133 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Sandy Bridge Overclocking V1, 2500K/2600K/2700K | LGA1155 P67.Z68.Z77

monsh
post Feb 22 2011, 08:11 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

im getting bad BIOS image file error for both F6 and F7A .
any explanation on this one ?
help me please guys
cry.gif
stasio
post Feb 22 2011, 08:13 PM

18,503 posts

QUOTE(monsh @ Feb 22 2011, 08:11 PM)
help me please guys
cry.gif
Use @BIOS 2.11 and flash in the windows.
http://download.gigabyte.asia/FileList/Uti..._gbt_atbios.exe
TSowikh84
post Feb 22 2011, 08:14 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(monsh @ Feb 22 2011, 08:11 PM)
help me please guys
cry.gif
For F5 bios onwards, pls use the latest @BIOS V2.11
hwbot links there they already said "(use @BIOS V2.10 (?)? if you're flashing from pre-F5 bios: click)"

This post has been edited by owikh84: Feb 22 2011, 08:15 PM
monsh
post Feb 22 2011, 08:19 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

i didnt see that one on hwbot .
flash in windows ?
ergh, last thing i'd do in flashing bios >.<"

UPDATE:

successfully flash bios .
seems like d vdrop quite bad .
hoping that the vDroop won't be so much worst .

anyway, what does internal PLL overvoltage feature does ?
and what is the average vCore for 4.5-4.8ghz ?

this new bios really made it more stable .
couldn't even boot on F4 last time .
this bios could boot up with everything on stock setting .
will try some linX and prime later on .

thanks again for all the guides guys ^^,

This post has been edited by monsh: Feb 22 2011, 08:32 PM
TSowikh84
post Feb 22 2011, 10:04 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(monsh @ Feb 22 2011, 08:19 PM)
i didnt see that one on hwbot .
flash in windows ?
ergh, last thing i'd do in flashing bios >.<"

UPDATE:

successfully flash bios .
seems like d vdrop quite bad .
hoping that the vDroop won't be so much worst .

anyway, what does internal PLL overvoltage feature does ?
and what is the average vCore for 4.5-4.8ghz ?

this new bios really made it more stable .
couldn't even boot on F4 last time .
this bios could boot up with everything on stock setting .
will try some linX and prime later on .

thanks again for all the guides guys ^^,
without internal PLL overvolt ur proc will be limited to 4.7-5.0 GHz only.
but enabling it will hurt S3 sleep/hibernate from waking up.
I always enable it 5.0 GHz onwards, if disabled I got random windows boot issue.
yeah read about the serious vdroop on UD3. with that price no one can complain tongue.gif
vCore depends on chip, my 4.8 HT @ 1.476v load on LinX, but some might get a better chip as low as 1.4v (envy)

- max vCore on air/Water single threaded benchmarks ie. Pi etc.. : 1.6V (short term only not 24/7, risky!)
- max vCore on air with 4C/8T 1.4-1.45v (may vary on speed)
- max vCore on Water with 4C/8T 1.5V (may vary on speed)
- vdimm 1.6-1.65V is fine, also 1.7-1.8V wont fry the chip on air yet
- lower your CPU PLL under 1.8v might be better as compared to the default 1.8v when OC past 5.0 GHz
- if u hv prob running higher dram speed ie. 1866 or 2133 or better timings try adjusting VCCSA between 1.0-1.1v
- VTT depends on chip, some is best doing at stock 1.05v, some need 1.2v etc to successfully boot.
- try loosening dram timings when having issues with high mem speed, specially TRCD and TREF

monsh
post Feb 22 2011, 10:28 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

ok thanks a lot for the info bro .
btw, heard about BIOS reverting to original one after crashing .
mine already happened .
hand itchy trying to boot at 5.0
failed and now bios reverted to F4 .
so now what should i do ?
reflash BIOS to f7a or what ?
and also how to maintain the BIOS if crash ?
TSowikh84
post Feb 22 2011, 10:59 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(monsh @ Feb 22 2011, 10:28 PM)
ok thanks a lot for the info bro .
btw, heard about BIOS reverting to original one after crashing .
mine already happened .
hand itchy trying to boot at 5.0
failed and now bios reverted to F4 .
so now what should i do ?
reflash BIOS to f7a or what ?
and also how to maintain the BIOS if crash ?
stasio advised above, flash the backup BIOS chip as well by pressing ALT-F12 during boot
monsh
post Feb 22 2011, 11:06 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

i tried but nothing pop up .
i tot it was done .
after done some searching saw he said that it will prompt .
btw, now its flashed to original F4 .
so do i have to reflash to f7a ?
or is there a work around to get back d f7a i flashed b4 ?
kevink82
post Feb 22 2011, 11:25 PM

1,134 posts

turn fast boot off and hit alt f12 otherwise it wont flash the backup bios.
monsh
post Feb 23 2011, 12:55 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

doing linX test 50 run for 4.5ghz HT .

vCore 1.4v
vDrop 1.392v
vDroop 1.332v

really crazy vDroop man !
btw, getting 50gFlops on ram stock 1333 cl9 .

normal or low ? any comment guys .

oh btw, y we're playing with ht on ?
aren't ht off better for gaming or something ?
should have gotten better gFlops with ht off . . .
monsh
post Feb 23 2011, 02:32 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

4.5ghz HT on 1.4v BIOS Hyper212+ on 1x Blade Master fan .
other settings all on stock
vDrop 1.392
vDroop 1.332

Bloody hate the vDroop man !

