Partial ACCA in Audit Firm

TSCream-y
post Jan 4 2011, 02:30 AM, updated 15y ago

Hie,

I am waiting for my ACCA results but have started applying for opening as an audit associate. 2 optional paper remains.
A Fresh grad and no other qualification besides ACCA.

I would like to know if there is any audit firms, both big and medium size that have successfully recruited partially completed ACCA candidates as a full time staff while allowing them to pursue their qualification without any prior degree to fall back onto. If yes, any idea which firms?

Prior to this, i manage to clear all papers in a single sitting. Is this a plus point?

Thanks!

gabLhowe
post Jan 4 2011, 03:14 AM

169 posts

You dont have OBU yet? Or is it pending?
Ricky300
post Jan 4 2011, 08:53 AM

1,514 posts

Dear TS, you are categorised under ACCA finalist student.

FYI, audit firms (Medium or Big 4) did hire finalist students.

If you yourself having an outstanding results, please apply big 4.

If average, you are encourage to apply medium firms.
HaoYuan
post Jan 4 2011, 08:57 AM

Kai Qi Baby
1,401 posts

but then for my knowledge, partial ACCA or finalist in ACCA, their pay is much lower, for ,my advice use your oxford brookes degree to apply, big 4 will hire u....
Ricky300
post Jan 4 2011, 09:34 AM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Jan 4 2011, 08:57 AM)
but then for my knowledge, partial ACCA or finalist in ACCA, their pay is much lower, for ,my advice use your oxford brookes degree to apply, big 4 will hire u....
Well I wouldn't say low but definitely not as high as ACCA holder.
If you have a degree, your starting pay somehow fall in this range 2k-2.5k (depends on firm)
taxman
post Jan 4 2011, 11:25 AM

526 posts

medium firm prefer to take acca finalist
HaoYuan
post Jan 4 2011, 11:36 AM

Kai Qi Baby
1,401 posts

FOR MY KNOWLEDGE, THOSE WITH OBU - RM2450
THOSE WITH ACCA RM2600
THIS IS BIG 5 RATE.
BDO IS MUCH HIGHER
HOWEVER, MEDIUM FIRM ARE MUCH LOWER
THOSE WITH DEGREE IS AROUND RM 1,800
THOSE WITH ACCA IS AROUND RM2,000

CORRECT ME IF I AM WRONG....
Ricky300
post Jan 4 2011, 11:41 AM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Jan 4 2011, 11:36 AM)
THOSE WITH ACCA RM2600
THIS IS BIG 5 RATE.
BDO IS MUCH HIGHER

Is true for Big 4 but no longer valid for other medium firms.

FYI, BDO is paying 2.8k for fresh graduate regardless they are ACCA holder, as long as a degree holder.

While other medium firm paying 2-2.2k for a degree holder. ACCA holder might get another 100-200 extra but it is all depends on the employers.

1.8k yes, but for those small or local medium firm

fatfat88
post Jan 4 2011, 02:13 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Jan 4 2011, 11:36 AM)
THOSE WITH ACCA RM2600
THIS IS BIG 5 RATE.
BDO IS MUCH HIGHER

sorry
may i know how 2 apply bdo
my final result have not yet released
should i apply now?

Ricky300
post Jan 4 2011, 02:29 PM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(fatfat88 @ Jan 4 2011, 02:13 PM)
sorry
may i know how 2 apply bdo
my final result have not yet released
should i apply now?
Visit here
http://www.bdo.my/entry-level/index.php
You are always suggest to apply one step ahead =)
TSCream-y
post Jan 5 2011, 01:41 AM

QUOTE(gabLhowe @ Jan 4 2011, 03:14 AM)
You dont have OBU yet? Or is it pending?
I did not op for the OBU program and attempted 2 optional papers in Dec 2010.
Thanks!
fatfat88
post Jan 5 2011, 02:45 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Jan 4 2011, 02:29 PM)
Visit here
http://www.bdo.my/entry-level/index.php
You are always suggest to apply one step ahead =)
Do u know how was the interview in BDO?
Any transport can go there?I m not stay at KL, If i do not have any transport,Is it convenient to work at there?
Then how about EY?Is it convenient?

