University Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) Thread, A warm welcome to the new intakes!
Apr 3 2012, 01:57 PM
35 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Hello UniMap-ians, Naveen here, currently a STPM leaver with a passion for Mechanical engineering. I've chosen UniMap as my preferred choice for engineering besides UTM and now waiting for the UPU results. How I came to know about UniMap?....Well, I know some seniors studying there whom recommended me to study in this uni. So, how's the uni doing so far?
Apr 3 2012, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Apr 3 2012, 02:58 PM) Hi Naveen! First of all, welcome to this thread. I am glad that you found your way here. Some seniors here can really guide you through, if you really land yourself in UniMAP. Some notable contributors to this thread are IvanWong1989, bb100, ghodul and jay, just to name a few. Some of them have already graduated, but quite a number of them is still in UniMAP. Thank you. I got 1A, 1A-, 1B-,1C+ with an overall CGPA of 3.17. I've been following this thread since the STPM results were out last month. And this is my 1st post, lol. If you have any doubts, just post and ask. I am sure they are most willing to answer all of them. By the way, mind sharing your STPM result? Added on April 3, 2012, 3:38 pmThis thread really did give me a positive impression about the all the unis in M'sia. I was expecting a better pointer to enter the more popular unis like UM, UKM, USM and etc. But in the end, I had to consider all the other unis as well and UniMap appeared the most suitable one for engineering. Do tell me more about the campus? Is the main campus ready for use now? This post has been edited by nav92: Apr 3 2012, 03:38 PM |
Apr 3 2012, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Apr 3 2012, 05:50 PM) O.o... im frenly and honest and helpful? lolx.. GREEN! That's nice, haha anyway, to Naveen, come here see green. good for your eyes. I kinda like it. ^^ =P no riots or what racism here.. peaceful.. Not perfect, thr are problems, but overall... I find my experience here worthwhile. Lecturers? erm... haha.. u'll meet many types. lolx... anybody here remember.. ''relaxxxxx, tak boleh buat? drop saje..=)'' hhaaaa.. and those very good ones. any questions shoot me one up. I'm lurking in lowyat although i didn't post stuff as much nowadays. Bz. lol Added on April 3, 2012, 5:51 pm » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « haha.. ok..... i'll try to keep it simple.. hopefully... Added on April 3, 2012, 9:05 pm QUOTE(bb100 @ Apr 3 2012, 05:13 PM) If your A and A- comes from either Mathematics or Physics, I suppose your chances of getting into UniMAP is fairly bright. A- for Physics and C+ for Mathematics, Didn't do the best for STPM but aim to do better and further improve myself later in uni. UniMAP really is not that bad, considering the fact that it has been consistently climbing up the ranking in recent years. So if you were to be offered to do engineering in UniMAP, it would definitely be a very enlightening 4 years of your journey. For campus questions, please refer to IvanWong1989. He is a very friendly, honest and most of all, helpful gentleman. This post has been edited by nav92: Apr 3 2012, 09:05 PM |
Jul 16 2012, 02:35 AM
Hi there,
My UPU Result: Mechanical Engineering in UNIMAP! This post has been edited by nav92: Jul 16 2012, 02:49 AM |
Jul 16 2012, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Jul 16 2012, 09:11 AM) Hi nav92, Thank you. I believe I can challenge myself to new heights when dealing with the many challenges in ME. 4 years in Unimap will surely be an exciting journey. First and foremost, congratulations in securing a place in UniMAP. Mechanical Engineering is one of the core courses in the engineering field, and should be really proud of yourself. And I heard the entrance requirements for ME in UniMAP has been increased. So, good job there. ME in UniMAP focuses more on design and analysis, which I believe is one of the many centers of this course. To excel in this course, your physics and mathematics should be at least above average. Subjects like Statics, Dynamics and Heat Transfer require a lot of calculation knowledge. On top of your ability to understand slightly advanced physics and maths, your power to imagine should also be strong, to be able to tackle subjects like Thermodynamics, Solid Mechanics and Fluid Mechanics. No doubt, all these abilities have to be coupled with your competence to think of of the box, which is what UniMAP is trying to inseminate that into students. All in all, ME is an interesting yet challenging course. Work hard, and success will ultimately follow. Good luck! |
Sep 14 2012, 03:58 PM
Hi guys, I'm a first year Mechanical engineering student here in UniMAP. My overall opinion on UniMAP is a positive one although there are various downsides we 1st year students had to face from time to time. The orientation week as usual is an okay experience I can say & the PPMS did try their best to sort out things. It's not easy to handle 2250++ undergraduates all in the same place. We listened to speeches(some are stimulating enough to gain people's attention, whereas some put people to sleep), meet new friends, campus tour & etc. The food was okay, can't really complain. The main campus in Pauh looks great, especially the new library. The new library building is big & well designed. The system used to find, borrow, renew books are all the latest, similar to the system used in Singapore's National Library. The other library in KWSP is also nice to use. The lecture halls, lecture room, laboratories in the School of Mechatronics are up to date. The lecturers here are of many types, young(mostly here are young), old, locals, foreigners & etc. The hostels in Wang Ulu are small but okay to live although the main problem here is finding food. There are several food stalls & cafe around but not enough to support the entire student population here as some have to wait for 1 hour for the food to be ready. The internet connection here is reasonable although they block certain sites like media sharing, file sharing sites, gaming & anything not related to education. It's only fast early in the morning & late at night whereas it gets super slow, sometimes no connection throughout the day. Sadly my Digi broadband is of no use here as I can only receive GPRS signal here & all around Perlis. The climate here is HOT TO THE EXTREME! The first few days here seeing myself looking for air conditioned rooms & cravings for water. Perlis is quite an ulu place I must say, although the only city I can see here is Kangar. Other places like Ulu Pauh(extremely ulu, trees & highway everywhere) & Kuala Perlis are very quiet. Quite the opposite if compared to my hometown, JB. I am looking forward for a positive experience here in terms of education, values & lifestyle throughout the next four years.
