AlamakLor
post Aug 28 2011, 07:35 PM

9,856 posts

Observation note on LLC (Line Load Calibration), ROG board
I've been observing LLC's behavior very closely recently and I'd like to share my findings.

- Generally, setting LLC at AUTO will work in most cases. The mobo detects the vdroop very accurately. I noticed that it will generally set your LLC to 75% on auto mode
- Using the following example of my OC - 5ghz, vcore bios 1.375, LCC: AUTO

1) AISuite 2 will show a vcore of 1.368 (0.007) less than actual 1.375.
2) If I lower LCC to 50%, vdroop will occur and it would drop to 1.344. Prime will fail immediately.
3) If I lower LCC to 25%, BSOD will occur immediately
4) If I increase LCC to 100% vcore would go up t 1.400 and fluctuate upwards

Therefore,

LCC @ 75%, BIOS 1.375v, Actual 1.368 = 0.5% error (negative)
LCC @ 100%, BIOS 1.375v, Actual 1.400 = 1.8% error (positive)

I am able to obtain 1.376v by setting BIOS to 1.380 with LCC @ 75%, however LCC fluctuates around 1.368 - 1.376
To obtain the same range of 1.368 - 1.376, I would set LCC @ 100% and Vcore at 1.355.

Summary:
- LCC @ 100% would result in higher Vcore than what was set in Bios
- LCC @ 75% would result in lower Vcore than what was set in Bios
- Either LCC still suffers from the same fluctuation, it's just a matter of setting the Vcore in bios to obtain the same fluctuation range

i.e.

Bios Vcore @ 1.355, LCC @ 100% = Actual Vcore of 1.368 - 1.376
Bios Vcore @ 1.380, LCC @ 75% = Actual Vcore of 1.368 - 1.376

Now, I'm basing this on AISuite's sensor/CPUZ, maybe LCC 100% is actually more accurate if I'd taken measurement with a multimeter.
AlamakLor
post Aug 28 2011, 11:58 PM

9,856 posts

And yet they have "24" voltage regulators
AlamakLor
post Aug 29 2011, 10:57 AM

9,856 posts

After priming and messing around for a while, I think LLC @ 75% is "better" than 100%. The reason is the same as my earlier observation, LLC @ 100% overshoot vcore when cpu is under load. However, with LLC @ 75%, I get a closer vcore of what I set in bios while cpu is under load. Try to stick to 75% for LCC and just work the vcore from there.

I'm currently messing with CPU PLL voltage. Asus' stock PLL voltage is 1.8V. under heavy load I get about 69C. Lowering it by every 0.1V drops CPU temp by 1-3C or so. I am now running 1.6V and CPU temp under load is 61-65C as opposed to 65-69C.

Few guys on the net tested this too and found that PLL voltage doesn't really affect OCability but enabling/disabling PLL overvoltage does. So long that you enable CPU PLL overvoltage, you can lower the actual PLL voltage in order to reduce temperature. So far it seems to be quite true. But I won't know until later. My prime95 blend test failed on core 4 @ 8hours + sweat.gif
AlamakLor
post Aug 29 2011, 03:19 PM

9,856 posts

I'm getting weird shit error with prime. The more I test the quicker I get the errors.

I don't even know whether it is the ram or what not now lol

Added on August 29, 2011, 3:36 pmI have a pair of ram that doesnt automatically register its XMP and I always have to set the timing manually or it defaults to 667 mhz

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 29 2011, 03:36 PM
AlamakLor
post Aug 29 2011, 04:05 PM

9,856 posts

no lar I'm not letting the mobo auto OC

5.1ghz still freaking priming

CPU Vcore: 1.455 (underload 1.448)
DDR Voltage: 1.55 (gave it +0.05)
VCCIO: 1.10 (underload 1.118)
CPU PLL: 1.725 (underload 1.720)

LLC: 75% (ultra high)
Current Protection: 140%
VRM Switching freq: 350
Phase Control: Extreme
PWM Mode: Extreme

If I set LCC to 100% I get vcore of 1.47 and that lasts 8 hours easily.

Ive never gotten BSOD when priming usually if it fails, it's only 4th core that fails. I only get BSOD x101 if I deliberately lower vcore to 1.3x when priming biggrin.gif

I'm doing custom blend now FFT 128 14745 MB Ram. How long do I need to run this? I usually do two sets - 1 x small FFT, 1 x blend. Blend would sometime fail, small FFT never fails

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 29 2011, 04:08 PM
AlamakLor
post Aug 30 2011, 12:58 AM

9,856 posts

6 hours so far

maybe ill just leave it overnight for this time. This is having my ram run at 1333 though

http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/5773/516hrs.jpg

Added on August 30, 2011, 10:06 amFailed prime at 8hr mark again. I woke up and AI Suite was showing 0V on everything. I think AI suite is messed up, I'm now priming without it.

Continued priming at 2048 - 4096.

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 30 2011, 10:06 AM
AlamakLor
post Aug 30 2011, 03:19 PM

9,856 posts

Yeah I keep a small FFT and blend running at the same time.

