already...... tongue.gif
nando
post Jan 10 2011, 03:25 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(tatabun @ Jan 10 2011, 03:13 PM)
ffffuuuu nando, as much as i respect your tone and your posts. i cant resist to counter your siggy..

can la....i no problem

you use that and i use this....in end the message we're giving is lets all act with class and dignity okay? hehehe..like a campaign la...

anyway, i changed la..the siggy came out so big sized...not suitable..so i put in avatar

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 10 2011, 03:33 PM

0.0480sec    1.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:13 AM