Ricky300
post Jan 5 2011, 08:29 AM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(fatfat88 @ Jan 5 2011, 02:45 AM)
Do u know how was the interview in BDO?
Any transport can go there?I m not stay at KL, If i do not have any transport,Is it convenient to work at there?
Then how about EY?Is it convenient?
BDO is located at Jalan Sultan Ismail.
You can reach there by Star LRT, in other words it is convenient. (pls bear in mind that Audit has to travel frequently)
As for EY, it is located at Damansara. LRT couldn't reach there and the parking over there is costly. (as per EY friends)
Hope it helps =)
CKJMark
post Jan 5 2011, 09:23 AM

579 posts

If you work in EY, you can take the Putra LRT to Bangsar station. The feeder bus stops right in front of EY office.
fatfat88
post Jan 5 2011, 01:18 PM

57 posts

that mean I can walk to BDO after i take the star LRT?
For EY, is it there is the bus in bangsar station to EY office?What is d bus number?
Any others Firm that convient for me?how about bakertilly?horwath?
Thanks in advance!
CKJMark
post Jan 5 2011, 01:34 PM

579 posts

It's a bus that goes from Bangsar station to Pusat Bandar Damansara. It's a feeder bus from the LRT station.
fatfat88
post Jan 5 2011, 01:39 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Jan 5 2011, 08:29 AM)
BDO is located at Jalan Sultan Ismail.
You can reach there by Star LRT, in other words it is convenient. (pls bear in mind that Audit has to travel frequently)
As for EY, it is located at Damansara. LRT couldn't reach there and the parking over there is costly. (as per EY friends)
Hope it helps =)
Do u mean that if I do not have my own transport, it is unconvenient for me to do the audit job?
Knight_2008
post Jan 5 2011, 01:40 PM

1,270 posts

QUOTE(fatfat88 @ Jan 5 2011, 01:39 PM)
Do u mean that if I do not have my own transport, it is unconvenient for me to do the audit job?
without car, how you wanna leave your workplace after midnight?
CKJMark
post Jan 5 2011, 01:43 PM

579 posts

This is Malaysia, if you don't have own transport its inconvinient to do anything LOL.

On a more serious note, it depends on your own resourcefulness. No car then take bus / taxi or arrange with a friend / colleague / family to pick you up.
fatfat88
post Jan 5 2011, 01:52 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Jan 5 2011, 01:34 PM)
It's a bus that goes from Bangsar station to Pusat Bandar Damansara.  It's a feeder bus from the LRT station.
How long for the duration?
CKJMark
post Jan 5 2011, 02:22 PM

579 posts

Depends on your luck and the traffic that day. The Bangsar station is a very popular stop, and there are a lot of ppl taking that bus to go to HELP college and Immigration as well.

I would say 30 - 45 min from the time you get on the bus to reach EY. Going back to station is faster because Pusat Bandar Damansara is the last stop. If you take the bus, I suggest you get off at the Esso station opposite Pusat Bandar Damansara, and walk about 5-10min to EY. It saves you the waiting time of the bus going to Jalan Dungun and coming back out again.

If you want to go home also I think its best to catch the bus at Esso also because the stop in front of EY damn lot of ppl wan de.
Topace111
post Jan 5 2011, 04:42 PM

2,102 posts

Please buy a car la especially join audit division. I drive highway everyday to reach my client. If you are a girl maybe can ding dong here and there la but a guy is expected to drive well (and fast).
Ricky300
post Jan 5 2011, 04:48 PM

1,514 posts

Yup BDO is just 5 or less than 5 minutes from Star LRT station.

For horwath, you can take Putra LRT and exit at KLCC station. Walking distance about 10mins i guess.

A car is actually depends, do inform the interviewer that you doesn't posses a car. You can always follow your seniors car, but get ready for Overtime!!
fatfat88
post Jan 5 2011, 05:35 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Jan 5 2011, 04:48 PM)
Yup BDO is just 5 or less than 5 minutes from Star LRT station.