Sep 14 2012, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Sep 14 2012, 06:33 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Hi nav92, That's indeed a very descriptive experience you had in UniMAP. Made me think of my good 'ol days when I was in UniMAP. Those were the days man - no stress (at least until the finals), no pressure... Mechanical Engineering is one of the best courses in UniMAP. I was from Mechanical Engineering also. Like what bb100 said, you get lots of helpful lecturers here and there. The combination of subjects that you get in your course now had gone through lots of modifications here and there from BEM and EAC. It will prepare you here and there to become problem-solving engineer. I hope you will enjoy your four-year stint in UniMAP here and there. But don't enjoy too much here and there until you flunk your studies. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Added on September 14, 2012, 10:44 pm QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 14 2012, 06:14 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thanks a lot for the very detailed description of your first few days in UniMAP! With this positive attitude, I am sure you will go very far in terms of your results and social life with your coursemates, friends and lecturers. The lecturers in Mech Engrg are generally very approachable. Feel free to consult them if you have any difficulties in your studies and even in your personal life (but not those too personal ones laa). However, there are also some rotten apples here and there. You will come across these guys as you progress through the programme. This post has been edited by nav92: Sep 14 2012, 10:47 PM |
Sep 21 2012, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(Thumpy Ick @ Sep 20 2012, 10:34 AM) not really, i had my undergrad somewhere else... my cousin told me the campus area is really tenang since not much ppl around, but i'm curious about the internet coverage. i heard there's wifi on the bus too which is awesome hahaha, but if i use a celcom broadband how's the connection in the area? Yes, the wifi on bus was recently launched on all of UniMAP's official buses. For mobile broadband, Celcom works the best here( 3G signal everywhere in Perlis). Digi & Maxis not recommended. |
Sep 21 2012, 12:57 PM
Sep 26 2012, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(Freedom1104 @ Sep 23 2012, 07:47 PM) Hey.... wanna ask about broadband coverage in UNIMAP area... any prefereable network operator is recommended?? 2 broadband networks I know will work well in Wang Ulu, Celcom & YES 4G. Celcom's coverage is quite reliable in Perlis but there are too many users of the network. Sometimes fast, sometimes slow. Yes 4G however is valid in certain places only, Wang Ulu ok,Ulu Pauh is a no no, speed super duper fast always.staying in kolej kediaman kampung wang ulu~~ |
Oct 24 2012, 08:24 PM
Mid term exams are over for now. 1 week holiday, yay!
Oct 31 2012, 11:25 AM
Feb 14 2013, 11:15 PM
Course: Mechanical Engineering, Sem 1 CGPA: 3.89 Opinion : Great. Way beyond my expectations. Now just have to maintain or do better for the next 7 semesters. |
Feb 21 2013, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 17 2013, 09:25 PM) Fulamak! This must be a top scorer. 3.89 man! Don't play play. Better than Mr N. Suck (a super scorer in my batch) and Mr Coughing King (another top scorer for Mech Engg). There are many good scorers this time. Most of the ex STPM students scored above 3.75. Keep it going! |
Feb 22 2013, 10:06 PM
Feb 23 2013, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 23 2013, 12:42 AM) For statics, we got Dr. Rakhmad as our lecturer. ; C.Programming, Dr. Paulraj, http://publicweb.unimap.edu.my/~paul/index.htm Have you seen them before? |
Feb 24 2013, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 23 2013, 07:52 PM) Oh my sweet Lord! Rakhmad taught you guys Statics??? Yes, Rakhmad been teaching statics for 2-3 years now. Enjoyable? Paulraj is good. Ask IvanWong1989 and he will tell you how good he is. I have to say Paulraj is one of the best lecturers around to teach CP. I really did enjoyed attending his lectures. |
Feb 24 2013, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 24 2013, 01:48 PM) That's why there are two quotation marks around the word enjoyable in my previous post followed by a crying smiley. He is good in his field; in fact, he is one of the top men in Finite Element Analysis. But his attitude towards students is just We get all kinds of people lahh, for short. Do you still have Fluid Mechanics in your course syllabus? Wait till you meet Dr Ghulam. For me, he is one of the most caring Professors around, at least for PPK Mekatronik. |
Feb 24 2013, 03:32 PM
Feb 26 2013, 01:42 AM
PM Najib is coming to UniMAP this weekend.
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=101...20508119&type=1 |
| Change to: | 0.0415sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:47 PM |