11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

MOUNTAIN BIKING HEAVEN V18, ~ALL WE NEEDED IS FOX~

kaizer
post Jan 9 2011, 01:25 AM

60 posts

If everything goes well, hope can join u guys tomolo. Just came bak frm kompani dinner. Tired & drunk now.
kaizer
post Jan 9 2011, 07:12 PM

60 posts

Hi guys, thanks formthe ride today! Nice to meet y'all.

Tongyam, wits ur problem wif ur foxie?
kaizer
post Jan 9 2011, 08:27 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(tongyam @ Jan 9 2011, 08:10 PM)
seal come out and air leaking liau  sweat.gif
Wow! Sounds bad wo? How old is the fork?

NOt that I can afford it, but notice foxie's abit sticky for the initial stroke?

Added on January 9, 2011, 8:31 pm
QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Jan 9 2011, 08:12 PM)
i heard u say the exact same thing to some1's bike just now. laugh.gif
Point taken not to ask Tim ko for bike appraisal. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kaizer: Jan 9 2011, 08:31 PM
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 12:06 AM

60 posts

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-IN/bike-index/

Trance - XC/Trail - HTA @ 69.5 / STA @ 73.5
Reign - AM - HTA @ 67.5 / STA @ 73.5
Faith - FR - HTA @ 66.7 / STA @ 63.0
Glory - DH - HTA @ 65.5 / STA @ 65.7

IMHO, climbing wise, steeper HTA is better than slacker HTA. The front won't wonder off that much. Also the slacker the STA, the further back the weight distribution when seated. The more rear biased, the lighter the front end in relation to the rear end. Bad for climbing.

Also, the more travel there is, the more bob it will behave, considering the same type of suspension linkage design (Maestro), without any sort of platform damping assistance.

And lastly, usually weight will be heavier as well for longer travel bikes. More weight = harder to climb.

Just my two cents.
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 12:34 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(tongyam @ Jan 10 2011, 12:30 AM)
sien liau loh, no bike use for a period again
TY, a good excuse to get another fork for spare... rclxm9.gif

Added on January 10, 2011, 12:41 amSooooo... I wanna get these so I got more powa to follow u all next time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S0umaCioQ1o

This post has been edited by kaizer: Jan 10 2011, 12:41 AM
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 10:13 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(tongyam @ Jan 10 2011, 09:03 AM)
Yo, your frens revelution wan to let go o not?
Nope, but another friend might wanna sell his Sektor Uturn. Interested? brows.gif

QUOTE(bonesboy @ Jan 10 2011, 10:00 AM)
The DH bug have bitten me well on kiara..
so AM bike will be gd enough to tackle those kind of fun ?
Tuan punye Kayu Lebih might be letting go for super cheap, since it's been deflowered? whistling.gif
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 10:50 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(snapshots @ Jan 10 2011, 10:22 AM)
bro...can you please get trance x2 to drop me a pm on what he or his other friend have to let go? Thanks
I've given him the link to the thread liow, but not sure if he register or not. His number is Maksis 3045590. His name is Erik.
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 01:06 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(tongyam @ Jan 10 2011, 11:47 AM)
kaizer, how much he selling?i saw bbs got ppl seling sektor 2011 700 rm, i actually got a sr raidon...but this time the fox fail...hard to give cinfiden to it liau.sumore angah dun give me a replacement unit....niama who said his servis good?
Don't know la bro. If u interested, lemme check wif him & let u know? How much u wan?

Added on January 10, 2011, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(Thermal_Blaster @ Jan 10 2011, 12:56 PM)
brows.gif  ok
oh ya.....
revelation izzit really that bad if compare to fox talas?

& Trance x recomended fork length is 140 mm or 150?  hmm.gif

Fox Talas 2011 110mm - 140mm trave only rite? shocking.gif
In stock form, trance comes with 120mm with the HTA of 69.5. Quite a lot of people change to a 140mm, with an estimated HTA of 68.5?