For horwath, you can take Putra LRT and exit at KLCC station. Walking distance about 10mins i guess.

A car is actually depends, do inform the interviewer that you doesn't posses a car. You can always follow your seniors car, but get ready for Overtime!!
Thank you for the information provided.I will apply from next week onwards.....Hope that I can get the job.
Can anyone enlighten me that the different btw EY branch in Pg and KL from the learning curve point of view?
lavender27
post Jan 6 2011, 07:46 AM

31 posts

normally how many days they will ask u for interview .. i had send resume to horwarth, bdo, grant thornthon, pwc and kpmg...now only horwarth call me for interview and horwarth give me the job, and need my reply ,what should i do ?is it good to join horwarth

This post has been edited by lavender27: Jan 6 2011, 08:07 AM
Ricky300
post Jan 6 2011, 08:38 AM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(lavender27 @ Jan 6 2011, 07:46 AM)
normally how many days they will ask u for interview .. i had send resume to horwarth, bdo, grant thornthon, pwc and kpmg...now only horwarth call me for interview and horwarth give me the job, and need my reply ,what should i do ?is it good to join horwarth
Its depend.

Some of the firms practice quarter intake but some not.

So it is hard to tell how long it takes for them to contact you, or may be you are not shortlisted.

lavender27
post Jan 6 2011, 08:41 AM

31 posts

then it is means i should accept horwarth offer?
Ricky300
post Jan 6 2011, 08:48 AM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(lavender27 @ Jan 6 2011, 08:41 AM)
then it is means i should accept horwarth offer?
Well that's decision lies on you whistling.gif whistling.gif
lavender27
post Jan 6 2011, 08:51 AM

31 posts

i'm just worried if i accept it later they call me to interview no time for interview anymore..
CKJMark
post Jan 6 2011, 09:20 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jan 5 2011, 04:42 PM)
Please buy a car la especially join audit division. I drive highway everyday to reach my client. If you are a girl maybe can ding dong here and there la but a guy is expected to drive well (and fast).
Not every one can afford a car when they first start work smile.gif
yeowa
post Jan 6 2011, 09:33 AM

Entrepreneur wannabe
1,258 posts

My advice for those who want to join audit but with no car. Do not too bother about car if you are joining the following firms:-
Mazars & Howarth (KLCC area)
Public transport: Putra LRT KLCC station & Walk
Nearest place of stay and duration: Wangsa Maju approx 30-40mins travel time

Deloitte (Damansara Uptown)
Public transport: Bus & Walk
Nearest place of stay: Damansara Uptown approx 5-15mins walk. Stay near office lor...

KPMG (Wisma KPMG Bandar Utama)
Public transport: Feeder bus from taman bahagia to One Utama or public bus and walk
Nearest place of stay: Bandar Utama area approx 10-15 mins walk (find place nearer to office lor)

PWC & BDO are near to STAR LRT and they are many choices of place to stay around Cheras and Ampang Area. Travelling time depending on your place of stay.

EY is the most inconvenient place with only feeder & public bus connecting to it. I don't think you will want to stay around there as the rental is going to be your 1 month salary (Damansara Heights)... LOL....

It is not true that you must own a car to be an auditor. Normally you will only stay back for bigger job and you will have a team of colleagues. I am very sure they can tumpang you to the nearest station all the time and senior and manager should be understanding. Unless if they required you to stay, they will be colleagues who should be able to send you home. You are from outstation, they will understand.

Get a car only when you feel you are comfortable. smile.gif
CKJMark
post Jan 6 2011, 09:41 AM

579 posts

I used to carpool with my senior and team members V^^

But of course, if you have to one-man-show the audit like today, you will need to sort out your after hours transport if you don't drive. "I don't have transport" is not a valid excuse for not being able to work late lol.
yeowa
post Jan 6 2011, 09:58 AM

Entrepreneur wannabe
1,258 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Jan 6 2011, 09:41 AM)
I used to carpool with my senior and team members V^^ 

