Cataclysm - The downfall of 25man guilds, Sharing views on 25man pre/post Cata

evofantasy
post Jan 7 2011, 06:39 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

25m give 90VP instead of 70VP and more loot...
for guilds which are acustommed to 25m raiding, there's no difference...
drama would occur in both 10m or 25m depending on the members and how the leaders/ officers handle it...
no different...
btw u can do both 25m and 10m as long as u dun overprogress (except BH)...
evofantasy
post Jan 10 2011, 02:46 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Jan 10 2011, 02:28 PM)
I think the Cata raiding system is good for small guilds like mine.  My guild used to have 10-15 good players, and the rest were so-so.  We could do regular 25man, but no way we could carry the rest and pull of hard modes.  Since ICC, I've only been doing 10man.  25 man is too much of a hassle with loot distribution, attendence, class composition, etc etc etc.  Then again, I'm not a top-tier hardcore raider.
yup this is good for smaller guilds who always have short manpower...
while the bigger guilds would have the bigger rosters for consistent 25m raids...

OT: about the whole guild drama fiesta...
i think that guild selling BoE at 50% to raiders is fine...
after all u would loot it either by some looting system which would cost u a longer wait for loots...
money in the game can be farmed with ease, there is no welfare epics imho...
i always believe that it is the raider's responsibility to farm the materials for consumables in raid (personal food, flasks, potions and repairs) as well as the needed optimizer (prof etc)...
the guild is just a mean for u to get to the loots and whatever the guild earned could be used to fund the raid food, raid flask (new) and the vent (it aint cheap)...

p.s: i would rather pay gold for loot rather than spend my EP just for loot (if the guild is using EPGP)...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jan 10 2011, 02:52 PM
evofantasy
post Jan 10 2011, 03:00 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ArmRule @ Jan 10 2011, 02:56 PM)
I can imagine why smile.gif
BoE epics that drops in any given raid with members that could use them as upgrades are of course FREE for that grp raid members. We are talking about BoE Epics that drops from OTHER raid grps, without a class that can optimise the gear or already has the item.  Raid leaders agreed to put those in Gbank (without compensation) for other members to acquire at cheaper price or foc in a practise to help others to gear up faster.
just wondering, wut are ur looting system now?
i would agree on the optimizing of gears (like during icc, dun give arp trinket to ret paladins over warrior, rogue and hunters)
evofantasy
post Jan 10 2011, 03:29 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ArmRule @ Jan 10 2011, 03:09 PM)
We used to run EPGP for our 25-man (2 grps running simultaneously). Heading new into Cata, we are still short of geared members for 25 man grp. The main concern however is the line stability when running 25 man. We've tried it and it was really really bad and involving some core raiders who would otherwise be fine in a 10 man grp (and yes, that's with tunnelling).  I'm hoping that the stability issue will be made more manageable in the near future, but for the time being, we sticking to smaller 10 man grps.

As it's only a 10-man, looting is never an issue. It's more a less on loot council now for individual grps. For eg, if a healer received an upgrade in the previous week, the following week he/she will pass on for the other 2.. things like that.
ooo try wowtunnel, pretty decent for me
evofantasy
post Jan 10 2011, 04:37 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(dudeinwow @ Jan 10 2011, 04:25 PM)
SORRY FOR TYPING IN CAPS AND USING MALAY LANGUAGE IS MORE RELEVANT BECOZ THIS IS HAPPEN TO GUILD NAME 'LANUN'.'LANUN' IS A MALAY WORD..THEN FOR SURE YOU GUYS IS A MALAY SAME LIKE ME.. SO THIS IS THE MESSAGE TO THOSE WHO REALLY CARE ABOUT WOW IN THEIR LIFE!!

MELAYU SAMA MELAYU MAU GADOH...MENDA NI BULEH BAWAK MASUK KUBOQ KA...SORANG BUAT KEPALA TAU SORG LAGI BUAT BAGUIH NK HANDLE GUILD..MASING-MASING ADA ANAK BINI BOLEH PIKIAQ SENDIRI..OTAK LETAK KAT KEPALA LUTUT KA..TUA SAJA PERANGAI MACAM BUDAK2...
SEE YOU AGAIN...
dude dun get race into this whole discussion...
evofantasy
post Jan 11 2011, 05:40 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Nightsky @ Jan 11 2011, 05:03 PM)
Like most guilds, mine anticipated this problem and called for a meeting (all guildies were welcome to attend) to discuss our guild's future raiding direction.

Our guild leader was comparing the pros and cons between 10 men for 'easier progression' or 25 men for 'guild unity'. He was worried that if 10 men groups form, elites will be taken and fought over while stragglers will be left behind with less chance for improvement. The choice at that time was to go on with 25 men raids like what we used to do during TBC and WotLK, unfortunately into Cata, the guild started fragmenting. Some left because they wanted to progress faster on 10 men raids. From a guild that was almost strong enough to do 2x25 men raids, we dropped to barely enough for 1x 25 men raid. Added to the equation that some healers were not geared enough for raid + schedule inconsistancies, the guild has decided to drop down to 3x10 men raids. 1 weekend group and 2 weekday groups. Loot that dropped were just rolled for, final say remains with the RL just in case some keep winning.

I won't say that the change has affected us, its the wanting to take advantage of the situation that has affected the guild but then again, its just a matter of getting used to the new raiding system. It will blow over and be taken as the norm.
it just provide the guild with flexibility and option...
my guild still run 25m and when u kill a boss in 25, u can proceed to kill it in 10m for extra loots as well...

note: i'm a casual in guild now though i just helped a guildie's 10m last nite as he needed an extra dpser
evofantasy
post Jan 11 2011, 08:37 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(flarev @ Jan 11 2011, 08:35 PM)
lol what a thread. i wouldnt say its a downfall for the 25m guilds as u can see most of the top progressed guild are still from 25m, its really depends on which one works the best for u or ur guild
11 droods is awesome <3
evofantasy
post Jan 12 2011, 12:38 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(geno @ Jan 12 2011, 10:41 AM)
Thats the benefit for 25man, class stacking..

Stars downed yogg zero light (when its quite impossible to kill without exploit) with 5 locks.. they wanted to go with 7. Paragon stacked pallys for H LK for aura mastery rotation and vile spirit absorbs.. now 11 druids for h nefarian lolz

Cant wait to see what they will do for the Sinestra kill..
yup...
still remember the soul stone abuse back then as well lol...
good use of mechanic imho

0.0143sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:18 AM