This post has been edited by kaizer: Jan 10 2011, 01:09 PM
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 10:09 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Thermal_Blaster @ Jan 10 2011, 02:51 PM)

mm thanks for the info... if like that i strait go for giant reign...  can go to 120mm when climb & 150mm while on trail... cause im also using sub 13kg bike here & damn 100mm + hardtail really make me feel like want to endo most of the time..... & usually very fast during climb end up when dh all smoke me  tongue.gif  err.... smoke pun tara hahaha
IMHO, best to test ride a REIGN 1st lor... 6incher if wan to perform like HT or even a 4incher on the incline takes alot of tuning on the shox. 5incher is the best compromise for both ups and downs.

What you're saying is the adjustable travel fork, which for a well setup bike and a change of riding posture will null the need of it. I just changed from a HT with a 140mm to a 5" frame on the same fork. On my 1st ride with the otai's here last week. No problem with the front end lifting up.

Suspension is a very dynamic subject, which I had just experience 1st hand. LOL

Comparing the same fork on two different chassis, I ended up having much lesser pressure at the front now on the full susser.

The idea is, on a HT the pivoting point is at the rear wheel hub, any suspension movement will result in front end dive coupled with a steeper HTA. That's where the ENDO feeling comes from.

On a FS, the pivoting point is at the BB area, where both front and rear wheel's moving independently. So on every bump, you'll experience lower BB height, shorter chainstay (in general terms, actually depends on the rear suspension linkage) and a slacker HTA as well.

So on a FS, the feeling is more planted, bike's more stable.

I ridden a REIGN on a parking lot before, sure it's fun for it's plushness, but pedaling is a chore. I can only imagine riding it on a real uphill. It gave me a 'too much bike' feeling for me.
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 10:14 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Jan 10 2011, 03:52 PM)
actually HT can handle whatever 5inch bike can handle. just need confident.
buy confident by getting kneel/elbow pad and trying.

FS is more comfort only, unless you go for real DH run.
totally agree! Just go to utube and look for Jinya Nishiwaki's video. He's riding a HT down Whistler on a daily basis! As for Bro Chameleon, he's damn good at Kiara riding his HT. He's going down places where I choose to walk-a-bike, both ups and downs. thumbup.gif

Ps: All the otai here really mountain goat wan. Sibeh quick going up and down. I think they all felt asleep when I'm busting lungs and balls.

I initially wanted to go AM HT route, but chicken out and gotten a FS. I thought that it will give me a better confidence as that's what I'm severely lacking at the moment. When the time comes, will surely get another HT for AM. That's where the real skill is.

Added on January 10, 2011, 10:19 pmHeard from bike shop saying FOX if got problem, gotta wait atleast 1~2m to get it fix under warranty. Notebly the common weak point is the seal. Alot of FOX user upgraded to Enduro seals and all is good.

RS is better as turnaround time is around 1~2weeks, since the distributor is local.

Itu wa dengar cerita saja la... No experience on both personally as it's outta my league.

This post has been edited by kaizer: Jan 10 2011, 10:19 PM
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 10:43 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Jan 10 2011, 10:21 PM)
i give u extra pack of satay in next hash  blush.gif

Added on January 10, 2011, 10:27 pm

i took my busted f100 to shop last thurs. today they called and fixed.
it's another way round; fox have authorize fixer (bikepro) but RS in spore. But bikepro will have service charge if u didnt buy from them. enduro seals take ages to run in so it's not popular.
Just curious, if Bikepro's the authorized, then they should be providing the service for free, right? Or buyer must go though proper channel, that is via the shop they purchase it from?

If the shox is not from the authorized distribution channel, then it's understandable for them not to layan. Every business is hurt by grey imports.

Added on January 10, 2011, 10:44 pmNice vid Tim ko. But too bad my timing to hike-a-bike was caught red handed... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kaizer: Jan 10 2011, 10:44 PM
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 10:54 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(tongyam @ Jan 10 2011, 07:47 PM)
if angah pay me 250 i go bikepro
Izit just a service that cost RM250 or including spareparts and fix up everything init?
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 11:18 PM

60 posts

Snaps, I think it's the REIGN X only with ISCG tabs that has the issue. Due to the chainstay being redesign to accommodate the ISCG mount? Not sure, just browsed through.
kaizer
post Jan 10 2011, 11:21 PM

60 posts

Hahahaha... chamelion, you live by the beach ar? Or ur preparing for monsoon riding? hahahaha...