But of course, if you have to one-man-show the audit like today, you will need to sort out your after hours transport if you don't drive.  "I don't have transport" is not a valid excuse for not being able to work late lol.
But remember, manager will assign you job based on employee resources. I will get solo job which is not too far and hard to reach. At least you can take taxi and rest assured you will not need to stay pass midnight. Small client which only need 1 auditor to audit will not do that and the audit firm will not approve your OT also as fees charge will not be low. smile.gif
Ricky300
post Jan 6 2011, 10:09 AM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(yeowa @ Jan 6 2011, 09:33 AM)
My advice for those who want to join audit but with no car. Do not too bother about car if you are joining the following firms:-
Mazars & Howarth (KLCC area)
Public transport: Putra LRT KLCC station & Walk
Nearest place of stay and duration: Wangsa Maju approx 30-40mins travel time
Minor amendment tongue.gif tongue.gif
Duration from Wangsa Maju to KLCC via Putra LRT approximately 20-25mins will do =)
40mins you shall be able to reach Taman Universiti or few stations away from Kelana Jaya tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Ricky300: Jan 6 2011, 10:11 AM
yeowa
post Jan 6 2011, 11:13 AM

Entrepreneur wannabe
1,258 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Jan 6 2011, 10:09 AM)
Minor amendment tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Duration from Wangsa Maju to KLCC via Putra LRT approximately 20-25mins will do =)
40mins you shall be able to reach Taman Universiti or few stations away from Kelana Jaya tongue.gif
walk from home to lrt, waiting time and walk from lrt to office. smile.gif
fatfat88
post Jan 6 2011, 01:37 PM

57 posts

WHat kind of the interviews in horwath?
how much did they offer u?
yeowa
post Jan 6 2011, 01:49 PM

Entrepreneur wannabe
1,258 posts

QUOTE(fatfat88 @ Jan 6 2011, 01:37 PM)
WHat kind of the interviews in horwath?
how much did they offer u?
They are so many threads here on horwarth and other big 4. Do up some readings first lor...
fatfat88
post Jan 14 2011, 09:21 PM

57 posts

How much did horwath offer u?
what are the position did u applied?
Topace111
post Jan 14 2011, 11:28 PM

2,102 posts

I always tell any juniors or interns, you will soon learn to drive sooner or later. Why not start now ?
Same goes to work (learning), if you dont start making mistake now then when ?
coconutxyz
post Jan 15 2011, 11:37 PM

422 posts

that means for one man audit no car=taxi
how about for internal audit?do we need to go to client's place?
btw,any1 know the working hours during non-peak period?

This post has been edited by coconutxyz: Jan 15 2011, 11:53 PM
fastreader
post Jan 16 2011, 12:32 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(Cream-y @ Jan 4 2011, 02:30 AM)
Hie,

I am waiting for my ACCA results but have started applying for opening as an audit associate. 2 optional paper remains.
A Fresh grad and no other qualification besides ACCA.

I would like to know if there is any audit firms, both big and medium size that have successfully recruited partially completed ACCA candidates as a full time staff while allowing them to pursue their qualification without any prior degree to fall back onto. If yes, any idea which firms?

Prior to this, i manage to clear all papers in a single sitting. Is this a plus point?

Thanks!
yeap..they do..even the BIG 4 does that..but they dun pay u the rate of the ACCA..which is atround RM 150 more.. tongue.gif
coolkid23
post Feb 23 2011, 01:03 PM

156 posts

how's your result bro?
HaoYuan
post Feb 23 2011, 03:49 PM

Kai Qi Baby
1,401 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Jan 16 2011, 12:32 AM)
yeap..they do..even the BIG 4 does that..but they dun pay u the rate of the ACCA..which is atround RM 150 more.. tongue.gif
hey,would like to ask, i am pending for the acca oxford brookes result which will release next mth, however, due to that i sked i will miss the promotion should i apply big 4 now?

or i need to wait till the result out d only i can apply
taxman
post Feb 23 2011, 03:56 PM

526 posts

u can try your luck
HaoYuan
post Feb 23 2011, 04:54 PM

Kai Qi Baby
1,401 posts

QUOTE(taxman @ Feb 23 2011, 03:56 PM)
u can try your luck