[attachmentid=2057073]
[attachmentid=2057074]

This post has been edited by monsh: Feb 23 2011, 02:33 AM
PenzoilGuy
post Feb 23 2011, 02:36 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(PenzoilGuy @ Feb 22 2011, 03:53 PM)
ok guys this might be noob Question...i have a thought....i want to get
8GB Ram but which setup is better and much more stability interm of OC'ing... (4GBx2pc) or (2GBx4pc)....

OR izzit overrated? just use 4GB (2GBx2pc)?

using win7 64bit and targeted to buy 1600 Mhz or 1800 MHz
the reason why i'm asking this...because each DDR3 channel is 64bit..so if use 2 pair just utilise 128bit...if slot-in all 4 become 256bit Dual-Channel RAM?

So Owikh, Cstkl and Stasio , sifu & tailor please guide me....it bother me quite sometimes now...since most of u guys setup is just 4GB config....

anybody?
emm..
stasio
post Feb 23 2011, 06:39 AM

18,503 posts

QUOTE(monsh @ Feb 23 2011, 02:32 AM)
4.5ghz HT on 1.4v BIOS Hyper212+ on 1x Blade Master fan .
other settings all on stock
vDrop 1.392
vDroop 1.332

Bloody hate the vDroop man !

You can use Vcore=>Normal + DVID
or
please read this thread on XS forum:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpo...94&postcount=24

This post has been edited by stasio: Feb 23 2011, 08:09 AM
TSowikh84
post Feb 23 2011, 07:14 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(PenzoilGuy @ Feb 22 2011, 03:53 PM)
ok guys this might be noob Question...i have a thought....i want to get
8GB Ram but which setup is better and much more stability interm of OC'ing... (4GBx2pc) or (2GBx4pc)....

OR izzit overrated? just use 4GB (2GBx2pc)?

using win7 64bit and targeted to buy 1600 Mhz or 1800 MHz
the reason why i'm asking this...because each DDR3 channel is 64bit..so if use 2 pair just utilise 128bit...if slot-in all 4 become 256bit Dual-Channel RAM?

So Owikh, Cstkl and Stasio , sifu & tailor please guide me....it bother me quite sometimes now...since most of u guys setup is just 4GB config....

anybody?
dual channel is 128-bit, 4 sticks are still 4 channel hence the bus is still 128-bit.
4GBx2 is easier to clock coz populated dram slot (2GBx4) would need more vdimm, vtt and/or loosen timing ie. CL8 to CL9 etc..
Like my GSkill RipjawsX, 2GBx4 needed above 1.7v vdimm, higher vtt for 32M benchable.
unless if loosen timing then only u can tame the voltages.

U might consider Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 4GBx2 1600 8-8-8-24 brows.gif
monsh
post Feb 23 2011, 09:27 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

@stasio

Its a video . Will check out later on . Now in class . Btw hows d vcore + dvid work ?
kevink82
post Feb 23 2011, 10:08 AM

1,134 posts

dvid only kicks in when u r under load so when the clock goes down to 1600 on idle u r drawing default voltage on vcore.

i just got myself a v6gt and throw some f12 fans on it and it turn out great only bout 9 degree higher than my water cooling and got rid of the default fan vacuum cleaner noise lol.
monsh
post Feb 23 2011, 10:29 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

so the vCore will be based on the vID is it ?
and u mentioned clock goes down to 1600 ?
i've disabled all thermal inspection and energy saver features on the system .
kevink82
post Feb 23 2011, 11:48 AM

1,134 posts

then it wont do much i remember it will be 1.35v + offset
PenzoilGuy
post Feb 23 2011, 12:22 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Feb 23 2011, 07:14 AM)
dual channel is 128-bit, 4 sticks are still 4 channel hence the bus is still 128-bit.
4GBx2 is easier to clock coz populated dram slot (2GBx4) would need more vdimm, vtt and/or loosen timing ie. CL8 to CL9 etc..
Like my GSkill RipjawsX, 2GBx4 needed above 1.7v vdimm, higher vtt for 32M benchable. 
unless if loosen timing then only u can tame the voltages.

U might consider Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 4GBx2 1600 8-8-8-24  brows.gif
ok thanks for the advice owikh....now u start to poison me laugh.gif ...so which is equivalent to Corsair Vengence C9...i saw Corsair XMS3 C7 and C9...any other brand such as G.Skill Ripjaw, HyperX and etc.

in scenario, if i take XMS3 C7...so mean i can loosen to C9 to compensate higher vdimm and OC to 1800 or above?

u guys really make me tempted to play with higher frequency RAM because easily u can get LinkX above 54 GFlops even 80++ and i manage to get only 45Gflops..and lower PI... ok this sounda childish, currently im using Corsair Value 1333 4GBx2pc (CMV4GX3M1A1333C9) and tried to get 1600 sweat.gif ..but fail even booting to bios rclxub.gif
billytong
post Feb 23 2011, 12:36 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Hey anyone ever tried on stock setting OC? *say only change multiplier leave everything else stock. using Hyper 212+ here.

How high Mhz on average we can get for 2500k? I know it chip dependent but would like the average number.

May be TS should post this setup in first post or I am missing something? smile.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by billytong: Feb 23 2011, 12:39 PM

133 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:04 AM