So I started to prime again from 2048k since 9am this morning. 2048k was where it previously failed. It's been 6 hours since then. So technically speaking I've passed 8 + 6 = 14 hours of priming and I think this time it should not fail again. This is done with AI Suite disabled. I think it's probably better to use RC BT to access TurboV for instant adjustment.

Nanti I see if I can match u gflops or not biggrin.gif btw, why is your temp so high? Is your ambient over 28C? Oh btw, you must have read this too, intel's datasheet for SB on PLL voltage range is 1.71 - 1.9 or something. I know we can run below 1.5V but perhaps it's better to put it at 1.71 at least.

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 30 2011, 03:22 PM
AlamakLor
post Aug 30 2011, 08:34 PM

9,856 posts

KNN I turned off AI and it seems that I have no issue with prime. I even left voltage on Auto in Bios. But auto voltage sets vcore at 1.47V for 5.1 ghz.

Btw, I need to get AX1200 liao, dumping my hx850 in tradezone now. thumbup.gif

Added on August 30, 2011, 8:42 pmOk updated to v26. Re-priming until 8am tomorrow. I'm pretty sure 5.1ghz is stable at 1.465-1.47 this time. I will reduce the voltage and find the optimum setting later on.

Lamptron FC-8 is coming,

8 whopping fans @ 30W each. Now I can completely silent all the GT

Also repainted my Saitek Eclipse 2 to Matte black biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 30 2011, 08:42 PM
AlamakLor
post Aug 30 2011, 09:56 PM

9,856 posts

Yeah I'm on SP1. Once I'm done priming 12hr I'll go join the SB stable club in oc.net then I'd run linX.
AlamakLor
post Aug 31 2011, 05:52 PM

9,856 posts

AI is garbage, just use it to test instant setting for 15-20 mins and if there's no issue, set it in bios and redo the test.

If you are looking at 2500k vs 2600k at this point, I suggest you save the money and get a 2500k, then dump it when IB or 2600k's replacement comes out. Chances are IB for 1155 will get hexacore.

Added on August 31, 2011, 7:28 pmdunno wtf is going on. I've tried all kinds of voltages and settings. I can get prime stable till 8th hour on 1.465 vcore. But I can only get prime stable till 7th hour on 1.496 vcore. I got a feeling prime is messed up and not my OC lol

http://img842.imageshack.us/img842/4697/ibtstable50.jpg

IBT Standard 50 done...but I think this is meaningless, it only used 1024Mb of rams. I'm redoing 10 pass of custom @ 13000MB. I cannot use full mem since I don't have a page file.

Added on August 31, 2011, 8:05 pmDon't know if this is a good idea, the temperature is extremely high on IBT Custom (almost all rams) sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 31 2011, 08:05 PM
AlamakLor
post Sep 1 2011, 01:09 AM

9,856 posts

AC was on sweat.gif I had to remove one side panel to let the coolest air in. Anyway, IBT is really siong sweat.gif I'm gonna prime 5ghz tonight, sien of seeing 7-8th hour fail on 5.1ghz. The chip is getting a little too toasty than I'd like.

On the bright side, I managed to OC both my GPUs to 1000mhz/1455mhz biggrin.gif

http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/5018/3dmarkk.jpg
AlamakLor
post Sep 3 2011, 11:08 AM

9,856 posts

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/36/51...table16gbr.png/

5.1ghz 16gb ram, 12 hour stable biggrin.gif Tonight I will run 5.2 keeping all the settings intact. If fail, I'll find lowest voltage needed for 5.1ghz

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Sep 3 2011, 11:10 AM
AlamakLor
post Sep 6 2011, 12:06 AM

9,856 posts

Open your task manager and find out what's the free ram available. Use up everything but leave about 100mb will do.
AlamakLor
post Sep 6 2011, 01:16 AM

9,856 posts

Yes. First of all you weren't supposed to be doing anything with the PC while priming, although you can. I like to keep a task manager opened so that I can monitor exactly how many MB of free ram left. Also, I tend to keep Asus Suite opened showing all 4 cores so that if one core fails I can quickly notice it.

If you let prime eat up all the rams, it would probably start choking the pc and hdd to death by constantly swapping page file. Also, if you disable page file, you'd not be able to test all the ram as a large chunk would be occupied by pagefile.
AlamakLor
post Sep 7 2011, 12:12 AM

9,856 posts

No clue but let me warn you, you will not stop with just 240mm rad and a cpu block biggrin.gif
AlamakLor
post Sep 8 2011, 02:02 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Sep 6 2011, 10:02 PM)
this my bios template..can you have a look for it which setting i need to change in order to increase my OC

Ai Tweaker
    Ai Overclock Tuner: Manual
    BLCK/PCIE Frequency: 100.0
    Turbo Ratio: By All Cores
    By All Cores: 47
    Internal PLL Voltage: Enable
    Memory Frequency: 1333MHZ
    DRAM Timing Control: 9-9-9-24
    EPU Power Saving MODE: Disabled

