Sandy Bridge Overclocking V1, 2500K/2600K/2700K | LGA1155 P67.Z68.Z77

zeipher
post Jan 12 2012, 05:58 PM

330 posts

Hi all the sifus here smile.gif I'm planning to build a new pc for myself with the i5 2500k and plan to OC for fun rolleyes.gif . wondering which mobo should i go for? a p67 or z68? i check the difference between both, and I guess I won't be needing the extra from z68. But I don't see much choice with p67 mobo. Any recommendation? Budget ~RM500
zeipher
post May 27 2012, 09:21 AM

330 posts

Hi Sifus,

Am facing a weird scenario here. OC-ed my proc to 4.0GHz with vcore of 1.150V. While running prime95 for awhile, everything looks good and temp max at 60c. But after that, I saw a big increase of temp until 85c and vcore at 1.360V. Kinda worried on the sudden increase of vcore and temp. Is this cause by the CPU LLC? I have the CPU LLC on level 2. Or any other possible cause?

Below is my specs:

i5 2500K @ 4.0GHz at 1.150V
Asrock z77 Extreme4
Seasonic S12MII 620W
2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1333 RAM

This post has been edited by zeipher: May 27 2012, 09:21 AM
zeipher
post May 27 2012, 12:02 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ May 27 2012, 10:40 AM)
The vdrop (vcore increased while on load) is indeed caused by LLC.
Higher LLC level is degradation level
Lower is safer & suitable for 24/7 operation
I'm not sure how ASRock LLC works but you use the LLC level 1 and vcore 1.36v then start start lowering the vcore notch by notch until a stable vcore is determined.
Stress test like prime95 does generate a lot of heat so a good cooler is recommended to prevent overheat issue.
From what I read, Asrock's LLC works the opposite way from the other mobo makers where level 5 nets you the least voltage compensation and level 1 the most. So, you're suggesting to lower down the LLC (Asrock's case, up the level)? Oh, forgot to mention that my temp and voltage only shoots up after the 7th hour of priming. That's why I feel it's a bit weird since for the 1st 7 hours, there is no voltage increase.

As for my cooler, I have 212 Evo with push pull fans.
zeipher
post May 27 2012, 03:02 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ May 27 2012, 12:21 PM)
LLC level which will give you lower vcore (vdroop) at load.
By rights as early as 20s you should see the core temp shoot up to its max (in your case 80c).
Be sure to use the latest prime95 + win7 SP1 and monitor the CPU usage thru task manager, should be full 100% load on all cores.
And next time pls post screenshot of the test to give some hints and info of your claim so that we could discuss further.
Good luck
Ok.
Maybe its the mobo's utility (ASRock eXtreme Tuner) which I use to adjust the fan speed on the fly somehow overwrites my bios OC settings. Will give it another go next weekend.

0.0408sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:21 AM