What is the safe temp for Sandy Bridge ?
My 2700k temperature is touching 90'C when running IBT while Prime95 85'C.
Using Corsair H60
Sandy Bridge Overclocking V1, 2500K/2600K/2700K | LGA1155 P67.Z68.Z77
Mar 20 2012, 05:07 PM
1,972 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang Valley |
What is the safe temp for Sandy Bridge ?
My 2700k temperature is touching 90'C when running IBT while Prime95 85'C. Using Corsair H60 |
Mar 21 2012, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(Mavrix @ Mar 21 2012, 12:59 AM) Thats seems to be quite high.. i supposed u not OC it? Or did u?? OCed 4.6GHz (sig) VCore 1.360~1.368 cpuid reading, I dont think your temp is achievable. Some pages back some guy also achieve same temperature as me using the same cooler. i7 is very much hotter than i5 at same GHz.Might be the base of the cooler not seated perfectly hence the thermal not dissipate nicely through the cooler's.. Or ur cooler not functioning well?? The radiator, fans ect... My i5 never exceed 55-60°C on my Tuniq in full load during prime95, and its OC to 4.5GHZ.. just for sharing.. I'm using push-pull, a 2400rpm high speed ball bearing as push fan. Should I reapply TIM ? This post has been edited by tanghm: Mar 21 2012, 09:32 AM |
Mar 21 2012, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(Mavrix @ Mar 21 2012, 10:35 AM) Ooo yeap sory forgot to look out to ur siggy there.. Already using H60 now, can't be downgrading to air 212+ right ?Well, re-applying TIM should help reduce the heat a bit guess.. Or u might try to use other cooler if u can get one and compare it.. The CM hyper 212+ is a cheaper cpu cooler but have a good reviews on the net.. just to make sure if u have extra ringgit. Can get it below 100 i guess.. Anyway, here is the picture I mentioned some pages back (2600k instead of 2700k). Sorry couldn't find out which page and don't know who is the poster. ![]() This post has been edited by tanghm: Mar 21 2012, 10:41 AM |
Mar 21 2012, 10:54 AM
Found it, he is using H70
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47406541 Custom H20 is the best I know, but for peace of mind and simplicity I went for closed loop sealed H60. |
Mar 22 2012, 04:28 PM
Mar 24 2012, 03:48 PM
My overclock not stable !! Have to increase VCCIO based on the suggestion here http://www.overclock.net/t/1120291/solving...e-read-op-first
I'm priming FFT 1344 now, was getting random 124 BSODs after like 15mins. Now so far so good, almost 1hour already still stable with 1.08125V VCCIO. Question: Is 1.08125 VCCIO safe for everyday use ? |
Mar 24 2012, 05:08 PM
Stable for 1 hour 1344FFT, but hang while loading into battle in Shogun2 zzz !
Mar 24 2012, 06:23 PM
10 rounds of IBT @ Very High completed successfully too.
Mar 24 2012, 09:53 PM
I now know why I play Shogun2 hang, coz I go set 1,2,3 cores active 4.8GHz and 4 cores active 4.5GHz.
Stress test sure pass lah, 4.5GHz nia zzz. If play game it will randomly spike to 4.8GHz where my vcore is not enough. 20 rounds ? 10 rounds also I scare, temp is at 90'C ya know. This post has been edited by tanghm: Mar 24 2012, 09:53 PM |
Mar 25 2012, 11:25 AM
Not necessary, that is unrealistic full load temperature which nobody will use the processory to do that everyday.
On normal usage even CPU intensive game does not exceed 60'C so its fine. Even Folding@Home SMP only hover arounds 80'C |
Apr 2 2012, 12:29 PM
Make sure you have a decent water cooling setup too, no air cooler likes 4.8GHz =.=
I'm more interested to see his full load temperature. My previous instability in Shogun2 game was probably due to Lucid Virtu, now running purely in d-mode and it is completely no crash/hang in game. |
Apr 20 2012, 10:17 PM
I believe there is a Thermal limit being set somewhere. Show us your BIOS setting.
By default, Intel's spec is 95W TDP, meaning if the CPU total power consumption is capped at 95W. If all four cores are active and total power utilised exceeds 95W, it will automatically throttle down the cores and run within the TDP limit. To overcome this, you will need to raise the TDP limit, in ASUS bios this is called CPU Power Management. Becareful though, by lifting the TDP cap, your processor will tend to run hotter. |
Apr 21 2012, 12:06 PM
Friend, read up on Intel Turbo Boost Technology for a better understanding on how this works.
The 3.7GHz Turbo will only work if there is one core utilisation, if 4 cores are utilised all the cores will not go to 3.7GHz, it will go to 3.4GHz instead as per design of not to exceed the TDP. Refer to this image for clearer explanation. http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Intel-...rs.43714.0.html If you were to manually set a Turbo multiplier, this will overwrite the default setting and all four cores will go to the turbo value you specified. This post has been edited by tanghm: Apr 21 2012, 12:08 PM |
Apr 21 2012, 01:57 PM
Try this.
In your screenshot #4, set C3 and C6 to Enabled instead of Auto. *20~30% load is enough to set the processor to kick into 3.4GHz+, try closing all programmes and monitor again under 0~1% load it EIST should kick in and set the processor to 1.6GHz when idle. This post has been edited by tanghm: Apr 21 2012, 02:03 PM |
May 3 2012, 08:27 PM
1.4V at 4.6GHz is too high.
My I7 2700k at 4.6GHz (not I5 2500k) now only runs at 1.33V using Manual Offset +0.060V |
May 6 2012, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(hhoong @ May 4 2012, 06:12 PM) actually what software u use to monitor? ASUS software reports 10'C lower than the actual DTS temp, this is a well known issue for ASUS bios.i use CPUID Hardware Monitor it show 10 degree higher compare to using asus one @_@ i OC to 4.5Ghz full load asus showing 60+ but CPUID Hardware Monitor show 70+ @_@ |
| Change to: | 0.0517sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:32 AM |