Sandy Bridge Overclocking V1, 2500K/2600K/2700K | LGA1155 P67.Z68.Z77

kuekwee
post Jul 11 2011, 09:20 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

I'm new here. I have this i5 2500, now OC to 3.6ghz, i just have normal setup using gigabyte z68x-UD3-B3 and upgraded to slightly bigger fan. What is the safezone to OC?
kuekwee
post Jul 11 2011, 10:49 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

i OCed i2500 to 3.8ghz, just now play starcraft it crash.
kuekwee
post Jul 11 2011, 01:27 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(FiragaZ @ Jul 11 2011, 12:40 PM)
pump more vcore? what's ur temp currently? bro, why dun get urself a i5 2500 "k" last time seems u intend to oc?
normal will do i just OCed for fun...if "k" i scared it will break down easily. Temp around 60C is it normal? 3.6ghz is like 56c only. (when i play sc 2)
kuekwee
post Jul 11 2011, 03:35 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(jeff88rey @ Jul 11 2011, 03:04 PM)
hoho.. yea.. tats y i revert back to SP0 and nw ony 4.2ghz..

Added on July 11, 2011, 3:06 pm
it wont break down easily if u dun OC it too much.. mine at 4.4 load gives me around 60 degrees
4.4 wow..mine max can set to 4.1 only but at 3. 8 crash when play sc2...
kuekwee
post Jul 11 2011, 04:13 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

if there any tested setting that i can follow tongue.gif
kuekwee
post Jul 11 2011, 06:02 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 11 2011, 05:03 PM)
r u sure u running it at 4.1Ghz? non-K cpu?
no way u can increase ur bclck that high

screenshot pls
i didn't do it but it allow me to do max 4.1ghz..I only try 3.9ghz game crash.

BTW, CPU 73C normal or bad?

This post has been edited by kuekwee: Jul 11 2011, 06:41 PM
kuekwee
post Jul 11 2011, 06:48 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Jul 11 2011, 06:43 PM)
u should try run Linx atleast 20 loop...if pass then u can consider ur OC is stable...
not just upping the multi n add a vcore....
2500 is hardly stable at high clock speed...thats why we have a "K" version...
I run prime95 for quite sometime. the mother board have option to OCed and set voltage automatically, i just know how to do that lol. Anyway i'm glad i bought the 2500 not the "k" if not i dunno what will happen to my RIG rofl...What is the normal full load temperature? WHat's the limit?

This post has been edited by kuekwee: Jul 11 2011, 06:51 PM
kuekwee
post Jul 11 2011, 07:18 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Jul 11 2011, 07:02 PM)
the TJmax for this proc is 98c iinm...below 90c is nice...
but if  were u i will try to stay below 80c if can...thats a safe spot for me....
what cooler did u use?stock?
i use cooler master with 2 big fan, model hyper n520
kuekwee
post Jul 12 2011, 12:03 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(jeff88rey @ Jul 11 2011, 08:29 PM)
73C at 3.8 is high for me shocking.gif
i already put extra fan but still 73c highest..dunno y
kuekwee
post Jul 12 2011, 01:34 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

Usable at the speed for long hour? Beside core voltage and the multiplier what can u i adjust?

This post has been edited by kuekwee: Jul 12 2011, 01:39 AM
kuekwee
post Jul 12 2011, 02:19 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Jul 12 2011, 01:42 AM)
should be no problem coz thats the highest temp my proc can get on 100% load
in real life even 80% load is hard to utilized...unless u do 24/7 folding....
i need to enable the internal PLL overvoltage and bump some cpu PLL vcore to get it stable at this speed...SP1 really give me headache....

PLL? fuyoh what is that?
kuekwee
post Jul 15 2011, 12:56 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

I OCed i5 2500 3.8Ghz, and GPU. When i play game it black out and restart. Is it bcos CPU or GPU. I run prime no problem...
kuekwee
post Jul 15 2011, 01:39 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jul 15 2011, 01:03 AM)
Did you overclock your GPU and did you measure your temps during gaming? Was it too high or do you have some sample readings? Nowadays passing Prime doesn't necessarily mean it's stable smile.gif
highest i monitor is 87c on my GPU.

0.0527sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:42 AM