University Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) Thread, A warm welcome to the new intakes!
Aug 14 2014, 12:50 PM
35 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
n 1 more question...izit possible to chg course?
Aug 14 2014, 01:43 PM
1,344 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(kelvinkhaw01 @ Aug 14 2014, 08:44 AM) Here is another fb group for you guys Thanks for the info. Added at the first page.Diff from the previous one https://www.facebook.com/groups/14674058835...=group_activity Looks like you guys will be staying in separate places ....... i think its bad for u all la, friend circle will get smaller...bcoz i think if ya all stay in Wg.Ulu, its more easier for u all to get to know each other thr.... Like us senior...we all hv friend in each school, thanks to the hostel arrangement last yr. All of us from diff eng course stay in the same place Attachment below is the latest hostel arrangement . Someone posted it on the fb grp exquisite_markas hw to post photo here?? Lol |
Aug 14 2014, 02:05 PM
More info added on the first post, including an academic calender. So you guys can plan ahead.
Aug 14 2014, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(Zeus007 @ Aug 14 2014, 12:48 PM) any senior of photonic engineering here?actually photonic engineering is my 1st choice coz i like quantum phy so when i know i get it from 2 days ago i quite happy...but when i told my cousin i gt tis..tis her respond is harrr....u gt tis 1 ahhhh..then wat job u wan to do in future after u graduated since tis industries is nt yet develop well in tis country...i was stunned...ermmmm..i dunno..the 2nd person is my physics teacher in form 6...he asked me agn...wat position do u wan wat kind of company u wan to work for after u graduated? stunned 2nd time...i dunno...so i wanna ask the seniors tat graduated from or still studying tis course...does we hv less job opportunities after we graduated? i feel like i chose the wrong course.. With all due respect, I am afraid your cousin and your physics teacher know not that much about job prospects concerning a Photonic Engineering undergrad.I spent about a year in the optical communication industry, and believe me, their first priority, in terms of fresh engineers, goes to Photonic Engineering undergraduate. Yesiree dude! Also, how sure is your cousin regarding the development of the photonic industry? Let me draw some lights on this matter. When we talk about communication, especially on data transfer, the "in" thing now is fiber optics. Gone are those days where we use analogue data cables. Intruders can easily tap into those data transfer and steal confidential information. Fiber optics technology deals a lot (and I repeat, A LOT) on the knowledge of photonic. The design of the device, its calculations, all the tests and debugging involved, revolve around photonic. Even the production of these devices and technologies has something to do with photonic. And mind you, the optical communication industry is only one of the many industries that require photonic engineers. |
Aug 14 2014, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(Zeus007 @ Aug 14 2014, 12:50 PM) Strictly speaking, yes, it is possible. But it involves a lot of paper work and documentations.And when you have finished dealing with all the documentations, you might already complete one semester of your current program. Approval might take another one semester. Assuming that your course-changing is successful, you have already wasted 1 year. And you will enter 2nd year of your new course. So again, yes, it is possible, but not practical. Therefore, think twice. |
Aug 14 2014, 03:51 PM
35 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Aug 14 2014, 03:15 PM) With all due respect, I am afraid your cousin and your physics teacher know not that much about job prospects concerning a Photonic Engineering undergrad. but i wondering y just UniMAP offered tis course in whole malaysia's local uni? or actually others did tat? just the naming of the course is nt same? so tis course izit similar to telecommunication engineering?I spent about a year in the optical communication industry, and believe me, their first priority, in terms of fresh engineers, goes to Photonic Engineering undergraduate. Yesiree dude! Also, how sure is your cousin regarding the development of the photonic industry? Let me draw some lights on this matter. When we talk about communication, especially on data transfer, the "in" thing now is fiber optics. Gone are those days where we use analogue data cables. Intruders can easily tap into those data transfer and steal confidential information. Fiber optics technology deals a lot (and I repeat, A LOT) on the knowledge of photonic. The design of the device, its calculations, all the tests and debugging involved, revolve around photonic. Even the production of these devices and technologies has something to do with photonic. And mind you, the optical communication industry is only one of the many industries that require photonic engineers. |
Aug 14 2014, 04:37 PM
4 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
I just wanna ask honestly.. Is smoking allowed (even secretly)?