Added on January 10, 2011, 11:32 pmLance Armstrong riding MTB... Boy he's good!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lkBm0PMoCFE

This post has been edited by kaizer: Jan 10 2011, 11:32 PM
kaizer
post Jan 11 2011, 12:08 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(huh? @ Jan 10 2011, 11:43 PM)
honestly, if i were you ill get myself a HT before going to a full sus... this is for me to polish my skills on a HT so that when i decide to go serious, ill get better bike.. FS as a first bike makes you lazy and makes mistakes a lot.. IMHO la.. no offence on this.. based on my own experience owning a NS surge and haro X7.. i actually went faster on the HT than the FS.. hahaha
Bro 'Huh?', this is my second 'bike'. My 1st a Giant XC HT. Been making it into something it wasn't meant to be... longer and longer forks and etc. LOL

So I bought a 2ndhand frame and transfer the stuffs over.

Maybe it's just me, but I think riding HT effectively is really an exclusive skill
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wv7TyakE8qw

QUOTE(Thermal_Blaster @ Jan 10 2011, 11:44 PM)
mm..... yup.... thanks for ur advice... actually here we got a trail that have to ride up really hard (asphalt) then when descend can choose either ordinary road or... DH route usually will see all the DH kaki with full armor go down really fast ... i already try the down hill part using my HT & feel nice but have to do it really extra carefull or it will become disaster...& maybe i already change my tyre to 2.4 ...so that i feel it absorb abit the bump ..... but really dangerous coz the tail part keep lompat lompat like hantu puchong although i keep my weight very far behind ( luckily i got xs for my frame) to keep the bike from endo.... thats y im have the feeling to take another bike either trance or reign.... really hard to make decision from the diffrent of 1 inch rear travel  laugh.gif

but really appreciate all the advice from u all from here  notworthy.gif
Come join the LYN Hash and test ride all the taiko's ride lor... Can even do wheelie up and down the tarmac summore. whistling.gif

Added on January 11, 2011, 12:11 am
QUOTE(snapshots @ Jan 10 2011, 11:59 PM)
reign can still climb but not as effecient as a HT or trail bike.if you like going fast then reign would be a better option but you will be sacrificing some climbing capability due to the slacker HA.

maxguy use to run a reign and climbs like a goat....perhaps he can give you an advice or two.
Snapshot riding a Trance and he go down like bull on rampage... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kaizer: Jan 11 2011, 12:11 AM
kaizer
post Jan 11 2011, 12:43 AM

60 posts

Where is angah?
kaizer
post Jan 11 2011, 11:39 AM

60 posts

Or go for the ultimate suspension upgrade. Send ur shox & fork to PUSH for a custom tune. From the reviews I read, they can make a 5" feels bottomless... Hahaha.

www.pushindustries.com

Added on January 11, 2011, 11:48 amAnybody know where can I get a rigid fork with 500-520mm A2C length? Approximate how much ar? Tks in advance.

This post has been edited by kaizer: Jan 11 2011, 11:48 AM
kaizer
post Jan 11 2011, 12:51 PM

60 posts

I think with all things being equal & stock standard OEM, a longer travel does equates to plusher rides without bottoming out. Unless it's a DHX? From what I read, they have secondary reservoir for ramping up the spring rate and bottom out resistance?
kaizer
post Jan 11 2011, 04:26 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(3xC @ Jan 11 2011, 03:52 PM)
ya lo.. a few pages. page 6,8 so far. haiz..

btw, anyone know good shop with good service? want to change chain and peddle. :-D
KSH (TTDI), look for Ah Leong only. The others... Better not.
ProRide (Puchong), Ah Kit's your man.
kaizer
post Jan 11 2011, 04:29 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Jan 11 2011, 04:27 PM)
sad.gif  whistling.gif
Why ar Cham? Ur attached to KSH ka? Sorry didn't meant to offend, just based on my own experience, that's all.

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:16 PM