Ai Tweaker\ CPU Power Management >
    CPU Ratio: Auto
    Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology: Enabled
    Turbo Mode: Enabled
    Long Duration Power Limit: Auto
    Long Duration Maintained: Auto
    Short Duration Power Limit: Auto
    Additional Turbo Voltage: Auto
    Primary Plane Current Limit: Auto

Ai Tweaker (in the DIGI+ VRM section)
    Load-Line Calibration: Ultra High
    VRM Frequency: Manual
    VRM Fixed Frequency Mode: 350
    Duty Control: Extreme
    CPU Current Capability: 140%
    CPU Voltage: Offset Manual
    Vcore: 1.44Volt
    DRAM Voltage: 1.5V
    VCCSA Voltage: Auto
    VCCIO Voltage: Auto
    CPU PLL Voltage: 1.7V
    PCH Voltage: Auto
    CPU Spread Spectrum: Enabled

Advanced\ CPU Configuration >
    CPU Ratio: Auto
    Intel Adaptive Thermal Monitor: Enabled
    Active Processor Cores: All
    Limit CPUID Maximum: Disabled
    Execute Disable Bit: Enabled
    Intel Virtualization Technology: Enable
    Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology: Enabled
    Turbo Mode: Enabled
    CPU C1E: Enabled
    CPU C3 Report: Auto
    CPU C6 Report: Auto

PM me best price for that procs..in case i want to but can you test/OC first see how the procs capable in overclock.. laugh.gif

what is VID..?? hmm.gif
Looks like you'd done your homework. However, I'd suggest making these changes:

VRM Fixed Frequency Mode: 500
Vcore: 1.51 V
DRAM Voltage: 1.5125V
VCCIO Voltage: 1.15 (1 more step up, I forgot what was the actual voltage)
CPU PLL Voltage: 1.71250
CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled

Advanced\ CPU Configuration >
Intel Virtualization Technology: Disabled

Under CPU Configuration/Control, make sure you enable max power for turbo.

Set multi to 50 and boot in. If it works, start to prime blend with v26 prime95 and keep your fingers crossed. If you cannot pass it, then you need to up vcore or lower your OC.

Added on September 8, 2011, 2:06 pm
QUOTE(jeff88rey @ Sep 8 2011, 01:30 AM)
headache wit this  rclxub.gif
47C with 1% load. your vcore is too high and I doubt you have adequate cooling capacity. Even with my setup and low ambient temp I could hit 90C on IBT, 95% ram.

If you run an IBT your PC will shutdown from thermal protection. You need to upgrade your cooling or keep it back down to 4.x ghz.

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Sep 8 2011, 02:06 PM
AlamakLor
post Sep 8 2011, 08:00 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Sep 8 2011, 06:04 AM)
Aiiiyooo bos  sweat.gif ...is it safe to boot up at 1.51 vcore with CM hyper 212+...??
your configuration really extreme...
anyway, thanks..
I have a spare 212+ with 2 blademasters in push pull and from my experience the HSF is very capable. Don't worry too much about the vcore for now, the real vcore would be 1.48, not 1.51 during load. Monitor the temperature and keep your side panel opened. You wanna find out if it's stable at this speed, if it is, well you can decide to maybe get a H100 with 4 gentle typhoon/blademasters biggrin.gif
AlamakLor
post Sep 8 2011, 10:55 PM

9,856 posts

I'm very very wary of using dplug / multiple rotary to make a joint mainly because you are introducing 10+ x O rings around one area. Any one of them fail, you are SOL laugh.gif I am already concerned over having 2 double rotary above my GPU sweat.gif
AlamakLor
post Sep 8 2011, 10:58 PM

9,856 posts

Well My last core is always hotter than the rest, and always the first to fail. Your first core may be more capable than the rest. You can always reapply the paste but I'm skeptical that It'd help reduce the temp on a particular core
AlamakLor
post Sep 15 2011, 05:30 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Sep 14 2011, 02:46 PM)
Want to ask. I want to lower my current temperature.

BIOS settings:

Ai Tweaker
Ai Overclock Tuner: Manual
BLCK/PCIE Frequency: 100.0
Turbo Ratio: By All Cores
By All Cores: 44
Internal PLL Voltage: Enable
Memory Frequency: 1600MHZ
DRAM Timing Control: 9-9-9-24
EPU Power Saving MODE: Disabled

Load-Line Calibration: Ultra High
VRM Frequency: Manual
VRM Fixed Frequency Mode: 350
Duty Control: Extreme
CPU Current Capability: 140%
CPU Voltage: Offset Manual
Vcore: 1.335Volt
DRAM Voltage: 1.5V
VCCSA Voltage: Auto
VCCIO Voltage: Auto
CPU PLL Voltage: 1.8V
PCH Voltage: Auto
CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled

What else can i do?? I cannot reduce my cpu vcore anymore as it will blue screen.
While this does not answer your question, there's nothing really wrong with your temperature. However, you might wanna use up all your rams to find out exactly what is the temperature you are getting when stress testing. Testing at standard doesn't produce as much heat.

0.0288sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:55 AM