Aug 14 2014, 04:46 PM
268 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuching |
QUOTE(bb100 @ Aug 14 2014, 11:04 AM) Last time at Taman Semarak also have one. It was across the road at the small cafe there. I remembered my friends all woke up at 3am to watch MU in a Champions League match. lol u still remember that stall. it still going steady, last time they open until 5-6 am for FIFA world cup QUOTE(ane_zeus @ Aug 14 2014, 04:37 PM) it is not allowed according to hostel rule. but the staff considers this. u can smoke but not in places where the staff can see u. In other words, if u dont see any staff (or guards in campus), just smoke. |
Aug 14 2014, 05:06 PM
178 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(Zeus007 @ Aug 14 2014, 12:50 PM) If its under diff faculty... Chances for you to change course r vry slim to be honest. U hv to get approval from both your faculty dean those document n letters... Thr r cases whr senior managed to change course within the first 2 week but vry vry rare,do know some of them. If you managed to change course during 2nd sem, you still need to replace back that specific sub credit hour of your course bfore you graduate. Must hv alot of determination if you reli wana change. Gl on that anyways If u wana change on second sem, good result is a must. |
Aug 14 2014, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(Askzra @ Aug 14 2014, 04:46 PM) lol u still remember that stall. it still going steady, last time they open until 5-6 am for FIFA world cup what do you mean by considering? Okay or not? So in other words the staff there will not make any random spotchecks in our hostel rooms?it is not allowed according to hostel rule. but the staff considers this. u can smoke but not in places where the staff can see u. In other words, if u dont see any staff (or guards in campus), just smoke. |
Aug 14 2014, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(Zeus007 @ Aug 14 2014, 03:51 PM) but i wondering y just UniMAP offered tis course in whole malaysia's local uni? or actually others did tat? just the naming of the course is nt same? so tis course izit similar to telecommunication engineering? If you have done your homework well, you will find there is one Photonics Research Center (PRC) in UM. In fact, UM has two research groups doing photonics-related work, PRC and Integrated Lightwave Research Group (ILRG). Just google and you will get there.UTM has their own photonics research center as well, named The Advanced Photonic Science Institute. You will be able to find numerous research groups inside. |
Aug 14 2014, 06:49 PM
Aug 14 2014, 07:26 PM
84 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: Soviet Russia |
QUOTE(ane_zeus @ Aug 14 2014, 06:35 PM) what do you mean by considering? Okay or not? So in other words the staff there will not make any random spotchecks in our hostel rooms? In my 3 years in UniMAP only 1 time random spotcheck happen to my house and it happen in my 1st semester. This is university not boarding school. They treat you like an adult as long as you follow the rules. And please be considerate to your fellow housemate who's not smoking. As for me (im a smoker) i only smoke in my room coz my roomate is also smoker. |
Aug 14 2014, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(ane_zeus @ Aug 14 2014, 06:35 PM) what do you mean by considering? Okay or not? So in other words the staff there will not make any random spotchecks in our hostel rooms? if u want to smoke, just smoke. but dont smoke openly in campus. find a good spot, and respect your friends who does not smoking. |
Aug 14 2014, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(Askzra @ Aug 14 2014, 07:59 PM) if u want to smoke, just smoke. but dont smoke openly in campus. find a good spot, and respect your friends who does not smoking. thank you for the advice. Will be appreciated. Btw, are there any shops where there are live broadcasting of football matches? And is the internet connection here good for live streaming? |
Aug 14 2014, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(ane_zeus @ Aug 14 2014, 08:39 PM) thank you for the advice. Will be appreciated. Btw, are there any shops where there are live broadcasting of football matches? And is the internet connection here good for live streaming? there are..in fact, in kangar u will find a food stall named football cafe. internet quite good. the hostel have their own cable connection, if u want to use. It is quite fast during mid-sem break if u dont go back home. |
Aug 14 2014, 10:08 PM
1,439 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Ipoh, Perak |
Aug 14 2014, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(ane_zeus @ Aug 14 2014, 08:39 PM) thank you for the advice. Will be appreciated. Btw, are there any shops where there are live broadcasting of football matches? And is the internet connection here good for live streaming? Live streaming? Don't ever think about it, seriously. The match might be over even before it finishes buffering. |
Aug 15 2014, 12:30 AM
178 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
After 12 gate close.. Pandai pandai la wana sneak out.... Usually the gate lock quite loose..if u pull it, theres😯one man gap 😁😁.
For girls take care of your personal safety... Dont wear hot short wandering around hostel, Mostly international student/student like to drink secretly, they mabuk mabuk then u know whats next liao har...pandai pandai.. If guard see u they will giv saman.... |
Aug 15 2014, 12:58 AM
8 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
QUOTE(kelvinkhaw01 @ Aug 13 2014, 11:36 PM) You can choose your housemates n roommates.....but with the condition go register tgt....jz queue up tgt in the same registration counter...can pretend u guys dunno each other when they ask ma.... thnx for ur reply...phewww im so happy now after read ur comment But choose ur roommates enough la....whats the point wor if one house all alrd know each other... Can get to know new ppl if staying v other ppl as ur housemates.... Some of them jz get to know each other during registration time and thr u go...we are housemates nw....same race thou. Go ther earlier....then u hv more choice..if u register late then sry la..no choice for you...they randomly arrange for you. so we MUST pretend dunno each other la?? |
| Change to: | 0.0239sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:26 PM |